Unboxing August 2015 The Butter Box + Promo Code!

I am really loving my Butter Boxes from My Butter Bar.   What is My Butter Bar?  It is a company started by 2 best friends who wanted great smelling bath and body products that weren’t loaded down with chemicals.   Their logo is ” ‘Good Enough to Eat’ Products-Period!”   They are 100% natural, including the fragrance oils, colorants and preservation methods.  They do not use any chemicals or chemically-altered natural ingredients.  They also have a monthly subscription service, called The Butter Box.  You can choose either from

  • The Butter Box Mini – 5 “shots” sized mini products for $19.95 monthly or $50.00 for 3 months
  • The Butter Box – 3 to 4 full sized products (valued at $40.00 or more)  for $29.95 monthly or $80.00 for 3 months

This month’s theme is “Berries & Cherries”  and I am pretty pleased, as The Butter Bar REALLY excels in their berry scents.   There was a couple of accidents in this month’s box ~ one of the products just did not travel very well, so you will see some of it on other products (just the outside…) and the cooling pack that was supposed to be moisture resistant really wasn’t, as a couple of the labels got smeared.   The cooling pack is a wonderful idea, however ~ during this heat wave, it does keep the products protected.

Informational Card

All of the products that include Shea Butter is using Fair Trade Shea from African Child For Youth and it will help bring water to a child in Ghana. 

Straw-Burry & Cream Whipped R$ch Poo I love their strawberry scents and this one is so rich and dreamy.  This has a whipped texture, so it is light and fluffy.   This is a conditioner ~ wait, let me explain.  I know it doesn’t look like one, but for people with dry or coarse textured hair, I can see this working very well.  I have, alas, oily, straight and fine hair, so at first I was wondering how to use it.   A couple of times a month, I do use Shea Terra Moroccan Mud-Poo instead of shampoo.   I have the menthe-tea vanilla scent and I love the way the product makes my scalp feel (all nice and clean) and for a few days afterwards, my hair is really baby soft and fluffy ~ I think that the clay and mineral salts coat the individual strands and just thicken them, while absorbing toxins and oil.   However, one of the major downsides of using Mud-Poo is that there is no Mud-Poo conditioner and using a traditional conditioner would negate the benefits of Mud-Poo.  Hence, Mud-Poo makes my hair a matted, tangled mess, despite the rinsing, and it is painful when I try to detangle my hair. 

I decided to wash my hair this morning with my Mud-Poo and then use this to condition my hair, as none of the ingredients in the Whipped R$ch Poo would cancel out the benefits.   I used it sparingly, just a bit in my hands and I rubbed my hands together and then applied it to my hair, then combed it thru.  YEAH!  It works ~ it detangled and unmatted my hair nicely.  I then rinsed my hair very well, as having shea butter on my hair would not be a good look for me.   My hair was nice, soft and fluffy, but easy to brush thru, so this is a great use for me.

Now, if you don’t have dry, coarse hair or you don’t practice mud-poo’ing😉, don’t worry about it. The ingredient list for this product would be great as a body wash too, as decyl glucoside is also used for cleansers.  Plus, the scent is amazing.  Try this, you will like it :)   Full Size 8 oz Value $25.00

Description: This  gentle hair cleanser is  high in moisture, featuring our famous R$ch Butter, Decyl Glucoside (mild natural surfactant derived from coconuts and/or sugar beets) , and Sweet Almond Oil. Scented with an Organic Vegan Fragrance. Detangling Curls is made easy as you slide the ‘Poo through strands.  Guaranteed to leave hair soft & squeaky clean!   Cleansing: Removes dirt and buildup on surface of hair and helps wash excess oil on the scalp away with water.  Moisture Retention: Helps to give back moisture to hair while cleansing. Also helps your moisturizer to penetrate into the hair deeper during styling

Ingredients: Decyl Glucoside (Coconut), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Vegetable Glycerin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Organic Virgin Coconut Oil, Panthenol DL, Natural Vegan Strawberry & Vanilla Fragrance Oil


Black Berry R$ich Butter All Over Wash   This was one of the products that suffered with the smeared label ~ but that is okay, as it is just a label and I appreciate that My Butter Bar was trying to keep the products cool so they wouldn’t be affected by the heat.   This is another product that I was curious about, as I wasn’t sure how this could be a body wash.  When I swatched it, it reminded me of a body lotion.  However, when I used this lovely blackberry-almond scented wash this morning with my body poof ~ you have to use a body poof (I think that is why we got one in this month’s box)  ~ it foamed up nicely, so I had a very moisturizing body cleanser.  This is really innovative to me ~ I haven’t see a body wash with these ingredients before and it works so nicely + it is sulfate free!   This is my favorite product in this month’s box😀   Full Size 8 oz  Value $20.00

Description: This  cleanser is  high in moisture, featuring a Heavy Helping of Fair Trade Pure Shea Butter and Sweet Almond Oil. Scented with an Organic Vegan Fragrance. Guaranteed to leave skin soft & squeaky clean-No matter how hard you’ve gone or dirty you’ve gotten! 

Ingredients: Aloe Vera Juice, Whole Leaf Aloe Vera Gel, Purified Water(Aqua), Saponified Coconut and Olive Oils, Hemp Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Sea Salt, Citric Acid, *Organic Fair Trade She Butter (Water4Youth), Cocoa Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Rosemary (Rosmarinus Officinalis)

Wild Cherry Mini Bath Bombz  Ahhh, this was the product that didn’t quite make it intact to me and it sounds like I wasn’t the only one, as Kimberly at My Butter Bar apologized for this and said they would add an extra goodie in September’s box (my birthday month!!).   Again, just like the smeared labels, this didn’t bother me that much, as bath bombs do dissolve in the water, so being crushed wouldn’t affect its effectiveness.   It did spill out a bit into the main box and got over everything else, but it is just stuff that can be wiped off.  This bath bomb smells SO good.  I got the Wild Cherry and it is AMAZING. My whole box smelled amazing!  I would love to get more bath products in this scent.  This scent is not yet live on their site, but I assume that the formula is the same as their strawberry one with the cherry fragrance.  Value  $3.00

Ingredients: Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, Kaolin Clay, Prunus Dulcis (Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit,  Fragrance

Wild Cherry Lip Balmz This is a lovely scented and sweet tasting lip balm in the wild cherry scent.  It has really good moisturizing ingredients ~ soybean and sunflower oils, cocoa butter , shea butter, plus Vitamin E to help with healing chapped lips.  And yes, I sampled the balm before I took the picture!  haha Classic move on my part.  Full Size  .25 oz $9.00

Ingredients: Vegan Soy Bean Oil, Organic Sunflower Oil, Beeswax, Cocoa Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Tocopherols( Vitamin E), Aloe Vera, Certified Organic Vegan Fragrance Oil


My Butter Bar does excel in their berry scents, as well as their chocolate ones, and I am glad to have such a fragrant berry box this month!  I really loved trying out their conditioner poo and the body wash as I don’t think I would have ever thought of purchasing anything like that with those ingredients on my own!  That is why it is fun to have subscription boxes, because you can discover new products :D   I also think that My Butter Box customer service is amazing ~ they go out of their way to ensure that you are really happy with your products and listen to customer feedback.  Great service from them along with great products!    The monthly box is $29.95 and I received a value of $57.00! Do you want to try The Butter Box?  I have an exclusive code for first time users only ~ Use  BFFM and get 50% off your FIRST box.   This is a one time ONLY code for first time customers.  If you want to purchase items from their store besides the box, use BXMEM to get 15% off their store items and it is free shipping with orders over $50.00

[ descriptions in italics from http://mybutterbar.com ]


One thought on “Unboxing August 2015 The Butter Box + Promo Code!

  1. I just wanted to say THANK YOU for telling your readers about the lovely ladies who own this Texas company, and about The Butter Box. I loved last month’s, which was my first box. Because it was my birthday month, they put some special extras in for me. Great ladies!!🙂

    This month’s box is quite different, but also very nice. I am SO glad to know that I can use that hair conditioner as a body wash. Wow, I never would have thought so.
    I love the scent of the body wash that looks like lotion too.🙂

    My poor bath bombs not only turned into sand on the way here, the pink box they were in leaked sand all in my box. My floors and furniture looked like a FL beach condo full of teenagers while I was opening the box up. It was hilarious.


Leave a Reply

