Unboxing September 2015 The Butter Box + Promo Code!

I was really looking forward to September’s Butter Box, as My Butter Bar did a sneak peek into one of the products, which was from their new facial skin care line.  I am very interested in that line, as there are a couple of products that I think will work for me.  The Butter Box came the other day and I wanted to play with some of the products first before posting the unboxing.   What is My Butter Bar?  It is a company started by 2 best friends who wanted great smelling bath and body products that weren’t loaded down with chemicals.   Their logo is ” ‘Good Enough to Eat’ Products-Period!”   They are 100% natural, including the fragrance oils, colorants and preservation methods.  They do not use any chemicals or chemically-altered natural ingredients.  They also have a monthly subscription service, called The Butter Box.  You can choose either from

  • The Butter Box Mini – 5 “shots” sized mini products for $19.95 monthly or $50.00 for 3 months
  • The Butter Box – 3 to 4 full sized products (valued at $40.00 or more)  for $29.95 monthly or $80.00 for 3 months

This month’s theme is “Summer Lovin’ Box”  and it also included TWO Flawless Facial System products!  The new scents in September’s box are a marriage of their best scents ever and I really am so happy with this box!


Informational Card

All of the products that include Shea Butter is using Fair Trade Shea from African Child For Youth and it will help bring water to a child in Ghana. 

First up are a trio of products in their latest scent, Choco-Covered Straw-Burry.  This is a marriage of their best scents, Choco and Straw-Burry and they did a half and half of colors, so you can see the lovely rose and cocoa colors.   This scent is AMAZING.  I swear, it isn’t just chocolate and strawberries ~ when I first opened up these jars, I was struck at their almost “winey” nature ~ they smell like chocolate berry liqueurs.   These scents are not yet on sale at My Butter Bar, but I hope they will be soon!

Choco-Covered Straw-Burry Bath Bomb  Last month, I received a bath bomb that did not travel well, but it seems that this month, this bath bomb is doing much better!  My Butter Bar wrapped it so that if it did lose its shape, all of the powder would be contained in the packaging.  This bomb seems to have lost its cohesion, but that is okay by me, it makes it easier for me to use.  I never use a full bath bomb, and I always have to cut them in half ~ this way, I can just take out what I need.   I love the added touch of a pink ribbon to tie off the baggie!   Full Size   RV $5.00

Benefits: Moisture: Moisturizers not only help reduce the occurrence of dry skin, they also reduce the irritation caused by dryness such as skin flaking.

How to Use:  Drop a Bath Bomb in warm bath water. Allow to completely dissolve in water (3 to 5 minutes) releasing healing kaolin clay and moisturizing sweet almond oil along with the fragrance

Ingredients: Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, Kaolin Clay, Prunus Dulcis (Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, natural vegan chocolate and strawberry fragrance oil

Choco-Covered Straw-Burry R$ch Butter  This is their famous R$ch Butter, which can be used as a body cream or if you have coarse or dry hair, as a hair moisturizer too!  This just has 4 ingredients and 2 fragrance oils ~ less is more!  This is a lovely delicate pastel shades of cocoa and pink and it is just so rich and creamy ~ I am currently using their Mint Choco-Holic (another fantastic scent!) and this one will be next to use on my list.  Now that the cooler months are approaching, I really am going to be digging into these body butters.  Deluxe Size 2 oz  RV $6.00


  • Moisture (For Both Skin & Hair!): Moisturizers not only help reduce the occurrence of dry skin and hair, they also reduce the irritation caused by dryness such as skin flaking and dandruff. Absorbs easily into the scalp and it does not clog the pores. It provides moisture from the roots on down to the ends.
  • Skin Rejuvenation: The rubbing action on the skin during the daily moisturizing process helps in stimulating the skin shedding in addition to improving blood circulation.
  • Soothes Irritated Skin & Scalp: Shea Butter has been believed to possess anti-inflammatory qualities. Shea butter has been used for centuries to sooth dry itchy scalp, and other skin irritations, all over the body.
  • Hair Softening & Protecting: Great for softening hard brittle hair. An excellent moisturizer, which is huge advantage for dried as well as fragile curly/kinky/coily/wavy hair.
  • Elasticity: Collagen and Elastin, which are produced by increased circulation, are both important proteins that help skin maintain its   youthful looks.

Ingredients: butyrospermum parkii (shea butter) fruit, theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, prunus dulcis (almond) oil, zea mays (corn) starch), natural vegan chocolate and strawberry fragrance oil

Choco-Covered Straw-Burry Sugar Scrubz   This is the cousin to the R$ch Butter above, only a lovely warm sugar scrub, made with almond and shea buttter oils.   This had a bit of a problem where it did leak somewhat, even though there was a seal around the lid.  It is difficult to transport such beauty products as the oils do want to escape!  However, it wasn’t much of a leak, so I was able to clean up the jar and the scrub was not dried out.  This is a darker shade ~ more of a dark bittersweet chocolate and a rich raspberry shade.  I love how the colors complement each other!  Deluxe Size 2 oz RV $6.00


  • Exfoliation: Exfoliating speeds up your skins natural renewal process and helps your moisturizer penetrate into the skin deeper.
  • Moisture Retention: Moisturizers not only help reduce the occurrence of dry skin, they also reduce the irritation caused by dryness such as skin flaking.
  • Acne Minimizing: Buffing the dead skin away will keep your pores from clogging which keeps acne under control!

Ingredients: Vegan Sucrose (Sugar), Prunus Dulcis (Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Powder, natural vegan chocolate and strawberry fragrance oil

Look how beautiful these are!

The next two items are from My Butter Bar’s new Flawless Facial System: For Acne & Hyperpigmentation

Acne is caused when excessive sebum is produced, blocking the skin’s pores and allowing bacteria to get trapped within. The body’s immune system attacks the bacteria leaving the skin around the area inflamed. Acne can be extremely discomforting and also cause cosmetic concerns. The market is rife with products that promise elimination of acne problems. However, most of these treatments will cost you money but not deliver the expected results.  Skin blemishes, also known as spots, hyperpigmentation, or scars, are the common result of acne outbreaks. For some people, skin blemishes are difficult to get rid of, detract from your physical appearance and over time can lead to the development of a poor self-image. Topical treatments for treating skin blemishes can be expensive. Safe for all skin types, gentle and moisturizing, The Flawless Facial System  is an alternative treatment for hyperpigmentation that actually does your skin some good.

Causes of hyperpigmentation? Prevention is better than a cure, and some causes of hyperpigmentation can be avoided. Among them:

Acne: Sometimes skin pigmentation occurs as the result of  minor injury to the skin, including scarring caused by acne. Once an inflammation has subsided and the wound has healed, a mark might remain as long as several months. Treating acne to reduce its severity and avoiding irritation to the skin during an outbreak can lessen the aftereffects.

I am really excited about these two products as they were the ones I really wanted to try.  I still want to try the Black Honey Face Wash and The Original TBB Brown Sugar & Honey Acne-Fighting Scrub w/Turmeric.  I have their Brown Sugar & Honey scrub, but not with turmeric.   These items will be available for individual purchase on their website in a few weeks.

I have aging concerns, but I still struggle with hormonal acne and whereas using K-Beauty skincare products has helped me so much in that area, I do, on occasion, get the signs of pimples trying to make a home on my face.  I usually can zap them quickly now, but there are times when there is a stubborn one.  I have been testing out some new products for my September Night Care blog post ~ which will be up in the beginning of October ~ and there was one product in that routine that has caused me to break out ~ and it was supposed to prevent blemishes!!  I’ve stopped using it now and it is getting tossed, but I have one pimple on my chin that needs to quiet down and just go away.   I know that if it gets bad, it will scar and I am one of those lucky people that has horrible purple acne scarring that takes a long time for them to fade.  It is embarrassing and that is why I am always on the lookout for great blemish fighting products ~ and I love natural ones.

These next two items have Apple Cider Vinegar as one of their ingredients.  Before I go into those products, I just want to go on my soapbox about Apple Cider Vinegar.  I am a firm believer of the health benefits of apple cider vinegar ~ I drink a mixture of cold water with a tablespoon of Bragg’s “The Mother” Apple Cider Vinegar daily ~ it really does help with my digestion issues, detoxes, rich in enzymes, pectin, vitamin B, folic acid, potassium and malic acid, all will help keep your heart, body and skin healthy, plus it really is a refreshing and restorative drink!  I have turned so many of my family and friends onto this ~ it does sound like it wouldn’t taste good, but it does.  If you want to have it a bit sweet and not so tart, add some honey to it. 

I also use a great detangler for my hair that contains apple cider vinegar ~ Phillip B pH Restorative Detangling Toning Mist~but  it is so expensive but I remember when this came out in Glossy Box and people were just trying to get rid of it ~ all because of the scent!  I picked up quite a few of these in swaps :)  Yes, it may initially have that vinegar scent, but it goes away.  >>>>  Hey, maybe My Butter Bar could look into making one of these!  I know that would be a very cool product for those of us with finer hair that tangles easily.  <<<<< hint hint hint

See, I told you I use Apple Cider Vinegar!


Apples & Mustard Blemish Banishing Face Mask  This was the sneak peek that I saw and I nearly jumped with joy when I saw it.  I love the ingredient list with this product and when you open up this jar, yep, you are hit with the scent of  apple cider vinegar!   Now, I am strange ~ I love that scent.   This is a thick, dense mask, made with clay, turmeric, raspberry roots and apple cider vinegar.  I am very familiar with the benefits of clay to absorb oils and detox your skin, but turmeric is fairly new to me in skincare (I am familiar with it as a food spice!)  Turmeric has antiseptic and antibacterial properties which help fight blemishes and breakout.  It will also help in the fading of acne scarring (yes!) and inflammation, as well as reducing the oil production.  I did try this out this morning, as I am trying to get reduce the appearance and fight back that chin zit ~ I used this as a spot treatment and it felt warm and tingling, but nothing uncomfortable.   I was able to leave it on my face for 20 minutes without discomfort and then rinsed it off.  Turmeric is yellow and don’t be surprised when you rinse off your face and the water is a yellow-orange. That is normal .  I will say this, my chin zit was not as red as before and it did reduce the swelling.  I did not experience any redness after I rinsed this product off.  I am actually going to see what happens if I leave this on overnight and if it will zap this zit completely.   I have to say I am very impressed by this mask so far!  Full Size 2 oz RV $30.00

How To Use: Use spatula to apply 1/4 to 1/2 inch to face or other areas. Let it dry for 5 to 10 minutes for delicate skin and 15-20 minutes for normal skin. You will feel a pulling and brightening sensation. Remove clay by washing with warm water. Slight redness of the skin is normal and will disappear in about 4-6 hours

Ingredients: 100% Bentonite Clay, Organic Turmeric Powder, Raspberry Root Fibers, Raw Organic Apple Cider Vinegar (In Bottle)

Apple, Honey and Green Tea Face Toner  I love a good detox toner and this one has ingredients in it that make me very happy ~ apple cider vinegar, honey, aloe, witch hazel, lemon balm, rosemary, cucumber, grapefruit and green tea!   This is made with hydrosols, not essential oils and the difference is that hydrosols are known as “floral waters” ~ hydroflorates, and they are distillates from steam distilling plants.  They are less concentrated than essential oils, which is good for a toner, as it should be lighter and watery in its consistency.   This has some great astringent ingredients ~ apple cider, witch hazel and rosemary ~ to help tighten up your pores and reduce the appearance of them.  Anti-inflammatory ingredients ~ lemon balm, cucumber and aloe ~ will help soothe and calm your skin.   This has potent antioxidants in green tea  and grapefruit to help combat free radicals and help with preventing lines and wrinkles and finally, honey, a great moisturizer and humectant, which means it can attract and trap moisture in your skin.  This toner has a great list of ingredients!  It, too, smells like apple cider vinegar when you initially put it on, but the scent goes away quickly.  This toner does not contain any alcohol, so it is good for all skin types.   I am so happy to have this to try out and it might become a “love” of mine!  Sample Size 2 oz RV $10.00

Ingredients: Apple Cider Vinegar, Lemon Balm Hydrosol, Rosemary Verbenone Hydrosol, Witch Hazel Hydrosol, Organic Green Tea Hydrosol, Organic Aloe Hydrosol, Organic Cucumber Hydrosol, Honey Extract, Organic Grapefruit Seed Extract


This is THE BEST BOX EVER from My Butter Bar!  I don’t mind getting deluxe sample sizes along with full sized ones, as this box has a ton of value to me.   I loved it so much that I did purchase an additional one, as I love every one of these items.  The Choco-Strawberry scent is divine and the best one ever that they have done that I have tried.  The new skin care line has products and ingredients that I love and I hope they continue to expand on that line, as for us oily skinned gals (and guys), it is hard to find good, natural products that work effectively.  I look forward to purchasing a few of those items individually at their online shop.  I hope that they will do some hair products for finer, straight haired types as well ~ hey, I will be your tester!! haha    This is a great indie company with fantastic service ~ you should check them out if you already haven’t!   The monthly box is $29.95 and I received a value of $57.00.   Do you want to try The Butter Box?  I have an exclusive code for first time users only ~ Use  BFFM and get 50% off your FIRST box.   This is a one time ONLY code for first time customers. 

What scents do you hope they will try out next?  With the cooler months ahead, I would love some spicy scents ~ clove, cinnamon, cardamom ~ and maybe some bath detox products with mustard ~ mustard baths are great if you are sick or chilled.  What is your wish list?

[ descriptions in italics from http://mybutterbar.com ]


2 thoughts on “Unboxing September 2015 The Butter Box + Promo Code!

    1. Is the face scrub the one in this box? I don’t use this scrub for my face, but my body – I don’t like scrubs that state that they can be used for both face & body, as my face is a lot more delicate than my body!! There is a brown sugar honey facial scrub that they make that I use for my face.


Leave a Reply

