Unboxing May 2015 Beauteque Bag!

Beauteque is an online Asian beauty store, located in the USA, that specializes in K-beauty.  They offered a monthly bag, where you will get not only K-Beauty items, but Asian skincare, cosmetics and even Western items, but it primarily focuses on K-Beauty. For full disclosure, unless I state otherwise, all items that I review on my blog are paid for by me and this review is no exception ~ I am paying for the monthly subscription service and am not being compensated for this review.

This month’s theme is Marvelous May.

My bag this month is a cute black and white stripe with a silver flower toggle!

Informational Card

May Island Donkey Milk Skin Mask Pack in Mela-Tox and Aqua  Mela Tox is the whitener/brightener mask and Aqua is a firming, moisturizing mask.    These are randomly selected from the May Island Donkey Mask series, and I have seen the Wrinkle Filler in some other customers bags. The May Island mask packs include 3 separate sections:  a cleanser, which you will use to wash your face first.  Then an ampoule, to apply on your face before you open the 3rd section, which contains the mask.     This is pretty cool, not because of the donkey milk, but because this mask has 3 parts to it!   I am excited to try these out, especially the Mela-Tox.   The package doesn’t seem to have the ingredients for the cleanser or ampoule, so I have no idea what is in those two foils.  The ampoule is the May Island Anti-Wrinkle/Whitening ampoule, so I guess I will have to hunt that down to get that ingredient list.   2 masks Value $6.40

Description: Donkey milk which is the closest to Human breast milk is an advanced natural moisturizing ingredients to protect the skin without irritation.   Vitamin component of donkey milk is rich, it is very effective for skin elasticity and skin moisturizing.  6 types of extracts are formulated and keep our skin with health

Mela-Tox Mask Ingredients: water, glycerin, butylene glycol, PEG/PPG-17/6 copolymer, niacinamide (2%), sodium hyaluronate, paeonia albiflora flower extract, magnolia liliflora bud extract, lilum candidum flower extract,
PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, carbomer, triethanolamine, hydroxyethylcellulose, donkey milk (1%), citrullus colocynthis fruit extract,  velvet extract, castanea sativa (chestnut) seed extract, angelica acutiloba root extract, rheum palmatum root extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, betaine, sophoa angustifolia root extract, artemisia vulgaris extract, houttuynia cordata extract, hamamelis viginiana (witch hazel) extract, oryza sativa (rice) extract, portulaca oleracea extract, glycine soja (soybean) seed extract, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, fragrance, disodium EDTA   cosDNA.com analysis

Aqua Mask Ingredients:   water, glycerin, butylene glycol, PEG/PPG-17/6 copolymer, sodium hyaluronate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, carbomer, triethanolamine, adenosine (0.04%), hydroxyethylcellulose, donkey milk (1%), citrullus colocynthis fruit extract, velvet extract, castanea sativa (chestnut) seed extract, angelica acutiloba root extract, rheum palmatum root extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, betaine, sophoa angustifolia root extract, artemisia vulgaris extract, houttuynia cordata extract, paeonia albiflora flower extract, magnolia liliflora bud extract, lilum candidum flower extract, hamamelis viginiana (witch hazel) extract, oryza sativa (rice) extract, portulaca oleracea extract, glycine soja (soybean) seed extract, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, fragrance, disodium EDTA  cosDNA.com analysis


The Face Shop Eyelash Curler I just received a Missha Eyelash Curler in my Memebox Tool Box and a Jouer mini curler in my Spring Le Matchbox, so I am eyelashed curler’d out.  This will be given a new home, but in case you want the low down on this item:

  • 24K Gold plated
  • curve design is suitable for all eye shapes
  • silicone rubber pad helps curl lashes naturally when pressure is applied
  • lashes stay curled all day

Value $7.60

Mik@vonk Auto Eyeliner in Black  I love Korean gel eyeliners but I have so many now in black.  If this had been another color…This is a two sided eyeliner ~ one side is matte black and the other is a sparkly black.    I am confused ~ this is made in Korea, but the “designer” is Australian.    The other color choice that customers could have received is white, which might have been fun to have, but at any rate, this black eyeliner will be gifted/traded.   Value $15.00

Ingredients:  hydrogenated soybean oil, hydrogenated coco-glycerides, hydrogenated vegetable oil, hydrogenated rape seed oil, C12-15 alkyl ethylhexanoate, phytosteryl isostearyl dimer dilinoleate,  rhus succedanea fruit wax, butyl paraben, BHT, zinc stearate. May contain: Iron oxides, Mica, CI42090 (Blue 1 Lake),  CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide)


It’s Skin Mini Bebe Mist in Sparkling Lime   Our first “choice” product ~ from Sweet Peach, Sparking Lime or Shining Apple.  I picked Sparkling Lime before I received it in another box (unexpectedly) ~  groans!  It is a good thing that I do like this scent ~ it does have a dry, sour citrus scent, I am not sure it if is limes or not, but it is on the  citrus-y side.   The mini size is perfect ~ easy to carry in my purse or leave in the glove compartment in my car and I have put this in the frig to cool, and it is very refreshing.   This is pretty interesting as it has 3 fermented yeasty products in it, as well as milk protein.  Full Size 55 mL Value $11.00

Description: Mild protein and witch hazel extract protect skin providing moisture and nutrition.  Soothes dry skin and fruit scent giving refreshment.  Cute design and mini size easy to carry anywhere.

Ingredients: Purified water, SD Alcohol 40-B, Butylene glycol,Glycereth-26, trehalose, panthenol, niacinamide, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Octyldodeceth-16, methylparaben, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Fruit Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Bark/Leaf/Twig Extract, Paeonia Albiflora (peony) Flower Extract,  Convallaria Majalis (lily of the vally) Bulb/Root Extract, Magnolia Liliflora Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum (Madonna lily) Flower Extract, Ipomoea Purpurea (morning glory) Extract, Lactococcus Ferment, Lactobacillus Ferment, Saccharomyces Ferment Filtrate Schizosaccharomyces Ferment Filtrate,  milk protein, sodium citrate, citric acid, disodium EDTA, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://www.itsskin.com/shop/view.asp?P_IDX=1068

Holika Holika Pig-nose Clear Black Head Steam Starter  This is a sticky gel gel that you massage into your troubled areas where you have blackheads.   As you massage it in, it is supposed to heat up and  open up your pores, to help remove the dirt.    I received this item in Memebox My Cute Wishlist #4 (and it wasn’t cute nor a wishlist)  and I didn’t care for it.  It has a lemony scent, which is nice, but I really love my Baviphat Mango Steam Scrub.  This will not be used by me.  Full Size 30 mL Value $10.00

Product Description: This gel type starter helps to open your pores while reduces dirt from the pore.   Its pink clay ingredients helps absorb excess sebum and soften stubborn blackheads.

How To Use:   After cleansing, apply to the area with blackheads and massage for 3 minutes.  Then use lukewarm water to rinse off.

Ingredients: Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Fragrance(Parfum), Moroccan Lava Clay, Kaolin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Water, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben  cosDNA.com analysis


Nature Republic Bulgarian Rose Essence  This was one of the spoilers and I knew this wasn’t for me.  I didn’t open this, but according to the information on this essence, it contains Damask rose flower oil (100mg) which helps moisturize your skin and contains Vitamin A and C to brighten your skin, smells like roses and is actually a gel-type essence.  This is one tiny bottle for a full sized item!   Full Size 35 mL Value $17.00

Ingredients: water, glycerin, dipropylene glycol, alcohol, glycereth-26, sodium hyaluronate, PEG-7 glyceryl cocoate, PEG-32, methyl gluceth-20, rosa damascena flower oil (100mg), imperata cylindrica root extract, viscum album (mistletoe) extract, cyclopentasiloxane, cyclohexasiloxane, dimethiconol, glyceryl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymer, propylene glycol, PPG-26-buteth-26, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, DI-C12-13 alkyl malate,  butylene glycol, caprylhydroxamic acid, dimethicone, lecithin, xanthan gum, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP copolymer, carbomer, triethanolamine, phenoxyethanol, disodium EDTA, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

 image from http://naturerepublic.co.kr/

How Nature Republic distills the rose petals into oil

image from http://naturerepublic.co.kr/







Nature Republic by Flower Vivid Tint Balm  This was the other “choice” product this month, from  #2 strawberry, #4 melon or #5 chestnut.   I chose melon (#4) and this is a color changing lip balm.  I was hoping for it to stay green ~ haha ~ just to have something “different”.   That would have been fun in the summertime!   But it changes to a very sheer light pink.  This is just a lip balm that looks really cool in the tube.   It does have SPF 15/PA++ and is made with macadamia oil.    Full Size 3.3 g Value $8.00

Ingredients:  Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, petrolatum, diisostearyl malate, ceresin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, ozokerite, pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate,  benzopheenone-3, bis-diglyceryl polyacyladipate-2, Ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, polyethylene, cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, centaurea cyanus flower water, acetylated sucrose distearate, phytosteryl/isostearyl/cetyl/stearyl/behenyl dimer dilinoleate, tocopheryl acetate, polyglyceryl-2 triisostearate, glyceryl caprylate, water,  hydroxypropyltrimonium maltodextrin crosspolymer, butylene glycol, fragrance,  Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Red 27 (CI 45410:1), Blue 1 (CI 42090),  titanium dioxide (CI 77891) cosDNA.com analysis

 image from http://naturerepublic.co.kr/


How did I like Marvelous May bag?  I loved that Nature Republic is getting some props here, but alas, one of the items was ROSE.    The eyeliner won’t be used, because I have so many black eyeliners already ~ a fun color for spring would have been better.  Even though we got a lip balm last month as well, they are different enough so it wasn’t repetitive.   I do like the masks and the mini Bebi mist, so whereas this bag is certainly more interesting in terms of products, it really missed the mark for me.   I am actually looking forward to June’s bag, as that one is more “me” than this month’s bag.   I paid $24.00 for my bag + $3.95 shipping for a total of $27.95 and received a BeautequeValue** of $75.00.  The bag is an extra and there is no price on it.

** Just as with Memebox, the values of these products are the manufacturer’s retail value, but you can find them much cheaper elsewhere.

Did you subscribe to Beauteque’s Monthly Bag?  If so, what did you think of this month’s bag?  Please comment below🙂

These are the spoilers for June and I picked the middle colors (Set 2)  for my nail polish selection.  I think that June’s Bag is more my speed as I love the Strawberry Clay mask and I love peach smelling things…

Set 1 (Shining Blue or Strawberry)
Set 2 (Starlit Berry or Energy Purple)
Set 3 (Starlit Green or Pearl Yellow)

 [ descriptions in italics from linked product site.   This item was purchased with my own money ]

6 thoughts on “Unboxing May 2015 Beauteque Bag!

  1. I might have picked peach for the mist, but gotten apple. Didn’t mind it one bit tho. It has been awhile since I used a Baviphat product, so next month’s will be interesting!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that if I had known I was getting lime in two boxes, I would have gone for peach. But I am really looking forward to next month – you will like that mask – sweet berry scent! I know you love the sweet scents🙂


  2. I loved this review!! ^.^ (you should check out mine too please!)

    I thought it was one of Beauteques better bags🙂 but yeah there were a few duds in this one. The eyeliner was pretty chalky😦 but I ended up loving those donkey masks! They smell really good ^.^

    But I totally agree I’m excited about Junes bag even more, I ended up going with the set 3 because I knew I didn’t have either of those colors and they would make for a great statement nail polish🙂 thanks for the awesome review! It’s nice to get others opinions on the products. Oh! And I loved how you went into detail like with the rose essence how its made, it adds a little extra touch ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi! Long time no see! I really loved getting the Nature Republic items. It’s my new favourite K-brand. And I loved that we got some items that weren’t available at their Taiwan store (where I was vacationing last month). I lucked out on the eyeliner and got a frosted white instead. Really great for the lower waterline and makes my eyes pop.

    I tried the HH steam nose pack after my vacation and it really did help unclog my pores and provided a deep clean.

    All in all a good bag for me. June’s my last month and I’m debating if I should re-subscribe since I no longer have the Meme option.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. you are lucky you got the white eyeliner! That does sound a lot better than the black one🙂 June looks really great with the strawberry clay pack and the peach hand cream🙂


Leave a Reply

