Unboxing January 2016 Flicker Box!

Lumberjack Lodge is the January theme from Flickerbox and I do love wood and fire scents, so I am pretty happy to get this box.   What is Flicker Box?

Flicker Box is inspired by a love and appreciation for handmade candles. We believe that people appreciate products produced by quality artisans made in the United States. We want to connect candle lovers with people who love to make candles.

Each Flicker Box contains a variety of artisanal candles made from candle artists from around the United States. We share their story and ship subscribers a delightfully curated box right to their doorstep. Flicker box costs as low as $25/month and can be purchased as an automatically-renewing monthly subscription or 3, 6, or 12 month term subscriptions.  from http://myflickerbox.com/about


Information Card


Aerial View

Starting on the left, going clockwise: Copper & Kraft “Rustic Cabin”, Copper & Kraft “Flannel Shirt”,  Midnight Owl Candle “Balsam & Cedar”, Hawk + Hatchet  “Campfire” 


Copper & Kraft “Rustic Cabin”  I have received Copper & Kraft candles in the past and I like them a lot!!  Rustic Cabin smells like apple cider and honey, with cinnamon, spices, vanilla with a hint of caramel.  This is a warm inviting scent and is very homey.   Copper & Kraft is a Syracuse, New York   company and they use natural creamy soy wax ~ no dyes ~ lead free cotton wicks, Phthalate free fragrance oils  This comes in a cute tin, that can be reused or recycled. Burn time is 25-30 hours.  4 oz candle RV $6.95

Copper & Kraft “Flannel Shirt”   This has a clean fresh cotton and linen scent ~ smells like freshly laundered clothes.  Not my favorite scent in the world ~ it is too soapy for me.   This comes classic Copper & Kraft tin ~ which are made from  seamless aluminum and rolled edges.  Clean out the tine with soap and warm water once the candle has burned down and reuse or recycle.  Burn time 55 -60 hours 8 oz  RV $10.95

Midnight Owl Candle Company”Balsam & Cedar” Yeah, another etsy shop and this candle is more to my taste than the previous Flannel Shirt.  This candle smells just.like.a.Christmas.Tree!!  It’s scent is described as “fresh, woodsy, blend of pine, eucalyptus, cedar-wood and is finished off with sweet balsam.”  This scent is so lovely, I can really smell the cedar and pine and it comes in a reusable mason jar.  Made with a special wax blend that contains an all natural soy wax and is hand poured and clean burning, made in Saylorsburg, PA.  This candle doesn’t not contain phosphates, toxins or lead.  8 oz RV $9.50

Hawk + Hatchet “Campfire”   The other year, I had a New Yankee Candle in “Crackling Campfire”, which they discounted.   I have found my replacement!  I LOVE this scent ~ this is the classic campfire scent ~ smokey firewood, rich and intoxicating.   It does remind me of those nights on the beach or camping in the woods.  Made in Wisconsin using a soy blend wax, cotton wick and  fragrance oils, each candle is hand poured and in small batches. This is their travel tin version and they do make a much larger size at 8 oz!  20 hour burn time.   4 oz  RV $9.00

I also received a $5.00 Starbucks gift card as a thank you for being a long time subscriber!   Last month, I lamented that we didn’t get a pine scented candle and this month delivered my wish!    Other than Flannel Shirt, which is too soapy for me, I love all of the other scents in this box ~ the apple cider Rustic Cabin, the wintery pine scent of Balsam & Cedar and probably my favorite, a firesmoke treat.   I am really pleased with this month’s box and I am sure I can find a nice home for Flannel Shirt, as everyone loves candles!  This box’s value is  $41.40, including the gift card  and I paid $34.00 for my box, as I am on a month to month subscription and I am grandfathered in, so my shipping is included in the price tag. For new subscribers, you would pay the additional $5.95 in shipping.

Flickerbox also has a store, where you purchase candles that were featured in their past boxes.

Do you subscribe to Flickerbox?  What did you think of this month’s candles?  Let me know in the comments below!




[ descriptions in italics from the product linked website ]

Leave a Reply

