Unboxing June 2015 Flicker Box!

I am so happy that the May Flickerbox is behind me ~ it was all florals and I am not a fan of floral scents.   This month is quite different and more in-tune to what I like!  The theme this month is “Silly Scents & Funny Fragrances”  and I think that is just a cool theme!

What is Flicker Box?

Flicker Box is inspired by a love and appreciation for handmade candles. We believe that people appreciate products produced by quality artisans made in the United States. We want to connect candle lovers with people who love to make candles.

Each Flicker Box contains a variety of artisanal candles made from candle artists from around the United States. We share their story and ship subscribers a delightfully curated box right to their doorstep. Flicker box costs as low as $25/month and can be purchased as an automatically-renewing monthly subscription or 3, 6, or 12 month term subscriptions.  from http://myflickerbox.com/about


Information Card

Aerial View

Starting on the left, going clockwise: Big White Yeti “Grass Stain”, Midnight Owl Co “Monkey Farts”, The Burlap Bag “La-La Land”


Big White Yeti “Grass Stain” ~ First off, the logo.. I mean, looky what he can do!  haha

But back to the candle in the scent of Grass Stain ~ this is a fresh green scent that does smell like a freshly mowed lawn.   It makes me want to run outside and just roll around on the grass!  Big White Yeti is an etsy shop and this hand-poured candle is pure creamy white soy wax, with a cotton wick and the scent is earthy green!   This comes in a really nice brushed silver tin and will burn for 25 to 30 hours.   I really do like this scent, as fresh green scents are rare to find in candles.   Big White Yeti is located in Milwaukee, WI (Schlameal, Schlamazel, Hazzen Pfeffer Incorporated…) 6 oz Value $10.00

Midnight Owl Co in “Monkey Farts”  ~   ahahaha …they said farts…  I doubt monkey farts smell like bananas but this candle smells like ’em!  This is a tropical scented candle, with bananas, strawberries, kiwi and grapefruit.   It is really a perfect candle to bring in the summer season!   I can see why this is a best seller at their shop ~ it really is a great scent.  This candle comes in a reusable mason jar with a screw top lid.  Midnight Owl Co is  another etsy shop and is located in Saylorsburg, PA ~ thank you, Flickerbox ~ I love supporting etsy shops :)   8 oz Value $9.00

Description: Monkey Farts Ehh!?? Yes, we know the name of this candle is pretty cool!! What’s even better is the candle fragrance!! Perfect for tropical aromas year round!! This candle will make your home smell like fruit has exploded everywhere!! This unique fragrance begins with top notes of fresh bananas and juicy grapefruit, middle notes of kiwi, juicy bubblegum, and strawberries; and a hint of vanilla as a base note. A Best Seller!!

Midnight Owl Candle Company’s strongly scented candles made with our secret wax blend which includes an all natural soy wax! All candles are made with the finest quality of ingredients and the freshest fragrances. We strive to sell candles that smell so good, you crave more! We promise to continue making candles from the heart, creating long lasting, clean burning candles! Each candle is hand poured and made to last!

The Burlap Bag “La-La Land”  ~  I used to live in La-La Land (that is Southern California and I miss it dearly!) and I always took it to be a term of endearment, even though some might use it to be insulting.  Gotta take back a negative and make it a positive!   The Burlap Bag is located in Austin, TX and they make candles with some pretty funny names ~  Unicorn Puke, Crazy Cat Lady (I HAVE to get that one!), Grandpa, King of Farts and not to be sexist, Queen of Farts ~   and this one, La-La Land.   This isn’t a silly scent or funny fragrance, despite its name  ~ it is a sophisticated blend of  woodsy and warm sweet scents:  vanilla, oak and cedar.  warm vanilla, oak, and cedar.   This scent is one of The Burlap Bag’s  customer favorites and they say “It’ll make you daze off and day dream”  Yep.  It does.  Warm nights at the beach…..This candle comes in a nice amber glass jar with a black metal screw on lid and is made of 100% soy beans from the USA.   This candle should have a burn time of 70+ hours.  9 oz Value $14.00

This month IS GREAT!!   I love all three scents and I think Flickerbox just went back to its old packaging with the crinkles, because my box was full of them and NO DENTED TINS!!  yeah!   I would say that Grass Stain is my favorite, but then I sniff Monkey Farts (hehehe) and I love that…but wait, La-La Land, with its vanilla woodsy scent ~ I cannot pick a favorite!   Once again, this month’s value was a bit low, clocking in at $33.00 and I paid $34.00 for my box.  It was a heavy box, but Flickerbox should toss in some nice matchboxes or tin boxes for wooden matches or something.   It doesn’t bother me that much that I paid a little less at times with Flickerbox, but it was 2 months in a row this has occurred.

Flickerbox also has a store, where you purchase candles that were featured in their past boxes.

Do you subscribe to Flickerbox?  What did you think of this month’s candles?  Let me know in the comments below!


[ descriptions in italics from the product linked website ]

2 thoughts on “Unboxing June 2015 Flicker Box!

  1. Interesting. This is the first I’m hearing of a subscription box for candles. I like it! I would absolutely love the grass and La-La-Land candles, but hubby can’t stand the smell of bananas so I’d never be able to burn that one at home.😦 Oh well, great candles nonetheless!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yah! Thank you so much for your review of our Grass Stain candle. I’m always appreciative when folks like our Yeti (or bumble, or snow monster, or white bigfoot) AND can make the Lavergne and Shirley connection🙂

    Thanks again!
    Katie, Owner Big White Yeti LLC

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

