Wash Off Masks Reviews: A’Pieu, Annie’s Way, Innisfree and Uguisu No Fun

[ disclaimer: all products purchased by me and opinions here are are my own and unbiased ]

I love using wash off masks ~ from clay masks to refreshing gel, warming packs and even DIY-type masks!  I am reviewing five different wash off masks today ~ A’Pieu Rub In Gelato Mask in Pistachio, Annie’s Way Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid Brightening Jelly Mask, Annie’s Way Aloe Anti-Acne Jelly Mask, Innisfree Ginger Oil Warming Mask and Uguisu No Fun Poo Illuminating Mask.   Let’s have some fun!

A’Pieu Rub In Gelato Mask in Pistachio (S.Korea)  I purchased this from Beauteque over the holidays and I do like A’Pieu products ~ they are an inexpensive brand that has some winners ~ such as their NonCo Tea Tree line (spot patches, emulsion) and  DoraemonEye Shadow Palette, that I was happy to purchase their clay mask.   

 

This is made with kaolin to help absorb oil and remove toxins, green tea for antioxidants, pistachio and mint to cool and soothe your skin and azuki beans, which will exfoliate, cleanse and brighten your skin tone.  Those chunks you see are the azuki beans.   This also has neem extract, which helps control oil and treat blemishes.   This mask helps remove dirt, debris and excess oil from your skin without irritation, and will help reduce the appearance of your pores.

Left: Freshly applied Gelato;  Right: After 15 minutes

Despite the chucks of azuki beans in this mask, I found the greenish-clay to be easy to apply ~ the beans did not cause it to dry and drag on my skin.   The clay without the beans is very smooth and silky, with enough moisture to allow for ease of spreadablity.   I was struck by the scent ~ a very strong menthol with an earthy, almost wine-like scent.  I know these are the beans as I used to use Pangea Organics Facial Scrub Egyptian Geranium with Adzuki Bean & Cranberry (which I love, but it is expensive) and it smells just like that.  Adzuki is also azuki, in case you were wondering!  It has an almost fermented scent to it ~ which I happen to like, but others may not.

Once the mask is applied to my face, massage it for a minute or two into your skin and let it sit for 10 to 15 minutes.  I can feel cooling on my skin ~ it is very refreshing.  The mask doesn’t dry down completely in 15 minutes, so it doesn’t have that tightening and cracking feeling across your face. After 15 minutes, rinse off with warm water and I found that it did unclog my pores and left my face feeling very refreshed.   My face is not dry, but smooth and silky.

I think this mask is very similar to Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty in terms of what it does for your face.   This mask is perfect for those with oily and oily-combo, blemish prone skin ~ I would say to make sure you don’t have any issues with the ingredients as there are a couple of that could be irritants ~  peppermint and eucalyptus.  You can also use this on your upper body if you suffer from acne in those areas as well.  100 mL

Ingredients: Water, Kaolin, Dipropylene Glycol, Betonite, Phaseolus Angularis Seed (azuki/red bean) Powder, Betaine, Alcohol, Cellulose, Titanium Dioxide, Piper Methysticum (kava) Leaf/Root/Stem Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Ficus Carica (fig) Fruit Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Extract, Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Leaf Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Pueraria Thunbergiana (kudzu) Root Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Paeonia Lactiflora Bark/Sap Extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, Ulmus Davidiana Root Extract, Amaranthus Caudatus (love-lies-bleeding) Seed Extract, Pistacia Vera (Pistachio) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis (green tea) Leaf Water, Metha Piperita (peppermint) Leaf Water, Soluble Collagen, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (sweet almond oil) Seed Meal, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Sodium Hyaluronate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Xanthan Gum, Glyceryl Stearate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Mica, Dimethicone, Cetylethylhexanoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, PEG-100 Stearate, Methyl Taurates, Tocopheryl Aceitate, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Chromium Oxide Green, Butylene Glycol, Illite, Ethylhecylglycerin, Montmorillonite, Calcite, Ceramide 3, Yellow Iron Oxide (CI 77492), Black Iron Oxide (CI77499), Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

 

image source
image source

 


Annie’s Way Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid Brightening Jelly Mask (Taiwan)   I love Annie’s Way facial sheet masks and I received my first Annie’s Way Jelly Mask last summer.   I liked that one so much that I purchased a sampler pack and the natural progression led me to purchase a couple of full size tubs!  The first one I purchased is the Arbutin + Hyaluaronic Acid Brightening one as I am always looking for ways to brighten and even out my skin tone.   The tubs come with a holographic sticker to prove its authenticity as I guess there must be some fakes out there, even though this is quite affordable.  

 

This jelly mask is supposed to moisturize and brighten, reduce hyper-pigmentation and fine lines.   It will also help soften pores to make it easier to remove any dirt, debris and excess oil.    As you can see below, this jelly is clear, very thick and the Artubin version is pretty much odorless.

  • Arbutin is a natural skin lightening product which reduces the production of melanin ~ the prime culprit of hyper-pigmentation.
  • Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid) is an intensive moisturizing ingredient which bonds water to keep skin hydrated.   It is a natural substance found in the human body and it made up of amino and uronic acids, and helps retain 100 to 1,000 times its own water weight in our skin cells.
  • Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate is a stable derivative of Vitamin C and is non-irritating as well as water-soluble and a powerful antioxidant.   It helps stimulate collagen production, brightens and evens out skin tone and is an anti-inflammatory.
  • Licorice Root (Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate) is a brightening ingredient as well as reducing flaking and smoothing your skin. It is also an anti-irritant and anti-inflammatory.

 

 

This product is very thick and it does come with a long handled spatula to scoop out the jelly.  You can see that it doesn’t drip off the spatula ~ I held it in that position for 5 minutes while adjusting the light and taking photos, and it still just hung off the edge without falling off!   Apply a thick layer on your face and use the spatula to remove after 30 to 40 minutes.  Scrape gently and this will help remove dirt and excess oil.   Wipe the excess off with a tissue or rinse off.  If you have sensitive skin, only leave on for 15 minutes.

Honestly, I didn’t see any results in brightening or reducing hyper-pigmentation with this product.   It did feel nice and cool on my face, but really, nothing major occurred here.   I am sure my skin enjoyed it, but this will not be a repeat purchase as it didn’t do what it claimed.  My moisture level didn’t increase by much either ~ about an increase of 20% but it was very temporary.    250 mL

 

Ingredients: water, carbomer, sodium hyaluronate, tocotrienols, ascorbic acid, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, panthenol, fragrance, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, alpha-arbutin extract,  propylene glycol, methylparaben, butylparaben, methylisothiazolinone,  iodopropynyl butycarbamate  cosDNA.com analysis

 

 

Annie’s Way Aloe Anti-Acne Jelly Mask (Taiwan)  If I had such meh results with the Arbutin version, why purchase the Aloe?  Because this is the one that I first tried and it works well for me!  Aloe Anti-Acne has aloe and seaweed extracts and will help oily/blemish prone skin.   It looks like a light green in the tub, but when applied, it is clear.   It has the same thick viscosity that Arbutin had, which means it adheres to your face better.

 

  • Aloe Vera ~ Aloe Vera is a powerful moisturizer that doesn’t leave your skin feeling oily or greasy.   It soothes, treats inflammation, helps speed up skin healing and also has a plethora of antioxidants ~  beta-carotene, Vitamin C and Vitamin E, which help improve your skin’s firmness and keeps your skin moist and hydrated.  It also contains over 75 different nutritious ingredients, including minerals, enzymes,  amino acids, salicylic acid and much more.
  • Seaweed will condition and hydrate your skin, while softening and detoxing.  It is rich in essential vitamins, minerals and antioxidants, which will protect your skin from free radical damage.  It also will help increase skin cell regeneration and elastin, as it contains alguronic acid.
  • Chlorophyllin-Copper Complex helps speed up wound healing by suppressing the growth of certain types of anaerobic bacteria.  This ingredient is very important when dealing with blemishes and whiteheads.
  • Panthenol (Vitamin B5) is an excellent hydrating ingredient for your skin

The same instructions apply to all of the Annie’s Way Jelly masks, so I won’t repeat it again.  This has a great fresh aloe scent to it, very refreshing and I recommend storing this one in the frig, so have an even more cooling effect.     When you scrape the jelly off after 30 to 40 minutes, you should notice that it isn’t as clear as it was when you applied it.  This means it did collect dirt and oil from your face.   Whenever I use this mask, my pores are unclogged, there is less redness around my blemishes and any whiteheads are deflated a bit.   My face does feel moisturized and hydrated without feeling greasy and there is no tacky residue.  250 mL

Description: Moisture-rich facial masks wrap skin a soothing blend of aloe, seaweed extract and hyaluronic acid, providing immediate relief from dryness while refreshing and reviving complexion. Wash-off formula softens blackheads and dries acne, making it easy to scrape them away for enhanced skin clarity with improved health. After cleansing and toning, smooth an even layer of mask all over face. After 30 minutes, scrape off mask and rinse face thoroughly with water.

Ingredients:  water,carbomer, butylene glycol, CI 75810 (chlorophyllin-copper complex), sodium hyaluronate, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, fragrance, panthenol, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, propylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, potassium iodide, algae (seaweed) extract, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, methylisothiazolinone, iodopropynyl butycarbamate  cosDNA.com analysis

 

 

Innisfree Ginger Oil Warming Mask (S.Korea)  I LOVE the two Ginger Oil products that I have purchased already ~ Skin and Serum ~ so I really felt that I couldn’t go wrong with another Innisfree Ginger Oil product.   I really would have loved a sleeping pack, but currently Innisfree only offers a few items in the Ginger Oil line ~ skin, serum, rich serum, cream and warming mask.   As winter is here, I thought that a warming mask might be a good treat for my skin.  

This product is beautiful:  the packaging with the gold lid with “Innisfree” carved into the side, the rich warm brown  product ~ it has a thick syrup texture and its scent is amazing ~ a warm spicy-lemon type of scent ~ I want to spread this stuff on my toast, it smells SO GOOD.  It has little brown flecks of ginger powder in it.  It is a beautiful looking product.

Beauty is only skin deep, however.   The first time I used this mask, I was just coming off the flu so my skin was already dehydrated.  I massaged this into my skin  ~ it has a smooth, slick oily feel.   It is not a warming mask, however.  Not once did it heat up ~ the only “heat” that was generated was from the friction from my hands massaging it into my skin and that was normal stuff. 

I  left it on way longer than the 2 minutes and  I was horrified when I rinsed it off and saw that my forehead had huge enlarged pores ~ this was the case around my nose and cheek area as well.   I put on a facial sheet mask and then hydrated the shit out of my face.   It took me a few weeks before trying this product again.  Again, the scent, the texture was lovely ~ again, this is not a warming mask.   I followed the instructions properly this time and rinsed off after 2 minutes.  Again, my PORES were enlarged.    Third time HAS to be a charm (right?) and this time, I avoided my forehead, nose and chin (where my pores are enlarged).   I got a HUGE closed comedone near my chin.  It was YUGE, I tell ya!   I put about 6 of my cosRX blemish patches on it for 3 nights in a row and that deflated it, but I am now of the belief that this product caused that as I had nothing new in my routine.  

I am not sure who can use this product ~ maybe if you have really dry skin, no pore issues and certainly not prone to blemishes.   It is not a warming mask at all.    There was nothing in the ingredient list that I could see that would have caused this reaction individually, but maybe altogether, it was the perfect storm for my face.    I do love the scent, so I might just use this on my décolleté area to moisturize.   50 mL

Description: Nourishing ginger enriched with nutrients derived from soil, the source of life .  Nourishing the skin from the inside out to allow it to feel smooth and look radiant. The power of the skin to protect itself against external irritants. Enhance the power of the skin that has become tired and exhausted from external irritants in order to keep it healthy. A thick texture with a nourishing and warm finish. Smoothly glides on the skin with a warm finish and exfoliates dirt and dead skin cells while providing nourishment in order to keep the skin feeling smooth and looking radiant.  Nutrient-rich Jeju ginger grown in the fertile soil of pristine Jeju Island has 6-Gingerol which is effective in protecting the skin. 6-Gingerol and functional skin-vitalizing ingredients enhance the natural strength and protective power of the skin to keep it energized and healthy. 

Ingredients: glycerin, butylene glycol, glycereth-26, brassica campestris (rapeseed) seed oil, hydrogenated poly (C6-14 olefin), phytosteryl/benenyl/octyldodecyl lauroyl glutamate,squalane, octyldodecyl myristate, glyceryl behenate/eicosadioate, zingiber officinale (ginger) root oil, macadamia integrifolia seed oil, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, citrus unshiu peel extract, orchid extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract,camellia japonica leaf extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, theobroma cacao (cocoa) extract, kaolin, glyceryl stearate, dextrin, PEG-100 stearate, PEG-60 glyceryl isostearate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source

 

 

Uguisu No Fun Poo Illuminating Mask (Japan)  And finally, for something in the weird and wacky category ~ from Japan, Uguisu No Fun Poo Illuminating Mask.   Uguisu No Fun just happens to be Japanese Nightinggale bird droppings.  That’s right, poo.  It is UV sterilized, 100% free from any harmful microorganisms and totally scentless, so it isn’t like you are going to be smearing fresh bird droppings on your face.   Based on the information that I have read on this ingredient, it has been used by geisha’s and the upper class in Japan since the 1600’s, during the Edo Era.   Nightinggale droppings are supposed to clarify and brighten your skin, while helping heal blemishes and other skin issues, such as reducing the size of your pores and hyper-pigmentation.  I purchased this product to deal with hyper-pigmentation and blemishes.  For those still wondering about the process of this usual ingredient, I will turn to Uguisu’s own website and what they have to say

Uguisu no fun or also known as Japanese Nightingale droppings are usually sold raw. It is processed by harvesting the Japanese Nightingale bird’s droppings and drying them out in the sun for at least 2 weeks. However, multiple researches show that there are unnecessary waste materials not needed by the human skin in raw uguisu no fun such as ammonia, dead bacterial debris and its cytoplasmic materials as well as undigested food materials eaten by the bird that could be seeds, fruits, worms or insects. Hence, using the latest technology, we removed these known wastes to create the finest and purest Uguisu No Fun: Enhanced Uguisu No Fun that is proven to be 4 times more effective than the regular Uguisu No Fun.  source

 

Uguisu No Fun Ingredient Benefits  (source)

  1. Guanine – The bird poop is very rich in guanine, it became synonymous with the word “Guano” due to this fact. However, not all bird poop contains good guanine. What is unique with Japanese Nightingale feces is that, it contains the highest amount of guanine in its pristine form. Due a very short intestine, the guanine in the Japanese Nightingale poop is intact and undigested. Guanine is the reason why Uguisu No Fun users describe their skin as bright and shimmering. The illuminating effect is so intense that customers complained that their face is bright and white while their body, where masked is not used, was left in a darker shade. We were forced to create Uguisu No Fun soaps to ensure that the face and body is of the same brightness.
  2. Urea – Japanese Nightingale bird feces is very rich in urea. In fact, their excrement is richest in urea. It is known in the cosmetics world that urea is a very important organic compound because of its moisture locking properties. Urea hydrates the skin and at the same time treats and prevents wrinkles and other signs and symptoms of skin ageing and sun damage.
  3. Proteolytic Enzymes – These enzymes are very important when it comes to the anti aging effect of Uguisu No Fun. Just like in our digestion, we digest complex carbohydrates to convert it to a simple sugar known as glucose for it to be utilized as energy by the body. Same goes to our skin. The protein in the products we used are not usable unless it is converted into a simplest amino acid. Almost all products in the market that contains protein, collagen or other similar compounds are useless as they are not absorbed transdermally. The proteolytic enzymes in Uguisu Poo’s Uguisu No Fun converts collagen and other important protein to the smallest amino acids that are utilized and absorbed by the surface of the skin. This is the main reason why users of Uguisu No Fun describes their skin as smooth, poreless, youthful and porcelain like.

OKAY!  So, what do I think of this stuff?  Well, it is a very fine light beige powder and extremely messy (no pun intended).  It is scentless and you have to mix it with warm/hot water.  I found that the recommended ratio of 1 teaspoon powder to 3 teaspoons water was not quite right ~ it causes the mask to be very runny, drippy and makes a massive mess everywhere. So, I tried 1 teaspoon of powder and then gradually added warm water to make a paste.  Apply to skin, using a mask brush and wait until dry ~ about 10 to 30 minutes, depending on how thick the paste is.  Rinse off with warm water.

So, seriously, nothing.  Not a difference on my face.  I didn’t notice any reduction of hyper-pigmentation, nor did it help with blemishes or brighten my skin tone.  For me, it is a waste of a product.   I know that others have used this with great success but for me, this is a stinker of a product (everyone howl now over my lame pun).    I think I will use the rest of the product as a facial wash ~  mix 1/2 teaspoon into your facial wash and then use to cleanse your face.  It is too time consuming and too messy to be used as a facial mask when I could be using other mask products that yield better results.  30 grams

Ingredients: 100% Enhanced Japanese Nightingale Bird Droppings (Uguisu No Fun)

 image source

 

Final Thoughts

I can only really recommend two items from my five wash-off masks review ~ A’Pieu Rub In Gelato Mask in Pistachio and Annie’s Way Aloe Anti-Acne Jelly Mask.  The first one is a great clay mask that smells wonderful and really does exfoliate without being harsh.  The latter mask is a refreshing mask that helps soothe and heal blemishes while reducing redness and skin irritations.   Both of these masks will not strip your face dry.    Two masks ~ Annie’s Way Arbutin + Hyaluronic Acid Brightening Jelly Mask and Uguisu No Fun Poo Illuminating Mask ~ do absolutely nothing for me.   A huge raspberry for Innisfree Ginger Oil Warming Mask ~ that one went above and beyond in causing my pores to look like craters and causing blemishes.  It does smell lovely, however.    

So, what do you think?  Have you tried any of these wash off masks?  Do you have any favorites that I should know about? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Where to Purchase

Beauteque

Use promo code MICHELE10 to get 10% off your purchase.  You can use this coupon as many times as you like!  Please share 🙂

Beautibi

Amazon

InnisfreeWorld

Jolse

W2Beauty

Includes shipping and free samples!  If you never ordered from W2Beauty before, use my referral link (click here) or use my sponsor code 0811226902 and get a $5.00 coupon for your first purchase.

 

 

[ description in italics from linked product site.  All items purchased by me and opinions are my own and unbiased ]

 

 


6 thoughts on “Wash Off Masks Reviews: A’Pieu, Annie’s Way, Innisfree and Uguisu No Fun

  1. I was so excited to hear what you thought of the ginger mask, and I can’t believe it was so meh. I’d really wanted this, but thanks for saving me the money.
    The bird poop mask sounded exciting, too, but it really isn’t, I guess.
    I hate the Annie’s Way honey jelly mask I have (or I could never really figure out how much product to use and how to properly scrape it, I don’t know. Either way, it’s too much hassle for a wash-off mask for me.)
    The gelato one is going on y wish list, though, for when I finally use up my Innisfree clay mask. 🙂 So, thanks for that recommendation, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG bird poo mask? A lot of interesting ones in this batch… I like the Annie’s Way snail mask but to be honest, I’m with Vik above… The thickness of the jelly makes it too much of a hassle for the payoff.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love wash-off masks, the A’Pieu Rub In Gelato Mask in Pistachio sounds super interesting! I have dry skin so I usually am wary of anything that may be drying, but that ingredient list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.