Skylake K-Beauty Haul!


One of my recent hauls that I am REALLY excited about is from Skylake.    Mishibox had a sample of their cool shampoo in their June box and I really loved it.    I was waiting for Skylake to re-open their website and I was one of the first customers to order!! ahaha  I have a major addiction, I tell ya.   Skylake shipped out the same day that I ordered and I received it 2 days later!  Very pleased with their fast shipping and customer service.  Their website is

image from

Skylake specializes in Oriental herbs and most of their products contain at least 18 different herbs to make their special Skylake herbal complex:   

  • ANGELICA POLYMORPHA SINENSIS ROOT EXTRACT: Nourish the Blood, restore, Acceleration Blood Circulation, bactericidal
  • ARTEMISIA ABSINTHIUM EXTRACT: Clean Blood, disinfects,anti-inflammatory, stimulate
  • CNIDIUM OFFICINALE ROOT EXTRACT: Acceleration Blood Circulation, soothe, bactericidal, emollient
  • ANGELICA DAHURICA ROOT EXTRACT: disinfects, soothe, Skin Ulcer, emollient
  • GLYCYRRHIZA GLABRA (LICORICE) ROOT EXTRACT: anti-inflammatory,  Antidote, disinfects, antiseptic, Relax Pain
  • LIGUSTICUM SINENSE ROOT EXTRACT: soothe, Removal Fever, bactericidal
  • SCUTELLARIA BAICALENSIS ROOT EXTRACT: Removal Fever, Antidote, anti-inflammatory
  • PUERARIA LOBATA ROOT EXTRACT: Removal Fever, Nutrition Robustness
  • INULA HELENIUM EXTRACT: Stomachache, antiseptic
  • LAMINARIA JAPONICA EXTRACT: hydrate, Clean Blood, Lower Blood Pressure, Prevention Constipation
  • POLYGONUM MULTIFLORUM ROOT EXTRACT: Nourish Blood, Decreasing Cholesterol, Prevention Constipation, stimulate
  • PHELLODENDRON AMURENSE BARK EXTRACT: Antidote, anti-inflammatory,Relax Trouble
  • EUGENIA CARYOPHYLLUS (CLOVE) FLOWER EXTRACT: Removal impurities , Control Sebum
  • PINE LEAVES: Anti-Oxidation, Inhibition of Aging
  • QUERCUS ACUTISSIMA FRUIT: Discharging Harmful Stuff from Body, Energizing, revitalizes the skin
  • PRUNUS MUME FRUIT EXTRACT: help strengthen the cutaneous barrier, provide comfort
(image & description from
 image from

Their patented method to make this herbal complex takes 72 hours boiling these ingredients and then 90 days to ferment and maturate this extraction.   I love herbal products so you can see why I am pretty excited to try out this line!  Look at all those herbs!

Herbal Cool Shampoo   I received a sample of this shampoo in my Mishibox and I LOVE it.  The nice cooling and tingling sensation on my scalp, plus it cleans without stripping the color from my hair.  I do color my hair and one thing that really interests me is that this shampoo also has ingredients to darken your hair color ~ not like hair dye or anything, but just enough to help change those gray hairs into blond highlights.   This shampoo has a big ol’ wilfordi root in it😀 Full Size 500 mL Value $28.00

Description: Along with Skylake patented herbal extracts, Skylake Herbal Cool Shampoo contains “WILFORDI ROOT,” which helps to protect your hair color and prevent hair loss. It also contains “SCUTELLARIA BAICALENSIS ROOT POWDER,” which promotes antibacterial and anti-inflammatory effects. Give your scalp freshness and cooling sensation with menthol and peppermint. Using Skylake Herbal Cool Shampoo, you can clean your hair effectively while staying away from itchiness and dandruff. It is especially recommended for people with sensitive scalp and/or damaged hair.

Ingredients: Skylake Oriental Herb Water (Water, Angelica Gigas Extract, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Morus Alba Leaf Extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, Licorice Root Extract, Morus Alba Bark Extract, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Angelica Dahurica Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Inula Helenium Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, Clove Flower Extract), Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Tea-cocyl Glutamate, Disodiumlaurethsulfosuccinate, Glycerin, Cocamidedea, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Amodimethicone, Polygonatum Multiflorum, Polyquaternium-7, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Powder, Polyquaternium-10, Peppermint Leaf Oil, Menthol, Phellodendron Amurense Bark, Allantoin, Panthenol, Caprylhydroxamic acid/ Caprylyl glycol/Glycerin, Salicylic acid, Citric acid, Disodiumedta, Polygonatum Multiflorum Root analysis

Silk Cocoon Hair Conditioner   I am a bit disappointed in this conditioner, as it smells like jasmine! Strange, as it doesn’t have jasmine as an ingredient, but ylang-ylang…must be the fragrance.  I cannot tolerate the scent of jasmine and I honestly thought it would be similar to the Cool Shampoo, which is herbal minty fresh!   Oh well, I know my mother will really love this, so I will give this to her.   This will last her a good 6 months, as she has dry hair and doesn’t wash her hair daily, just a couple of times a week.   Full Size 500 mL Value $36.00

Description: Skylake Silk Cocoon Hair Conditioner is a premium way to maintain your hair healthy, soft and energized. Composited with real silk cocoon extract and hydrolyzed silk cocoon extract that contain natural protein and other natural nutrients, it is recommend for people with weak, damaged and dry hair.

Ingredients: Skylake Oriental Herb Water (Water, Morus bombycis leaf extract, Angelica Gigas Extract, mentha arvensis leaf extract, Morus Alba Leaf Extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Angelica Dahurica Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Inula Helenium Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, eugenia caryophyllus (Clove) Flower Extract), cetearyl alcohol, glycerin, methylpropanediol, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, cetyl alcohol, cyclopentasiloxane, pentyl glycol, silkworm cocoon extract, poria cocos extract, panax ginseng root extract,  paeonia albiflora root extact, biota orientalis leaf extract,polygonum multiflorum root extract, eclipta prostrata extract, hydrolyzed silk, butylene glycol, hydrolyzed keratin, argania spinosa kernal oil, tocopheryl acetate, dimethiconol, dicaprylyl carbonate, polysorbate 80, lactic acid, dimethicone, C12-15 pareth-3, amodimethicone, ceterimonium chloride, trideceth-12, panthenol, ceteareth-20, cacao color, disodium EDTA, benzophenone-9, cananga odorata (ylang-ylang) flower oil, fragrance analysis

Skylake Tea Red Bean(azuki)  I love red bean paste, so I thought I would try this tea out.  It is one damn expensive tea, that is for sure.  It is supposed to help detox the body and help with the digestive system, which I need!   If this works well,  I can make my own and there is a huge list of benefits.   You can actually see the beans and dry, the scent reminds me of coffee.   $12.00

Description: Each tea bag only contains 100% red beans that are grown in Korea by local farmers. This red bean tea is not only great in taste but also for you body. Containing vitamin B1, red beans are known to be good for body detox and digestive system. Feel the deep taste of Skylake red bean tea

My Mask Obsession

Skylake Facial Sheet Masks promotes healthy, hydrated skin without the use of paraben and other artificial additives, perfect for people with sensitive skin.

Pore and Elastic Care Facial Sheet Mask    $3.00

Description: Infused with Skylake patented herbal extracts from eighteen different herbs, Skylake Pore and Elastic Care mask helps tighten pores, while added collagen provides elasticity and firmness.

Brightening Care Facial Sheet Mask I had to get 2 of these!  Brighten, brighten, brighten… $6.00

Description: Infused with Skylake patented herbal extracts from eighteen different oriental herbs, Skylake Brightening Care mask helps minimize surface build-up while added albutin provides clean radiant skin. 

Relaxing and Trouble Care Facial Sheet Mask $3.00

Description: Infused with Skylake patented herbal extracts from eighteen different oriental herbs, Skylake Relaxing and Trouble Care mask helps soothe acne-prone skin. Highly preferred by teenagers, this mask contains charcoal extract which helps control oil, while healing and preventing breakouts. 

Oriental Herbal Relax Toner I had to get this toner, as I am a SUCKER for herbal anything and I figured that I can always use toner.  This does smell like my kitchen spices!  haha  It doesn’t leave my face dry or sticky, it is cooling and I really like the scent.   This is a unisex scent and men can use this for after shaving as well, and it is gentle enough for babies.  This, along with the shampoo, are already on my repeat buy list!  Full Size 100 mL Value $24.00

Description: contains only 100% extracted and distilled water from eighteen different oriental herbs which are grown, naturally dried and fermented in Korea. This toner spray helps to moisturize and balance your skin while minimizing surface oil build-up. It is recommended for people with dry skin, oily skin, and/or sensitive skin of all ages, and for men with rough and troublesome skin from shaving to moisturize and soothe.

Ingredients: Water, Artemisia Absinthium Extract, Peppermint Leaf extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, Angelica Dahurica Root Extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root Extract,  Angelica Tenuissima Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Inula Helenium Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract,Polygonum multiflorum Root Extract, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, eugenia caryophyllus (Clove) Flower Extract analysis

Citrollena Spray Another I had to get product.. I had to get a Citrollena spray, as it is summer and I am always attacked by bugs.  I also love the scent of citrollena (am I the only one with this weird obsession?) and this is a nice size that I can put in my purse or backpack ~ very handy when traveling or just outside.  Mini Size 40 mL Value $12.00 

Description:  Skylake Citrollena Spray is perhaps the best and most natural way to prevent bug attraction to your body. It is made with citronella aroma, which is a type of oil that comes from “managrass.” The citronella aroma has the fragrance which mosquitos and flies don’t like. Besides, it is also made with Skylake patented herbal extracts, which makes it very natural and preferable to people with sensitive skin.

How to Use: For outdoor activities, spray directly on body to prevent bug attraction. You can also spray it on clothes or around bed. Do not spray on face


Since Skylake just opened their online shop, for a limited time only, you can get a free full sized Oriental Herb Cleansing Powder with any purchase of $40.00 or more.   Because I was one of their first customers online, they also included a travel/sample kit, worth $19.00!  I am so excited about this🙂


Travel Kit included

1. Cool Shampoo

2. Silk Cocoon Conditioner

3. Peppermint & Tea Tree Spray  Anything with Peppermint & Tea Tree is okay by my book!

4. BB Cream #23 (Basic Color)  I actually like this BB cream.  It is a nice shade and isn’t too dewy on my skin.

Description: Skylake Multi BB Cream is a multifunctional blemish balm that covers, protects, and whitens the skin. With a SPF of 36 and a base of oriental herbal extracts, this BB cream not only gives a natural coverage and even skin tone, but also provides moisture, wrinkle care, and whitening effects. Shade #23 is ideal for medium to dark skin tones.

5. Skylake Silk Serum

Description: Made with highly concentrated natural silkworm cocoon extract that contains sericin. Sericin, which is a protein produced by the silkworm to bind the cocoon fiber together, creates a thin barrier on the skin, which increases the ability of the skin to hold moisture. It is also known to strengthen and rejuvenate the skin. Along with sericin, it is also made with the highest quality materials, such as oriental herbal extracts, natural preservatives and natural vitamins. If you have dry skin or have lost elasticity, Skylake Silk Serum is especially recommended to regain silky-soft, elastic and healthy skin.

6. Skylake Herbal Soap (Elastic & Brightening)

Description: carefully handmade with mulberry leaf powder as the key ingredient, which gives the effect of clear skin and enhanced elasticity. <br>Skylake Herbal Soaps are made with fourteen different herbal extracts and essential oils that not only provide long lasting hydration but also the benefits of aroma therapy. Unlike conventional soaps made with synthetic ingredients that can strip away the skin’s moisture, Skylake soaps help purify the skin naturally.

7. Oriental Herb Cleansing Powder (Elastic/Brightening) See below as I received a full size one free

8. Natural Eye Cream   I’ve been using this sample, which will last me at least a month, and I really like it.  It is a creamy yellow, herbaceous scent and it absorbs nicely into my skin.   This contains natural beeswax and propolis as well as the Skylake Oriental Herbs Complex

9. Pore and Elastic Care Facial Sheet Mask

10. Plus seven foils with different products: BB Cream #23 (Basic Color) , Green Energy Essence, Oriental Herb Natural Sun Screen, Natural Foam Cleanser, Refresh Cleansing & Massage Cream, Oriental Herb Lotion and Oriental Herb Cream

Oriental Herb Cleansing Powder (Elastic/Brightening)   Skylake is still having this promo so if you purchase $45.00, you will get this item free!  This is a rice powder cleanser, that will help exfoliate and polish away dead skin, and will refine your pores and lighten hyper-pigmentation spots.  It smells good to me ~ again, all skylace facial products seem to have that spice/herb scent.  This is not a foaming cleanser, but it is very finely milled, so it isn’t harsh on your face.   You can add water or your favorite cleanser if you want it to be a foaming exfoliator.  Full Size 50 mL Value $19.00

Description: Skylake Cleansing Powder Elastic/Brightening is a gentle exfoliating scrub made with granules of mung beans, red beans, and rice as key ingredients. Added benefits of various oriental herbs help to restore skin’s natural radiance and elasticity. Reveal a brighter, softer complexion with this natural cleansing powder, especially recommended for aging or fatigued skin.

How to Use: Dispense a small amount into hands and mix with few drops of water to create a creamy paste. Massage over wet face for 3 to 5 minutes and thoroughly rinse with water.   Use once a week

Ingredients: cnidium officinale root powder, glutinous rice powder, sodium carbonate, phaseolus angularis seed powder, phaseolus radiatus seed powder, sodium laurate, sodium stearate, sodium myristate, sodium palmate analysis


Skylake Cool Shampoo Review

The shampoo is my featured review.   I read that this shampoo contains wilfordi root, and that ingredient will help darken and cover grays naturally and I am very interested in that.  I found my first gray hair when I was 24 and it has been all downhill since then.   The women in my family color their hair early on, but I do have a brother and I can see how the progression of gray hair took over his head.  I have lots of gray in my hair around my face, more like silver and I usually color my hair monthly to cover that gray.   I have skipped my hair coloring this month and am using this shampoo to see if it does darken my gray roots.  I will keep updating this blog post with photos and my final verdict ~ and will announce that on FB and IG, so you know when I have completed it.

Day Zero : Pre Skylake Cool Shampoo

Selfies are just horrible, aren’t they?  If you turn the camera around, and use a flash, then you cannot see yourself to know that you got a good pic.  If you use the option that lets you see yourself while taking the photo, then you don’t have a flash option and the photo is grainy.   These photos are obviously using the latter option, so my grays don’t look that bad here.  But they are ~ in the lower right hand pic, you can see my roots have grown own and it looks like I have no hair there or thinning hair.  That isn’t the case, I have LOTS of hair there, it is just silver!   My hair grows really really fast ~ my hairdresser is always shocked how quickly it grows ~ lots of dead brain cells, I tell her! haha     I haven’t colored my hair in a month here, so my roots are really showing.  And the things I do for beauty ~ I am not coloring my hair for the next several weeks to test out this experiment!

I do not wear my hair like this, but for the purpose of seeing the gray hair, I am pushing my hair off my face so it is noticeable.

From now on, I am using Skylake’s Cool Shampoo daily.  I leave it in my hair for 5 minutes before rinsing.

Day 11

Almost 2 weeks into using this shampoo daily.  I already see a difference.  Most of my silver hairs around my  face have actually been turned blondish. I’ve also tried taking my hand at using the flash towards my hair, to show you how dark my hair really is.    I don’t know, what do you think?  I will post another set of photos in 10 more days.  I do think that this shampoo is working and when I do color my hair again, this subtle shading will even out the grays and could cause me to go longer between coloring.


Oh and here is Tora, my little girly whirly ~ you’ve seen her brother, Obi, quite a bit, but here she is, doing a run-thru, quickly sniffing and moving away.  That is why it is a blurry shot😀 Maybe one day, she will show more interest like her brother about my skincare obsession!

So, what do you think?  Are you interested in Skylake or already a fan?  Is there any product here that you would like me to go a bit more in depth with an initial impressions review?  Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Skylake K-Beauty Haul!

  1. I’m loving the shampoo too but the conditioner left my hair oddly greasy. I bet it will work great for your mom with dry hair! I’m excited to try out the toner but I just bought a mini and have a feeling I may love it and have to bit the full size one.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That should work out well then for my mom! The toner is pretty nice – I really like it a lot and I do love the scent – I am probably weird or something! Love my herbs🙂


Leave a Reply

