Unboxing January 2016 Julep + Promo!

It’s been a while since I have gotten a Julep box ~ one of the nice things about this subscription is that I can skip those months that do not interest me.  However, I saw January’s selections and I loved the colors offered

The theme this month is “Fresh Look  and one of the nice things about Julep is that I can switch out which colors I want and add other items.  I choose the Bombshell Box this month.


Informational Card

 

January Bombshell Box had one makeup item ~ It’s Balm, a full coverage lip crayon.  I decided to choose the shade I wanted, instead of defaulting to whatever the Bombshell box shade was ~ I don’t remember, but there are 4 shades:  Dusty Orchid Shimmer, Nectar Pink Crème, Ripe Raspberry and Apricot Nude Crème.  I chose Dusty Orchid Shimmer.    It’s Balm has a moisturizing treatment core containing sunflower oils and vitamin E, which is surrounded by the lip crayon color.  Dusty Orchid Shimmer is a nice unassuming mauve shade that is goes on sheer but can be built up for more intensity.  This is very much a balm product as I do not view this as a long lasting product on my lips.   RV $20.00

 

I choose an add on nail polish to my box this month ~ Celeste.  This is a glitter top coat in a “Cosmic gray iridescent glitter“.  It really has some beautiful flashes of blues, greens, gold, purple  and aqua in a light gray base.  RV $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Isopropyl Alcohol, Polybutylene Terephthalate, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Silica, Acrylates Copolymer, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Ethylene/Va Copolymer, N-Butyl Alcohol, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Alcohol Denat., Etocrylene, Black 2 (CI 77266), Hexanal, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Tin Oxide, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Aluminum Powder (CI 77000), Coffea Robusta Seed Extract, Violet 2 (CI 60725)

The next two shades are from the Bombshell selection

Joss This is a described as a “Ripe fig duochrome” and it does have a metallic finish.  However, Joss looks like a deep black-green oil slick shade in the shade and then rich purple shade will appear when direct light hits it.  This is a totally cool color and I love it.   Celeste top coat would look really great with it.  RV $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Silica, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Etocrylene, Black 2 (CI 77266), Alcohol Denat., Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Hexanal, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract

Shay Every time I see the name Shay, I think of the doomed lover in Game of Thrones.  Anyway,  this is a beautiful bright teal shimmer ~ “Celadon iridescent chrome” ~ and would actually look great as a top coat for a black nailpolish, imho!  RV $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Silica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Etocrylene, Alcohol Denat., Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Hexanal, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Coffea Robusta Seed Extract, Iron Oxides (CI 77499)

 All Julep nail polishes have the same type of formula

Breakthrough Oxygen Technology powers this fast-drying, long-lasting nail polish to get nails healthy and more beautiful at the same time. Our proprietary 5-free, vegan-friendly formula also includes strengthening Hexanal and antioxidant green coffee extract. You’ll never look at nail polish the same way again.  Julep nail polish is 5-free and vegan-friendly. We steer clear of formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, DBP, camphor, and animal ingredients or byproducts.

Dries ultra fast & allows 30% more oxygen to permeate the nail bed than other nail polish.  Reveals stronger, harder & more conditioned nails in just two weeks (reported by 95% of women in an independent trial). Extends the life of your manicure or pedicure

 

SWATCHES

Left to right:  Celeste, Joss, Shay

I really enjoyed having some winter-y shades, with Celeste and Joss, which I adore Joss, as it shifts between two of my favorite colors and the brighter, hopeful-that-warm-weather-is-around-the-corner shade of Shay.   I am addicted to lip balms of all types and for me, mauve ones are easy to apply without a mirror.   My box is $19.00 + plus I added on 1 nail polish (free with my Julep points)  and I received a retail value of  $62.00

Do you subscribe to Julep’s Maven?  If so, what did you think of this month’s box?  What style and colors did you get?  If you are interested in subscribing, you can get your first month free, by clicking on my referral link here

 

[ blog post contains referral link ]


Leave a Reply

