Unboxing August 2015 Beauteque Bag!

It is a strange thing when the sneak peeks to September’s bag was spoiled way before I received my August Bag!!   This is also the last month where Beauteque will let us pick our choices from a limited set of options for items in the bag.   Beauteque is an online Asian beauty store, located in the USA, that specializes in K-beauty.  They offered a monthly bag, where you will get not only K-Beauty items, but Asian skincare, cosmetics and even Western items, but it primarily focuses on K-Beauty. For full disclosure, unless I state otherwise, all items that I review on my blog are paid for by me and this review is no exception ~ I am paying for the monthly subscription service and am not being compensated for this review.

This month’s theme is Beauteque’s Treasure Chest and I really think this month’s bag is so adorable ~ a bright aqua bag with a huge bow on it! It is a bit plastic smelling, but a few days airing it out should remove that scent. 

Ahoy, Beauties!  You’re going to love the gems we’ve found for you this month!  Beauteque’s Treasure Chest BB Bag is chock full of finds for your skin, hair and eyes.  So Dive In!

Informational Card


Holika Holika Wonder Drawing No Smudge Liquid Eyeliner I love liquid eyeliners and they are my first choice over pencil liners.  A good black liquid liner and I am a happy camper!   This liquid eyeliner has a precision tip that allows me to make a consistent line, either thin or thick, and it does apply smoothly.  I found that it was easy to come off with some soap and water, and so long you don’t participate in a marathon or swim or sweat a lot,  it will stay on nicely.  I didn’t find it to smudge once it set.   I do like how easy it is to apply and create a nice winged line. Value $13.50


 image source



PureDerm Hair Mask in Jojoba Oil  This was one of the items where we could pick our type that we wanted ~ from Jojoba, Chamomile or Honey.  I picked Jojoba Oil, because that contained peppermint and I love peppermint.  It also seemed to be the one that was more suited for my hair type. When I started down my K-Beauty path, I wasn’t that open to hair masks and packs, as I was used to US hair mask products, which were always for dry, damaged, coarse hair.   My hair is oily, fine and straight, so I never wanted to weigh down my hair.  However, K-Beauty has opened my eyes up to the fact that there are mask packs made for my hair type out there, so I am more open to them now!

The Jojoba Mask Pack has a really rich, thick creamy texture, white in color and smells amazing ~ just like peppermint!  It feels really nice and cooling on my scalp when I apply it to my hair, roots to ends to my freshly cleansed and damp hair.  This is a hydrating hair mask and  even though it states it will revitalize dry hair, I feel it works well with my oily hair.  Key ingredients are

  • Jojoba Oil ~ Has antibacterial properties, which soothes and treats dryness.  It strengthens and hydrates individual hair strands, adds shine, elasticity and softness and can add volume and body to your hair.  Jojoba oil is also an emollient, so it can smooth and fill in the breaks on the hair cuticle, repairing heat and style damaged hair.
  • Olive Fruit Oil ~ Very nourishing and keeps hair healthy looking and protected from heat.  Adds shine, conditioning and suppleness to your hair, while reducing frizziness.
  • Peppermint and Wild Mint ~ Mint refreshes and clarifies your scalp, while stimulating your hair follicles and promoting hair growth.  
  • Vitamin E (tocopheryl acetate) ~ Repairs split ends and adds shine to your hair.
  • Vitamin B5 (panthenol) ~ Keratin, which is the structural fibrous component of your hair (and your skin), is made up of protein.   Vitamin B5 helps keratin in your hair to be strong and prevent brittleness.

I left this on my hair for 15 minutes and then rinsed out with warm water.  My hair feels unbelievably soft and very tangle free.   I really like this mask as it is so hot right now and the cooling sensation on my scalp and the fresh mint scent is so refreshing.   Because I have shorter hair, I only used 1/2 of my packet so I can have another treatment.  This is going on my purchase list.    Retail Value $6.95

Ingredients: water, cetrimonium chloride, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glycol, mentha arvensis extract, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethiconol, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) leaf extract, tocopheryl acetate, panthenol, hydroxyethlcellulose, potassium sorbate, disodium EDTA, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


Best Wish Palis Facial Oil Blotting Paper  How cute is this packaging!  I love that there is a little key included ~ a key to my Pirate Booty!   I use blotting papers all the time ~ I have very oily skin and blotting allows me to gently remove the oil from my face and not remove my facial makeup.  I also don’t have to add more makeup to my face (cakey!!) which allows my skin to breath.  I also use them if my skincare products are taking too long to dry in the morning.   I don’t always have 20 to 40 minutes in the morning to wait for each layer to “dry” on my skin before applying my makeup, so I will take these blotting papers and gently blot away any excess moisturizer that hasn’t fully absorbed into my skin in 5 minutes.  $5.00


TheSaem Perfection Concealer Tip Cover in 1.5 Natural Beige This was our other choice item and we could choose from 01 Clear Beige, 1.5 Natural Beige or 02 Rich Beige.  I choose 1.5 Natural Beige, because I am a light warm tone (Mac Studio Tech in NW20), and Clear Beige looks to be too light for me and Rich Beige too dark.   This is a medium to full coverage concealer that is waterproof and will last for several hours without touch-up.    I found this product to be great for my oily skin, as it does seem to dry out my skin a bit, which if I am covering up  blemishes, that is what I want.   It also has a slightly matte finish (soft focus powder), which is fantastic!  Usually Korean facial products like this are “dewy” finishes😀   If you have dry skin, I suggest really moisturizing before applying this product.   The doe foot applicator allows me to target and spot treat the areas I really need to cover-up and as this is a small tube, it is not meant to be an all over facial product.  I like this has SPF 27 as every little bit helps!  Full Size 6.8 g $8.50

(1) swatched  (2) blended

 Ingredients: titanium dioxide (CI 77891), water, cyclopentasiloxane, phenyl trimethicone, talc, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, butylene glycol, PVP, PEG-10 dimethicone, disteardimonium hectorite, vinyl dimethicone/methicone silsesquioxane crosspolymer, sodium chloride, stearic acid, chlorphenesin, triethoxycaprylylsilane, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, arnica montana flower extract, gentiana lutea root extract, chillea millefolium extract, artemisia vulgaris extract, yeast extract(faex),mannitol, glycogen, magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, methylparaben, butylparaben, ferric oxide (CI 77491), hydrated ferric oxide (CI 77492), black oxide of iron (CI 77499), fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


Mizon All in One Snail Cream   This must be the product of the year!!  This is the 3rd time I’ve received this product but I have been using it lately, so I do not mind.  This is a really good snail cream and it is doesn’t add any greasiness or oiliness to my skin, but leaves it smooth and hydrated.    This has 92% of the lovely snail-y slime, along with peptides and hyaluronic acid, for a great hydrating,  anti-aging cream and snail filtrates also help with my oily, blemish-prone skin too!  I have read some great reviews on this product and I will use it areas that need extra attention.  This gel-cream is not heavy, has no odor and absorbs rapidity, without any tackiness or greasy feel .    Travel Size 35 mL Value $25.00  …… OMG, no, it is NOT that much!!   I mean, seriously, Beauteque has  the FULL SIZE 75 mL at your shop for a price of $28.00.  Why do they do this????  

Description: Formulated with snail enzymes, Mizon’s Snail Repair Perfect Cream works to moisturize, smooth, and refresh skin from the inside out.  This cruelty free cream is perfect for all over the skin, especially in the sensitive eye area.  

Mizon All in One Snail Cream Ingredients:  Snail secretion filtrate, cetearyl olivate, sorbitan olivate, cetearyl alcohol, stearic acid, glyceryl stearate, hydrogenated vegetable oil, dimethicone, triethanolamine, carbomer, butylene glycol, PEG/PPG-17/6 copolymer, polyacrylate-13,  polyisobutene, polysorbate 20, sodium polyacrylate, caprylyl glyocol, adenosine, ethylhexylglycerin, tropolone,  sodium hyaluronate, portulaca oleracea extract, betula platyphylla japonica juice, arnica Montana flower extract, Artemisia absinthium extract, achillea millefolium extract, gentian lutea root extract, alcohol, camellia sinensis leaf extract, centella asiatica extract, copper tripeptide-1, rh-oligopeptide-1, propylene glycol, rubus idaeus (raspberry) fruit extract, beta-glucan, palmitoyl pentapeptide-4, disodium EDTA  cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source
image source
image source


PureDerm Clean and Fresh Peeling Gel  I love that this is re-closable with its cap-spout nozzle dispenser! I am saving this for my vacation, as it is perfect to bring when traveling.   In fact, this probably has many uses in it, as you don’t use a lot of product with applying peeling gels.  I think all peeling gels should be this size, as I sometimes get overwhelmed with all of them that I currently own.    This is a creamy peeling gel mask, made with apples, lemon and orange extracts, which will gently remove dead skin, oil and dirt from your face, exfoliating gently, while moisturizing.    This is reported to have an apple scent, so that is another bonus for me.  Travel Size 50 mL Value $8.50

What is exactly is a Peeling Gel?  In case you are new to my blog and haven’t read my past blog posts on peeling gels, I will try and explain what a peeling gel is.  Peeling gels are not peels ~ they are actually non-physical exfoliators that use fruit enzymes to dissolve dead skin cells and unclog pores, which you can see as you massage it onto your skin. They revitalize and refresh the skin and only remove a small amount of superficial skin. Peeling gels must be applied to clean, DRY skin, otherwise, they do not work as well. Peeling gels should also have an alpha hydroxy acid (glycolic, citric, lactic) as this acid helps in removing dead skin cells ~ lemons and papayas naturally contain alpha hydroxy acids. Another common ingredient is hyaluronic acid (sodium hyaluronate), as that will increase moisture and hydration and improve your skin’s texture and tone.  You will see clumps when you apply this to your skin, as the oils from your skin is what should activate the fibers and enzymes in a peeling gel. Those clumps are part product (listed as acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer or carbomer or cellulose), part your skin cells, held together with the oils from your skin. If the clumps are greyish-white in color as well, don’t worry ~ that just means that your skin was dirty!

Description: Purederm Clean & Fresh Peeling Gel formulated with Apple, Lemon & Orange Extract deeply cleans pores, gently exfoliates, removes dead skin cells and refines skin surface. Skin is healthy looking and refreshed.

Ingredients: water, PEG-8, cellulose, dipropylene glycol, glycerin, alcohol, sodium hyaluronate, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extract, vaccinium myrtillus fruit/leaf extract, saccharum officinarum (sugar cane) extract, acer saccarum (sugar maple) extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) fruit extract, citrus limon (lemon) fruit extract, allantoin, beta-glucan, disodium EDTA, carbomer,  triethanolamine, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


image source


Hanaka V-Line Chin Patch  So, this is a chin patch which has little ear hooks ~ finally, something that won’t fall off my  neck, as this does go UNDER your chin, not on your chin.  This is supposed to “lift” the skin under your chin and firm it, so you don’t have a double chin or crepe-y skin.  I don’t have crepe-y skin, but I’ve always had more chin fat under my chin that I care to admit ~ I also have chipmunk cheeks too, which I have had since I was a little girl (in fact, my older brother & sister would tease me when I was a little girl and call me “Chubby Cheekers” much to my dismay)   No matter how much weight I lose, the weight in my face is the last thing to go, so I’ve always had a nice full face ~ damn peasant stock ~ ahaha.  I will have the last laugh ~ when I am in my 80’s, my cheek fat will still be there, giving me a youthful appearance ;)   Back to this V-Line Chin mask ~ Will this work?  Probably not.  But I will use it, cause I am like that ~ always trying out stuff that probably won’t work.  At any rate, my skin under my chin will be hydrated!!   $3.80

Description: Stretchable Patch, Contain Ingredients Like Collagen and Centella Asiatica, Restore Skin Elasticity And Glossy Appearance, Let Cheek And Chin Tense, Create Prefect V-line Face.
Ingredients:water, glycerin, butylene glycol, alcohol, citus paradisi (grapefruit) fruit extract, betaine, xanthan gum, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, ethylhexylglycerin, hydrolyzed collagen, centella asiatica extract, sodium hyaluronate,  sophoora angustifolia root extract, lonicera japonica (honeysuckle) flower extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, prunus persica (peach) leaf extract, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, sodium oleate, hydrolyzed lecithin,  acetyl hexapeptide-8, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis
image source
image source

I also received an extra item in my bag, thanking me for being a loyal customer.


Hanaka Black Rose Acne Fighting Mask I thought this was a nice touch to add to my monthly bag, but alas, I cannot use it, as it contains rose water.  Oh well.  This is a wash off mask pack, and it does have some nice ingredients to help with acne ~  witch hazel, kalin, aloe vera.  I thought this was a clay mask, but based on the photos, it is a black peel off mask.  Full Size 10 g Value $1.99

Description: Hanaka Black Rose Acne Fighting Mask Brightening black mask designed to absorb impurities, balance oiliness and exfoliate skin texture.  Leave until completely dry, to help remove acne and blackheads.  Deeply purify pores and instantly refine skin

How to Use: After cleansing, take a moderate amount and apply to the desired area or whole face. Leave on for 15-30 minutes to dry, then remove gently.<

Ingredients: water, rose water, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, calendula officinalis extract, chamomile extract, grape leaf extract, witch hazel extract, aloe vera extract, cucurbita pepo fruit ferment extract, kaolin cosDNA.com analysis

image source image source


I think that Beauteque was struggling this month to fill this bag and meet their promise of a bag worth over $65.00.   It seems to me that they should have included double the mask packs, as I am a bit upset at the huge markup on some of these items.    I think that the bag contents are really nice and useful and I like them well-enough, but the shameless markup of the bag value is totally unnecessary, imho.   Just don’t inflate the value to a ridiculous price point (Peach & Lily does this all the time, but even they don’t sell that travel size of the Mizon snail cream for more than $10.00!)  and toss in a couple of more masks ~ makes everyone happy.  However, the past few months with Beauteque’s BB were really great, so I think it was inevitable that they would have an off month in terms of value.  I do appreciate seeing PureDerm in this bag, as that is a nice, inexpensive but effective brand and TheSaem, which is a brand on the same level as Mizon.

I paid $24.00 for my bag + $3.95 shipping for a total of $27.95 and received a BeautequeValue** of $71.25, not including the bonus item.   The bag is an extra and there is no price on it.

** Just as with Memebox, the values of these products are the manufacturer’s retail value, but you can find them much cheaper elsewhere.

Did you subscribe to Beauteque’s Monthly Bag?  If so, what did you think of this month’s bag?  Please comment below🙂

Did you see the preview of September’s Bag?  Check out my blog post here for the spoilers ~ September looks so much better and certainly, the sizes makes up for this month.



 [ descriptions in italics from linked product site.   This item was purchased with my own money ]

10 thoughts on “Unboxing August 2015 Beauteque Bag!

  1. My bag arrived today and smelled of gasoline, second time for this, but I’ll let it sit out with a fabric softener in it and all will be good. I enjoy reading your take on the bag this month and as with all your reviews, I absolutely love your detail, many photos, explanation and honesty. Your one of a few I read every single day and re-read because you actually try the products out. Thank you and have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just wanted to thank you for all the great information you provide especially about k-beauty. And I have been wanting to tell you how much I appreciate you teaching me about peeling gels.🙂 I didn’t have a clue really. Oh and sleeping masks. I never knew whether to apply my usual products or skip them and just use the sleep mask. You cleared that up for me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thank you for explaining the peeling gel! From my understanding, is it quite like the famous Japanese exfoliator called Cure? I was thinking of buying it again but it’s pretty pricey so I had no idea there was an alternative Korean product that did the same thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jessica! I have not used Cure, but I did some research just now. That is a peeling gel – but it doesn’t have AHA ingredients in it, so it doesn’t have those enzymes to help with acne and really do deep exfoliation. I don’t view it as a traditional exfoliator, because it doesn’t have AHA’s – it does have the crosspolymer which helps form the “balls” of gunk, but I am not sure it can really do the exfoliation like a peeling gel that has AHA’s. Its ingredient list is short and it doesn’t have preservatives – water, glycerin, acrylates/C10-30, alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, dicocodimonium, chloride, steartrimonium bromide, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, gingko biloba extract, rosmarinus officinalis/rosemary leaf extract, butylene glycol

      I found a really good review on Cure here http://aquabeautydream.blogspot.com/2010/12/cure-natural-aqua-gel.html

      If you aren’t sensitive to AHA (and these are pretty gentle exfoliators), you might want to pick one of these – I think that Secret Key Lemon D-Tox (https://beautyfindsforme.wordpress.com/2015/04/10/secret-key-lemon-d-toc-peeling-gel-review/) might be a good one for you to try and it is inexpensive. I read that Laneige Multiberry Yogurt Peeling Gel is also really good and you can get it at Target http://www.target.com/p/laneige-multiberry-yogurt-peeling-gel-80-ml/-/A-16508027 (that is on my to-buy list as this peeling gel you can use on a wet face!!)

      I have oily skin, so I have to have an AHA, because my pores do get clogged and I have a lot of oil. However, if you don’t have oily skin and your pores are not that clogged, you might try Cure, but as you said, it is expensive. I love AHA in my exfoliators, so I won’t be purchasing Cure.


      1. I wanted to add – always look at the ingredient list! It is important if you have sensitive skin or allergies, just to make sure that it is suitable for you. Another good tip is to always do a skin patch test first – I use my arm – and just make sure that I have no allergic or negative reaction. What works for someone else might not work for you. I do all of these things – read ingredients, skin patch test – with new products.


        1. thank you very much for the in depth reply! Ha, I do admit that I do very little research other than reading reviews, a bad habit on my part. I had no idea target carried laneige, I think I will try it out! Thanks a lot, you saved me some money😀 Love you and love your blog!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmm…I can’t say I’m impressed with this month’s bag. A lot of one-time use products or smaller items it seems…I also really dislike when companies mark things up like that. It’s one thing to use the inflated western prices of things (that I can at least understand to an point) but to just find the highest possible price for something on ebay and then say that’s what it’s valued at really irritates me, no matter what company does it. Great review as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks! Yes, I wasn’t happy with the markup either. I really like theSaem product and the Mizon, the hair mask is really nice too. I wish they would have gave us all 3 hair masks types and maybe a couple of sheet masks or something.

      At any rate, next month looks so much better!


Leave a Reply

