Influenster Nexxus Hair Care VoxBox Review

This is my fourth #VoxBox that I have received from Influenster, which is the Nexxus Hair Care VoxBox.  This box was a custom box, based on my profile and survey answers.   Influenster and Nexxus matched me to a hair care system that was supposed to match my issues and needs.   I received these products complimentary for testing purposes from Influenster.

I had stated that I had fine, straight, limp hair that was in need of volumizing and there is only one line that is supposed to target volumizing ~ Diametress.   Youth Renewal also volumizes with the additional benefit of restoring shine to your hair, and is marketed as the “Rejuvenating System”.  I guess because of my age, I received the Youth Renewal Hair Care line.  I honestly don’t have issues with shine in my hair ~ but I am glad they gave me a product that was supposed to bring volume into my hair.

“Revitalize lackluster hair while adding volume and shine with our highly sophisticated rejuvenating system. Specifically formulated with concentrated, 100% pure Elastin Protein and Liquid Pearl Extract, our Youth Renewal regimen rejuvenates and reinvigorates each strand, giving hair youthful volume and shine.”

image credit

Youth Renewal is made with marine pearl (liquid) and will help restore luster and contains mineral rich ingredients.  It also contains Elastin Protein which will restore the vitality of hair follicles in your scalp.


As this is a month long test for me with this hair care system, I will first talk briefly of the products I received, description and  ingredients.  I will then talk about how they performed and whether I will purchase them.   I did receive 3 full sized products and their retail value varies on where you purchase them. 


Youth Renewal Rejuvenating Shampoo  This gentle shampoo will cleanse “age affected hair” and will help rebuild volume and shine.   The Youth Renewal System will combat the 8 signs of aging hair: “volume loss, breakage, less shine, roughness, dryness, brittleness, unruliness and loss of color vibrancy.”    400 mL RV $12.00 ~ $20.00

Along with the Liquid Pearl and Elastin Protein ingredients, Youth Renewal shampoo has a new ingredients that I would like to highlight.

  • Hydrolyzed Keratin Your hair follicle contains 95% keratin and is the reason why your hair can be strong and flexible.  Adding keratin back into your hair allows it to be absorbed and improves hair texture, shine, elasticity and strength.  It will also prevent frizzies by smoothing the hair cuticle.
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein will strengthen your hair as it will adhere to your hair and penetrate the cortex while attracting and maintaining moisture to your hair.  It will enhance volume and help thicken your hair
  • Benzophenone-4 is a sunscreen agent will help prevent color loss and fading
  • Polyquaternium-10 reduces static in your hair, improves the appearance and texture of your hair.  It will increase the volume, suppleness and bring softness to your hair.
  • Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E) is a conditioning agent and antioxidant 
  • Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil and Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil have essential fatty acids that will bring luster and shine to your hair, with its emulsifying and moisturizing properties.  They also are gentle cleansers
  • Ubiquinone  (coenzyme Q10) helps stimulate keratin production, one of the building blocks of hair.  It will result in healthy hair cuticles, shinier hair and no tangles. 

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Glycol Distearate, Fragrance (Parfum), Polyquaternium-10, Citric Acid, DMDM Hydantoin, Tetrasodium EDTA, PPG-9, Benzophenone-4, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Ubiquinone, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Pearl analysis



Youth Renewal Rejuvenating Conditioner  This is a lightweight conditioner that will help renew hair by helping to preserve volume and rebuild shine, bounce and color.  400 mL RV $12.00 ~ $20.00

The conditioner does share a lot of the same ingredients as the shampoo, so I will highlight some different ingredients found here.

  • Lactic Acid  will help relax and smooth dry and rough hair, making it manageable.  
  • Hydrogenated Coconut Oil keeps your hair soft and the color vibrant.  It also helps stop hair loss. 
  • Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine  is an anti-static (no fly-aways!) and conditions

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Fragrance (Parfum), Behentrimonium Chloride, Dipropylene Glycol, Potassium Chloride, Lactic Acid, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Benzophenone-4,, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Ubiquinone, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Methylisothiazolinone, Hydrolyzed Pearl analysis

Youth Renewal Elixir  This creamy, yet lightweight hair serum is supposed to nourish my hair and will help rebuild volume and  strengthen hair.   This product has an eyedropper applicator and  I just add a couple of drops into my hand, rub together and then apply to the ends of my hair.   28 mL RV $22.00

  • Glycerin is a humectant, which means it will attract moisture from the air and trap it, locking it into your hair.  If applied properly, it will not make your hair greasy or weigh it down.
  • Polyquaternium-37  A conditioning product used for fine, limp hair and will improve the volume and body in your hair. 

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Polyquaternium-37, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, PVP, Amodimethicone, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Propylene Glycol, Fragrance (Parfum), Polysorbate 20, DMDM Hydantoin, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Cetrimonium Chloride, Trideceth-12, Disodium EDTA, Butylene Glycol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Benzophenone-4, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Ubiquinone, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Pearl analysis


Youth Renewal Performance

I will start off by saying that I did like how this hair care system worked on my hair.  The shampoo did cleanse my hair without making it feel dry or stripped, and it did rinse out completely.  The conditioner was nice, very lightweight, so it did not weigh down my hair or leave it greasy, but it did condition my hair.   Whether or not this “fought” the 8 signs of aging hair, I cannot say.  I don’t have issues with luster, rough hair, dry hair, breakage, “unruliness” or loss of color.  I do color my hair but I did not notice that it helped retain my color any better than other shampoo/conditioners.   These two products did leave my hair soft, manageable, non-greasy and did not weigh it down, so that my hair did have volume when I styled it.

The Elixir was also nice, a light weight milky serum that I applied to the ends of my hair, which allowed me to use my huge roller brush to style and keep that down flip in place.   My hair did look smoother with this product.   The elixir was not greasy but then again, I only applied it to the ends of my hair.

All in all, this is a nice trio of products that I would have been happy to purchase… EXCEPT… THE SMELL.  I might offend some people now that actually might like this scent, so I do apologize in advance.   The scent is a strong, STRONG baby powder with a floral-vanilla scent.   This is a scent that is very conservative and very old fashioned ~ which for some reason, Nexxus thinks that older ladies will like this scent.  Derp, no.   Epic fail.   I hate this scent so much that I will not purchase these items and I will toss the rest of the elixir in the trash, as I cannot stand that smell in my hair.  It is a darn shame that Nexxus put this very strong, off putting scent in this hair care system. 

So, as a beauty blogger, what did I do?  Did I give up on Nexxus?  Nope! 


I actually went to my local drugstore and purchased Diametress shampoo ~ they didn’t have the conditioner and I don’t use hair cream, which is the style product.   This is the hair care system Influenster should have sent me, not Youth Renewal.  Diametress is made with green tea extracts ~  a powerful antioxidant ~  panthenol (B-5), ginseng and flax seed oil and is a volumizing line, which is what I had stated my concerns were.  Not anti-aging hair concerns.   Diametress works very well on my hair,  has the same effect as Youth Renewal and smells like lovely fresh berries.   A fun, flirty scent and my only regret is that the Diametress line doesn’t have a serum like Youth Renewal.  It is a shame that the Diametress line is really hard to find in my area ~ I only found the shampoo, but no conditioner.  

Ingredients: Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Panthenol, Sodium Laureth 6 Carboxylate, Sodium Chloride, PEG 6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, Limonene, Linalool, Amyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Propylene Glycol, Phytantriol, Polyglyceryl 3 Distearate, Polysorbate 60, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Extract, Stearic Acid, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Palmitic Acid, Myristic Acid, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Verbena Officinalis Leaf Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sterols, Alpha Glucan Oligosaccharide, Ceramide 3, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Citric Acid analysis


Although I personally will not purchase the Youth Renewal system due to its scent, I am very interested in a different Nexxus line, Diametress.  I would have never bothered looking into Diametress, however, without receiving the Youth Renewal, so I am glad I did have the opportunity to try the Nexxus line.  I am very impressed with the way the products work and hopefully, I can find the full Diametress line soon in my area.  Thank you, @InfluensterVox

Leave a Reply

