Cooling Green Tea, Tea Tree and Mint Hair Care Product Review

[ blog post contains affiliate and referral links ]

I am planning to have several hair care blog posts in the next couple of months and this is the first of my series.  I am focusing on hair care products that contain green tea, tea tree and/or mint.  Those ingredients are fantastic for those who have oily hair and scalp as well as those who have fine hair.  Now, just like my skincare, I do change my hair treatment routine depending on the season and the shampoo and conditioner are used during the hot summer months, while the scalp treatments are used year round.   Let’s lather up!

Did you know... that when temperatures rise, so does your sebum (oil) production?  It increases 10% to 20% for each degree the temperature of your skin rises.. and if you have an oily scalp, that means your scalp will produce more oil as well.    This is why I turn to mint-based products to help cleanse and condition my hair, as mint is known for its astringent properties, stimulating blood circulation and helps control excess oil while purifying scalp and hair.   

Innisfree Green Tea Mint Fresh Shampoo (300mL) and Scalp Conditioner (200mL) I have been using these two products for over 2 years now in the summer months.  Not only are they made with  two different Jeju Island sourced mint extracts ~ peppermint and spearmint ~ to help detox and absorb excess oil, they contain Green Tea, also sourced from Jeju Island, to help soothe and condition your scalp while adding moisturize back into your hair.   Both of these are made with a silicone-free formula, which does not contain mineral oil, artificial fragrances and artificial coloring. 

The shampoo has a pearlescent look to it and it is a runny shampoo.  The cap is one that you press down on one edge and it will flip up ~ and since the shampoo has a runny texture, I have to be careful not to put too much product on my hand.  This smells WONDERFUL.  The mint that really comes thru is the spearmint, which is a more bright, sweet sparkling scent than peppermint ~ peppermint is more sharp whereas this is fresh and aromatic without the sharp edge to it.  It is quite wonderful and I have always stated that if Innisfree decides to make a perfume based on this scent, I would purchase it.  Now, this is not as bracing as the Jungle Botanics Forest Leaves Cooling Shampoo,  despite that they both contain menthol.  However, this shampoo still delivers a refreshing cooling sensation on my scalp and it also lathers up nicely as well.  For those days when it is very hot and muggy, I will wash, rinse and repeat again to really get that cooling, deep cleaned feeling on my scalp and hair.

Now this does contain sodium laureth sulfate, but that is considered a good sulfate, not a bad one.  It can be derived from coconuts and it is not the same as sodium lauryl sulfate (the bad one).   This sulfate is milder due to its higher amount and different chemical structure of fatty alcohols that are used to make this ingredient.  It has been found safe by many experts (source)

The conditioner is light-to-medium weight in its texture, very creamy and moist.  The opening in the tube is very small, so I do have to deal with getting it out of the tube first, but at least I am not getting too much product coming out at once.  It has the same great scent as the shampoo and it does condition my hair without weighing it down or leaving a residue.  This contains shea butter, sunflower seed oil and camellia seed oil to help moisture and hydrate my hair without leaving it greasy or oily.  The result is that my hair looks smooth and silky, while feeling really clean and refreshed.  

This shampoo and conditioner set will also help control dandruff as it will remove dirt and debris on your scalp and then lightly hydrate and soothe your scalp, so that you don’t get dry flakes of skin.

In case you want to see swatches:  Shampoo on the left, Conditioner on the right.

Description:  Deep cleansing silicone-free shampoo and conditioner.  Mint formulation (mint oil + mint extract) that controls excessive scalp sebum. The rich lather thoroughly removes residue from your hair and scalp. The green tea ingredients hydrate and condition your scalp.  The green tea and silicon-free components add moisture to your hair and refreshes your scalp without leaving residue.

Shampoo Ingredients: water, sodium laureth sulfate, glycerin, butylene glycol, cocamidopropyl betaine, cocamide MEA, sodium chloride, potassium cocoyl glycinate, polyquaternium-10, polyquaternium-7, glycol distearate, menthol, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, mentha viridis (spearmint) leaf oil, panthenol, citrus unshiu peel extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, camellia japonica leaf extract, orchid extract, mentha arvensis leaf extract, citric acid, disodium EDTA, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate  cosDNA analysis

Conditioner Ingredients: water, sorbitol, propylene glycol, dimethicone, cetyl alcohol, isopropyl myristate, steartrimonium chloride, camellia japonica seed oil, behenyl alcohol, dipropylene glycol, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, citrus unshiu peel extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, camellia japonica leaf extract, orchid extract, mentha arvensis leaf extract, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, mentha viridis (spearmint) leaf oil, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, potassium sorbate, behentrimonium chloride, disodium EDTA   cosDNA analysis


The next two products are designed for the scalp ~ they are quite different, but the goals are the same.  To clear up and degunk/degrease your scalp.  If you feel that you’ve read this information before, you are correct!  I have reviewed these products in different blog posts, so I am repeating them again here.  I feel that both of these scalers could use some more love and attention and I feel that they are different enough that, regardless of your hair type, you should be able to use one of them.

You want to have a healthy scalp so that pores are unblocked, sebum production is maintained without imbalance and good blood flow to your hair root, so that your hair will grow fast and healthy.   Removing any build up will prevent “plaque” that has formed on your scalp, which is a by-product of your natural hair oils, hair products including shampoos and conditioners, pollution, sweat and dirt.   This will allow your scalp to “breath” and new hair growth will occur.

image credit

Scalp treatments will remove build up, refresh and de-grease.   Our hair is “dead”, but our scalp is alive and we do not give enough attention to it, and over time, hair product buildup and dead skin cells will make your hair look greasy and dull, and it will slow down your hair growth. Shampooing cannot do a good deep cleanse, so doing a detox/scaler treatment for your scalp will unclog the pores, remove dead skin and product buildup.   This will help stimulate your hair growth as your hair follicles will be clean and unclogged.

Innisfree Green Tea Mint Fresh Scaler Yep, another Innisfree product🙂 This is a product I tossed in my cart over almost 2 years ago(!! ~ I cannot believe it has been that long) at and I have been adding it to my cart ever since.   This is a wash out scalp treatment and I don’t know if it “de-scales” anything, but what I do know is that my scalp feels really refreshed, clean and not itchy ~ and it does remove product build up.  It may seem expensive at $17.00 for 3 tubes, but each tube contains 4 treatments  so it really isn’t that bad price-wise.

Description:  A scalp treatment made from Jeju green tea and mint that refreshes the scalp.  Mint formulation for sebum control ~~   Mint formulation (mint oil + mint extract) that controls excessive scalp sebum. The rich lather thoroughly removes residue from your hair and scalp.  Bermagot, lemon, and orange essential oil treats the scalp, leaving it fresh and clean.  A non-sticky and liquid based scale remover, formulated for massaging into your scalp.

This product has a watery consistency so be careful how you apply it as you can waste a lot of product.   The pointed end of the tube does help make it easy to get to the roots and I just use the tube as the main tool to separate my hair and apply it to my scalp.  I don’t worry about getting this product on my hair, but it does contain alcohol, so if you are sensitive to that or concerned, you might want to use hair clips/barrette/bobby pins to separate your hair.  My hair isn’t that damaged or weak that I personally need to concern myself with that.

The scent is amazing and is just like the shampoo/conditioner ~ please, Innisfree, make a shower/body line with this fragrance.  It is such a refreshing, invigorating and zingy mint scent and I feel like a glue sniffer when I open this tube up ~ the first thing I do is take a big deep sniff.  It is a great morning wake-me-up scent😀 I then apply it ~ it is not oily or greasy, but like water with a bit of a slip and then massage it into my scalp.  I leave it in for about 5 to 10 minutes and then shampoo my hair well, rinse and condition, as normal.

My scalp feels very clean and a bit tingly from the mint.   I do feel this helps with the buildup, oiliness and it helps with itchiness ~ which in the summertime, my scalp does itch quite a bit.  The heat, the oil, the dirt, exercising ~ it all adds up and this is a product that I use weekly in the summer/warmer months. In the winter time, I find that I can use this every other week.   This product is very important in my hair care treatment routine as it deep cleans, removes product buildup and allows my scalp to breath and unclogs pores ~ yes, you do have pores in your scalp

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Disiloxane, Alcohol, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glycerin, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Mentha Arvensis Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Menthol, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Butylene Glycol cosDNA analysis

Lador Tea Tree Scalp Clinic Hair Pack  (200mL)  If you cannot use the Innisfree Green Tea Mint Scaler due to the alcohol content, I would recommend Lador Tea Tree Scalp Clinic Hair Pack.  This product contains tea tree, which is used for many infections and diseases due to its healing and disinfectant properties ~ antibacterial, fungicide, antiseptic, antimicrobial, antiviral and can help speed up wound healing and reduce scarring, as it is a cicatrisant. It helps with preventing dry, flaky skin and because of its antibacterial properties, can help heal current blemishes while reducing future blemishes and control excess oil. It helps with rashes, allergic skin reactions and fungal infections.

This also contains ceramides, to help keep your hair shiny and smooth, due to linoleic fatty acids and snail secretion filtrate ~ it contains natural acids and elastin that will help promote healthy skin (scalp) Peptide polyglutamic acid is made from fermented soybeans (natto) and helps moisturize and exfoliate old skin cells. I am not sure why the description on the product itself states that it contains propolis, because the ingredient list does not show that.  I even translated the back of the product itself, in case the translation was incorrect at Memebox ~ which has happened in the past ~ but no…Weird.  Maybe they confused the snail slime with propolis.   I have no idea.  Now, you might say that it does contain alcohol ~ cetearyl alcohol ~   yes, that is true.  But cetearyl alcohol is a fatty alcohol and that is a non-irritating and good alcohol.  It is beneficial for your skin and helps keep ingredients stable.  So, if you are worried about the “alcohol” in this product, don’t be!

This works differently than the ampoule scaler ~ you first shampoo your hair and then massage in this product into your wet scalp (only your scalp!!) and then leave in for 3 minutes.  Rinse out completely and then you can use a conditioner.   This product is thick and creamy, with a light sweet minty scent and leaves my scalp tingling and refreshed.  My hair is very bouncy and full after I use this.   I was worried about the rose extract, but I have not had any issues with this product ~ I guess the ingredient is so far down the list, it has been neutralized.  

The tea tree, green tea and menthol all help to soothe, detox and remove excess oil and unclog your scalp’s pores, while polyglutamic acid, ceramide and snail slime help hydrate and condition your scalp. And as a bonus, if you are concerned about pH levels with your haircare products, this product clocks in at a 5.5 pH level. 

Ingredients: Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Steartrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone, Mineral Oil, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cyclomethicone, Glycerin, Snail Secretion Filtrate, Betaine, Camellia Sinensis Extract, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Polyglutamic Acid, Menthol, Ceramide 3, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Rose Extract, Argan Kernel Oil, PEG-45M, Dimethiconol, Benzophenone-5, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Neutralization Reaction Product, CI 15985,  Fragrance   cosDNA analysis

image source
image source

Final Thoughts

If you have oily, fine hair, check out the Innisfree Green Tea Mint series.  They are specially formulated for our hair types and won’t weigh your hair down, while leaving your hair and scalp refreshed and clean.  Lador Tea Tree Scalp Clinic is suitable for all hair types, in my opinion, as it contains ingredients that are not hair type specific.  The Scalp Clinic is for those who need to have a scalp treatment on a regular basis and do not wish to use an alcohol based product.  Trust me, you will love this product!  I always make it a point to toss one in my Memebox cart every now and then.  I use the scalp treatments year-round, as my hair is oily year-round, but I use the Green Tea Mint shampoo/conditioner during the warm months, as my hair is nice and super extra oily then.   I am now starting on my “cooler” month hair care products, which feature Camellia oils and the products I chose work for my fine hair.  In the cooler months, my hair and scalp are drier due to all of the heated buildings, not to mention my heated car and wearing hats.  

Where to Purchase

Don’t forget to check out my Savings page first before purchasing.  Many stores mentioned here, I have a referral code or link where you can save money off your first purchase with them.

Innisfree World (Global)  I usually wait until they have their 1+1 hair products event and then go crazy, as I do want to ensure that I am eligible for free shipping by making the minimum purchase requirement.  That said, it is a great investment as I know I will use these products. 

Innisfree Green Tea Mint Fresh Shampoo

Innisfree Green Tea Mint Fresh Conditioner

Innisfree Green Tea Mint Fresh Scaler

W2Beauty also sells the Innisfree trio of shampoo, conditioner and scaler together as a kit.

 Lador Tea Tree Scalp Clinic Hair Pack 


[ blog post contains affiliate and referral links ]

3 thoughts on “Cooling Green Tea, Tea Tree and Mint Hair Care Product Review

  1. If you have used the innisfree camellia hair products before, what are your impressions of them?

    I’m currently eying Fernented camellia oil and hair cleansing cream from Ryo (another amorepacific company) and some hair and body stuff (or more specifically camellia hair and body line )from Innisfree but can’t find much reviews.

    If you’ve used any stuff from the above or any other hair and body stuff from Ryo and innisfree, I would like to know your thoughts on them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Camellia products that I am using are Shiseido Tsubaki Extra Moist Shampoo & Conditioner, Innisfree Camellia Essential Hair Treatment, Innisfree Camellia Essential Hair Oil Serum. I have used the Shiseido ones before and I love them ~ they are perfect for my hair type and work well in the winter months. I just started using the overnight treatment & serum by innisfree and I am still forming an opinion on them. I also have a few more camellia items, Shiseido Tsubaki Shining Hair Water Spray (this is a leave in conditioner) and some brand new Innisfree hair packs as well to try out and review. I will say that I love the Shiseido line and the Innisfree hair serum is really really nice. I haven’t tried the camellia line from Ryo yet.

      I have also tried Holika Holika Vinegar Hair Rinse in Camellia and it was really lovely! Alas, it looks like it is discontinued, which is too bad ~ that just came out last year too. I did review that in my hair treatments blog post here


Leave a Reply

