Unboxing December 2015 Flicker Box!

Merry + Bright is the December theme from Flickerbox and I have to say, they outdid themselves this month!   What is Flicker Box?

Flicker Box is inspired by a love and appreciation for handmade candles. We believe that people appreciate products produced by quality artisans made in the United States. We want to connect candle lovers with people who love to make candles.

Each Flicker Box contains a variety of artisanal candles made from candle artists from around the United States. We share their story and ship subscribers a delightfully curated box right to their doorstep. Flicker box costs as low as $25/month and can be purchased as an automatically-renewing monthly subscription or 3, 6, or 12 month term subscriptions.  from http://myflickerbox.com/about


Information Card



Aerial View

Starting on the left, going clockwise: Lighten Up Shoppe “Peppermint”, Eco Candle Co “Gingerbread Man”,  Mole Hollow Bayberry Scented Tapers, Big Dipper Wax Works “Spice Cinnamon & Orange” 


Lighten Up Shoppe “Peppermint”  This is a shop that  is located in San Mateo, California.  I believe this is the first time I’ve seen this brand in my Flickerbox, so yeah, new brand!  This creamy white soy candle smells just like a fresh peppermint candy ~ not too sweet, however ~ it has that sharp peppermint bite that I love so much.  It is very refreshing!  I cannot find it on their shop site, so I wonder if this was made for Flickerbox?  This candle is made with a blend of essential and fragrance oils.  This looks to be a 2 oz candle so it should have a 7 to 10 hour burn time 2 oz ? RV $4.50

Eco Candle Company “Gingerbread Man”  Eco Candle Co is located in Appleton, Wisconsin.  I have received their candles before and I do like them!  They make 100% Soy candles and this mocha latte colored candle does smell like gingerbread!  It has that wonderful sweet-spice scent of gingerbread cookies and it is a great looking candle in a glass tumbler with a paper lid.  5 oz RV $11.00

About Eco Candles eco candles® are hand-poured in wisconsin using natural soybeans.  this means that you will…light a candle that is clean burning without pollutants, toxins or carcinogens…enjoy your soy wax candle for generally 30-50% longer than a paraffin wax candle…support our american farmers by using u.s. grown soybeans…do your part to keep our earth clean by utilizing a natural, biodegradable and renewable resource

Big Dipper Wax Works “Spice Cinnamon & Orange” Handcrafted in Seattle, WA and this candle is made from 100% beeswax and the purest essential oils.  Spice is a lovely red orange candle that actually smells more like cloves and then I can pick up the cinnamon and orange scents, which reminds me of those orange pomanders I used to make as a kid.  I am okay with that as I love a good clove scented candle.   This is from their Holiday Apothecary Glass series, where the other 2 scents are Mint and Pine.  These were specially made and dyed for the holiday season.  This candle has a burn time of  3.2 oz RV $10.00

Mole Hollow Candles “Bayberry” Tapers Oh these are really classy looking in their light spruce green shade.  They do smell like bayberry, too, which I love that warm herbal scent. Mole Hollow is located in my neck of the woods – Sturbridge, MA and this is the first time I’ve had a Mole Hollow (I keep wanting to type Mole Hill! haha) in a Flickerbox.  They have been using the same handmade artisan methods in creating their candles since 1969.   These 10 inch tapers come in a beautiful gift box and I received 2 of them.  Bayberry tapers are a favorite New Year’s Eve candle (I did not know this!)   2  10 inch tapers RV $7.00

I was really hoping for some peppermint and pine scented candles and I got the peppermint!!   Gingerbread was totally unexpected and I am very pleased to have the Spice candle with its clove scent, along with the beautiful Bayberry candles.  Maybe January will have a pine scented candle ~ I can hope!  This box’s value is  $32.50  and I paid $34.00 for my box, as I am on a month to month subscription and I am grandfathered in, so my shipping is included in the price tag. For new subscribers, you would pay the additional $5.95 in shipping.

Flickerbox also has a store, where you purchase candles that were featured in their past boxes.

Do you subscribe to Flickerbox?  What did you think of this month’s candles?  Let me know in the comments below!




[ descriptions in italics from the product linked website ]

Leave a Reply

