Unboxing August 2015 The 3B Box!

I just received my August The 3B Box today and despite its name, it really comes in a chiffon bag, not a box ~ the parcel is in a box, but the products are in the bag!    What is 3B (Beauty Beyond Borders)?  It is an Asian sample monthly subscription box and is very affordable at $12.00/monthly.  It is similar to ipsy and Birchbox, where you get 4 to 5 deluxe samples (and sometimes a full sized item!)

If you are interested in 3B, you can sign up for their waitlist ~ it took me almost 2 months to get off their waitlist, which is fine, because they are being very careful not to have their service suffer by over subscribing customers.  More about 3B’s monthly service:

Each box contains a collection of deluxe samples that are new or popular in Asia but hard to get your hands on. The products will change each month, and you’ll get to try new skincare, haircare, nailcare, and cosmetic products. Sample products range from go-to brands such as Lioele, Etude House and Skinfood to high-end premium brands like SK-II, Kanebo, and Sulwhasoo. Don’t worry about not being able to read Japanese or Korean – we’ve got you covered with English translations of descriptions in each box. (https://the3bbox.com/the-box/)

Informational Card

This month The 3B Box stated that we would receive a eye lash essence serum from RiRe in an email, and even the info card states it is an essence.  But that isn’t the case….

Secret Key Starting Treatment Eye Cream  I’ve used this eye cream before from Secret Key and it is one that I really like.  It is rare that I get an item from Secret Key that I don’t like!  Something about this inexpensive, yet effective brand just makes me very happy when I get an item from them!   This eye cream contains:  galactomyces,  along shea butter, macadamia seed oil, sweet almond oil, argan oil, aloe vera, camomile, centella, green tea, witch hazel, jojoba seed oil and ginseng extracts ~ and  will smooth out wrinkles, while lifting and firming the skin around your eyes, while reducing the appearance of dark circles.  This is a great product to have on hand.  Full size 30 g Retail Value $5.00

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Hydrogenated polyisobutene, Aluminum starch octenylsuccinate, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Niacinamide, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, Polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Beeswax, Galactomyces ferment filtrate, Sodium Polyacrylate, Acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, Glyceryl polyacrylate, Stearic Acid, Shea Butter, Adenosine, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis, Centella Asiatica Extract, Boswellia Serrata Resin Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana Extract, Oryza Sativa Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Acanthopanax Senticosus Root Extract, Oligopeptide-1, Lecithin, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis, Argania spinosa Kernel Oil, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil, Ceramide 3, Tocopheryl Acetate, Caprylhydroxamic acid, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Triethanol amine, Disodium EDTA, oil cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://hanamana59en.cafe24.com/product/Secret-Key-Starting-Treatment-Eye-Cream-30g/KRSKEYSK0002632
image from http://hanamana59en.cafe24.com/product/Secret-Key-Starting-Treatment-Eye-Cream-30g/KRSKEYSK0002632
image from http://www.en.secretkey.co.kr/pdf/SecretKey_product_lntroduction_english_150209.pdf



Missha Pure Source Cell Sheet Mask in Green Tea  Missha facial sheet masks have not been my favorite types, but this looks to be a redesign of the packaging.  The ingredients do seem to be different (I am basing this on the Missha USA website, where they listed the ingredients).   I never liked them too much, because of the actual cotton mask and how much essence was included ~ hint, not a lot.  These always seemed to dry out much more quickly than other masks and I would peel off dry paper from my face (not a pleasant feeling).  However, as it seems that the formula has changed, maybe they also added more essence in their redesign ~ so I will give these a try and see if the redesign was more that just a pretty exterior facelift.  I do love the new packaging ~ I love the simplicity of the ingredient against the white background.   I received Green Tea, which is always a favorite ingredient of mine ~ this one has fermented green tea filtrate, and it is not only rich in antioxidant properties, but will reduce irritation and hydrates your skin.   Retail Value $2.00

Old Packaging ~ the new one is much nicer!

Ingredients: water, glycerin, butylene glycol, alcohol denat, asperillus/camellia sinensis leaf ferment extract filtrate, allantoin, betaine, carbomer, trietanolamine, phenyl trimethicone, hydrolyzed jojoba esters, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, caprylyl glycol, caprylhydroxamic acid, hydroxethylcellulose, trideceth-9, hexadimethrine chloride,  eriobotrya japonica leaf extract, sucrose, hydrolyzed chitosan, 1,2-hexanedoil, ethlyhexylglycerin,  sodium hyaluronate, mineral salts, phytic acid, tocopheryl acetate, chlorphenesin, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


image from http://missha.beautynet.co.kr/goods.detail.do?goodsNumber=71914
image from http://missha.beautynet.co.kr/goods.detail.do?goodsNumber=71914
image from http://missha.beautynet.co.kr/goods.detail.do?goodsNumber=71914


RiRe Luxe Eye Lash Essence   Luxe Long & Curl Mascara  I am not sure what happened here ~ The 3B Box did send out the spoiler in an email about the essence serum and the informational card still states serum, but yet, I got a mascara.  I was really wanting the essence as that would have been a fun and unique product as I get SO many mascaras in boxes, it isn’t funny (and what is ironic is that I love my current mascara and won’t switch unless it is discontinued)   Oh well ~ I did email The 3B Box and asked them about this mixup and hopefully, they will get back to me soon.  The essence would have helped lashes to be longer and thicker.   This mascara is supposed to have a rose scent, even thought the ingredient list doesn’t state rose extracts, but, because it has a rose scent (allergic), I cannot use it.  Sigh.  Maybe they will send out the essence in next month’s bag (please…)  Full Size  8 gRetail Value $8.50 ~ $13.00

Description: Eyelashes with clear long lash & wonderful curling : making long and rich eyelashes and big eyes with natural curling, luxe long & curl mascara.  Deep and delicate rose scent : with deep and subtle rose fragrance instead of the strong scent of mascara, pleasing fragrance is kept for a long time.  Easy washable type mascara cleansed softly with warm water

Ingredients: water, poly C10-30 lkyl acrylate, propylene glycol, dimethicone, beeswax, carnauba wax, sorbitan sesquioleate, hydrogenated castor oil, isostearate, hydrogenated rapeseed oil,polyvinylcaprolactam, hydroxyethylcellulose, stearic acid, cetostearyl alcohol, propylparaben, methylparaben, imidazolodinyl urea, black iron oxide, elastin, peoptide, black soybean extract, black sesame extract, fragrance

image from http://www.buykorea.org/product-details/rire-luxe-long-and-curl-mascara–3034463.html
image from http://www.buykorea.org/product-details/rire-luxe-long-and-curl-mascara–3034463.html

This is the Essence ~ you can see why I wanted this product more than a mascara!

image from http://www.buykorea.org/product-details/rire-luxe-long-and-curl-mascara–3034463.html
image from http://www.buykorea.org/product-details/rire-luxe-long-and-curl-mascara–3034463.html
image from http://www.buykorea.org/product-details/rire-luxe-long-and-curl-mascara–3034463.html


Tonymoly Tony Tint Delight in 02 Red   I got so many of these tints, from sample to full size, in my Memeboxes, Beauteque and even as a free gift from beautynetkorea.com.   The only color I never get is the 03 Orange Cha Cha, which at this point, I would like it because it would be different from 02 Red (most popular) or 01 Cherry Pink (not as popular, but I still get it).  I don’t like these shades that much and I just purchased Chosungah 22 Dual Lip Tint & Gloss that is in a burgundy shade (OMG ~ it is beautiful – you do need to check this one out) that I like better.   If you like the red shades, this one is really red and the lip tints do last a long time!     Mini Size Value $3.99

Description: Tony Moly Delight Tony Tint is a liquid type tint 98% of water-base that express clear and animate lips color and helps to boost the luster of lips. Bring your lips to life with a plumping voluptuous red color. Contains Rose hip oil, jojoba oil and argan oil to ease the absorption, restore cells, and create more supple lips. Also contains other nourishing ingredients to help lips look more lively and vibrant. Benzophenone, animal raw materials, talc FREE  (source)


So, here’s the deal. I view this subscription like my Birchbox sub ~ it is inexpensive and I will be happy with some items and others, I won’t be.   I am happy with the Secret Key eye cream and am really glad that Secret Key is showing up in K-beauty sub boxes.  I am also interested in seeing if the Missha masks have improved.   However, I am disappointed that the RiRe product was switched out from a lash essence to a mascara (boring…) and the TonyMoly tint is just something that I received a lot of times last year and I never was a fan of their formula or colors.  It would have been cool to get the Orange one, just to be different.  I paid $12.00, which includes shipping and the retail value of this bag is $24.99 to $28.99 and received 3 full sized items and one mini.

Did you receive The 3B box this month?  What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below!

[ descriptions in italics from linked product website ]

9 thoughts on “Unboxing August 2015 The 3B Box!

  1. I looove Secret Key too! I also love that their toners are like $2 on Rose Rose Shop LOL😉 They work so well for me! This was a good bag for me, I think. I was so happy to get the eye cream because I haven’t tried it yet but I’ve heard good things! Also I have to say- I love the new layout!😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the eye cream too! I think you cannot get a better deal on a brand – I think the products are really great quality and yet, they are inexpensive.
      I am glad that you like the new layout. I felt it was time for a change🙂


  2. Looks like we’ll get the lash essence in a future box! I got an email from 3B:


    Oh no – we’ve made a mistake!

    This month the email and postcard you received called out that we were shipping you the RiRe Lash Essence, but instead you received the RiRe Mascara. Our deepest apologies for this error. We’re excited to have you try the RiRe Mascara, and look forward to sending you the RiRe Lash Essence in a future months 3B Box!

    Sincere apologies again – we hope you enjoy your August 3B Box!
    Team 3B

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I found this while Googling more information about the lash essence. I did get it in my box, along with YuBe, Secret Key spot remover, and Leaders Mediu hand cream. I would have preferred the Tony Moly tint over the creams, but the lash essence does seem nice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

