Unboxing November 2015 Treats Box + Promo Code!

So last month’s Treats Box was really a TREAT!   I really enjoy this snack filled subscription box and this month didn’t disappoint either.   But first, what is Treats?

Treats is an International Snack subscription service and every month, they will send you a box full of snacks (yes, it is a huge box!) from a different country.  You can receive cookies, crackers, candy, chips and all sorts of yummy treats.  They do not ship drinks.   Depending on the subscription service you choose, you can 4 to 5 or 8 to 10 snacks ~ I can tell you, I got way more than 10 snacks in my box!

  • Standard Pack:  4 to 5 International Snacks $12.95/month
  • Premium Pack: 8 to 10 International Snacks  $24.95/month

USA shipping is included.  International shipping rates are

  • Standard
    • Canada: $5.56
    • Mexico: $9.47
    • Other all countries: $10.73
  • Premium
    • Canada: $8.86
    • Mexico: $13.15
    • Other all countries: $15.80

Okay, enough of that!   I signed up for the Premium Box, because hey, in for a penny, in for a pound.   Let’s get to the Unboxing!

Informational Card

This month’s Treats Box features snacks from Mexico and once again, I received so much ~ I did bring several items to work to share :)  On the flip side of the postcard, there is a handwritten note, thanking me for my purchase.


Again, huge box.  Lots of snacks.  Totally worth $24.95.  Again, I couldn’t try ALL of the items for this review, but I did give it the old college try!   I lived for a decade out in Southern California and I love Mexican treats, so this box was right up my tastebud alley.

Arcoiris Marshmallow Cookies

Description:Gamesa Arcoiris is proud to bring you a traditional and delectable treat that is loved by all grown ups and kids alike. Marshmallows sprinkled with rainbow colored coconut bits adorn this delectable cookie, to bring you a sweet flavor that is irresistible! Just the taste of one cookie will have you diving into the whole packet!

Opinion/Taste: hmm, this is weird snack ~ marshmallows on crackers ~ haha.    It was very marshmallow-y and I did share the other two packages with co-workers.  These are sweet, nothing to really write home about.   I received 3 packs that had 4 cookies in each pack.


Ingredients: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Coconut, Sugar, Vegetable Shortening (Contains One or More of the Following Partially Hydrogenated Oils: Soybean Oil, Cottonseed Oil, and/or Palm Oil). Gelatin, Salt, Leavening Agents (Sodium Bicarbonate, Ammonium Bicarbonate, Aluminum Sodium Sulfate, Artificial Flavors, Starch, Soy Lecithin, Calcium Caseinate, Zinc Oxide, Pantothenic Acid (A B Vitamin), B12), Sodium Hexametaphosphate, and Artificial Color (Red 40).


Gamesa Mini Mamut

Description: A pair of crunchy cookies with a sticky marshmallow center and all covered in a chocolaty coating, this foreign snack is absolutely delicious.

Opinion/Taste: Think of an oreo cookie. Now, replace the chocolate cookie with vanilla cookie, add a marshmallow instead of the “creme” and then cover it in chocolate.  Sounds like a s’more, doesn’t it, but without the graham cracker ~ and that is basically what this is.  These were tasty and I did like them.

Ingredients: Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacinamide*, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate*, Riboflavin*, Folic Acid*), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Brown Sugar, Vegetable Oil Shortening (Palm Oil, Palm Kernel Oil), Cocoa, Palm Oil, Skim Milk, Glycerin, Gelatin, Iodized Salt, Leavening Agents (Sodium Bicarbonate, Ammonium Bicarbonate), Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavors, Modified Corn Starch, Propylene Glycol Monostearate, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Soy Protein, Calcium Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Sodium Hexametaphosphate. *One of B Vitamins. Contains Wheat Milk And Soy Ingredients. This Product Is Produced On Equipment That Also Makes Products Containing Peanuts.

Paleta Payaso by Ricolini

Opinion:  I am just chugging thru the marshmallow items, which is strange ~ I never thought of myself as liking marshmallows that much, but I guess if you cover it with chocolate, I will eat them!  I am skeeved a bit by the clown ~ I am not scared of clowns, but ever since Tim Curry outdid even himself as Pennywise the Clown from Stephen King’s “IT”, I don’t look at them in the same light anymore…we ALL float down here…  These are HUGE marshmallows, covered in chocolate, which obviously crumbles, and has some gummies to make the eyes and mouth.   HUGE.  HUGE. HUGE.  I took one bit and I was full.    These will take me a while to eat.   And eat them I will, as I am digging the chocolate covered marshmallow stuff.   I think that the Munchmallow (Serbia)  from last month got me rolling in the whole chocolate covered ‘mallows.  Those were excellent, by the way.

Ingredients: Marshmallow: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Gelatin and Artificial Flavoring. Chocolate Flavored Coating: Sugar (Hydrogenated Palm Oil), Cocoa Alcalinized, Skim Milk Substitute (Whey Powder, Milk Protein, Artificial Flavoring), Soy Lecithin, Iodized Salt, Artificial Flavoring, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Propionate as Preservative. Gummies: Corn Syrup, Sugar, Gelatin, Citric Acid, Artificial Flavoring and Artificial Colorings (Red 40, Blue 1). It May or May Not Contain Pectin and Sodium Citrate


Paleton de Cajeta Quemada by Coronado

Opinion:  These are traditional lollipops made with goat’s milk. These have a history going back to 1810, when they were sent to in the troops during the Mexican War of Independence.  I  haven’t tried these yet, but I love caramelized le leche products and it doesn’t bother me one bit that these are made from goat’s milk  Think caramel, that is what these are.   LOTS and lots of lollipops here – 10 of them.

Ingredients: Goat milk, sugar, corn syrup, salt and sodium bicarbonate

Takis Fuego Hot Chili Pepper & Lime Tortilla Chips  

Description:  Takis are a mini roll-shaped corn tortilla chip. Takis are most famous for it’s “Fuego” flavor, which is the hottest of all of it’s flavors. Taki’s are almost famous for its purple blue packaging. Takis are known to be extremely salty, tangy and spicy at the same time

Opinion/Taste:  OH WOW.  These are fuego!  BUT most excellent!!  Think of those lime-chili tortilla chips that are sold here in the stores.  And then ramp it up by 100% BAM!  The lime is piercing and sharp and the chili pepper is spicy ~ I need a cold cerveza, por favor.   These had several servings in it and I had them for lunch with my soup for 3 times before the package was totally finished.  These are not the type of chips I could finish in one sitting ~ I needed a break from the heat, but they are SO GOOD.  I need to find out where I can purchase these.

Ingredients: Corn Masa Flour (Processed with Lime), Soybean and/or Palm and/or Canola Oil, Iodized Salt, Sugar, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Citric Acid, Soy Protein, Yeast, Monosodium Glutamate, Maltodextrin, Sodium Diacetate, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Artificial Colors (Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake), Onion Powder, Hot Chili Pepper (Chile), Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Guanylate, Sodium Inosinate, Silicon Dioxide (Anticaking), Antioxidant (BHT, TBHQ, Propylene Glycol BHA).

Cacahuates Peants by Sabritas 

Opinion:  I received the Caliente Spicy version.  I ate these without taking a photo, but they are peanuts covered in spicy spices.  Yummy and the bag was munched up in one afternoon.

Ingredients: peanuts, vegetable oil (peanut, soybean, sunflower, and/or cottonseed oil), salt, chili pepper, maltodextrin (made from tapioca), citric acid, partially hydrogenated soybean and cottonseed oil, artificial color (red 40 lake, yellow 6 lake), spice and natural flavor

Ruffles Queso by Sabritas

Opinion: Potato Chips + Cheese + Spice = I will eat these! Haven’t yet, but you can be sure I will eat these!

Ingredients: Potatoes, vegetable oil, queso seasoning (salt, whey, maltodextrin, whey protein concentrate, monosodium glutamate, cheddar cheese, natural flavor, citric acid, spices, yeast extract, sunflower oil, blue cheese, gum arabic, onion powder, buttermilk, paprika extracts, sour cream, butter, lactic acid, garlic powder, corn syrup solids, skim milk and annatto extracts).


Pulparindo by De La Rosa

Description: Puparindos are hot and salted tamarind candies. Pulparindo is made from the pulp of the tamarind fruit and flavored with a combination of sugar, salt and chili peppers. This gives the treat a simultaneously sweet, spicy and salty blend of flavor.

Opinion: This is a huge box of tamarind candy ~ I have eaten dry tamarind pods before and they are good.  These are hot and spicy and when I opened the box, I was happy to see these individually wrapped.  These look like a fruit roll-up as it is fruit pulp.  But it tastes nothing like those overly sweet, disgusting fruit roll ups.  It took me a couple of bites to finally register what these remind me of ~ salted plums!  I love salted plums and these have that salty-spicy taste that I love so much.   I am a convert and these will not be shared with anyone.    This is my favorite item of the box, so far.

Ingredients: Sugar, tamarind pulp, corn syrup, iodized salt, citric acid, sterilized ground chilis mixture and sodium benzoate to preserve freshness


Bubu Lubu by Barcel

Description: Bubu Lubu is a popular trademark for candies from Mexico, featuring a strawberry and marshmallow filling with a chocolate covering. It is manufactured by Barcel (under the control of the Bimbo Company). Bubulubu is accompanied by the trademark Ricolino, also property of Grupo Bimbo. Bubulubu is currently available in some H.E.B. grocery stores and Wal-Mart stores in Texas, Mercado del Pueblo in Georgia, as well as in some Chicago, Los Angeles and Miami, Florida area Target stores, as well as NV gas stations and Mexican owned grocery stores in Colorado New Brunswick, NJ, and Dollar General stores in North Carolina. Its packaging describes the candy as “jalea y malvavisco cubiertos con sabor chocolate” or “strawberry-flavored jelly and marshmallow with chocolate flavored coating”. Bubulubu is often eaten frozen.

Opinion/Taste:   I haven’t tried these yet (another marshmallow treat) and I will freeze them as suggested.

Ingredients: Jelly: corn syrup, sugar, citric pectin, citric acid, sodium citrate, artificial colorings FD&C; red#40 Marshmallow: corn syrup, sugar, gelatin, soy protein (emulsifier) and artificial flavoring. Chocolate flavored coating: sugar, hydrogenated palm oil, cocoa powder, skim milk sustitute (whey powder milk, lactose, corn syrup, maltodextrin, diopotassium phosphate, sodium citrate, artificial flavoring), soy lecitin, salt, sorbic acid as preservative, sodium bicarbonate and artificial flavoring


Carlos V Chocolate by Nestle

Opinion: Carlos V, named after  Holy Roman Emperor  King Charles V of Spain who introduced chocolate to his court,  is supposed to “the” chocolate bar in Mexico (according to Nestle – lol).   These are very popular and I received 2 of these bars ~ they aren’t huge candy bars, but what I would like to think is the perfect size for a taste of chocolate in the afternoon.  I haven’t tried these yet.

Ingredients: Sugar , Chocolate , Nonfat Milk , Cocoa Butter , Whey , Milkfat , Vegetable Oils , (Palm , Shea ) , Illipe) , Less Than 1% of: Soy Lecithin , Artificial and Natural Flavors , PGPR


This sub box is insane!  I mean, yeah, maybe these products are less than 24.95 wholesale, but I would a) never think to try a goat’s milk lollipop and b) I doubt I would get the wholesale price.  This is SO worth the money I have spent on it.  My favorite items are Pulparindo and Takis Fuego, as I love the whole salt/sweet/spicy vibe they are giving off.    Treats gave me different 10 snacks, but they gave me full boxes of cookies, candies and multiples of snacks.  Many of these snacks were multiple servings and the ones that were single servings, I received at least 2 of them.   I loved this month’s Treats from Mexico and I cannot wait to see December’s Treats box.  This snack box lasts me pretty much thru the month, btw.

Did you get this month’s box from Treats?  Are you interested in subscribing now after seeing this amazing box full of snacks from around the world?   If you are, you can use TAKE15 to get 15% off your first box at Treats.


[ descriptions in italics from http://www.trytreats.com ]

One thought on “Unboxing November 2015 Treats Box + Promo Code!

Leave a Reply

