Unboxing October 2015 Julep + Promo!

I can’t help it ~ Julep has been coming out with some nice colors and since I take breaks from them, I do not find the shades repetitious.  I wanted this month’s box because my profile, Boho Glam, had shades that were screaming “me, me, mememememememeeeee” and I also loved the packaging on their new Eyeshadow 101 product.    

The theme this month is “New York Never Sleeps  and I now have that classic “dum dum” sounds from Law & Order’s opening theme music.   And of course, the original L&O cast with the very handsome (and very young) Chris Noth as Detective Mike Logan

Anyway, back to the box (I get so sidetracked when I start doing these associations!)  As I mentioned, I have Boho Glam as my default profile and I also decided to purchase one additional add-on with my Maven points

Informational Card

Michaela Blackcurrant microglitter shimmer”  This is a great vampy shade ~ lovely dark very dark plum color with subtle shimmers.   I think this could be my Fall/Winter favorite nail polish.  Really just beautiful ~ it doesn’t look much in the nail polish bottle, but it so sexy and mysterious when applied.    Value $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Iron Oxides (CI 77499, CI 77491), Alumina, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Silica, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Benzophenone-1, Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Alcohol Denat., Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Hexanal, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract

Anya Climbing ivy crème”   Ivy is a good description for the color ~ it isn’t quite forest green, as it has yellow tones in it, but it isn’t emerald green either.  This is a lovely creme shade and it will be very useful with the holiday season coming up ~ some people wear red nail polish for Christmas, I wear green ~ haha Plus, it is a good witchy color for Halloween ~ pair it up with black nail polish and be Wicked!   Value $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Silica, Benzophenone-1, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Black 2 (CI 77266), Alcohol Denat., Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Hexanal, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract

All Julep nail polishes have the same type of formula

Breakthrough Oxygen Technology powers this fast-drying, long-lasting nail polish to get nails healthy and more beautiful at the same time. Our proprietary 5-free, vegan-friendly formula also includes strengthening Hexanal and antioxidant green coffee extract. You’ll never look at nail polish the same way again.  Julep nail polish is 5-free and vegan-friendly. We steer clear of formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, DBP, camphor, and animal ingredients or byproducts.

Dries ultra fast & allows 30% more oxygen to permeate the nail bed than other nail polish.  Reveals stronger, harder & more conditioned nails in just two weeks (reported by 95% of women in an independent trial). Extends the life of your manicure or pedicure


Boho Glam’s box had one makeup items, a cream to powder eye shadow.  I think this was in every box, but any way, we can either take the default shade or pick our own.  The Boho Glam eye shadow was defaulting to Orchid Shimmer, which looked like a nice shade (and probably is), but then when I saw how it looked on the model’s faces, it seemed to be a coppery rose gold.  I happened to like the Plum Shimmer better, so I selected that instead.   There were 6 shades to choose from: Plum Shimmer, Orchid Shimmer, Taupe Shimmer, Bronze Shimmer, Champagne Shimmer, Stone.  I also did an add on item as well.

Eyeshadow 101 in Plum Shimmer  This is a crème to powder eye shadow stick and I am always learey of these products.  With the exception of Korean eye shadow sticks, I have found that most of these do not have any lasting power at all and just smudge off my oily eyelids quickly ~ even if I use an eye base primer.    That said, I do have to say I am very impressed with the packaging on this item.  It is slick and in a metallic gunmetal color ~ very similar to Urban Decay’s lipstick tubes.   This is a really classy looking eye shadow tube and I hope that this is the direction that Julep is going for their makeup items.   One end is the eye shadow and the other end has a huge sponge applicator to help smudge out the product.

Plum Shimmer is a lovely true plum shade, it isn’t bright and it is a subtle shimmer, not a bling-bling glitter fest. It did apply smoothly ~ I did not feel any pulling or tugging. I left the color on my hand for over an hour and when I tried to rub it off, I did have to use a bit of pressure to do so, more than what I would use on my eye lids ~ this leads me to believe it might have a bit of staying power if I use a primer first.   I did smudge it out and I think it loses it beautiful “pluminess” when you do that.  It looks more like a dirty smudge and I didn’t like that look.  However, I will use this without smudging it and I think the sponge applicator will come in handy if I need to “clean up” around the edges of my eyes.  

Word of warning ~ when you get this product, I recommend putting it in the refrigerator for a couple of hours and then carefully removing the end cap.  When I opened mine up, the product just fell right out and onto the floor, getting a bit smushed.  RV $18.00

Description: Glides on evenly with excellent color payoff.  Blends easily before setting to a long-lasting finish.  Soothes and smooths delicate skin with pleny of aloe and vitamin E



Orbital Eyeshadow in Earthshine  I really need to stop buying eyeshadows!! haha  This is my add on product and I had Julep points, so this was free for me.  They only offered this color from their Orbital Eyeshadow line, but I did love the color description “Tree bark with chrome pearlescence”    This looks like it would be a very glittery shade when you look at it, but once swatched, it is a nice medium grey-brown (taupe) shade that has that pearlescence.   This is a great neutral shade that isn’t boring.  I hope that Julep offers their other Orbital Eyeshadows in the future as add-on’s, as I would love to get the Borealis (Charcoal with peacock pearlescence).  RV $18.00

Description: Our multidimensional eyeshadow with triple the pigment for intense brightness, incredible stamina, and endless looks.  Uses iridescent pearls and vibrant metallic pigments to create an effortless, multidimensional eye look.  Blends the color payoff of a cream shadow and the layering power of a powder

Ingredients: Dimethicone, Mica, Zinc Stearate, Diisostearyl Malate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Talc, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Lauroyl Lysine, Hexylene Glycol, May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491/77492/77499), Copper Powder (CI 77400), Aluminum Powder (CI 77000), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

This month was a winner for me!  I really enjoyed the nail shades ~ Michaela is so pretty and I don’t have anything like that in my collection ~ this will be my nail color this weekend.  The eyeshadows are really nice shades and very wearable, and I was pleasantly surprised with the wear on the cream stick.   My box is $19.00 + plus I added on 1 eyeshadow (free with my Julep points)  and I received a retail value of  $64.00

Do you subscribe to Julep’s Maven?  If so, what did you think of this month’s box?  What style and colors did you get?  If you are interested in subscribing, you can get your first month free, by clicking on my referral link here


[ blog post contains referral link ]

Leave a Reply

