Unboxing Althea Beauty Routine From Head to Toe Box!

[ disclosure: products received complementary for an unboxing blog post ]

Althea is a K-Beauty online shop that ships globally and they remind me a lot of the original Memebox Global (International) shop.  I have reviewed their store and unboxed some items here, and then Althea started to release BOXES  ~ you know, the type that Memebox Global was famous for ~ Althea has picked up that mantle and they will be releasing 3 new boxes monthly.  You just pick the one you want!  It isn’t a subscription service.  Althea reached out to me to see if I wanted to unbox one of their boxes, and of course I did!  I chose the Head to Toe box as all but one item I had never tried before and I felt this box was the best value.   This box is still available for $30.00 USD.

Althea offers a huge variety of products and brands at really reasonable prices, ranging from Swanicoco, Innisfree, belif, Dr Jart+,Sulwhasoo, IOPE, The Saem, among others.  They do not have full lines of products within the brands, but it is a nice start ~ perhaps they are looking to see what sells before committing to more products from that brand.  When you first go to their site, you will be directed to the “Country Tunnel” page, where you select either Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand, US  or the “Rest of the World” and they do ship to 235 countries.  They have free shipping for orders $50.00 USD or more and they offer both regular shipping and EMS.  Shipping times:  EMS is  3-7 working days whereas regular shipping for USA is 10-15 working days and Registered Airmail (rest of the world) 10-35 days.  Althea also have a 30 day unconditional refund policy and while you have to pay for the initial postage fee upfront, Althea will reimburse you up to $10.00 of your return shipping cost.   Save $15.00 on your first purchase by using my referral link here

There was no informational card, but Althea’s website tells you a lot about the product and I will use that information here as well.  This box came with 7 full sized items and one travel sized item.

The Choute Hot Body Salt Scrub  This is a body scrub, made with salt, pepper and caffeine and it will help buff and polish your skin, removing old dead flaky skin, and supposedly help reduce the appearance of cellulite. The reason why this unboxing took me a while to do is because I wanted to try a few of the products in this box and give you a review.  This was one of the products I tried.   This scrub has little red specks in it, which I assume is the pepper and I didn’t have high hopes for a warming, let alone a HOT, scrub.  I have been very disappointed in warming K-Beauty products in the past ~ Innisfree, I am looking at you.  My experiences with warming products from Korea has been normally the reaction of “that’s warming?” The warming is usually gained by the friction of me scrubbing my skin with my hands!! There are exceptions, to be sure, but most of the ones I have used have not been warming. This isn’t warming. THIS IS HOT🔥🔥 And I love it!! This scrub comes out very slowly from the tube ~ it does not want to come out. I got a bit of on my upper lip…and didn’t wipe it off as I didn’t know what was going to happen next.

This has a refreshing menthol scent ~ I started to use this salt scrub that also has cranberry extracts for antioxidant benefits. I didn’t feel anything at first but then I noticed my upper lip was starting to heat up ~ I quickly washed my hands and then my face~  you have to wash your hands, just like if you were handling hot peppers in the kitchen.. Then my arms and legs started to heat up and wow ~ it was a nice heat. It really felt good on my skin. After I got out of the shower, the heat was still there, but I used an aloe vera gel to help cool down my skin.  I wasn’t expecting a spa experience when I used it, but I got one!! I really like the Hot Body Salt Scrub ~ a little of this goes a long way and it does really feel nice, plus it leaves my skin smooth. If you are sensitive to heating products, you shouldn’t try this ~ but I know a lot of people love the sensation and warmth.  I hope Althea carries this item individually at their site, as I could only find it on a Philippine oneline store. 180 mL RV $6.00

Ingredients: sodium chloride, glycerin, PEG-8, PEG-32, PEG-150, water, vaccinium macrocarpon (cranberry) seed powder, polysorbate 20, 1,2-hexanediol, dimethicone, vanillyl butyl ether, propylene glycol, polysorbate 80, ethylhexylglycerin, caprylyl glycol, butylene glycol, tocopheryl acetate, fragrance, coffea arabica (coffee) seed extract, caffeine, maltodextrin, capsicum frutescens fruit extract, sophora angustifolia root extract, eugenia caryophyllus (clove) flower extract, eucalyptus globulus leaf extract, citrus paradisi (grapefruit) fruit extract, citrus junos fruit extract, xanthan gum, hydroxyethylcellulose, phenoxyethanol, CI 17200 cosDNA analysis

image source

Nature Republic Natural Olive Scalp Cooling Hair Pack   I will admit, this product was the one that sealed the deal with me.  I was looking over the boxes that Althea had and when I saw this, I knew I wanted it.  I have oily scalp and hair and use scalp treatments, as my scalp gets so itchy sometimes  ~ not dandruff, just itchy and it does get oily quick.  A treatment like this will help unclog your hair follicles and reduce the sebum on your scalp, which will help your hair grow in thicker and with less breakage.    This creamy mask pack is made with nourishing olive oil (990mg) , full of antioxidants that contribute to the health of your scalp, plus when you massage this mask pack into your scalp, your hair growth can be thicker in the future.   This also has peppermint in it, so it is refreshing and has anti-bacterial properties, cleanses your scalp and contains salicylic acid. It also has tea tree oil as well, which is a great anti fungal, anti-bacterial and anti-septic ingredient. I love the scent of this, as it is so minty fresh~ I just apply this to my scalp and massage it in and leave on for about 10 minutes.  My scalp feels so cool and tingles, so it is great in the summer time.  After rinsing out, my hair feels really clean and soft and my scalp feels refreshed.  Love this mask pack and I will purchase more of this when I am done with this huge tub!  200 ml RV $17.00

Ingredients:  water, cetearyl alcohol, glycerin (5%), panax ginseng root extract, thuja occidentalis leaf extract, morus alba bark extract, chrysanthemum zawadskii extract, lycium chinense fruit extract, acorus calamus root extract, xanthium strumarium fruit extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, mentha arvensis leaf extract, butylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, steartrimonium chloride, alcohol denat,  distearyldimonium chloride, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil (990mg), mentha arvensis leaf oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, PEG-14M, menthol, fragrance, disodium EDTA, methylchloroisothiazolinone, methylisothiazolinone, magnesium chloride, magnesium nitrate,  citric acid, mentha piperita (peppermint) leaf extract, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) leaf extract, mentha arvensis leaf extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, CI 19140, CI 42090 cosDNA analysis

image source

Mise En Scène Perfect Serum Shampoo and Perfect Serum Treatment  I have tried Mise En Scène Perfect Serum Treatment and it is one of my favorite items, despite the heavy floral scent.  I originally received these back in my Memebox Global days and initially, I didn’t want it. Then I tried it and I have loved it since.  It can be used as a normal conditioner or leave it on for 10 minutes for a nice deep conditioning mask treatment.  Both of these items are part of their Perfect Serum line and there are 7 types of nourishing and hydrating oils in this product: argan, camellia, marula, olive, coconut, apricot and jojoba.  Now, originally, I thought I was getting the serum, because I didn’t know a shampoo existed in this line!  I am very happy to have the shampoo and I love it ~ its scent is less fragrant than the conditioning treatment and it leaves my hair soft and bouncy without tangles.  I love the Perfect Serum line from Mise En Scène. Travel Size Shampoo 140 mL  RV $5.00  Treatment  180 mL RV $8.80

Description: Mise-en-scène is a total hair cosmetics brand that offers a diverse range of products that help you achieve smooth and silky hair with the modern styling you want. Borrowing a term from film that refers to directing, we believe you should direct your own hair destiny. In collaboration with hair artists, Mise-en-scène has developed products for healthy hair and perfect styling as you want. We host events to help you learn and engage with the latest products and to learn new hair techniques from the experts. Some of our cutting edge products include our Perfect Repair Line for Intensive Care, our Professional Line with customized solutions based on specific hair concerns, our hair coloring products, and our styling products which adds a stylish finishing touch to your hair. Our Perfect Repair Serum has been a best-seller in Korea since 2011.

image source
  • Argan oil – a source of food and moisture. Oil fills the structure of the hair and smooth scales, restoring elasticity and vitality.

Mise En Scène Perfect Serum Shampoo: Purified water, Sodium laureth sulfate, Lauryl Hydroxysultaine, Dimethicol, Glycopeptide, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Sclerocarya Birrea (Marula) Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein,  Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Disodium iodide, Lauric Acid, Mica, Butylene glycol, Cetyl alcohol, Sodium salicylate, Sodium citrate, Sodium chloride, Steartrimonium chloride, Citric Acid, Amodimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ethanol, Red Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Caprylic  glycol, Cocamide MEA, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Trihydroxystearin, TEA-Dodecylbenzenesulfonate, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Tin Oxide, Potassium Chloride, Polyquaternium-10, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, PPG-7, Hydroxypropyl Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Sodium benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

Mise En Scène Perfect Serum Treatment: Water, Stearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Shea Butter, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Cetearyl Olivate, Steartrimonium Chloride, Amodimethicone, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Sorbitan Olivate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Glycolipids, CI 17200, CI 15985, Lactic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Trideceth-10, PEG-32, Fragrance, Coconut Oil   cosDNA analysis

image source

Skin & Lab Dr. Vita Clinic White Vita-C Essence  I have used Skin & Lab products before but never their Dr Vita line.  This is a brightening vitamin C essence which will help brighten dull skin tones, bring balance to uneven skin tones and balance the moisture-oil level by hydrating your skin while soothing your skin. This contains green tea seed oil for brightening due to its vitamin C content, sea buckthorn oil ~ soothing and locks in moisture and spider silk protein ~ for skin elasticity and vitalizing. This also contains 8,360 ppm of ethyl ascorbyl ether, which is a stable derivative of vitamin C ~ this ingredient is not easily broken down by heat, air and light and it is has been proven for its brightening effect on pigmented or sunburned skin. This also has beta glucan, sodium hyaluronate and vitamin E ~ so it will be a very nice moisturizing and hydrating serum.   I haven’t opened this up yet as I have a lot of products open right now, but I think this will be great in the winter time, as it sounds very moisturizing.  I never have high hopes for brightening serums, but I am always willing to try them!   I hand translated (via many apps) the ingredient list, so all mistakes are my own.  That is why I didn’t put it in cosDNA because I might have mistakes.   50 mL RV $17.00

Ingredients: Purified Water, Dipropylene Glycol, Glycerin, Ethyl Ascorbyl Ether (8630ppm), Green Tea Seed Oil, Butylene Glycol, Betaine, Beta Glucan, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Seabuckthorn) Oil, Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract, Lycium Barbarum (Goji) Fruit Extract, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Fruit Extract, Myrciaria Dubia (Camu Camu) Fruit Extract, Glycosyl trehalose,  alpha-arbutin, Gellan gum, Sodium hyaluronate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan gum, Disodium EDTA, Sodium polyacrylate, Ethylhexanediol, Allantoin, Dipotassium glycyrrhizate, Polyglyceryl-2 Stearate, Glyceryl stearate, Stearyl alcohol, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate, Arginine/Lysine Polypeptide, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Caprylyl glycol, 1,2-hexanediol, Boswellia Serrata Resin Extract,  Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Fragrance

image source

Clio Pro Eye Palette Quad in 01 Amber Slip  I love these colors!  This initially looked to be too sparkly, but only one is a bit glittery ~ the rest are lovely shimmers, which I adore and will wear until my eyelids are all old and wrinkly ~ probably still wear them then too!   This comes with a useless applicator, but the shadows are amazing!  I wish they would have put a fifth shadow in that slot ~ @the_hazel_dragon on IG mentioned it should be a nice matte shade, and I agree!  But these are beautiful warm browns and rusts, light peaches and ambers.  Amber Slip is considered their natural coral look and these go on silky without hardly any fall-out. I found that  you can make it as sheer or as dramatic as you want, as this does layer well. I also found them to be long lasting as well. The lightest shade is a shimmery champagne, the next shade is a glittery peach color, then a shimmery golden brown and then finally a shimmer chocolate brown color. These have a “wet coating system” which is supposed to give a nice even thin layer, with clear, high-purity chroma color. Yeah, whatever! I love this quad 😀    My swatches below do not do this palette justice ~ they are much deeper and richer than shown. RV $22.90

 

image source

W.Lab Change Foot Peeling Pack I love foot peeling packs!  There is nothing more satisfying to see old dead skin roll off my feet ~ alas, my feet look scabby for a week while it is peeling, but the end result is smooth skin!  Make sure to soak and clean your feet first and then  slip these booties over your feet for 90 minutes to an hour. I normally put socks over the booties so I can still shuffle around the house.  Then remove booties, rinse well and wait.  I recommend to soak your feet for 20  minutes daily to spead up the peeling process and do not moisturize your feet during this time period.  It is tempting, I know, especially with the dead skin, but moisturizing will slow down the exfoliating process.  Just soak your feet, use a pumice stone to smooth your skin and within a week, your feet should be baby smooth.  Now, I don’t know how W.Lab performs as a peeling foot pack, but it contains AHA, fruit extracts and carbon bubble water to help minimize irritation. The essence is a 4.8 pH level, which means the acids will effectively exfoliate your skin.   This has a little packet that you add to the bootie, called a Co2 Booster, which is the carbonated water. RV $11.00

Co2 Booster: purified water, sodium bicarbonate, polysorbate 20, sodium hyaluronate, lotus root extract, portulaca oleracea extract, witch hazel bark/leaf/branch extract, yam bean root, cauliflower extract, mallow leaf extract, iceland moss extract, 1,2-hexandiol, propanediol, caprylyl glycol, illicum verum extract, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, fragrance

Foot Peeling Pack: denat. alcohol, purified water, proplene glycol, lactic acid, urea, isopropyl alcohol, glycolic acid, betaine, lemon extract, orange extract, apple extract, lime extract, acerola extract, pomegranate extract, grape extract, peach extract, kiwi extract, peppermint leaf extract, aloe vera leaf extract, carbonate water, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, salicylic acid, menthol, disodium EDTA, fragrance

image source

Angel Factory Underarm White Cream  This is not the strangest item I have seen in a beauty box, but it is weird to me.  I shower daily and wash my underarm area, as well as shave it daily too. So, I really wonder how someone gets flaky skin there, but it must happen!  This 2 step pit kit will brighten your armpits, remove flakes and dirt by using AHA/BHA peeling pad. It will lessen the odor and it is soothing to your skin.  You use the peeling pad to exfoliate your pits and then apply the whitening cream to your DRY armpits.  The cream has the whitening effect ~ it isn’t brightening your actual skin tone, but leaves a white cast due to the titanium dioxide ~ and has a baby powder scent, from what I have read about this product.  RV $4.20

Peeling Pads: water, alcohol, PEG-400, PEG/PPG-17/6 copolymer, niacinamide, aluminum chlorohydrate, fragrance, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, butylene glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl caprylate, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, glycerin, propylene glycol, citric acid, glycolic acid,  lactic acid, tartaric acid, malic acid, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extract, vitis vinifera (grape) fruit extract,  vaccinium myrtillus fruit/leaf extract, citrus medica limonum (lemon) fruit extract, saccharum officiarum (sugar cane) extract, salix alba (willow) bark extract, salicylic acid, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, melissa officinalis leaf extract, phenoxethanol, triethanolamine, silca, menthol, disodium EDTA cosDNA analysis

White Cream: water, glycerin, hydrogenated C6-14 olefin polymers, neopentyl glycol diheptanoate, cetyl ethylhexanoate,  titanium dioxide, triethoxycaprylsilane, caprylic/capric triglyceride, cyclopentasiloxane, hexyl laurate, PEG-10 dimethicone, stearic acid, alumnia, cyclohexasiloxane, niacinamide, butylene glycol, cetearyl alcohol, phenyl trimethicone, polysorbate 20, triethanolamine, methyl methacrylate crossspolymer, silica, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, adenosine, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, limnanthes alba (meadowfoam) seed oil, sodium hyaluronate, sclerotium gum,  peaonia lactiflora root extract, convallaria majalis root extract, maglolia liliflora flower extract, lilium candidum flower extract, leontopodium alpinum flower/leaf extract, rubus idaeus (raspberry) fruit extract, portulaca oleracea extract, hydrolyzed extensin, disodium EDTA, caprylyl glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, tropolone cosDNA analysis

image source

I really love this box!! There is only one item that I may not use, but hey, I might just try it anyway ~ the Angel Factory Underarm White Cream.  But all the other items are fabulous and I love how this has several hair care products, two body care products, makeup, skincare and footcare.  This is truly head to toe!!  This box retails for $30.00 USD and the retail value is over $90.00 (retail value is the manufacturer suggested price). My only complaint is that many of these items cannot be found for individual sale at Althea, so if I loved a product, I would have to go elsewhere to purchase it.

They have several boxes still available, including this one ~ From Head to Toe. Sign up for their newsletter as they will announce new releases and you can be the first to know! I actually am very excited about this as I think these boxes look to be better than even the original Memebox Global ones!  Did you pick up an Althea box recently? What did you get?

 

 

 

[ disclosure: products received complementary for an unboxing blog post ]

2 thoughts on “Unboxing Althea Beauty Routine From Head to Toe Box!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.