Unboxing October 2015 MaskGenie!

Sorry that my unboxing for MaskGenie is a bit late ~ I have been very tired recently (health issues) and I wanted to make sure that the quality of my unboxing didn’t suffer because I rushed it :)   There were a few masks in this pouch that I was unfamiliar with and also trying to find the ingredients on some others.

MaskGenie is a monthly subscription of masks ~ facial sheet mask, body masks, wash off masks and hair masks.  The owner lives in Hong Kong and she (Genie) tries out the masks and determines which ones she feels are worthy for her customers to try.   Shipping is extremely fast ~ within a week, I get my pouch.  You can order the 10 mask pouch for $23.50 or the 5 mask pouch for $13.50 and that includes shipping and she just doesn’t ship to the USA ~ MaskGenie ships all over the world.

One of the things I really appreciate from Genie is that she does an unboxing video once she sends out the pouches.   It is really great that she cares about her customers to provide this extra service and she explains a bit about the mask, why she choose it, where it is from and so on.   This month’s Pouch Unboxing Youtube can be found here.

October Pouch Revealed!

Mediheal Dress Code Black – Whitening Care (Korea)  I’ve seen a lot of selfies with this mask and it is a very gorgeous looking mask ~ it even has “ruby” gems (red plastic, don’t get your hopes up that much!) around the eye, so it is quite elegant.   This is the only Dress Code mask in the 4 series that has gems ~ very strange!!  This is a whitening mask with some really nice ingredients ~ niacinamide, licorice,  soybean, honey and royal jelly extracts and galactomyces ferment filtrate, so I am pretty excited to try this one out!  RV $2.50

Ingredients: Water, glycerin, butylene glycol, niacinamide, sodium hyaluronate, hydrolyzed collagen, xanthan gum, carbomer, tocopheryl acetate, disodium EDTA, panthenol, trehalose, betaine, hippophae rhamnoides water, glycine max (soybean) seed extract, pisum sativum (pea) extract, galactomyces ferment filtrate, theobroma cacao (cocoa) extract, pearl extract, honey extract, caviar extract, propolis extract, royal jelly extract, paeonia lactiflora root extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, polygonum multiflorum root extract, phellinus linteus extract, morus alba bark extract, sophora flavescens root extract, cimicifuga racemosa root extract, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed extract, angelica gigas root extract, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, methylparaben,portulaca oleracaea extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, beta-glucan, allantoin, triethanolamine, polysorbate-80, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis


Elizavecca Milky Piggy 24K Gold Waterdew Snail Mask Pack (KoreaDamn, I hate these reflective pouches.  I really do ~ I cannot take a good pic with them.  Of course, it’s what inside that counts!!  This sounds pretty darn fantastic.  It has 1,000 ppm of snail secretion filtrate (snail slime between us mask fanatics) , some moisturizing yeasty ferments ~ galactomyces ~ some bee stuff with propolis ~ great for oily and blemish prone skin and 24K gold!  I am pretty jazzed about this mask ~ I am not a huge fan of Elizavecca (hated their bubble mask and the piggy collagen stuff).  I did try this mask and it isn’t gold :(  I guess they used all the gold on the packaging!  ahaha   This mask is very wet, very soaked in essence and has a slight floral scent, but nothing offensive.    RV $1.50

Description: 24k Gold and Snail Secretion Filtrate extract is to improve skin of wrinkles and skin trouble that soothes the Daily mask pack among the Korean consumers sensitive to skin care!

Ingredients: Aqua, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Betaine, Allantoin, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Snail Secretion Filtrate (1000ppm),Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Propolis Extract, Cornus Officinalis Fruit Extract, Alcohol, Disodium EDTA,Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Sodium Citrate, Adenosine, Fragrance, Ubiquinone, Colloidal Gold (CI77480)  cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source

MAJN Activating & Tightening Eye Mask (Hong Kong)  This is considered TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) mask and is an herbal eye mask.  Genie did review this ~ I have included her review below plus where you can see her other reviews.    I really am into TCM and hope to see more of these in our MaskGenie pouches.  I think a lot of MaskGenie subscribers also love TCM products, as there is another one in here that was by demand on her FB page when she reviewed it!   I am pretty excited to try this out.  BTW ~ I did try and use my Google Translate app on my phone to see if there was an ingredient listing and there really wasn’t.  Just a list of a few and then etc.  So, I don’t know if this is the full list of ingredients, so I am marking it as “Key Ingredients”  RV $1.00

Description:  Activation TCM Mask firming elastin fibers eliminate bags under the eyes.  Eye mask containing protein can effectively maintain the skin’s firmness and elasticity to prevent sagging and wrinkles. Clarity of the skin, penetrate the skin cuticle, adding antioxidants, promote anion activation and balance the skin charge, to prevent skin aging effects.

Key Ingredients:  vitamin K, tranexamic acid, multi-peptides (polyols), arnica

image source

MaskGenie Challenge Mask 97: MAJN Activating & Tightening Eye Mask (Hong Kong)
This is an eye mask that contains Vitamin K, Tranexamic Acid, and Multi-Peptides, and should be left on for 5-10 minutes. It is very thin and was slightly hard to handle due to its C-shape and thinness. The mask was dripping in essence when I took it out of its packaging, but as the mask was so thin, I accidentally ripped the edge when I was pulling the two pieces apart. I thought the shape was a little weird, as I seldom see masks that cover the brows too, but it did seem to fit okay. I took the mask off after 10 minutes and patted in the remaining essence. I didn’t notice my dark eye circles to go lighter, but it did feel more hydrated and firmer there. Rating: 7/10  (source)

Biore Deep Cleansing Pore Strip (Japan)  Ahhh, the nose patch!!  I personally do not use them, but I know that many people love and swear by these ~ I don’t really have major blackheads, so I do not really need them.  Biore is famous and we have these strips over here ~ it is funny ~ Genie states these were the first she used and Biore was the first nose strip I used, many years ago!!  RV 50 cents

Ingredients: polyquaternium-37, silica, water, glycerin, polysilicone-13, PEG-12 dimethicone, titanium dioxide, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, butylene glycol, stearyl glycyrrhetinate, methylparaben 



Bio’Main Cordyseps Sinensis Sleeping Pack (Taiwan)  I am SO happy to see Bio’Main pack in our pouches!  I loved the first sleeping pack that Genie gave us in our April pouch and now it reappears here but in the Cordyseps Sinensis verison.  This is a sleeping pack and I got about 3 uses out of the one I received in April.  It is made with hyaluronic acid, collagen and Cordyceps Sinensis Powder.  Cordyceps Sinensis ~ what is that?  I actually had this ingredient before in a product, 23yearsold Pergillus 15 Sec. Foam Cleanser, and I found out what it is ~ it is the fermented fungus that grows on a caterpillar.  That drawing of the green looking root?  That is the mummified caterpillar with the fungus growing out its head!   This ingredient has been used in Asian traditional medicine for centuries and it contains many anti-aging and antioxidant compounds, such as essential amino acids, adenine, adenosine, vitamins and minerals.      Genie gives this sleeping pack a 9.5 out of 10 in her review ~ I am happy to see the return of Bio’Main in our pouches and that it looks to be so effective (and inexpensive!)   I don’t mind a strong herbal scent ~ for me, this is much more appealing than floral scents!  Please do not take offense at the description below ~ this is actually what is written on the package itself.  Value $1.00

Description: The Chinese Medicine Masks series adopt the latest technology to extract the essence from the pure natural Chinese herbal medicine. It combines the traditional Chinese medical theory thoroughly with the modern beauty industry; therefore greatly enhance the effect of beauty nursing which especially suits for the skin of eastern females.

MaskGenie Challenge Mask 94: TCM Mask Chinese Traditional Medicine Sleeping Pack Cordyceps Sinensis (Taiwan)  I’ve been having these facial treatments at the beauty parlour recently, and so I’m in need of intense moisturisation. I alternate between sheet masks and sleeping masks, and so I thought I’d try this mask out (this was featured in a previous MaskGenie Pouch, and received many great reviews). The package is 20g, and there is probably enough for 3-4 uses (I’ve used it twice generously, but there’s still a lot left inside). The mask has a strong scent of “Dang Gui” Chinese Angelica Root (I’m very familiar with this scent, as I took Dang Gui during my one month confinement after giving birth – don’t confuse yourself with Ginseng, the usual scent of Oriental things), but I didn’t see it as one of the major ingredients. The texture is like a light moisturiser. I applied a layer onto my face and neck, and left it to absorb before heading to bed. It felt slightly sticky at first, but it wasn’t unbearable nor too sticky to sleep with. After a night of beauty sleep, I noticed my face to be very moisturised but not too oily, face felt soft, and face looked brightened. Great mask, but the scent might not be loved by everyone.  Rating: 9.5/10  (source)

Beauty Mate Anti-Blemish Repairing Mask (Taiwan)  This is great!  This is not only a mask for blemish prone skin (raises hand) but it helps replenish moisture and regulate the oil balance in your skin.  Sebacic Acid is a pH buffer, so this is marketed as being not irritating to your skin.   RV $1.25

Description: Skin calming and soothing sheet masks contain double the dose of Sebacic Acid and chamomile extract to provide immediate relief to a red and irritated complexion. Generous helping of hyaluronic acid not only quenches skin thirst, it also forms a moisturizing film on skin’s surface for enhanced elasticity and deep hydration. Aloe then effectively locks in moisture which results in improved suppleness with a healthy, radiant glow. Best for acne-prone skin types. 

  • Double Hyaluronic Acid in upgraded version can form a layer of moisturizing film on the skin surface, the strong water retention from outside to inside, which can enhance skin elasticity more and moisturizing the skin deeply.
  • Double Sebacic Acid and Chamomile Extract can calm down the skin and relieve redness effectively.
  • Aloe provides natural moisture-locking factor to keep the skin supple and delicate in all environments, and is ideal for acne-prone skin.
  • Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract helps to regulate the water and oil level of the skin to prevent appearance of blemishes.

Ingredients: water, butylene glycol, sebacid acid, cucumis sativus (cucumber) fruit acid, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, glycerin, phenoxyethanol, xanthan gum, mangifera indica (mango) fruit extract, actinidia chinensis (kiwi) fruit extract, fragrance, cocos nucifera (coconut) extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, propylene glycol, citric acid, sodium citrate, sodium hyaluronate, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, butylparaben, isobutylparaben, ursolic acid, sodium polyacrylate, phospholipids, PEG-8, menthyl lactate, disodium EDTA, caprylyl glycocosDNA.com analysis

Shara Shara Baby Hand & Nail Mask (Korea)  Perfect for the upcoming winter season!  I normally do not use the hand masks year round, but in the winter, I do.  My hands do get chapped and raw as I don’t always wear my gloves while I am cleaning snow off my car or just running out to my car and into a building.  You’d think I would learn, but the problem is that I misplace my gloves ALL the time!  I have so many mismatched gloves because I lost one of them ~ I have no idea where they go!  Some Rave glove party somewhere.  Shara Shara is a solid brand and I do like their masks.  This has 8 kinds of herbs such as sage and lavender extracts, as well as moisturizing betaine and ceramide 3.   RV $4.50

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Mineral Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, polysorbate 60, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Betaine,  Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylparaben, cetearyl alcohol, stearic acid, phenoxyethanol,  PEG-100 Stearate,  glyceryl stearate, carbomer, methylparaben, beeswax, triethanolamine,  fragrance, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Dimethicone, allantoin,  adenosine, disodium EDTA, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract,  Portulaca Oleracea extract, Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract,  Jasminum Officinale (Jasmine) Extract, ceramide 3, Centella asiatica extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen  cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source
image source

Scinic Black Dual Mask Aqua White (Korea) Scinic is starting to get raves in the K-beauty blog-o-sphere and I don’t think I’ve ever tried anything from them (if I did, I promptly forgot! haha).  Genie raves about this mask in her review as being a very moisturizing mask.  I am confused about the concept, however.  This is a two piece black 100% cotton mask, and it is supposed to address the needs of the T-zone (upper part of the face) and V-zone (the lower half of the face).  Scinic claims that the T-zone mask will help balance oiliness, refine pores and skin texture, while the V-zone mask will moisturize dry skin and firm up facial contours.  Since the V-mask does have a piece that goes under your chin, I understand the “firming” up bit, but I am confused on the mask, which is not separated in the pouch, can address these different needs when it is using the same ingredients and mask sheet.  Weird.   Anywho, this mask has the famous black food trio ~ black sesame, black rice and black soybeans (beans) ~ whose amino acids will help promote healthy skin.   It also contains charcoal to help absorb oil.  This mask is a whitening and moisturizing mask and based on cosDNA, it hardly has any triggers and the ones it does have, are a blip on the radar.  RV $2.70

Description: Design adheres perfectly to skin, promoting the quick permeation of 36ml effective ingredients deep beneath the skin surface. It tailor-made for the T zone and V zone needs. T zone regulates and balance oil secretion which improves skin condition and prevents inflammation. V zone refines texture and firms facial contours.

  • Black sesame, black rice and black beans (soybean).  Black beans contain abundant proteins, of which contain 18 kinds of amino acids that are close to our skin’s NMF. It provides the essentials of healthy skin and leave skin always youthful and elastic.
  • Vitamin E: Anti-oxidants, anti-wrinkles and reduce freckles.
  • Aloe Vera Juice, Witch Hazel & Tea Tree extract: It effectively relieves dull skin, lift up cell energy, tighten pores, retain skin hydrated and brighten.

Ingredients: water, glycerin, butylene glycol, niacinamide, 1,2-hexanediol, betaine, panthenol, allantoin, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, phenoxyethanol, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, arginine, xanthan gum,  carbomer, sodium polyacrylate, glycine soja (soybean) seed extract, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed extract, charcoal powder, oryza sativa (rice) extract, adansonia digitata seed extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, camellia sinensis leaf extract, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, disodium EDTA, sodium hyaluronate, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


image source
image source


Dr. Morita Hyaluronic Acid Essence Mask (Taiwan)   We get a lot of Dr Morita as this is one of Genie’s favorite brands and it is pretty cool to have a mask brand that not that many places outside of Taiwan and Hong Kong know about!   Hyaluronic acid masks are so hydrating and moisturizing and I do enjoy them, especially since the cooler weather is here.     RV $2.50

Description: Hyaluronic Acid Essence Mask is soaked with rich and concentrated beauty lotion containing Hyaluronic Acid and the botanical extracts from Sponge Cucumber, Cucumber, Licorice and Algae. The readily absorbed beauty lotion works in only 10 minutes, providing skin with long-lasting hydration in order to correct dull skin and fine lines induced by dehydration. In addition, Collagen is contained to prevent the first sign of aging while restoring skin’s elasticity. After use, skin appears dewy, supple and flawless

Ingredients: Dipropylene glycol, glycosyl trehalose/hydrogenated starch hydrolysate (trehalose), xanthan gum, methylparaben,phenoxyethanol, D-panthenol, hydrolyzed collagen, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, luffa cylindrica root extract, cucumis sativus extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil,sodium hyaluronate, algae extract, ceramide 3, ceramide 6 II, ceramide 1, phtyosphingosine, cholesterol, sodium lauroyllactylate, carbomer, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis


Sister Diary Cactus Loofah Mask (Taiwan)  I really like Sister Diary ~ their Apple mask that I got in one of my first MaskGenie pouches was fantastic and I mourn that I cannot find them on a site that ships to the USA.    I loved the Loofah masks that Genie had in the August pouch, as they were so hydrating and moisturizing (talk about an aqua bomb!!) but they didn’t break me out or leave my skin feeling greasy.  I am looking forward to using this.   RV $1.50

Ingredients: water, 1,3-butylene glycol, glycosyl trehalose/hydrogenated starch hydrolysate, sodium PCA, luffa cylindrica fruit/leaf/stem extract, iris florentina root extract, hydrolyzed opuntia ficus indica flower extract, xanthan gum, saccharide isomerate, nymphaea alba root extract, opuntia ficus-indica stem extract/glycerin/water, phenoxyethanol,  chlorphenesin, melissa officinalis flower, melia azadirachta leaf extract, soluble collagen, water/glycerin/hydrolyzed cottonseed tract/trehalose/glucose/fructose/sucrose/inositol, aloe barbadensis, sodium hyaluronate, PPG-26-buteth-26/PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil/water, fragrance, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate  cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source
image source


This month had a lot of masks that I never heard before and I am glad to see more Taiwan masks as well in here.   I am thrilled to have some TCM masks in here, as I LOVE those and of course, any blemish/oil control masks, of which we have a few in here, are always welcomed!  This is a great month, as all of these masks are very useful and I can use all of them.  I paid $22.00 for this pouch, which included shipping, and received a retail value of around $19.00.   A lot of these masks I would not have know to try without this service and in some cases, are very hard to come by in the USA and outside of Asian countries.

If you are interested in MaskGenie,  just go to her online store at www.skinilove.com  and you can place your order that way, which would be month by month OR if you think you want this to be a reoccurring subscription, email Genie at her FB page at and let her know to invoice you monthly.

Do you get this month’s pouch from MaskGenie?  What are you looking forward to trying out?

[ All items purchased with my own money ]

[ descriptions in italics from the product’s linked site ]

Leave a Reply

