Unboxing June 2015 Julep

I forgot to skip this month with Julep, as Julep is just one of those subscriptions that I will ONLY want to get if the colors and add-on product are exciting to me.   I haven’t cancelled, because I can still skip.  If I cancel and then decide I want a box, I won’t have that option ~ I was “grandfathered” in because I was a member prior to their changes last year.

Well, I got my box ~ so let’s see if it is a good one or not!  The theme this month is “The Deep End” and it is supposed to be a getaway them

Destination: Palm Springs
Weather: Pure summer for 300 days a year
The essentials: Lips, nails, two-piece, sunnies
Where to next: Just wait and see…

My profile defaults to Boho Glam and I am SO grateful it does!

Isabela , Manda, Blushing Rose Luxe Lips

A bit about Julep’s nail polishes

Breakthrough Oxygen Technology powers this fast-drying, long-lasting nail polish to get nails healthy and more beautiful at the same time. Our proprietary 5-free, vegan-friendly formula also includes strengthening Hexanal and antioxidant green coffee extract. You’ll never look at nail polish the same way again.

Dries ultra fast & allows 30% more oxygen to permeate the nail bed than other nail polish.  Reveals stronger, harder & more conditioned nails in just two weeks (reported by 95% of women in an independent trial). Extends the life of your manicure or pedicure

  • Isabela Amparo blue crème   I had no idea that Amparo blue is a color!  It is described as a purplish blue shade and I do feel that Julep did match the color very well.   My initial thoughts when I saw this shade, without knowning what Amparo blue was supposed to look like, was that this is a dark periwinkle shade :D    This color is very nice and I love blue nail polishes, so it will be used.  I do not have anything in my collection that is this type of blue.  Value $14.00
  • Manda Sky blue with golden shimmer  I actually think this is more of a mint green shimmer, because the gold mixed with the sky blue is turning it a pale green.   Normally, this shade would be too light for me, but I think that using it as an accent nail or to do a design, this is a great shade.  Value $14.00
  • Luxe Up Your Lips in Blushing Rose Really happy with this color ~ the other choices were Poppy, Candy Apple and Sangria.  Blushing Rose is a standard mauve rose shade.   If I had been able to choose, I would have picked Sangria, but since I couldn’t, I am glad I got Blushing Rose as the other two colors are so not me!   Julep has had this line for a while, but the treatments were sheer.  These colors are supposed to have more coverage, but quite frankly, Blushing Rose looks pretty sheer to me!  This product reminds me of Acure Organics Lip Lush, which is less expensive at $7.99 a tube and I think the ingredients are superior in the Acure product.  However, this is a nice lip tint and it has a yummy minty zing to it.  The tip of the applicator is metal so you can easily slide on the gloss.      Value $19.20

Description: Cooling Zamac tip soothes lips and boosts microcirculation. Omega-rich pumpkin seed oil boosts lipids & helps retain elasticity. Healing oil blend enhances definition & locks in hydration.  Vitamin E unleashes protective antioxidants to prevent collagen loss

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Polyethylene, Cetearyl Olivate, Glycerin, Sorbitan Olivate, Cucurbita Pepo (Pumpkin) Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, Polyglyceryl-10 Heptahydroxystearate, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Acacia Decurrens Flower Wax, Coffea Arabica (Coffee) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) Acetate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Wax, Jojoba Esters, Polyglycerin-3, Phytosterols, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Mica, Tin Oxide, Silica, Flavor/Aroma. May Contain/Peut Contenir [+/-]: Titanium Dioxide (77891), Red 36 (CI 12085), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Red 21 (CI 45380), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 30 Lake (CI 73360), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Iron Oxides (CI 77491/77492/77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035)



Luxe Up Your Lips in Blushing Rose

Isabela and Manda

Whew, I could have gotten a box with shades that I hate ~ I’ve seen the other nail polish colors that could have been in June’s box and these two are the best ones for me ~ and the lip gloss, although I have SO many of them, is a nice one and I like the taste and feel of it.  However, I will have to make sure I remember to check my emails so I don’t get stuck with a box that I did not want.  I was really lucky this month that I enjoyed all 3 items.    My box is $19.00 and I received a retail value of  $47.20

Do you subscribe to Julep’s Maven?  If so, what did you think of June’s box?  What style and colors did you get?

Join me on julep and subscribe by clicking on the above image, use FREEBOX or JULEPVIP and get your first box for only the shipping cost!

Leave a Reply

