Unboxing August 2015 Julep

I rarely get boxes from Julep, but within 3 months, I have gotten 2!  I actually wanted this month’s box, as I was interested in the blush and the nail polish colors.

The theme this month is “BravePretty” and has some globbly gook about being brave, pretty and dainty, blech.  I couldn’t even post the info card that had this tirade about being #BravePretty.    They should have just left it at the Fergie quote, cause that was cool.

 

I have Boho Glam as my default and I also decided to purchase two additional add-on nail polishes this month as well

Cally Festival fuchsia iridescent chrome”  I was pleasantly surprised by the color of this one.  This was standard nail polish included in this box for Boho Glam profiles, and I wasn’t happy initially about this shade when I saw it online.  It looks so much better in person, more a nice bright berry iridescent metallic.   Value $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Apidic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Silica, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Styrene/Acrylates Coploymer, Benzophenone-1, Alcohol Denat., Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Hexanal, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract

Sierra Everglades iridescent chrome” This is one of my add-ons.  I wish Julep would have let us pick our Boho Glam colors this month, instead of defaulting to Cally.  I really love this teal green metallic shade.  Value $14.00

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Mica (CI 77019), Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Ferric Ammonoim Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Benzophenone-1, Silica, Alcohol Denat., Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Hexanal, Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract

Penny Burnished bronze metallic”  This is my favorite nail color in this trio and another add-on.  This is just as the color description states ~  a burnished bronze metallic~  and it is just beautiful.    It has just a hint of pink to it, but it is not a rose gold shade ~ it is bronze.  Value $14.00

Ingredients:  Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol/Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Isopropyl Alcohol, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Aluminum Powder (CI 77000), Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyrate, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Silica, Benzophenone-1, Alcohol Denat., Trimethylpentanediyl Dibenzoate, Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Black 2 (CI 77266), Hexanal, Dimethicone, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Coffea Robusta Seed Extract

All Julep nail polishes have the same type of formula

Breakthrough Oxygen Technology powers this fast-drying, long-lasting nail polish to get nails healthy and more beautiful at the same time. Our proprietary 5-free, vegan-friendly formula also includes strengthening Hexanal and antioxidant green coffee extract. You’ll never look at nail polish the same way again.  Julep nail polish is 5-free and vegan-friendly. We steer clear of formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, DBP, camphor, and animal ingredients or byproducts.

Dries ultra fast & allows 30% more oxygen to permeate the nail bed than other nail polish.  Reveals stronger, harder & more conditioned nails in just two weeks (reported by 95% of women in an independent trial). Extends the life of your manicure or pedicure

Cally, Sierra, Penny

 

Boho Glam’s box had two makeup items, a gel eyeliner and a cream blusher.  The Boho Glam cream blusher defaulted to Golden Guava, but we could pick our own color for the blush ~ there were 4 shades to choose from:  Golden Guava, Moonlit Sand, Peony Pink and Desert Rose.  I chose Desert Rose.

When Pencil Met Gel in Deep Raisin  I had the worst time getting the plastic cap off this pencil. It was stuck on really tight and I had to insert a metal nail file (as that is thin enough) at the edge and work the plastic cap “free” from the pencil.  Uggh.  Then when I took the cap off, the heat had caused this liner to be really soft and the tip broke off!  Double Uggh.  I put it in the freezer to firm up.   When all is said and done, this is a brown eyeliner with some plumy undertones and I do like the shade, which I believe is one of their newer shades for fall.  Value $12.80

Description: Clinically proven to last for 10+ hours, this easy-to-use eye pencil delivers the creamy formula & intense color payoff of a gel eyeliner. The waterproof formula glides on, sets in 30 seconds, and then stays put. Because eyeliner shouldn’t stand in the way of adventures.

Skip the Brush in Desert Rose When I saw the actual color in the tube and then swatched it on my hand, I was not too happy.   It seemed like a bright copper color and I was expecting a more tawny rose shade.  However, when I applied it to my cheeks and blended it in, this turned out to be a lovely apricot shade, which works well with my warmer toned skin.  However, no way would I spend close to $20.00 on this blusher. Value $19.20

Description: A one stick wonder made for luminous, dewy cheeks, but versatile on eyes and lips, too. This soft-focus powder has ultrafine color pearls that go on creamy then set to a long-lasting powder finish. Easy to apply, easy to blend (no brush needed!), easy to keep in your clutch for on-the-go beauty touch-ups

Ingredients: Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Mica, Trimethylsiloxyphenyl Dimethicone, Silica, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Microcystalline Wax, Beeswax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Tin Oxide, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 6 (CI 15850), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140)

 

1 Eyeliner Gel in Rich Raisin

2 Blush in Desert Rose

3 Blush in Desert Rose blended

I also got some nail decals as well ~ pretty fun addition!  They don’t have this exact design over at Julep’s store, but other nail decals at their store are going for $6.00. 

I am glad I purchased this box with the add-ons as I love the nail polish shades ~ I know that Penny isn’t “gold”, but the 3 colors together just makes me say “Laissez les bon temps roulez!”    I was really lucky this month that I enjoyed all 3 items.   My box is $19.00 + plus I added on 2 polishes, for a grand total of $26.98 and I received a retail value of  $80.00

Do you subscribe to Julep’s Maven?  If so, what did you think of this month’s box?  What style and colors did you get?

Join me on julep and subscribe by clicking on the above image, use FREEBOX or JULEPVIP and get your first box for only the shipping cost!


4 thoughts on “Unboxing August 2015 Julep

  1. I totally loved the theme of this month’s box. I also got the desert rose blush and I love it along with my Lainey, Morgan and Laure polishes. This monthly box has been my favorite so far.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

