Foundation Reviews: Missha M Magic Cushion , Innisfree No Sebum Blur & Primer, Innisfree Smart Foundation Perfect Cover

So….I don’t do BB creams.  You all know this if you follow my blog ~ BB creams leave my face greasy, dewy and I dislike a heavy dewy cream on my face.   BUT….I keep looking for a BB cream that will work for my face, without making me feel like a grease pit or someone who is going out on the stage, with heavy theatrical makeup.  I have very oily skin, plus hormonal acne and anti-aging concerns (as I am aging!!)   I have hyper-pigmentation spots and I am one of those lucky people that scars easily.

Current Favorites

Everything’s Zen….

I have been using these Mac products for about 15 years now. In fact, the Studio Fix has been in rotation a lot longer than that.  Studio Tech was added around the turn of the century (I love using that phrase!!)   Once I was properly given the shade and type of skin shade, I have found that made a world of difference.  I used to wear pink-toned foundations/powders and always wondered why they didn’t work for me.  I am warm toned ~ light-medium.   NW20 is the shade I wear in Studio Fix and Studio Tech.  I highly recommend if you aren’t sure what type of shade you are to make it down to a Mac counter and get your skin tone analyzed by them.

Since 2013, I have been using Jouer Matte Moisture Tint in Nude for everyday use.   Nude looks YELLOW but once it is blended out, it is a great shade that blends in nicely, almost melts into my skin and it is MATTE, with a SPF of 15.   Lightweight, yet it gives me enough coverage without feeling like I caked on tons of foundation.  It is also oil-free, a HUGE plus.   I save Studio Tech for days where I need/want a heavier coverage.     I then dust Studio Fix over the whole mess with a brush ~ I hate puffs ~ and then on my forehead, chin and nose, I dust on some Innisfree No Sebum Mineral Powder or Pact, which really keeps my oil at bay for several hours without a touch up.

If I have a zit or need spot treatment, a new favorite that made it into my foundation/coverage is TheSaem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer in 1.5.  I dab this on the targeted area, blend it in lightly and top off with powder.  This stuff is provides great coverage and is long lasting ~ and MATTE.

I need matte in my life.  Dewy won’t work on me, as I already sport the dewy look with my oil and I fight it all the time.

Primer ~ I rarely use primer, but the one I use right now is Jouer Anti-Blemish Matte Primer.  It has a slight odor, due to its herbal ingredients to combat blemishes, but the smell doesn’t bother me.  I just rarely use it, as  I normally do not use a primer.

For the ingredients of these products, I have included them at the end of the blog post.

If I am happy, why change it up?  Well, I do blog about skincare and makeup, and I rarely talk about foundations and powders.  I feel that I should try some of them out there and see if there is anything that can challenge my current line-up.

 

The New Kids on the Block

 

I am not looking to replace the Innisfree No-Sebum Mineral Powder/Pact, as that is just a finishing translucent powder, nor TheSaem spot concealer.  I am looking to see how Mac and Jouer will compare to new products.

Powders

Innisfree No Sebum Blur Mineral powder and pact  This is Innisfree’s tinted version of their famous No Sebum Mineral powder.  I always get both the loose powder and the pressed powder (pact), because I prefer loose powder in general and a pact is convenient to carry in my purse.   Honestly, as far as the shade goes, Innisfree No-Sebum Blur looks darn close to Mac Studio Tech NW20.  It has a bit of whitest cast to it, but it is a finely milled powder that gives me just enough color and works just like the Innisfree No-Sebum Mineral product.  This is a good choice to use for me for those days when I need more “color” without looking that oil sucking properties that I love and it does “blur” fine lines and wrinkles because of the tint.   Alas, Blur only has one shade, which works great for me, but anyone who is darker or really pale skin toned, will not be able to use it.  However, the original Innisfree No-Sebum Mineral will work for you if you want to control your sebum as it is translucent and leaves no white cast behind once you blend it in.  I really like this product as I don’t normally want a darker powder on my face.   Powder 5 g RV $7.00  Pact 8.5 g RV $12.00

Description: Pore blur effect that covers skin bumps:  It makes the skin texture smooth and bright as if giving a blur effect, covering skin bumps caused by pores and fine wrinkles.  Durability of long-lasting softness: Natural minerals and mint ingredients from Jeju work to control the oil and moisture balance of the skin and make it more healthy.  Natural skin color: It allows for the skin texture to appear healthy and feeling smooth by providing a look for natural makeup with skin color pigments that are suited for any type of skin.

Pact Ingredients: talc, mica (ci 77019), silica, boron nitride, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, squalane, polymethyl methacrylate, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), butylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, peg-10 dimethicone, synthetic fluorphlogopite, methicone, triethoxycaprylylsilane, dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl caprylate, tin oxide, camellia sinensis leaf extract, mineral salts, mentha arvensis leaf extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, orchid extract, camellia japonica leaf extract, citrus unshiu peel extract, 1,2-hexanediol, iron oxides (ci 77492), iron oxides (ci 77491), iron oxides (ci 77499), fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

Powder Ingredients: talc, mica (ci 77019), silica, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, polymethyl methacrylate, boron nitride, squalane, synthetic fluorphlogopite, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), methicone, triethoxycaprylylsilane, dimethicone, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl caprylate, tin oxide, camellia sinensis leaf extract, mineral salts, mentha arvensis leaf extract, camellia japonica leaf extract, orchid extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, citrus unshiu peel extract, 1,2-hexanediol, iron oxides (ci 77492), iron oxides (ci 77491), iron oxides (ci 77499), fragrance  cosDNA.com anaysis

image source

BB Cushion

 

 

Missha M Magic Cushion SPF 50++ PA +++ in #23 Natural Beige.  I received this from Missha USA after a giveaway was held.   I had tried Missha BB creams in the past and I knew that 23 was the shade for me, as 21 is too light.   The compact is HUGE, but it is very classy and lovely looking, with the crisp white compact and silver lettering.  This BB cream goes on wet, but it a cream to powder finish, which is nice to have.  It is not as “dewy” as traditional BB creams, nor does it leave a greasy cast to my face.

That said, I didn’t find this to have decent coverage around my T-Zone.  It did have great coverage where I have less oil, like my cheek area, but my forehead, nose and chin did not.  It just sat on top of my skin, as it didn’t know what to do with the oil, and faded quite quickly in those areas.  The other areas where it didn’t fade, didn’t turn grey or orange, and it did have a satin finish ~ not dewy, but not matte either.   Full Size 15 g RV $16.00

Description:  Magic cushion with perfect coverage to help achieve flawless skin and long lasting makeup without darkening.  Micro cover pigment delivers flawless coverage to skin and silica-bead powder effectively absorbs sweat and sebum, leaving makeup last longer.  Including bamboo water and baobab fruit extract, it provides moisture to skin and containing witch hazel extract, it soothes and calms the skin.  Lightweight adherence, buildable coverage, moisturizing, and sun protection benefits with SPF50+/PA+++.   Perfect Coverage: Micro Cover Pigment helps cover flaws to create a cleaner complexion.  Long-Wearing: Smooth Silica Bead Powder helps absorb sweat and sebum for long-lasting wear without a darkening effect.  Lightweight: Boron Powder helps achieve a smooth and lightweight application without buildup.  Smooth, Dewy Finish: Bamboo Water & Baobab Tree Fruit Extract help provide moisture while Witch Hazel Extract help soothe the skin for a truly comfortable wear

Ingredients: Water(Aqua). Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Cyclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Glycerin, Peg-8 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Diphenylsiloxy Phenyl Trimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Cyclohexasiloxane, Iron Oxides (Ci 77492), Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Persea Gratissima(Avocado) Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Xylitol. Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Calophylum Inophylum Seed Oil, Bambusa Vulgaris Water, Cereus Grandiflours (Cactus) Flower Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Adansonia Digitata Fruit Extract, Oxygen, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Cetyl Peg/Ppg – 10/1 Dimethicone, Peg-8, Magnesium Sulfate, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Stearic Acid, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Adenosine, Silica, Boron Nitride, Peg-32, Dipropylene Glycol, Tocopherol, Disodium Edta, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance(Parfum), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491), Iron Oxides(Ci 77499)  cosDNA.com analysis

Foundation

Innisfree Smart Foundation Perfect Cover (SPF33 PA+++)  in shades #21 Natural Beige and #23 True Beige.  I purchased these from beautynetkorea.com and I wasn’t sure which shade to get.  Since this are purposely small tubes of BB creams ~ the idea that you would change your shades as your skin shade will change (summer = tan, winter = pale again) and that you would want a smaller tube.  I like that they are smaller as they were not a huge investment for me to make and I could purchase the 2 shades that I thought would work for me.   Side note ~ this tube has the same amount of product as the Missha M Magic Cushion.  So, it isn’t that it is less product, it is just is less packaging.  This size is more attractive to me than the Magic Cushion, as that is one huge honking compact!!

This version of their foundation scream is for oily skin and is supposed to have a mattifying effect and not cause breakouts.   They also have Smart Foundation Water Balancing (dry, sensitive or thinner skin) and Long Lasting (heavy coverage), but Perfect Cover sounded like it was the formula for my skin type.

The foundation comes in a squeeze tube with a very narrow pointed nozzle.  The key is not to use a lot of this, just a pea sized amount and work from there.  This foundation is not the most blendable cream out there, I did have to work with it to get it to blend evenly.   This is a “full” coverage foundation ~ #21 was too light for me, but right now I have more color in my face as it is summer.  It might be that #23, which looks so light on my arm, but actually blends in well, is a good summer foundation.   It has a light pleasant herbal scent to it and it isn’t greasy. I found this is a matte finish, but despite its name, I didn’t find it to have good coverage.   It is buildable, but since I do not like heavy products on my skin, that defeats the purpose of why I might want to switch my foundation.    I do think these would be good as a spot concealer, and I will use them as such.  If Innisfree came out with a darker shade, I will try it, as I think the issue could be that both #21 and #23 are too light for me, at least for now.  Perhaps I will feel differently in the wintertime as this is a matte foundation and I was pleased with that.  15 mL RV $7.99 ($6.80 at BNK)

Description:  A high coverage foundation formulated to perfectly conceal skin imperfections while leaving your skin with a dewy (I didn’t find it to be dewy) finish.   Jeju mineral and green tea ingredients make the skin look healthy and alive.

Ingredients: Water, Titanium Dioxide, Cyclopentasiloxane, Zinc Oxide, Butylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Olivate, Caprylyl Methicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Niacinamide, Sodium Chloride, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, The green Tea Extract, Orchid Extract, Camellia Leaf Extract, Adansonia Digitata Seed Extract, Sophora Japonica Flower Extract, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Fruit Extract, Fructan, Calcium Stearate, Beeswax, Ozokerite, Sorbitan Olivate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Silica, Triethyl Citrate, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Adenosine, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Red Iron Oxides, Yellow Iron Oxides, Black Iron Oxides  cosDNA.com analysis

 image source

Swatches

I did 2 sets of photos, one with indoor office lighting, which really shows you how washed out skin looks under those dead office lights, and the other in direct sunlight.  I did a heavy, unblended swatch on top and then blended it out below, so you can see how it would look when first applied and then blended into your skin.  The direct sunlight photo is more in line with the actual color shades, just so you know.  You might think that some of the colors look too yellow, but my arm is lighter than my face, so it does work fine on my face.

Primer

Innisfree N0-Sebum Blur Mineral Primer   Again, I rarely use primers as I feel I have so much stuff on my face as it is, that I don’t want to clutter it up with MORE stuff.  However, I do like to have primer on hand for difficult days with oil and special events where I need to be a bit more “polished” looking.   This primer is tinted, very light. .  Hands down, this beats the shit out of Jouer’s Anti-Blemish Matte Primer for mattifying.  Seriously, I thought Jouer’s was matte, nope, no way ~ it is positively GLOSSY compared to the Innisfree No Sebum Blur Mineral Primer.    No wonder Innisfree’s primer is sold out just about everywhere I look!    I think I bought the last one at beautynetkorea, as they don’t have it in stock right now.  Innisfree’s primer has a light herbal scent, and really is matte ~ not sticky or tacky and it does have that light tint that “blurs” pores and fine lines, it fills in uneven areas and dries to a silky, smooth finish, due to its silicone .   My face is silky smooth to touch and I really love this primer.   25mL RV $10.99

Description: Smooth skin texture with evenly covered pores and fine wrinkles. This both cleanses and smooths out uneven pores and bumps, eliciting a clear skin texture and optimizing the skin prior to the application of makeup.  Durability of long-lasting softness.  Natural mint ingredients and minerals manage the oil and moisture balance of the skin, allowing the skin to remain soft and smooth for long periods. Clean and comfortable skin using Jeju ingredients This allows the skin to remain supple and clear through the tightening of wide pores from the use of Jeju green persimmon extracts, while enabling the skin to be healthy and at rest from the application of Jeju Natural minerals and green Complex.

How to Use: Apply appropriate amount on the skin where you have concerns over enlarged pores and pat gently. * If too much amount is used, it might get cakey. It is recommended to use small amount at a time.

 

Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, cyclohexasiloxane, silica, polymethylsilsesquioxane, mica (ci 77019), dimethicone/peg-10/15 crosspolymer, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), polymethyl methacrylate, iron oxides (ci 77492), iron oxides (ci 77491), mineral salts, mentha arvensis leaf extract, iron oxides (ci 77499), Water, triethoxycaprylylsilane, propanediol, camellia sinensis leaf extract, citrus unshiu peel extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, orchid extract, camellia japonica leaf extract, diospyros kaki fruit extract, 1,2-hexanediol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image source

Final Thoughts … The Verdict

I don’t think I have found anything to replace Mac Studio Tech or Jouer Matte Moisture Tint.  The Missha M Magic Cushion and Innisfree Smart Foundations were really nice products, applied smoothly and evenly.  Innisfree was more of a matte BB cream and Missha was a bit more glossy.   I felt that Missha M Magic was just a tad too light for my skin tone, but it may work well in the wintertime.  Missha wasn’t as glossy as other BB creams, it did dry down to a nice powder finish, but it didn’t control the oil on my face, so I did have to reapply it several times during the day.  

Innisfree #21 was too light, but I can use that as a spot concealer.   Innisfree #23 was still  not a perfect match, but I did like how it worked on my skin  and I did pick the 2 darker shades with the Innisfree product.  

That said, the Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Mineral Pack/Powder is a fantastic substitution for Mac Studio Fix, at least for me.  I found it was a good replacement, and it soaks up oil, which Mac Studio Fix isn’t really known to do ~ it just dampens down the shine.   And Innisfree is a heck of a lot cheaper.   The only reason why I might keep the Studio Fix around is that it does have more color to it, so there might be some days where that is what I need.  The primer was also won by the new kid ~ again, Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Mineral Primer.  That stuff is amazing.  Smooth, blurs, not greasy and actually matte.   Innisfree was a lot less expensive as Jouer’s primer is $38.00/1 oz whereas Innisfree is $10.99 for .85 oz Poor Jouer Primer, I hardly knew ye…  I will have to say that the No-Sebum products will make it on my repeat purchase lists and that primer is wonderful.  No wonder it is always sold out!

Have you tried any of these products?  What did you think of them?  If you have any HG powders/BB/foundations that you use, please share your thoughts below in the comments.

 

Where to Purchase

I listed all of the products in this blog post, in case you are interested in them

Ingredients

Jouer Anti-Blemish Matte Primer:  Aqua (water/eau), ethylhexyl palmitate, cetyl alcohol, tapioca starch, glycerin, ceteareth-20, glyceryl stearate se, tocopheryl acetate, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) water, opuntia ficus-indica stem extract, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, panax ginseng root extract, biosaccharide gum-1, carbomer, sodium hydroxide, ethylhexylglycerin, phenoxyethanol cosDNA.com analysis

Jouer Matte Moisture Tint: Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 4.5%, Zinc Oxide 3%. Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Butylene Glycol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Peg/ppg 18/18 Dimethicone, Silica, Dimethicone, Cetyl Peg/ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Aluminum Hydroxide, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phytantriol, Hexyl Laurate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Nylon-12, Sodium Chloride, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Polydodecanamideaminium Triazadiphenylethenesulfonate, Polyvinylalcohol Crosspolymer, Magnesium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Zinc Chloride, Lysine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isopropylparaben, Potassium Sorbate. May Contain (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides  cosDNA.com analysis

Mac Studio Tech: Water, Trimethylolpropane Triethylhexanoate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isohexadecane, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polyglyceryl-6 Distearate, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Glycerin, Silica, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Trihydroxystearin, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Tocopherol, Squalane, Lecithin, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Potassium Sorbate, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triisostearin, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Peg-5 Soy Sterol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Polymethyl Methylcrylate, Sodium Chloride, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Citric Acid, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492ci 77499), Chronium Hydroxide Grenn (Ci 77289), Chronium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288), Ultramarines (Ci 77007), Zinc Oxide (Ci 77947)  (from cosmetic-ingredients.net cosDNA.com analysis

Mac Studio Fix: Talc, Silica, Isostearyl, Palmitate, Methicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288), Ultramarines (Ci 77007)  (from cosmetic-ingredients.net cosDNA.com analysis

TheSaem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer: titanium dioxide (CI 77891), water, cyclopentasiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, talc, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, butylene glycol, PVP, PEG-10 dimethicone, disteardimonium hectorite, vinyl dimethicone/methicone silsesquioxane crosspolymer, sodium chloride, stearic acid, chlorphenesin, triethoxycaprylylsilane, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, arnica montana flower extract, gentiana lutea root extract, chillea millefolium extract, artemisia vulgaris extract, yeast extract(faex),mannitol, glycogen, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, methylparaben, butylparaben, ferric oxide (CI 77491), hydrated ferric oxide (CI 77492), black oxide of iron (CI 77499), fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

Innisfree No Sebum Mineral Pact: mica, silica, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, corn starch modified, polyethylene, octyldodecylstearoyl stearate, squalane, sorbitan isostearate,ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl caprylate, dimethicone, mineral salts, camellia sinensis leaf extract  cosDNA.com analysis

Innisfree No Sebum Mineral Powder: silica, corn starch modified, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, caprylic/caprictriglyceride, mica, methicone, mineralsalts, camellia sinensis leaf extract, mentha arvensis leaf extract, ethylhexylglycerin, dimethicone, glyceryl caprylate, ethylene/acrylic acid copolymer, 1,2-hexanediol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

[ descriptions in italics from linked product page.  All items purchased by me except for Missha M Magic Cushion, received complementary from MisshaUSA ]

[ blog post contains affiliate links ]


8 thoughts on “Foundation Reviews: Missha M Magic Cushion , Innisfree No Sebum Blur & Primer, Innisfree Smart Foundation Perfect Cover

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.