Unboxing February 2016 The 3B Box!

The last few months with 3B Box have not been the best ~ they aren’t doing a very good job as a discovery box in the recent months and I am hoping that this month, they will get back to what they do best ~ providing customers with a great flavor of new Asian Beauty products as well as a few classics.  What is 3B (Beauty Beyond Borders)?  It is an Asian sample monthly subscription box and is very affordable at $12.00/monthly.  It is similar to ipsy and Birchbox, where you get 4 to 5 deluxe samples (and sometimes a full sized item!)

If you are interested in 3B, you can sign up for their waitlist ~ it took me almost 2 months to get off their waitlist, which is fine, because they are being very careful not to have their service suffer by over subscribing customers.  More about 3B’s monthly service:

Each box contains a collection of deluxe samples that are new or popular in Asia but hard to get your hands on. The products will change each month, and you’ll get to try new skincare, haircare, nailcare, and cosmetic products. Sample products range from go-to brands such as Lioele, Etude House and Skinfood to high-end premium brands like SK-II, Kanebo, and Sulwhasoo. Don’t worry about not being able to read Japanese or Korean – we’ve got you covered with English translations of descriptions in each box. (https://the3bbox.com/the-box/)

The 3B Box doesn’t come in a “box” (well, it does come in a cardboard box for shipping), but a chiffon pouch.

Informational Card

Benton Snail Bee High Content Steam Cream  I love Benton Snail Bee line and I have used their steam cream in the past and I will repeat what I have originally written about it in the past.   A steam cream is when a steamed water-based ingredient is injected into an oil base in the emulsion step of creating moisturizers.   This results in a creamy moisturizer which is gentle.    The cream is pure white, has no scent and has a thick consistency.   I found that I only need a little bit of this cream to moisturize my face, otherwise it won’t absorb into my skin.    It is very hydrating and does not leave an oily residue on my face.   Once the cream is absorbed, it has a matte finish on my skin,  which I do appreciate.  The long term benefits of this cream is that it is to help reduce the appearance of acne scars and hyper-pigmentation and help with fine lines and wrinkles.  I didn’t notice any reduction of hyper-pigmentation, or acne scars when I used this product, but it did help moisturize my face without irritation and softened my fine lines and wrinkles.  It also helped soothe blemishes and rashes and reduced redness.    This is a very small sample  5 grams  RV $1.40

Description: Benton High Content Steam Bee Snail Cream is a moisturizing cream.  The term “steam cream” describes the process by which the cream is made – the idea is that the high-temperature steam is injected as a mixed material in order to further simplify how ingredients work together. Steam injection process also contributes to the soft texture of the final product. This cream is suitable for sensitive skin, and promised to help eliminate acne, dry skin and oily skin, in addition to improving skin tone and reduce the signs of aging.

Ingredients: Snail Secretion Filtrate (64%), Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Niacinamide, Stearic Acid, Behenyl Alcohol, Phytosqualene, Human Ogliopeptide-1, Bee Venom, Arbutin, Adenosine, Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernal Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Arginine, Carbomer, Urea, Tocopher Leaf Extract, Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract, Ulmus Campestris (Elm) Extract, Pentylene Glycol, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pilsatilla Koreana Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract  cosDNA.com analysis



Lioele Eyelash Curler  I do appreciate receiving a beauty tool item in my 3B Box and I will give them credit for trying.   However, I rarely use eyelash curlers and if I do, this one is not very high quality.  Lioele is a fantastic brand, but I am not overly impressed with this item  RV $3.00

Description: Lioele Eye Lash Curler is made with soft, anti-bacterial rubber lining to protect your lashes.  Lash Curler creates eye-opening, elongated, beautifully-fanned lashes with zero breakage or pinching.  Its hand-calibrated Korean design and bouncy silicone pads require less force

Leaders Black Aqua Pore Scaling Mask I’ve used this mask before and I do like it quite a bit.  This mask is really designed for those with oily skin and will remove dead skin cells, control oil and brighten you skin tone.   The mask does not contain parabens, mineral oil, silicon or artificial colors.  This mask has volcanic ash, which is similar to charcoal in that it is very porous and will attach itself to oil and dead skin cells and clarify your skin ~ it also has a high mineral level which improves the skin’s absorption of the essence.  This also contains chlorella, green tea extract, sugar maple extract (AHA), soybean extract, adenosine and niacinamide.    RV $3.50  Beautique carries this mask and you can use MICHELE10 to receive 10% off any purchase at Beautique!

Description:   Change your complexion with this renewing black mask enriched with various nutrients. Gets rid of excessive sebum, dead skin cell buildups, unclean skin, and dull-darkened skin. Formulated with extracts like Volcanic Ash, Sugar Maple Extract, Soybean Extract, and more to purify and tighten enlarged pores.

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Niacinamide, Chamomilla Recutita(Matricaria) Flower Extract,  Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Gentiana Lutea Root Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract,  Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Glycine Soja(Soybean) Protein, Superoxide Dismutase,  Sodium Dextran Sulfate, Moringa Pterygosperma Seed Extract, Maltodextrin,  Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Betaine,  Magnesium Hydroxide, Volcanic Ash, Ledum Palustre Extract, Ecklonia Cava Extract,  Artemisia Capillaris Flower Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Saururus Chinensis Extract,  Xanthan Gum, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimenthyl Taurate Copolymer,  Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Adenosine, Fragrance   cosDNA.com analysis


image source 
image source 
image source 


Etude House Look At My Eyes Eyeshadow in BR401  I am not a fan of Etude House skincare and most of their makeup, but I do love their single eye shadows.  For whatever reason, their palettes seem to be washed out, but their single eye shadows have great pigmentation.   I have tried their Look At My Eyes Cafe shadows, which are matte, and this is from their normal Look At My Eyes line, which is a shimmer eye shadow line.  Fondant on My Mind (BR401) is a beautiful golden shimmer shade that has bronze undertones and there isn’t a lot of fall out with this one.   Very pretty!  This is supposed to be one of the best sellers in this line ~ if you have warm or neutral tone skin, you will love this shade.   RV $2.68

Ingredients: talc, mica , CI 77491, calcium titanium borosilicate, titanium dioxide , neopentyl glycol dicaprate , polymethyl methacrylate , diisostearyl malate , octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate , boron nitride , dipentaerythrityl hexahydroxystearate/hexastearate/hexarosinate , PTFE, nylon-12 , zinc stearate , phenyl trimethicone , polyglyceryl-2 triisostearate , triethoxycaprylylsilane , CI 77499, phenoxyethanol , methylparaben , acrylates/tridecyl acrylate/triethoxysilylpropyl methacrylate/dimethicone methacrylate copolymer , tin oxide , dimethicone , methylparaben , dimethicone


This month was a bit of a disappointment.  Benton Steam Cream, which is a nice cream, but in a tiny tube ~ why not their newer release of the facial mist?  Also, eyelash curler?  I have no need for one and this one is nothing special.   The only two items I will use are the eye shadow, as it is a pretty golden shimmer and the facial sheet mask, but these two items are not new.   Miss Tutii beat the pants off 3B Box this month and I do hope that 3B Box returns to putting more new items that are unique.  I paid $12.00 for this and received a RV of  $10.58, which is less than I paid for the box :(   They could have tossed in another facial sheet mask to at least even out the price on this box.   Once again,  I hope that next month will have some NEW Asian Beauty products, as I would love to see a discovery box actually DISCOVER new products.

Did you receive The 3B box this month?  What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below!

[ descriptions in italics from linked product website ]

6 thoughts on “Unboxing February 2016 The 3B Box!

  1. I think I’ll cancel until I use up some of the products I already have…. freaks me out that I can’t do it on my account page. Do you have any idea? I e-mailed them, but that alone as the option seems sketchy. I really don’t want this bag, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m still waiting on mine! I always get it almost at the end of the month TT I hope I get the curler in pink instead of blue, like i’ve seen some people get. I’ve really enjoyed all the products I’ve received (I’ve had 4 or 5 boxes so far i think). The only complaint I have is that they don’t include enough actual makeup, it’s almost all skin care (which is nice BUT) it should be 50/50 in my opinion. But honestly I like it better than any cheap subscription I’ve had in the past like birchbox or ipsy (which were terrible IMO)❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get the pink one as well!! 3 Box has its hits and misses, but overall, I’ve been happy with it. I personally, outside of the gel eyeliners, am not a huge fan of K-Beauty makeup, so it doesn’t bother me too much that it doesn’t have that much makeup. But I do appreciate that when 3B does put in makeup, it is a wearable color! What type of makeup are you looking for? Lip tints? Cushions?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m definitely a lover of lippies, and I adore tints. So yeah things like that would be amazing to be included in the box. I’ve already mentioned it to them on their Instagram, so hopefully they review that feedback and apply it in the future haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

