Unboxing May 2015 The Butter Box!

This is a new subscription for me and I am really pleased to unbox my May 2015 The Butter Box from My Butter Bar!   My Butter Bar is a company started by 2 best friends who wanted great smelling bath and body products that weren’t loaded down with chemicals.   Their logo is “Natural Products, Natural Scents, and ‘Good Enough to Eat’ Products-Period!”  My Butter Bar creates only the highest quality bath & body products with amazing scents that makes me want to EAT my body scrub!  haha.    I can, you know…they are safe to eat, but My Butter Bar doesn’t recommend a steady diet of their bath and body products ;)  They are 100% natural, including the fragrance oils, colorants and preservation methods.  They do not use any chemicals or chemically-altered natural ingredients. 

image from http://mybutterbar.com/about

They also have a monthly subscription service, called The Butter Box.  You can choose either from

  • The Butter Box Mini – 5 “shots” sized mini products for $19.95 monthly or $50.00 for 3 months
  • The Butter Box – 3 to 4 full sized products (valued at $40.00 or more)  for $29.95 monthly or $80.00 for 3 months

I signed up for the regular box, as My Butter Bar was running a promo that if you signed up for 3 months, you would get an extra box for free!

There was some confusion around my initial box ~ I was send the mini version but My Butter Bar made good on it and sent me the items that were supposed to be in the full sized version.  


There was no informational card included, but that was an oversight this month ~ I received an email with the listed products in my box.

Choco-Holic Sugar Scrubz This bad boy leaked a bit in my box, but no harm really.  The leak wasn’t that bad and the scrub is still moist and not dried out.  This smells AMAZING.  Just like chocolate cake ~ I wanted to grab a spoon and just eat it out of the container!    I love a good sugar scrub and you cannot go wrong with a chocolate scent!  Using sugar to exfoliate is more gentle than salt, as not everyone can use salt.  Sugar will also add back in moisture to your skin, leaving it soft.   Full Size 4 oz Value $11.00


Description: A signature mixture of Fair Trade Sugar, Sweet Almond Oil, and Premium Cocoa Powder, reveal beautiful skin. All while satisfying your sweet tooth! *Features Fair Trade Shea from African Child For Youth, and helps to bring water to a beautiful child in Ghana!

Ingredients: Sucrose (Sugar), Prunus Dulcis (Almond) Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Powder, Natural Chocolate Fragrance Oil  cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://mybutterbar.com/products/chocolate-sugar-scrub



Choco-Holic R$ch Butter   This is a very rich, moisturizing shea and cocoa butter body butter and it just melts on my skin.  This smells like cocoa butter and is perfect for my rough, cracked heels (which get a major beating all year round) and also rough spots, like my elbows.   A little goes a long way ~ you can see in the photo below, that the cream literally was melting into my skin.  It looks like the heat re-solidified this butter, as it is getting warm now, but that doesn’t distract from the lovely scent once bit!    Full Size 4 oz Value $11.00

Description: A signature mixture of fluffy-whipped Fair Trade Shea Butter, Cocoa Butter, and Premium Cocoa Powder that makes other body butters fall flat.   *Features Fair Trade Shea from African Child For Youth, and helps to bring water to a beautiful child in Ghana!

Ingredients: Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Prunus Dulcis (Almond) Oil, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Powder, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Natural Chocolate Fragrance Oil  cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://mybutterbar.com/products/chocolate-whipped-body-butter


Cocoa-Clay Face/Body Mask When I first looked at this, I was thinking it was a bath powder or something as it wasn’t labeled!   I looked at The Butter Bar website and found out this is a clay mask made with cocoa powder ~ which is MUCH better!  This is a detox mask made with kaolin clay, which will remove any toxins, impurities and dead skin cells, while unclogging your pores.  The cocoa powder not only smells great, but will add moisture back into your skin.  Full Size 5 oz Value $7.00

Description: Lux-Natural Kaolin Clay & Premium Fair Trade Cocoa Powder. This sweet little mask leaves skin smooth, detoxified and glowing! you smelling irresistible! This is a MUST for #Flawless Skin!

How to Use: Just add water (1TB mask to 1 TB water)! Spread a thin layer all over your (non-makeup-ed) clean face and leave it on until it dries, about 15-20 minutes. Remove by placing a warm washcloth over your face and letting the mask soften. Then, you can just wipe it off with the washcloth and rinse your face completely.

Ingredients: Kaolin Clay, Cocoa Powder


Promised Land Shea Butter Soap (2 bars)  I love artisan crafted bar soap and since Sudsy Box (my soap subscription box) is no longer going to be offering a subscription, I am glad that My Butter Bar offers bar soap!   This is an exfoliating soap bar that moisturizes, due to its oats, honey and shea butter.  It smells wonderful, like honey and almonds and it is a beautiful golden brown soap with tons of exfoliating oats.    They do have a typo on their website and email information ~ I did receive clarification from them on this and their soaps are 3.5 oz each, not 10 oz.   Their Promised Land soap will always weigh more because of the oatmeal, so these are ranging between 4 to 4.5 oz each.  Full Size 4 to 4.5 oz (2X) Value $12.00

Description:  A 10 oz. bar of all-natural, oil-infused soap that will leave you clean and moisturized! Welcome to The Promised Land. Filled with Oats, and Honey + Shea Butter and Natural Almond fragrance oil adds to the juiciness and leaves you smelling irresistible!   

Ingredients: Coconut oil, palm oil, safflower oil, glycerine (kosher, of vegetable origin), honey, purified water, sodium hydroxide (saponifying agent), sorbitol (moisturizer), sorbitan oleate (emulsifier), soy bean protein (conditioner), prunus dulcis (almond) oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*, Organic Rolled Oats, Natural Vegan Almond Fragrance Oil  cosDNA.com analysis


This was my extra, because I was originally sent a mini box, so I received these sugar scrub cubez, which are a lot of fun!  They are part of the mini box, and not the full sized version.

Tropical Sugar Scrub Cubez  This was the item for the mini version and I am glad I got them as now I know what these sugar scrub cubes are like!   If you got the full sized box, this would not have been included.  This scent is not on sale at their website, but they do have strawberry and cherry.   I’ve included the ingredients list for strawberry, as they are similar except for the fragrance oils, so I am guessing that the Tropical version is the same.  These are 1 oz cubes that are made with fair trade sugar and shea butter, infused with oils, including sweet almond oil and coconut oil, along with honey ~ a great moisturizer ~ and soy bean protein.  These have a scent that reminds me of sugared pineapple.   Sample Size Value $2.50

IngredientsCoconut oil, palm oil, safflower oil, glycerine (kosher, of vegetable origin), honey, purified water, sodium hydroxide (saponifying agent), sorbitol (moisturizer), sorbitan oleate (emulsifier), soy bean protein (conditioner), sucrose (sugar), prunus dulcis (almond) oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit*  (I am sure there is an fragrance oil here, but I do not know what it is)


Since this is a fairly new subscription service and also new to me, I am going to give a little feedback about the service and packaging, not just on the products.  These are just my thoughts and in no way are designed to be hurtful.

What do I think about The Butter Box?  I love these products and I think that the owners of My Butter Bar do a fantastic job with their products.  Not only do the items smell fabulous, they are all natural, organic and they do work!   Their customer service is first rate as well ~ Kimberly-Chloe was very quick to respond to my queries and she went the extra mile to ensure that I would be satisfied :)   I did receive a box with over $40.00 worth of products, as advertised.

Since this is a new subscription service, I put together my suggestion wish-list :)  For the full sized subscription version, perhaps add a small sample or two in that box as well  ~ I would love to get little samples as well, like those sugar cubes that I received.  Some other suggestions would be to ensure that the leaky items, such as the sugar scrub, is put into its own plastic baggie or get one of those plastic sealers, so that the lid is sealed down.   Also, with the warm months ahead of us,  the whipped body cream does melt in transit and so perhaps it would be better just to send that out during the cooler months.  My body cream was pretty dense and solid when I received it, because it melted and then re-solidified and therefore, did not have a whipped texture.  I am fine with it being more dense and it works just fine regardless of texture,  but others may not be.   I wonder if My Butter Bar could offer a lighter version of their cream in a lotion form for warmer months.   And a hand cream that I can leave on my desk at work (in tube form or lotion form) That would be awesome!   Ohhh…another idea  ~ lotion stick bars (lotion bars in a plastic tube)!  Those are becoming very popular now and are made with shea butter too.

I love that they use free trade ingredients when possible and they feature fair trade shea butter from African Child For Youth, an organization that will help bring water to children in Ghana.   Fair Trade also means empowering developing countries  and since the production of shea butter is a female dominated industry, it allows women to be empowered, by fair trade wages, learning new skills and providing for their families.

Just some more information on their products ~ they are preservative free, but will add all-natural ECO-Cert preservative made from Elderberry Extract if you request it in an order.  I don’t think that applies to their monthly subscriptions, however.

Are you interested in subscribing to My Butter Box?  I think these products are just lovely and I do enjoy supporting women indie businesses, especially when they have a strong social message as well.   What items look interesting to you and good enough to eat?  I’ve been looking for an eco-friendly, organic bath & body subscription box for a while now and I think I have found it!!


[ descriptions in italics from http://mybutterbar.com ]




5 thoughts on “Unboxing May 2015 The Butter Box!

    1. The FAQ’s state about 3-4 weeks – but you can email them for specifics – their CS is very quick to respond, although they are having issues right now, cause they are in the middle of that horrible flooding in Texas…Give them a couple of days.


  1. I just signed up for this box thanks to your wonderful review again. You have such great natural taste! Keep those great reviews coming. I was wondering if you know of My Little Box? It comes out of France. I am not sure if you have ever reviewed it or are looking for new boxes to review, but it is a lovely and wonderfully curated box. The thing is that they don’t yet ship to the U.S. or Canada. Such a bummer

    Liked by 1 person

    1. in their FAQ they state that they are looking to send internationally in the future. So, hopefully, they will be able to do that soon! Let them know you are interested as sometimes that gets a company moving in that direction quicker


Leave a Reply

