Paula “The Cosmetics Cop” Begoun: Friend or Foe to the Skincare Consumer?

This is an oldie, but goodie. I use Paula’s Choice site as one of the many research areas about ingredients, but it is NOT the be all and end all of sites. I take in account her own personal biases towards certain ingredients with other sites plus I do test products personally. It is good to read a wonderfully written piece about PC that is quite fair.

Askanesthetician's Blog

If you are interested in cosmetic and skincare products you have probably come across Paula Begoun’s best-selling books and even visited her website.  In my estimation, Begoun is the best known and most prolific consumer advocate working today who concentrates solely on critiquing and evaluating the cosmetic and skincare industry.  Begoun and her staff are constantly turning our product reviews (of make-up, hair, and skincare products), answering questions from consumers, and researching ingredients.  In addition, Begoun even has her own line of skincare and make-up products (more about that later).

Paula Begoun has written numerous books of which the best known was are Don’t Go to the Cosmetic Counter Without Me andThe Beauty Bible.  I own the older editions of both books; new editions of both books (8th and 3rd respectively) have just been published.  You can find all of Begoun’s books at your local chain bookstore.  If you spend some…

View original post 1,573 more words

2 thoughts on “Paula “The Cosmetics Cop” Begoun: Friend or Foe to the Skincare Consumer?

  1. I tend to take Paula’s reviews with a grain of salt, particularly when it comes to come of the biases pointed out in this article. One that particularly makes me roll my eyes is the stance that using oil on oily skin will led to breakouts (probably using the same rational that normal to oily skin does not need a moisturizer). Oils work fabulously on my oily skin.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, me too. I mean, I think a lot of her issues are because she is very sensitive to certain ingredients. which is okay, because there are some ingredients my skin cannot tolerate, but I let my readers know that that is my issue, not necessarily theirs. I always say, research it from multiple sources, read reviews from people who ACTUALLY tried the product and test it yourself.


Leave a Reply

