42 cents BirchBox Haul #1

I think the one of the biggest reasons why I stay with Birchbox monthly subscription service has to be their point system.  If you subscribe, you can receive anywhere from 50 to 70 points if you give feed back on the product (10 points per product) on their site.  Plus, if you have facebook or twitter, you can post a message about your BB for an extra 10 points.   Even if you don’t subscribe, there are other ways to get points ~ for every $1.00 spent in their shop, you will receive 1 points (this has to be the amount you actually paid, not the subtotal before all of the discounts, etc).   You can also get points by watching out for any BB events where they will tell you ~ if you do XYZ, you get XX points, like the recent sharing of the Birchbox Road Trip, where I got 50 points just for sharing a message on twitter!

Every 100 points is worth $10.00 in Birchbox shop, where they have tons of products, from beauty to lifestyle.   I usually spend my points quicker than I want to, but this time, I was able to hoard over 600 points!  671, to be exact, so that is $60.00.  I also had a 21 month anniversary code, so off I went to BB to shop!


These 3 products were my reason for my purchase.

amika Bombshell Blowout Spray  I am enamored by amika products ~ I have used the Bombshell Blowout spray and I love it, as it helps cut down on blow drying time and it is perfect for my fine and straight hair.  It helps give my hair volume and lift, without leaving my hair greasy or weighed down.  amika haircare products seem to all have a nice fresh and light scent, and this one is no exception.  8 oz Value $24.00

Description: The lightweight spray performs a variety of functions, protecting, nourishing, smoothing, and volumizing hair. We apply it to damp strands before blow-drying to provide heat protection, texture, and lift. It also serves as a light hold mist for dry hair and can facilitate restyling. In keeping with its multipurpose personality, it works on all hair types, including color-treated hair.

Ingredients: Water/eau (aqua), octylacrylamide/acrylates/butylaminoethyl methacrylate copolymer, hippophae rhamnoides (sea buckthorn) seed oil, panthenol (vitamin b5), glycerin, peg-12 dimethicone, fragrance (parfum), aminomethyl propanol, benzophenone-4, propylene glycol, imidazolidinyl urea, methylisothiazolinone, yellow 5 [ci 19140], blue 1 [ci 42090], butylphenyl methylproponial, limonene, hydroxyisohexyl 3-cyclohexene, carboxaldehyde, hydroxycitronellal, citronellol, coumarin  cosDNA.com analysis


amika Un.Done Texture Spray Another amika product! I received this texturizing spray in my July BB and I love it so much!  It really does give my hair a lot of texture and I love messy hair :)  No white residue, not crunchy, but lots of volume and thickening.   It does leave a matte finish, so don’t over do it!    5.3 oz Value $24.00

Description: When we try for tousled, voluminous hair, we tend to look more tornado-tossed than windblown——or, just as bad, our strands stay stubbornly limp and flat. This styling spray from amika gives us loads of sexily messy, artfully effortless volume. And it’s so easy to use, we get just the right done-yet-undone look——without overdoing it——every time. This spray uses zeolite, a naturally occurring mineral, to build up volume. A mix of obliphica extract (sea buckthorn berry), which helps strengthen hair and boost shine, and an exclusive polymer blend help the formula bind to hair and add texture without making strands stiff, crunchy, or heavy.

Ingredients: Hydrofluorocarbon 152A, Butane, SD Alcohol 40-B, Disiloxane, VP/VA Copolymer, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Starch,Zeolite, Glycerin, Triethyl Citrate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Fragrance, Hippophae Rhamnoides Extract, Water


Macadamia Professional™ Weightless Moisture Leave-In Conditioning Mist  This was another product that I received a sample of in my July BB and I just love the way it makes my hair feel super soft and it detangles my fine hair nicely.   I am so happy that  Macadamia Professional made a product that is specifically designed for fine hair ~ this doesn’t weigh my hair down, nor does it make my hair greasy.  This lightweight conditioning mist smells wonderful to ~ like a macadamia sugar cookie! I purchased the full size as I wanted to take the very generous sample size on vacation and didn’t want to use it all up before then!  8.5 oz Value $22.00

Description: When you have fine hair (or most hair for that matter), it can be difficult to find a product that conditions hair without weighing it down. Both a detangler and protector, this lightweight spray nourishes with macadamia oil and quinoa extract, while argan oil and silk amino acids help strengthen to protect breakage. One spritz gives our hair a weightless, snag-free finish.

Macadamia Oil- rich in nourishing omega 7,5 and 3 fatty acids that promote healthy hair
• Argan Oil – rich in omega 9 fatty acid that helps to repair and strengthen hair
• Quinoa Extract – hydrates and provides hair with nutrients
• Collagen & silk amino acids – provides lightweight moisture and promotes tensile strength.

How to Use: Spray liberally on towel-dried hair. Comb through and style as usual. It can also be used instead of an in-shower conditioner for those with baby fine hair.

Ingredients: Water, Dimethiconol, Laureth-23, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Soluble Collagen, Glycerin, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Silk Amino Acids, Fragrance, Cetrimonium Chloride, Polysorbate 20, C10-40 Isoalkylamidopropyl Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate, Dipropylene Glycol, Dicetyldimonium Chloride, Dimethicone PEG-8 Meadowfoamate, Trimethylsiloxyamodimethicone, C11-15 Pareth-7, C12-16 Pareth-9, Trideceth-12, Lauryl Pyrrolidone, TEA- Dodecylbenzenesulfonate, Dimethiconol/ Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Polyquaterium-37, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/ Dicaprate, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylisothiazolinone, Citric Acid, Alpha- Isomethyl Ionone, Benzyl Salicylate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, D- Limonene, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydroxycitronellal, Linalool



Because my subtotal was over $35.00, I headed to the Bonus Shop to pick up my FREE mystery pack.  There are two different types of mystery packs ~ one for women and one for men ~  At times, the women’s packs are sold out and I will just get the mystery pack for men as they have some nice products in there.  The mystery pack “sells” for $10.00, but if you have $35.00 plus in your cart, just add it to your cart and it will be free.  No discount needed.   What I received in my mystery pack, which has a value of $14.96

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator   I just got one of these in my May BB.  It is okay, this is a nice enzyme facial product.  It is paraben free, sulfate free and 99% natural. Deluxe Sample 20 g Value $5.67

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Aluminum Oxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Propanediol, Panthenol, Emulsifying Wax NF, Glyceryl Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Papain, Parfum, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol  cosDNA.com analysis

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Poppy  I had gotten a sample of this product in the past (several times in different colors) and I do like this lip stain.  I wasn’t sure about this shade, Poppy, as it is a pinkish-coral but it is a sheer shade with just a hint of sparkles and it is a coral that works for my skin tone!   It really is pretty, goes on creamy and leaves a faint stain behind after it is “rubbed” off.    I think it will work well with my Ellison’s Organics nail polish that I received in my July Kloverbox!  Perfect for summer .  This lip stain is vegan, cruelty-free and paraben-free. Mini Size 2.25 g Value $9.29

See how pretty these two are together!

Ingredients: Octyldodecanol, Aqua/Water/Eau, Synthetic Beeswax, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Mica, Polyglyceryl-3 Polyricinoleate, Glyceryl Behenate, Stearlkonium Hectorite, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Propylene Carbonate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Silica, CI 15850/ Red 6 Lake, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 45370/Orange 5, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides



As BB will sometimes “round up” and apply more points than the  total is worth  ~ in other words if your total is $58.43, they will take 600 points, not 580 points, to cover it.   Since I worked HARD to hoard all of these points, I wasn’t going to have BB take more points than the cost!  ahaha   Even for $1.57 worth of points!  Luckily, BB has a shop catered for people like me ~ the “$25.00 and Under” shop, and I picked out some facial wipes for $1.99.  I can always use facial wipes and I do keep these smaller sizes in my car.

La Fresh Travel Lite Facial Cleansing Wipes – 3 pack   These have cucumber, aloe vera and green extracts, plus vitamin E for moisturizing.  $1.99

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Polysorbate 20, Aloe Barbadensis Leaft Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Sorbitol, Citric Acid, Benzyl Alcohol, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbanate, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance.


What did I pay for all of this?   42 cents.  Yep.  Gotta love those points.  

Do you hoard your points?  Do you try and get the BEST deal ever when you shop at BB?  Let me know some of your fabulous hauls from BB and how much you paid in the comments below ~ it is almost like a game to get the best deal ever.

If you don’t subscribe to Birchbox and are interested, I would love it if you used my referral link ~ they have both men and women boxes!  https://www.birchbox.com/invite/biancardi

[ descriptions in italics from linked website.  this blog post contains affiliate and referral links ]

Leave a Reply

