Adovia Dead Sea Salt Scrub Review

I recently received a free full sized Adovia Dead Sea Salt body scrub, sponsored by Brandbacker.   Adovia is part of goPure Naturals and I do love their organic products and have praised them in the past on my blog.

What is Adovia Dead Sea Salt Body Scrub:

  • Genuine Dead Sea salt exfoliates dead skin cells and dull skin
  • Leaves skin with a “glow” as a younger layer of healthy skin is revealed
  • Natural moisturizing oils leave skin hydrated and soft – lasts all day
  • Offers effective relief from Eczema, body acne, Psoriasis, muscle aches and pains
  • Replenishes Minerals essential to skin health
  • Increases circulation – feels great and refreshing – perfect way to start the day during the morning shower.

I love body scrubs and was pretty excited to get this, as I had really good experiences with goPure Natural products in the past.    This scrub is made with Dead Sea mineral salts and a plethora of moisturizing oils.  It also claimed that the scent was “ocean breeze”, which I love ocean type scents, so I was looking forward to trying this product out.

You can see that this product is made in Israel, which makes sense, as the Dead Sea salts are sourced from there.  The sea salts are the first ingredient on the list, but I am not so sure about that.   More on that later.  There are also many moisturizing oils contained in here:  apricot, avocado, sweet almond, jojoba, grape seed and sesame oil.   What is puzzling to me is why they needed to the mineral oil (Paraffinum Liquidum) on top of all of these oils, as that should have been enough for a nice moisturizing salt scrub.



I am not sure if you can tell in these photos, but when I opened up the jar, there was a TON of oil in the product.   It made for a very messy photo shoot as the oil just spilled everywhere.


The salt scrub is in a pretty tropical bright aqua blue shade and as I stated, was immersed in oils, so it was difficult to stir up the product without it spilling everywhere.   Scents are subjective, so some may like this scent, but I did not.  It was not ocean breeze or anything of that type.  It is a strong floral scent, and florals are way down my list of scents that I like.  

I stuck my finger in the salt so you can see how glistening this product is with the oils.  I will say this, when I used it in my shower, it did moisturize very well.   However, I did not find that it exfoliated well, as the salt to oil ratio seems low.  That is why I question the ingredient list where the salt is the first ingredient in the list.   This also makes a huge slippery mess in your shower too.  I have a bath mat in my shower, so that helped me not fall down with the slippery oil spill this product produced ~ but beware of that if you choose to purchase this product.

Ingredients:  Sea Salt, Paraffinum Liquidum, Dead Sea Salt, Apricot (Prunus Armeniaca) Kernel Oil, Avocado (Persea Gratissima) Oil, Isopropyl Palmitate, Isopropyl Myristate, Sweet Almond (Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis) Oil, Fragrance, Propylene Glycol & Aloe Vera Gel & Jojoba (Buxus Chinensis) Extract & Ginseng (Panax Ginseng) Extract & Chamomile (Anthemis Nobilis) Extract & Papaya (Carica Papaya) Extract, Grape (Vitis Vinifera) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Algae Extract, BHT, Sesame (Sesamum Indicum) Oil.

I cannot recommend this product based on my experiences with it ~ it is too greasy, too slippery, too messy and the scent is a strong floral scent.   That said, I did salvage this scrub ~ I added MORE salt to the product (a lot more), so that it was a bit drier and it absorbed the oil and I also added some essential peppermint oil (my goPure Naturals Peppermint oil!) to the product, so now it smells more like mint than floral.  I use scrubs a lot, so I didn’t want this to go to waste, as it does have a lot of great ingredients in it.  I feel that goPure Naturals needs to reformulate this product so it is not as oily, get rid of the mineral oil and do something with the scent as well.

Adovia Dead Sea Salt Body Scrub is sold on for $14.95 for an 11 oz tub.


Powered by BrandBacker

#brandbacker @brandbacker  #Adovia

Leave a Reply

