Unboxing Target Beauty Box Summer 2015 edition

Target seems to be finally in the groove with releasing quarterly boxes.   Last week, Target released both  a Summer Women’s 2015 Beauty Box and a Men’s Summer Box.   The box for women has gone up in price by $2.00, but so has the value for the Women’s box.   Target has no known schedule for their beauty boxes and they always sell out quickly.   I also use ebates.com, so even though I get charged tax, using ebates.com will refund that money back to me.



Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick  I was excited to find out that I was getting a wax-free lipstick in my Target box, but the color is a bright vivid red (Gladiolus).  For those who read my blog, they know that there are two types of lip colors I do not care for ~ bright red and orange.   There are other colors in this line that look more interesting to me, such as Snapdragon, Primrose and Iris, so I will have to go to the store and look at them.  This also came with a $1.00 coupon for this lipstick, so that is pretty good! I really like the tube that this came in and hopefully, I will be able to try out some of the other colors instead.   Full Size Value $7.99

Description: Get revolutionary, high definition color with Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick. This wax-free gel technology delivers instant true color clarity without the heavy feel.

Ingredients: Disopropyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Polybutene, Bis-(C12-14 Alkyl PPG-2) Hexamethylenedurea, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Hydrogenated Poly(C6-14 Olefin), Hydrogenated Polydecene, Octyldodecanol, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Hydrogenated Methyl Abietate, Isononyl Isonanoate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Dibutyl Lauroyl Glutamide, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter (Shea), Cocos Nucifera Oil (Coconut), Mangifera Indica Seed Butter (Mango), Sodium Saccharin, Silica Silylate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Fragrance, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Silica, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Dibutyl Ethylhexanol, Glutamide, Propylene Carbonate, Limonene, Linalool, BHT, Benzoic Acid, May Contain (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Carmine (CI 75470), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Tin Oxide (CI 77861)

For those interested in the color Gladiolus, check out Revlon’s promo with Emma Stone, as she is wearing that shade in the photo below.  I personally think it is more orange than that, but what do I know?

image from http://www.revlon.com/products/lips/lip-color/revlon-ultra-hd-lipstick#309975564259


Cutex Advanced Revival Nail Polish Remover Pads  I need to start polishing my nails again so these little pads will be helpful for at work (quick touch-ups) or on the go.  Cutex claims that one pad will remove polish from all 10 nails, but I don’t know ~ I’ve never experienced THAT before!   However, I love that these are made with some really nice botanical oils ~ black currant, flaxseed and apricot kernel.  Sample Size 3 pads Value $1.20

Description: Strengthens & Conditions No Spills! No Mess! Just Wipe!® Cutex Advanced Revival Nail Polish Remover Pads, complete with Black Currant, Flaxseed, and Apricot Kernel botanical oils, strengthens and nourishes your nails while quickly removing polish. One pad cleans all 10 nails! These portable and convenient felt pads allow you to remove nail polish whenever and wherever you desire.

Ingredients: Acetone, Deionized Water, Flaxseed Oil, Glycerin, Black Currant Oil, Fragrance, Apricot Kernel Oil, Denatonium Benzoate


Sinful Colors Professional Nail Color I received Supernova, which is a metallic rose gold foil shade and I am VERY happy to get it.  I’ve used Sinful Colors before and I like the formula, goes on smoothly and I only need 2 coats of it along with decent staying power ~ plus it is really inexpensive!!   They come in a variety of trendy colors and they are toluene-free, formaldehyde free and DBP free. Full Size $1.99 


Olay Regenerist Luminous HydraSwirl Eye Cream   I am very interested in trying this product out as it claims it will not only firm your skin, but softens lines and also is light reflecting, so it will brighten the area around your eyes.  I did swatch this heavily ~ obviously, when using on my eyes, I will not need as much product.  I can tell right away that this has some light reflecting ingredients (mica) as it is shimmery.  When I smooth it out on my skin, I can really see how much it is reflecting the light, with all of its shimmer.  The instructions say to massage it into your eye area ~ which seems like a horrible idea to me ~ no one should be massaging anything under your delicate eye area.  It should be patting it into the skin gently. 

However, I know why they state this.  When I was removing the product from my hand, the cream balled up.  It didn’t absorb into my hand at all because I didn’t massage it into my skin long enough.  So, I tried this under my eyes, not massaging it in, and yep, same thing ~ if I gently rub the area under my eye, this cream just balls up.  

So, I am not sure what to make of this eye cream.  It is getting great reviews so maybe my skin type is not compatible with this product ~ it has happened before ~ long wearing lipsticks just ball up on my lips.   I will try using less product and see what happens as this is a full size item.  Full Size 15 mL Value $23.99

Description: Reveal even skin tone under eye areas with Olay Regenerist Luminous Dark Circle Correcting Hydraswirl. The distinctive dual-look. Ophthalmologist tested swirl formula reveals more radiant skin in two ways: First, gel hydrates to nourish your skin for a younger, firmer look. Next, luxurious cream softens lines for smoother-looking skin. Ophthalmologist tested, this lightweight formula reduces the look of dark circles and fine lines and quickly brightens the area around your eyes.  Use it every morning and night for continued results over time. Our formula starts to work from day one, quickly revealing skin that is smoother and more radiant. With daily use, you’ll see a noticeable difference in more even skin over time. Rapidly reduces dark under eye circles and reveals bright skin around the eyes. Hydrates to nourish skin under eyes for a firmer, younger , lightweight and fast absorbing.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Pentylene Glycol, Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Acetyl Glucosamine, Titanium Dioxide, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B5), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4 (Amino-Peptide), Collagen, Allantoin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Stearate, Mica cosDNA.com analysis


Fekkai Professional Hair Care Soleil Pre-Soliel Hair Mist  The photo on the Beauty Box had Fekkai’s dry shampoo, which I was so hoping to get.  Instead, I received this pre-sun hair mist (soleil means sun).  So, I guess this product will help your hair be protected from UV rays, so it won’t dry out or fade your hair color.   It is infused with sunflower seed oil, which also provides hydration, moisture and shine.   Fekkai states that this spray is alternative to wearing a hat or scarf, but that isn’t why people wear hats and scarfs.  Hats and scarfs protect the scalp, which can get sunburned, so I would not use this as an alternative to those items, but just in addition.  I am not sure if I can use this product ~ I will try, but I have very oily hair and I am afraid this will make my hair greasy.   This does smell really nice ~ it has a citrus scent, so I do hope it will just be a light protection for my hair without weighing it down.   Deluxe Size 1.7 oz  Value $6.80

Ingredients: Water, Dimethicone, Fragrance, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil, Isopropyl Myristate, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Magnesium Sulfate, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Betaine, Sodium PCA, Sorbitol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Serine, Glycine, Glutamic Acid, Lysine, Alanine, Arginine, Threonine, Proline, Orange 4, Red 40

Also, I got a $3.00 coupon good at either Target or Target.com on a $15.00 beauty purchase , so this is a pretty good deal for me.   I paid $7.00 on this box and received an amazing value of $41.97.  However, two of the most expensive products in this box are questionable for me ~ the eye cream and hair mist ~ and I will not use the lipstick due to the color.   I will say this is still a good deal for trying items out and I did receive 3 full sized products in this box.

Did you get the Summer 2015 Edition Beauty Box from Target?  What did you think of it?  What was your favorite item?


[descriptions in italics from target.com]

[ this blog post contains referral links ]

5 thoughts on “Unboxing Target Beauty Box Summer 2015 edition

    1. yeah, me too! I love dry shampoo… The hair mist, I decided, is too much for my oily hair. I cannot use it. Hopefully, you will get a variation and the dry shampoo will be yours!


  1. I got the sun spray but wanted the dry shampoo as well. The nail polish and lipstick aren’t too bright for my complexion, but not really interesting. I haven’t tried the eye cream yet. So far the only thing I really liked were the nail polish remover wipes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

