Unboxing September 2015 MaskGenie!

I received my September MaskGenie the day before I was leaving on vacation and so I did what any normal facial-sheet-mask-addict would do ~ I tossed the package into my skincare bag (yes, I have a whole bag for my skincare ~ haha) and decided to unbox them while I had a few minutes here and there on my vacation.   Excuse the photos in this month’s unboxing, as I am not around my home and this was all makeshift and last minute!

Last month’s MaskGenie went MIA and not that many people got theirs due to a massive screw up at some Post Office station (Hong Kong or elsewhere) ~ but I was able to pay for another one ~ there will be substitutions from the original offerings as Genie couldn’t get certain masks ~ and that will be unboxed when I get it.   If you did not get your August MaskGenie, Genie will refund you ~ just contact her on October 9th.  I will give my standard intro to MaskGenie, as it is a small ~ but fantastic ~ subscription  service and you may not know about it.

MaskGenie is a monthly subscription of masks ~ facial sheet mask, body masks, wash off masks and hair masks.  The owner lives in Hong Kong and she (Genie) tries out the masks and determines which ones she feels are worthy for her customers to try.   Shipping is extremely fast ~ within a week, I get my pouch.  You can order the 10 mask pouch for $22.00 or the 5 mask pouch for $12.00 and that includes shipping and she just doesn’t ship to the USA ~ MaskGenie ships all over the world.

One of the things I really appreciate from Genie is that she does an unboxing video once she sends out the pouches.   It is really great that she cares about her customers to provide this extra service and she explains a bit about the mask, why she choose it, where it is from and so on.   This month’s Pouch Unboxing Youtube can be found here.

September Pouch Revealed!


Holika Holika Juicy Mask Sheet Blueberry (Korea) I happen to like Holika Holika Juicy mask series ~ they aren’t the best in the world, but they do the job and I love the packaging (I am a sucker for fresh fruity images: ) )  This contains 1000 ppm of blueberry extracts, as well as acerola and açaí berries, all of which are very high in vitamins and antioxidants to help keep your skin looking revitalized, smooth reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.   RV $2.20

Description: Holika Holika Juicy Blueberry Mask Sheet soothes skin while improving its natural, radiating glow. Blueberry contains certain nutrients that can counteract the hormonal conditions that contribute to the development of acne. Many of the vitamins in blueberries may neutralize or normalize oil levels in your skin, making it healthier and less likely to accumulate sebum. Suitable for all skin types seeking to reduce oily, acne-stricken skin.

Ingredients: water, glycerin, alcohol, sodium hyaluronate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, carbomer, triethanolamine, vaccinium angustifolium (blueberry) fruit extract, malpighia emarginata (acerola) fruit extract, euterpe oleracea (açaí)  fruit extract, vitis vinifera (grape) fruit extract, allantoin, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image source

Mediental Botanic Garden Pumpkin Mask (Korea)  Subscribers could either get acai-berry, brocooli or pumpkin.  This looked to be one of the more interesting masks in this month, but alas, it has rose water extract, so I gave it to my mom.  I am allergic to rose (not just the scent, but everything about it) and it was a top ingredient in the mask.   That said, I do love pumpkin products, as pumpkin is a very good ingredient in skincare due to its following benefits

  • Exfoliates, increases skin cell turnover, brightens and smooths skin, due to its enzymes and AHA’s.
  • Vitamins A and C antioxidants help soften, soothe and increase collagen production, reducing wrinkles and fine lines

This mask is also patterned (embossed) as well, which is new for me!  RV $1.95

MaskGenie Review (source)

Mediental Botanic Garden Pumpkin Mask (Korea): I love NZ styled cream of pumpkin (soup), and also love the vegetable made in different ways, but I found it an unusual ingredient in a face sheet mask, so I had to try it! The mask actually smelled of pumpkin, not in a fragranced way, but like a garden greens smell. The mask was soaked in essence, and the mask was patterned. The shape was so-so, with the sides of the nose completely not covered, and the piece above the mouth hanging too low, so it always touched the top of my lips. It felt quite relaxing with the mask on. After removing the mask after 20 minutes, there was still a lot of essence left on my face, and it wasn’t able to absorb instantly. As it was getting late at night, I didn’t have time to wait for the essence to absorb completely before continuing with my usual skincare items. My face felt slightly sticky, but it wasn’t too uncomfortable to sleep on. My face felt moisturised.

Description: The nutrition of fresh Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) fruit extract and the elasticity of Coffea Arabica (coffee) seed extract are delivered to your skin purely.  This is a lifting-up mask which makes your skin smooth and elastic.   The natural cellulose tencel sheets are highly dermotropic and fixed easily on skin. They are helpful for intensive skin care and  deliver the effects of enriched-essence softy.

Ingredients: water, glycerin, butylene glycol, glycereth-26, hydrolyzed collagen, betaine, rose centifolia flower water, allantoin, carbomer, triethanolamine, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, Bis-PEG-18 methyl ether dimethyl silane, cucurbita pepo (pumpkin) fruit extract (0.05%), curcuma longa (turmeric) root extract, cucumis sativus (cucumber) fruit extract, corthellus shiitake (mushroom) extrac, chondrus crispus (carrageenan), camellia sinensis leaf extract, coffea arabica (coffee) seed extract, diospyros kaki (Japanese persimmon) leaf extract, theobroma cacao (cocoa) extract, wine extract, tocopheryl acetate, disodium EDTA, fragrance, methylparaben, propylparaben  cosDNA.com analysis



Rearar DiaForce Ruby Hydro Ampoule Gel Mask  (Korea) This is a hydrogel mask that is pink in color, due to the ruby powder!  I am not a huge fan of hydro gels, I am a weird person and love my cotton or silk masks.   This mask has a lot of herbal and fruit/veggie ingredients in it ~ peach, sesame, potato, Chinese cucumber, Japanese hedge parsley, red date and chestnut.  It also contains an ingredient I have never heard before ~ kyounin yu.  That is actually oil that has been pressed from the seeds of apricots and this is an anti-inflammatory.   Interesting mask with some interesting and usual ingredients that you don’t see everyday in a facial mask ~ I am going to try this out when I get home, as I don’t want to scare my family with a pink mask on my face!   RV $2.59

Description: Dia Force Hydro Ampoule Gel Mask Ruby that has ruby powder helps run-down skin, caused by the external environment, become brighter and more lustrous. And when the skin absorbs niacinamide, it brightens the skin tone, maintains young and healthy skin, and helps with skin sanitation. The niacinamide content purifies the skin, and at the same time is effective for whitening and maintaining soft and moist skin.

Ingredients: water, butylene glycol, glycerin, niacinamide, chondrus cripus (carrageenana), ceratonia siliqua gum, phenoxyethanol, cyamopsis tetragonoloba (guar) gum, agar, potassium chloride, glucose, methylparaben, xanthan gum, allantoin, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, hydrolyzed collagen, sodium hyaluronate, disodium EDTA, adenosine, fragrance, synthetic fluorphlogopite, tocopheryl acetate, red oxide of iron, propanediol, ruby powder, titanium dioxide, trichosanthes kinlowii (Chinese cucumber) fruit extract, allium, tuberosum (potato) seed extract, prunus persica (peach) kernel extract, thuja orientalis seed extract,  ziziphus jujuba (red date) seed extract, castanea sativa (chestnut) seed extract, coix lacryma-jobi ma-yuen (job’s tears) seed extract, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed extract, kyounin yu, tonlis japonica (Japanese hedge parsley) extract  cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source

Etude House Hyaluronic Acid Mask (Korea)  It is Etude House, a pretty popular brand.   I like their Green Tea mask, but I don’t normally care for their brand.  However, a lot of people do like Etude House, so Genie tries to make sure that there are known brands in her pouches.  Personally, I think she should do a mystery unknown brand limited edition pouch!  RV $1.99

Description: This mask sheet contains hyaluronic acid (sodium hyaluronate) with excellent water storage capabilities, providing rich moisture to keep skin perfectly moist everyday.

Ingredients: water, butylene glycol, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, cetyl ethylhexanoate, dimethicone, citrus paradisi (grapefruit) fruit extract, polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, xanthan gum, ethylhexylglycerin, sodium polyacrylate, allantoin, hydrogenated polydecene, sodium hyaluronate(2mg), trideceth-6, camellia sinensis leaf extract, sophora angustifolia root extract, lonicera japonica (honeysuckle) flower extract, prunus persica (peach) leaf extract, paeonia albiflora root extract, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


Simply Anti Aging Program Aqua Moisture Mask (Taiwan)  Oh FANCY.  I never had a mask made with truffles before!  La-de-da.   I used this mask and My Scheming Crystal eye masks this morning and I really liked this mask.  It was soaked with essence, has a ‘pearl paper’ (plastic protective cover) and had a slightly sweet, fruity scent to it.  I was able to leave it on for more than 30 minutes and it was still damp.   Was my face brighter?  Well, not after one use, no.   Was this the perfect fit?  Nope, no way.  This mask was huge and the eye holes were too small!  But I managed to drape it and I did like the results of this mask  ~ My face was moist and hydrated.  This is a very affordable mask and the next time I place an order at Sasa.com, I will add a few of these into my cart.  I am laughing at the advert below, I am not sure I want to reproduce a child’s face on my face ~ lost in translation!  I know what they mean, baby smooth skin… but the word reproduce and child’s face sounds like a horror movie! RV $1.00

Description: Fits your face shape perfectly. It helps to firm and lift your skin. Even the first time use is effective. Hyaluronic Acid is an excellent moisturizer, blue copper peptides can improve skin elasticity, wrinkles. Serine can strengthen the skin, enhance skin’s own moisturizing power. The other main ingredients bring the white and translucent effects and moist, giving skin vitality. With fair complexion and bright. Soothe and calm skin.

Ingredients: sodium hyaluronate, copper tripeptide-1, proline, argininie, lysine, helichrysum italicum extract, tuber aestivum (truffle) extract, nasturtium officinale(watercress) flower/leaf extract, oryza sativa (rice) bran extract, salix alba (willow) bark extract, D-panthenol, pyridoxine hydrochloride, xanthan gum, sodium PCA, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, fragrance, water  cosDNA.com analysis



(ONGOONG) Mask Pack Royal Oriental Medicine & Thermal Water (Korea)  The packaging and logo reminds me of  The House of Whoo, a very fancy, expensive K-Beauty brand.  This contains the only Korean-recognized Dogo hot spring water source and filled with herbal extracts.   The hot spring water is one of the 4 major sulfur hot springs in Asia.   It contains the following herbal extracts:

  • Dandelion extracts which helps calm and reduce redness in sensitive skin
  • Angelica extracts help moisturizes and hydrate
  • Yam extracts will help brighten and even out your skin town
  • Astragalus (Milk vetch) extract keeps skin soft and smooth, as it helps regulate water and moisture to your skin
  • Loquat (looks like a kumquat but they are completely different) to help boost and revitalize dry and dull skin

This is the mask I am most interested in trying out!  It has to be the packaging ~ lol ~ plus the herbal extracts. RV $1.00 

Ingredients (translated by hand from label ~ all mistakes are my own)

Hot Spring (spa) Water, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Carbomer, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Allantoin, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Polyglutamic Acid (1%), Potassium Hydroxide, Seaweed Extracts, Herbal Extracts (Taraxacum Platycarpum (Dandelion) Extract,  Eriobotrya Japonica (Loquat)Leaf Extract, Angelica Gigas Root Extract, Astragalus Membranaceus Root (Huáng Qí) Extract, Dioscorea Opposita (Wild Yam) Root Extract), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Fruit Extract, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Aloe Extract, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


image source
image source

Supported by Asan City Government; Oriental Hospital of Daejeon University did clinical demonstration of oriental herbal extracts and hot spring water; Use hot spring water provided by Paradaise SPA DOGO which is the best known company and recognized by Korean Government.



Sam Tin (Morii ) Platinum Essence Facial Mask (Taiwan)  Genie really raved about this mask as it helped soothe and minimize her blemishes by the next morning.  Is this my holy grail?  I hope not, as I only found it one site and I would have to do a beauty haul of over $50.00 to get it😦 whine, whine, whine     I love platinum masks, as they really do brighten my skin tone immediately.  Sam Tin/Morii is produced by the same company that makes Dr. Morita.  RV $1.00 

Description: Morii Skincare Platinum Essence Facial Mask contains Platinum particles, which penetrate the dermal layer to promote collagen growth and protect skin. Elastin helps tighten skin and prevents saggy, aged skin and wrinkles. The mask is also added with hydrating and firming Hyaluronic Acid, while Allantoin soothes irritation and nourishes skin. Morii Skincare Platinum Essence Facial Mask effectively prevents skin aging and smooth fine lines over a long period of time

Ingredients: water, EDTA, allantoin, potassium glycyrrhizinate, d-panthenol, glycerin, sodium hyaluronate, PPG-28 buteth-35, hydroxyethylene cellulose, methylparaben, 1,3 butylene glycol, methylisothiazolinone, fragrance, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, nano platinum, glycerin (and) palmitoyl dipeptide-10, glycerin (and) palmitoyl oligopeptide, elastin  cosDNA.com analysis

Dr. Morita Revitalizing Essence Facial Mask (Taiwan)  I have received Dr Morita masks in the past from MaskGenie and I do like them.  This one has a lot of ceramides in it, plus phytosphingosine, which is an anti-bacterial ingredient and helps clear up blemishes.  Hyaluronic acid helps hydrate and lock in moisture all day long to prevent moisture loss and leaves skin smooth, firm and reduces the appearance of fine lines.  Dipotassium glycyrrhizinate will help brighten and allantoin soothes and helps relieve irritation.  RV $1.00

Description: Hydrolyzed Collagen: strengthening the capacity of hydration and moisturizing effect, maintaining skin firmness and elasticity and smooth fine lines.  Multiple peptides: can effectively enhance the skin’s ability to protect environmental damage, tight and restore skin elasticity.  Molecular tincture (Ceramide3): There are rapid lock water, deep moisturizing effect, can maintain the water content of keratin, effective conditioning dry, dehydrated skin.  Sake yeast: effective moisturizing, fade dull and clarity of the skin.

Ingredients: water, glycosyl trehalose/hydrogenated starch hydrolysate (trehalose), xanthan gum, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, D-panthenol, hydrolyzed collagen, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, allantoin, sodium hyaluronate, palmitoyl tripeptide-5, butylene glycol, carbomer, polysorbate 20, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7, acetyl tetrapeptide-2, ceramide 3, ceramide 6 II, ceramide 1, phytosphingosine, cholesterol, sodium lauroyl lactylate, carbomer, xanthan gum, oryza sativa (rice) lees extract, dipotassium glycyrrhizinate, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

My Scheming Crystal Whitening Brightening Eye Mask (Taiwan)  Some of my favorite mask brands are from Taiwan and My Scheming is one of those brands!  I love their Mint Collagen facial sheet mask and these eye gels are new to me.  They are “jelly” type, similar to ToGoSpa eye masks and these are brightening eye masks.   However, unlike ToGoSpa eye masks, these were falling apart ~ in fact, one eye mask was already in pieces before I took it out of the package!  ToGoSpa eye gels never do that.  These are very fragile and I am a bit disappointed with this product from My Scheming, as I have had such great luck with their facial sheet masks.  That said, I “pieced” them together under my eyes and left them on for 10 minutes.  They did thin out and hydrate my under-eye area nicely.  Too bad about how fragile they are, as they contain some nice moisturizing ingredients.  RV $2.00

Ingredients: ascorbic acid, sodium hyaluronate, biosaccharide gum, chitosan, grape seed extract, palmitoyl hexapeptide, collagen, hydrolyzed whole wheat protein, glycerin, propylene glycol, water cosDNA.com analysis

image source
image source

Nature Republic Skin Smoothing Blackhead Removing Nose Patch (Korea)  Nature Republic is a popular brand that I do like very much.  However, I don’t really use blackhead nose strips. This has the normal ingredients of witch hazel and kaolin (Amazon white clay), but also has coral powder in it, which is unexpected.  Coral contains calcium carbonate, helping to repair and maintain the skin barrier ~   and magnesium, which has  astringent properties.  However, I am not a fan of using coral as that is not a sustainable resource (coral reefs are being destroyed and it is home to thousands of species of marine life) and would rather see fossilized coral be used.  Off my soapbox now.   RV $1.00

Ingredients: VP/VA copolymer, water, titanium dioxide, glycerin, butylene glycol, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, lithium magnesium sodium silicate, kaolin, polyvinyl alcohol, ethyl hexanediol, coral powder, 1,2-hexanediol, propylene glycol, anthemis nobilis flower extract, phenoxyethanol  cosDNA.com analysis

image source


This month had a lot of masks that I never heard before and I am glad to see more Taiwan masks as well in here.  I do like masks with Platinum in them, as I feel that they truly give an instant brightener to the face than any other type of masks I have tried.   And the Herbal Thermal Spa mask sounds like a real treat!  I paid $22.00 for this pouch, which included shipping, and received a retail value of around $16.00.   I really love the variety Genie puts in the pouches, not only with the type, but ingredients and country they are made in.   A lot of these masks I would not have know to try without this service and in some cases, are very hard to come by in the USA and outside of Asian countries.

If you are interested in MaskGenie,  just go to her online store at www.skinilove.com  and you can place your order that way, which would be month by month OR if you think you want this to be a reoccurring subscription, email Genie at her FB page at and let her know to invoice you monthly.

Do you get this month’s pouch from MaskGenie?  What are you looking forward to trying out?

[ All items purchased with my own money ]

[ descriptions in italics from the product’s linked site ]

Leave a Reply

