Unboxing December 2015 The 3B Box!

Aahh, I guess the amazing cool new products from The 3B Box had to come to an end!  Not that this month is bad or anything, it really has some nice items.  But it isn’t “new” or fresh, and the previous 2 months had been fabulous.    What is 3B (Beauty Beyond Borders)?  It is an Asian sample monthly subscription box and is very affordable at $12.00/monthly.  It is similar to ipsy and Birchbox, where you get 4 to 5 deluxe samples (and sometimes a full sized item!)

If you are interested in 3B, you can sign up for their waitlist ~ it took me almost 2 months to get off their waitlist, which is fine, because they are being very careful not to have their service suffer by over subscribing customers.  More about 3B’s monthly service:

Each box contains a collection of deluxe samples that are new or popular in Asia but hard to get your hands on. The products will change each month, and you’ll get to try new skincare, haircare, nailcare, and cosmetic products. Sample products range from go-to brands such as Lioele, Etude House and Skinfood to high-end premium brands like SK-II, Kanebo, and Sulwhasoo. Don’t worry about not being able to read Japanese or Korean – we’ve got you covered with English translations of descriptions in each box. (https://the3bbox.com/the-box/)

The 3B Box doesn’t come in a “box” (well, it does come in a cardboard box for shipping), but a chiffon pouch.

Informational Card



Secret Key Lemon D-Toc Peeling Gel  OMG.  I have gotten this product now 3 times in the last few months ~ and I think I know why.  Secret Key just came out with a similar NEW product, Lemon Sparkling Peeling Gel, and I wonder if this new product will be replacing the D-Toc one

image source

I would have much rather had the new item, as even though I really love this peeling gel, I have SO MANY OF THEM.   I am going to have to put this in a giveaway, because I really cannot use all of these peeling gels ~ this is a fantastic product, however.  I wrote up a review just on this item alone ~ read here ~ but I will include some of the information in my original review here.

This gommage type gel contains 90ppm of Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Water, which is produced by using a steam distillation, extracting from the fruit of the lemon.  It also contains 10ppm of Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract.  Lemon not only has Vitamin C, which gives moisture and evens out your skin tone, helping lessen hyper-pigmentation, brightening your skin tone.  Vitamin C is also good for detoxing your skin and unclogging your pores.  This product contains Vitamin C, A, B, retinol and beta carotene and is a hydrating moisturizer as well.

The gel is a creamy white with no scent of lemon (sobs).   I did do the dish test and this does not ball up when I rub it into a ceramic dish, which means that this product is not overloaded with the cross-polymer fibers (a good thing!)   My face does feel remarkably smooth and silky after I use this product and my pores look to be clear of gunk!

This contains some other good ingredients besides the lemon extracts

  • Broccoli ~ Broccoli is a superfood it not only contains antioxidants like beta-carotene and Vitamin C, it also has Vitamin B complex, Vitamin E ~ which creates radiant skin and shiny hair as it revives skin tissue, Vitamin A and K, Omega 3 Fatty Acids, Amino Acids and Folic Acid (Vitamin B9).  All of these vitamins help care for your skin and keep it glowing and healthy.  Broccoli also contains glucoraphanin, a phytonutrient, which has been reported in reversing sun damage on your skin.
  • Papaya ~ Papaya contains an enzyme called peptin, which is a natural exfoliator, making your skin smooth, vibrant and healthy.  Peptin cures a variety of skin issues, such as acne, dry skin and premature again.   Papaya also is an antioxidant, as it has Vitamins A, C and E along with carotenoids, helping to reduce inflammation of your skin, as well as nourishing it. 
  • Witch Hazel ~ Has antibacterial and antiseptic qualities which helps clear up acne and it removes excess oil from skin.  It also helps shrinks blood vessels, which tightens our skin.  Witch Hazel can speed up healing and is a powerful anti-inflammatory, which also helps soothe skin.  Finally, Witch Hazel refreshes and rejuvenates skin, refines the pores and seal in moisture.
  • Aloe Vera ~ Aloe Vera is a powerful moisturizer that doesn’t leave your skin feeling oily or greasy.   It soothes, treats inflammation, helps speed up skin healing and also has a plethora of antioxidants ~  beta-carotene, Vitamin C and Vitamin E, which help improve your skin’s firmness and keeps your skin moist and hydrated.  It also contains over 75 different nutritious ingredients, including minerals, enzymes,  amino acids, salicylic acid and much more
  • Sodium Hyaluronate ~ SH will help attract and absorb water more effectively and will result in smoother, softer skin and will pump up your skin, so your wrinkles and fine lines will be have the appearance of reduction.

I do like this product ~ it could be that it is made by Secret Key and I have had a lot of good luck with Secret Key products and I like this brand very much.  It also could be that this product contains lemons, broccoli, rice and papaya extracts, which I have also had good luck with these ingredients in my skincare products.  I find that this works best around my nose ~ I guess the rest of my face is pretty clear and gunk free, but my nose always has lots of dead skin and oil to remove.   Full Size 120 mL RV $10.00

Ingredients: Purified Water, Cetrimonium Chloride, Cellulose, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Polysorbate 80, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Water (90ppm), Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract (10ppm), Althaea Rosea (hollyhock) Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract,  Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Sodium Hyaluronate, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Algae Extract, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Zanthoxylum Piperitum (Sichuan pepper) Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis



It’s Skin Prestige Crème D’Escargot BB SPF25 PA++  I am not a fan of BB creams, as I have not found one that works for me.  I have tried a sample of this product in the past, and it isn’t for me.  BB creams are VERY popular, however, and whereas I cannot/will not use this item, I am sure this will be looked on favorably by other subscribers.   The escargot means what it means ~ there is 21% snail slime in this BB cream and also has an SPF25 PA ++ rating.    Sample Size 10 mL RV $5.00

Description: Formulated with snail mucin extract, this BB Cream works behind-the-scenes to correct blemishes, diminish the appearance of wrinkles, illuminate tone, and smooth texture. It discreetly corrects and perfects the skin tone while providing a naturally healthy glow! Use it daily for light coverage, sun protection from UVA/UVB with SPF25, skin brightening and diminishing the look of wrinkles.

Ingredients:  water, Snail Slime Filtrate (21%), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Glycereth-26, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Cyclomethicone, Arbutin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetearyl Alcohol, Tricholoma Matsutake (Mushroom) Extract,  grifola frondosa (maitake) mycelium fermet filtrate extract, rh-oligopeptide-1,  Adenosine, Silica, Polysorbate 60, CyclopentaSiloxane, Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Phenoxyethanol, PolyMethyl Methacrylate, Yellow Iron Oxide (CI 77492), Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Sodium Polyacrylate,  Ethylhexyl Stearate , Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone CrossPolymer, Inulin Lauryl Carbamate, Chlorphenesin, Red Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Methicone, Black Iron Oxide (CI 77499),  Trideceth-6, Disodium Edta, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image source


Tonymoly I’m Real Tea Tree Mask Sheet Skin Soothing   I love tea tree items and I actually like the Tonymoly I’m Real mask series ~ one of my favorites is the Lemon Brightening one!   Tonymoly masks have a decent fit and feature a 3-layer cotton sheet, with a good amount of essence, so they do not dry out quickly.   I am looking forward to using this, as I do have oily, blemish prone skin and tea tree will happen to balance, soothe and control oil.   Full Size 21 mL RV $3.50

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, PEG/PPG-17/6 Copolymer, Glycereth-26, Panthenol Bis-Ethoxydiglycol Succinate, Allantoin, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Chlorphenesin Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol, Tromethamine, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Extract 1,2-Hexanediol, Propanediol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Musa Sapientum (Banana) Fruit Extract Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Disodium EDTA, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil    cosDNA.com analysis


Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner  Now, we are talking!!  I’ve heard a lot of good things about this product and whereas I am not a huge fan of Etude House, I am eager to give this sample a try.   This is supposed to reduce the appearance of your pores, by deep cleaning and it will also control oil and balance pH levels.   I did test the pH level of this and it looks like a really nice 4.5 to 5. 

Now, this is made with alcohol and peppermint extracts, so if you are sensitive to those ingredients, you should do a patch skin test first.    Sample Size 25 mL  RV $1.40

Description: This is a 10-in-1 toner which offers a total skincare solution for the pores. The Wonder Pore Freshner balances the skin’s PH levels while also improving the skin’s immunity against damage. It prevents pimples, dark spots and wrinkles from appearing while also minimizing the appearance of visibly enlarged pores. With its amazing formula, this toner deeply cleanses deep-seated dirt and fills the pores with nutrients coming from natural herb extracts.

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Betaine, Mentha Arvensis Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit/Leaf Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Cham-Aecyparis Obtusa Water, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Gentiana Lu-Tea Root Extract, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract, Glycereth-26, Glycerin, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acetic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol cosDNA.com analysis

image source


Boutique BeBe Hair Salon Vita Clinic Ampoule   ahahaha  It is pretty amazing how far I have come in a couple of years ~ I actually like getting hair products now!!  This is a new brand to me, Boutique BeBe Hair Salon and this ampoule is really a deep conditioning treatment that you massage into your hair, leave in for 20 minutes and then rinse off.   You can also put it in your hair as an overnight treatment.   This is actually a full sized treatment ampoule, not a sample.  Since I have shorter hair, I can get 2 to 3 treatments out of this one vial.  This has fermented soybean and olive oil, azuki, honey locustChinese Angelica, trichosanthes kirilowii (one of the 50 traditional Chinese Herbal medicine ingredients) and wheat protein to help condition and repair your hair.    Full Size 24 mL RV $2.99

image source

Description: Boutique Bebe is a brand which promotes against excessively expensive hair treatment containing unnatural, harmful ingredients.  Thus, they take great pride in this Hair Salon Ampoule made from various natural sources of protein and nutrition- bean flour, olive oil, red bean, plant roots, cnidium, and Korean honey locust.  Apply on dry hair with your hands, making sure to spread it evenly throughout. It can also be used overnight fir intensive  care. If you want a full course salon clinic, apply the hair ampoule generously after towel-drying your hair. Then, apply another layer of treatment on top and let it rest for 20 minutes before rinsing it all off. Finish with a hair essence for maximum results.

Ingredients: water, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glycol, amodimethicone, butylene glycol, behentrimonum chloride, cetrimonuim chloride, trideceth-12, quaterium-87, polysorbate 20, hydrolyzed wheat protein, pseudozyma epicola/soybean flour/olive fruit oil ferment filtrate, trichosanthes kirilowii root extract, phaseolus angularis (azuki) seed extract, cnidium officinale root extract, angelica dahurica (Chinese Angelica) root extract,  gleditsia japonica (honey locust) fruit extract, methylchloroisothiazolinone, methylisothiazolinone, hexyl cinnamal, hexyl salicylate, phenethyl alcohol, geranyl acetate, linalyl acetate, linalool, methyldihydrojasmonate, benzyl alcohol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image source


3B wasn’t awful this month, in fact, I am looking forward to using 3 of the items in here ~ Etude House, Boutique BeBe and TonyMoly products.   I just felt that the Secret Key item could have been the brand new version instead of this one, as it is a full sized product and it would have been nice to have a new item, instead of a old cult classic.   But seriously, for $12.00, I cannot complain too much ~ this is like Birchbox, where there will be wow months and meh months.  This was a luke warm month for me personally, but the value was certainly there!!   I cannot repeat myself enough about 3B.  This has to be one of the best deals out there for a monthly subscription, not only in value but they are trying to fill a need with unique items.    I paid $12.00, which includes shipping and the retail value of this bag is $22.89  and received 3 full sized items (peeling gel, facial mask and hair ampoule) and 2 deluxe samples.

Did you receive The 3B box this month?  What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below!

[ descriptions in italics from linked product website ]

12 thoughts on “Unboxing December 2015 The 3B Box!

  1. Oh hey, the bag is no longer purple. I’m jazzed the D-toc is in this one, Its an item that’s been on my to-buy list since I saw your earlier reviews. I’m not so jazzed to see another tea tree item. I have an allergy to them and so far I think 3B has included one tea tree item each month in the last few months since I subscribed (Secret Key Honey Bee Spot Treatment and the A’pieu NonCo Spot Patches). Somebody’s going to get a Tea Tree themed goodie bag soon.😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG I have 3 of the Lemon D Toc as well! I love Secret Key and this peel but I can’t use that many either, so giving away my extra’s. I had no idea they were coming out with a newer version, so makes sense that they are in so many boxes right now, must be getting rid of their old stash! I really don’t care for the BB cream either, they usually do nothing for me. Well I have found a BB cushion that works pretty well, by Laneige but that’s it. I got the Lemon mask from Tony Moly, excited to try it as I have tried the other versions, this was the only one I hadn’t. I had almost ordered the Wonder Pore several times, but held off hoping I’d get a sample to try first, so glad I did! I’m really enjoying 3B, and I can’t believe how much we get for just $12!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was on the waitlist for a few months. Yesterday I received my second month of the bag!
    The Lemon D-Toc seems to be in every bag but since I’m new I was very happy to get one to see what all the rave is. I’m excited to try the hair stuff too. Thanks for putting the directions for that here!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is seriously the best 3B box review out there! I love reading your in-depth reviews! Thank you for providing them every month! I’m new to Kbeauty, and have loved all the products so far!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

