Unboxing January 2016 The 3B Box!

I received the first 3B Box for the year!  I wasn’t overly thrilled with last month’s as I already tried those products, so let’s see what 3B cooked up for us this month.    What is 3B (Beauty Beyond Borders)?  It is an Asian sample monthly subscription box and is very affordable at $12.00/monthly.  It is similar to ipsy and Birchbox, where you get 4 to 5 deluxe samples (and sometimes a full sized item!)

If you are interested in 3B, you can sign up for their waitlist ~ it took me almost 2 months to get off their waitlist, which is fine, because they are being very careful not to have their service suffer by over subscribing customers.  More about 3B’s monthly service:

Each box contains a collection of deluxe samples that are new or popular in Asia but hard to get your hands on. The products will change each month, and you’ll get to try new skincare, haircare, nailcare, and cosmetic products. Sample products range from go-to brands such as Lioele, Etude House and Skinfood to high-end premium brands like SK-II, Kanebo, and Sulwhasoo. Don’t worry about not being able to read Japanese or Korean – we’ve got you covered with English translations of descriptions in each box. (https://the3bbox.com/the-box/)

The 3B Box doesn’t come in a “box” (well, it does come in a cardboard box for shipping), but a chiffon pouch.

Informational Card



3W Clinic Collagen Brightening Essence  I have tried 3W Clinic Collagen line before as I received the Brightening Emulsion in my Independence Day Memebox.    This is a good product ~ I personally didn’t see any lightening of my hyper-pigmentation with the emulsion, but it did leave my skin smooth, soft and bright.  What is Collagen?  Collagen is a protein which makes up almost 80% of our skin.  With age, the support structure of collagen goes through wear and tear.  That is when the signs of aging manifest.  Wrinkles and loose skin are some of the most evident signs of aging.  Therefore, additional collagen is required to allow for the repair of aging skin. This water-based collagen skincare product can be used to help and relieve the aging of ones’ skin.  This Rejuvenating Collagen is an anti-aging skincare product, suitable to all skin types, but best for combination skin and can be used at any age.  This is a the standard size for an essence, 50 mL, as it is more light weight and a little goes a long way.   I am impressed with 3W packaging for this product ~ it is very classy looking with the frosted glass bottle and silver lettering.  The essence has a light floral scent, but nothing overpowering.   Full Size  50 mL Value $24.99  ~ but this is currently sold Rose Rose Shop  for $2.91!

Description: It is an essence containing marine collagen, Japanese apricot extract, and licorice extract that helps freshen and soften your damaged skin and rough skin. It is a nutrition cream containing whitening ingredient, niacinamide, which helps to keep skin white and clean through effective management of skin tones.This concentrated brightening essence is designed to minimize discoloration and improve skin clarity. Our exclusive blend of collagen, minerals and botanical extracts helps treat and prevent cellular discoloration for unsurpassed skin brightening and tonal balancing. Good for all skin types.

Usage: After applying Skin Softener, apply thin layer over face. Night application recommended, but can be used for day time care.

Ingredients:  Water, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Alcohol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Styrene/VP Copolymer, Carbomer, Triethanol amine, PPG-2-Deceth-12, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Prunus Mume Fruit Water, Hydrolyzed collagen, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Witch Hazel Extract, Allantoin, Fragrance cosDNA.com analysis


Botanic Farms Grain Ferment Cleansing Sherbet I own this and this is a nice product ~ it is an oil-based sherbet texture cleanser and I did receive this in my Memebox Botanic Farm Box.  I will just repeat what I originally wrote at that time.

This is the first step in a 2 step cleansing process, the oil step.  I don’t use water initially ~ I just scoop out a bit of this cleanser and then massage it into my face.   It turns to oil right away and then it dissolves my makeup.  When I am ready to clean off the oil from my face, I use warm water to emulsify it and then I rinse it off.  I do not like to use the “tissue” method.  My face does not feel dry or tight.  This cleanser doesn’t have a scent that I can detect and contains 100ppm each of these fermented grains to help with conditioning and act as a humectant:  rice bran (sake), rice and soybean, as well as Vitamin E.  Sample Size 10 mL Value $3.00

Description: Botanic Farm’s Grain Ferment Sherbet is specially formulated to thoroughly remove face makeup without irritating the skin. It contains fermented rice bran which brightens the skin while removing skin impurities. With just a small amount of the makeup removing cream, it effectively melts down makeup, even waterproof ones, while promoting a better skin texture by providing balanced hydration coming from its premium natural ingredients.

How to Use: Take an appropriate amount of the Grain Ferment Cleansing Sherbet and gently massage it all over the face using your fingertips. Massage until the makeup fully melts. Wipe off with tissue and proceed to washing the face.

Ingredients:  Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Polyethylene, PEG-10 Isostearate, Rice Ferment Filtrate (Sake) (100ppm), Saccharomyces/Rice Bran Ferment (100ppm), Lactobacillus/Soybean Ferment Extract (100ppm), Trihydroxystearin, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E), Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image source 
image source 



Petitfee Dry Essence Foot Pack  I have tried this before as I received it in my Memebox Superbox #39 Foot Care 2!  This is a  foot pack  is made with a “dry-processed” foot cream that has been infused into the non-woven foot booties and the dry cream will melt into your skin once you put the booties on.    Be prepared that these will not wet and soaked with essence, but more like a dry rub ~ lol.  You will leave these booties on your clean feet for 15 to 20 minutes.   Full Size 1 pack Value $3.00

Description:  It’s up-graded foot mask contains dry finished hi-concentrated essence with visible effect, so essence will not flow and the mask sheet is dry. Soften, moisturize, exfoliate your feet, make your feet become bright, soft and clean.  

Ingredients: water, glycerin, butylene glycol, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, cetearyl alcohol,  butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, isopropyl myristate, urea, betaine, caprylic/capric triglyceride,  glyceryl stearate, sodium hyaluronate, portulaca oleracea extract, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, aloe barbadeniss leaf extract, dimethicone, biosaccharide gum-1, PEG-32, 1,2-hexanediol, polysorbate 60, persea gratissima (avocado) oil, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) leaf oil, steareth-2, steareth-21, stearic acid, carbomer, citrus paradisi (grapefruit) fruit extract, collagen, xanthan gum, snail secretion filtrate, allantoin, fragrance, disodium EDTA  cosDNA.com analysis

Missha Speedy Solution Eye Gel Patch  Finally, something brand new to me!  I am not a huge fan of Missha products, but I love eye gel masks and will use this.  Missha has several different types of Speedy Solution Eye Gels, and this one is their Clearing version, which helps fade dark circles, firm, tone and brighten the eye area, while moisturizing.  This has a few  of very good hydrating ingredients ~ glycerin, sodium hyaluronate and beta glucan and a powerful antioxidant ingredient in green tea.   Apply and leave on for 20 to 30 minutes.   RV $2.50

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Ceratonia Siliqua Gum, Trehalose, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), Sodium Hyaluronate, Beta-Glucan, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Potassium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Shell Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract  cosDNA.com analysis




cosRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (6.90 pH)  Ingredients: 12  I received this in my Memebox CosRX Box and I have enjoyed using it.  It really helped my skin in the summer time ~ providing hydration and plumping up the fine lines and wrinkles, without making my skin greasy or oily.  It also did not break me out, another win!  I am going to repeat my original unboxing here:

I really love CosRX Hyaluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence and I am hoping that I will enjoy this one as well.  This is made with 96% snail slime (snail secretion filtrate) which is 100% natural and domestic.   Snail slime is really a great ingredient ~ it seems to work on all skin types and is full of nutrients that will help lessen wrinkles and deeply hydrated without any irritation.    It will repair existing damage to your skin (scarring, hyper-pigmentation) , while preventing new damage, such as blemishes and dryness.  It has been proven that if you apply skin care products with snail slime daily, it reduces significantly fine lines and wrinkles. . Daily application of topical products containing snail secretion is also shown to significantly reduce fine lines and wrinkles.   I am pretty excited to add this into my skin care regime and plan to do so once I finish my Hyaluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence.    This essence is very thick, just like the Hydra Power, but it is also stringy, like snail mucus!  There is no scent and it leaves my skin feeling cool and hydrated.    7 foil packets, good for 7 days.

Description: Snail mucin is scientifically and dermatologically proven to be highly effective and beneficial when it comes to skin cell regeneration and repair. COSRX’s Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence contains 96% of snail secretion filtrate blended with other nourishing herbal extracts. Problems like acne, sun damage and scars need skin cell regeneration which this highly-concentrated essence offers. It repairs the skin from within and gives the skin proper moisture and nourishment for its full recovery. Expect smoother, softer and healthier skin with this premium snail essence!

Ingredients:   Snail Secretion Filtrate, Betaine, Butylene Glycol,1,2-Hexanediol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Arginine, Allantoin, Ethyl Hexanediol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol  cosDNA.com analysis

image source 



So, this was a nice box this month from 3B with some great brands ~ cosRX, Botanic Farm and Missha and I do like the 3W line.  However, for me, it is an “old favorites” list of products, as outside of the Missha eye patch, I have tried them all here ~ yes, I know that that emulsion is not the same as essence on the 3W product, but pretty darn similar.  I will say that 3B delivered nicely with 3 full sized products ~ 3W, Missha and Petitfee ~ and good sized samples with Botanic Farm and cosRX.   I am hoping to see more innovative and new products from 3B this year.  This is still one of the better deals for an Asian Beauty Box ~ I paid $12.00 for this and received a RV of  $33.49  OR $11.41 if you go by the really discounted 3W  Rose Rose Shop pricing, which I won’t, as that isn’t fair to this sub.  Rose Rose would charge you for shipping on it, so it isn’t fair to use that one, imho.   I couldn’t really price the cosRX samples as they were not marked, but I would think they would be less than $1.00, so I didn’t bother adding it into the tally.  I hope that next month will have some NEW Asian Beauty products, as I would love to see a discovery box actually DISCOVER new products.

Did you receive The 3B box this month?  What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below!

[ descriptions in italics from linked product website ]

Leave a Reply

