Orgaid Anti-Aging/Moisturizing Facial Sheet Mask Review

Several weeks ago, I saw on Instagram a promotion for a brand new company, Orgaid, based in the USA, that would be creating the first USA made, all organic and natural facial sheet mask.  They offered a free mask to all of those who signed up and asked for a review of their product in return.  This facial sheet mask was provided free to me in exchange for an honest and unbiased review

image source

What is Orgaid?  It is a company that started recently, located in Illinois, wanting to provide the best skin care products with organic ingredients.  Their founder, Dr  Ian Baek,  has a PhD degree in Department of Materials Science and Engineering form University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2015.  He has spent the last 8 years discovering  new biomaterials and nanoparticles which this research has contributed to Orgaid and only using certified organic botanical ingredients for their products.  All of my observations and thoughts are my own.

image source

All of the ingredients in Orgaid Anti-Aging/Moisturizing Facial Sheet Masks are rated “1” on the hazard zone scale, where “1” is low hazard. Key ingredients in these masks are

  • Aloe Vera is a powerful moisturizer that doesn’t leave your skin feeling oily or greasy. It soothes, treats inflammation, helps speed up skin healing and also has a plethora of antioxidants ~ beta-carotene, Vitamin C and Vitamin E, which help improve your skin’s firmness and keeps your skin moist and hydrated. It also contains over 75 different nutritious ingredients, including minerals, enzymes, amino acids, salicylic acid and much more.
  • Lavender has amazing wound healing proprieties due to its antibacterial, antiseptic and anti-inflammatory compounds.  It is also is a soothing and invigorating ingredient as well.
  • Willow Bark  is a BHA (beta hydroxy acid) which helps exfoliate skin by removing dead skin cells, contains salicylic acid, to help combat acne.  It is also high in anti-oxidants, which tone and reduce inflammation as well as being an astringent, to control oil.   Salicylic acid is fat soluble, so it can really get to the oil that is inside your pores.
  • Rosemary has anti-septic properties, supports collagen growths and has anti-oxidant properties that will combat free radicals
  • Green Tea is full of powerful anti-oxidants, due to its high concentration of polyphenols, green tea helps reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Witch Hazel is an blemish prone skin’s best friend because it has antibacterial and antiseptic qualities which helps clear up acne and it removes excess oil from skin.  It also helps shrinks blood vessels, which tightens our skin.  Witch Hazel can speed up healing and is a powerful anti-inflammatory, which also helps soothe skin.  Finally, Witch Hazel refreshes and rejuvenates skin, refines the pores and seal in moisture.
  • Niacinamide  is a powerful antioxidant that acts as an anti-inflammatory, improves your skin elasticity, enhance the skin barrier function and also it helps to even out skin tone and reduce post-inflammatory hyper-pigmentation.  
  • Hyaluronic acid  (Sodium Hyaluronate) is an intensive moisturizing ingredient which bonds water to keep skin hydrated.   It is a natural substance found in the human body and it made up of amino and uronic acids, and helps retain 100 to 1,000 times its own water weight in our skin cells.
  • Lactobacillus ferment ~ my fermented friend!  I love lactobacillus or any ferment for that matter.  Fermented ingredients in skin care products are highly moisturizing and also have antibacterial properties, which is why my blemish-prone skin luffs it so much
  • Kosher Vegetable Glycerin  helps with healing of wounds, is an humectant, sealing in moisture, maintains the skin’s water balance on an intercellular level, which makes the skin look healthy, moist (not dry and scaly), soft to touch, and is also an emollient, leaving your skin looking radiant and supple

All of these ingredients are ones that I am very familiar with due to my obsession with K-Beauty and my own reviews and research.  I am pleased to see my old friends here!   Orgaid masks do not contain parabens, formaldehyde,   alcohols,  phthalates,  sulfates,  fragrance and they do not conduct animal testing.  Based on cosDNA analysis, there are no notable acne or irritant triggers (yeah)

Ingredients: Water, Organic Aloe vera juice, Witch hazel distillate, Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Kosher vegetable glycerin, Lactobacillus ferment, Hyaluronic acid, Maltodextrin, Arginine, Carbomer, Organic Willow bark extract, Organic Honeysuckle extract, Organic Rosemary extract, Organic Horsetail extract, Organic Green tea extract analysis

For more detailed information about these ingredients, Orgaid has thoughtfully provided a web page for you to read.

The mask fabric  itself is made from Ecoderma, which is a new sheet type, a hybrid between bio-cellulose and natural hydrogel mask.   It is supposed to allow your skin to “breath” and also adheres better to your facial contours.  The material also will help the serum penetrate deeper into your skin as well.   Read more about the different types of fabrics here.


I love the minimalist look of the brown paper packaging with the simple botanical prints.  I find this to be very appealing to my bohemian soul.  The informational card is also very nicely done ~ Orgaid should look into making note cards to sell with those prints, as I would love to purchase those!  I hope they do not change their packaging, as I think it suits their mission statement using natural and organic ingredients.


The Mask

This mask sheet seemed to have some issues as it was a bit crumpled ~ Orgaid is aware of that and thinks it is how they are shipped.  However, I think it is due to the new type of fabric being used.  Whenever you have hydro-gels or really thin fabrics, there is always something called a “pearl paper” which is just a plastic paper that sits on top of the mask, giving it stability and form.  I know that Orgaid is organic and eco-friendly, but they might wish to look into alternatives to adding something like a pearl paper to their masks, because I don’t think it is the post office’s fault.  I do think this is due to the fabric and how it is not supported by anything.

For those who do not know what a “pearl paper” looks like, I’ve included one of my photos from Annie’s Way Masks here ~ see that perforated paper under the mask sheet?  That is the pearl paper and it helps give stability and form to the mask sheet.  Annie’s Way masks are super thin silk masks and they need this, otherwise, they would tear at unfolding.

However, I am an OLD hand at “unplucking” mask sheets, and was quickly able to unfold the mask without any sagging or tearing. I think some people get impatient and start pulling at the mask sheet and that is why there were reports of sagging or bad fit.  I did not have a bad fit at all ~ in fact, this is one of the better fitting masks I have tried.  And I even did a rare selfie to show you ~ don’t bring out the pitchforks and fire!!   I will say that the nose area was a problem ~ the mask sheet did not cover the top and sides at the end of my nose and I wish it had.  It also seemed to be “tight” across the bridge of my nose as well, and I don’t have a long, prominent nose


The mask fabric feels slick with the essence and it  holds the essence very well.  There was not a lot of essence in the bag, so that means that the mask fabric really absorbs and picks up that essence, as the mask itself was soaked with it.   There is no scent to this mask ~ at least I did not detect any scent.  I really love the ingredients in this mask, as they seem to be all of my old favorite friends gathering in one place :D   After 30 minutes, I removed the mask.  Helpful hint:  Do not leave a mask on longer than the time recommended, in this case 20 to 30 minutes.  The reason is that once a mask dries up, it then defeats the purpose of using a facial mask and starts to take back the moisture in your skin that you just put into it.  Plus, pulling a dry mask off your face is awful.

My face felt cool to the touch, moist and hydrated, but not greasy.  There was a little bit of tackiness, which is probably due to the aloe vera, but after several minutes, that was absorbed into my skin without any sticky feeling.   In case you want to know my skin type, I have oily, blemish prone skin, with aging concerns.   My face felt refreshed and soft. 

I really did like trying this mask out and I want to purchase the 6 sheet box set to further my tests on this mask, as I feel that just one use is an initial impression, not a full review.  That said, because of my positive initial impression, as soon as Orgaid stocks the 6 box set, I will purchase it ~ I am a mask addict and I happen to really like this mask.  There is room for improvement with protecting the mask ~ Orgaid should look into some eco-friendly version of the “pearl paper” for stability and the nose fit should be worked on, but other than that, I cannot wait to see what other “flavors” of masks Orgaid comes out with!  I would love to see a series that target brightening needs as well as anti-acne as well. 

I do think that their price point is higher than most facial sheet masks I’ve seen out on the market and they may wish to rethink that ~ without the current sale they have going on now, the masks retail for $7.99 each.   That is quite expensive, considering most facial sheet masks are between 1 and 4 dollars.   However, I am also aware that this is an organic and natural mask, and organic, eco-friendly products usually cost more ~ and this at least opens up the market to those who use only organic and natural products.

Have you tried Orgaid’s new mask?  Are you interested in trying them?  I would love to hear your thoughts! 

[ this product was received complementary in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion ]

Leave a Reply

