Unboxing May 2015 MaskGenie!

MaskGenie is a monthly subscription of masks ~ facial sheet mask, body masks, wash off masks and hair masks.  The owner lives in Hong Kong and she (Genie) tries out the masks and determines which ones she feels are worthy for her customers to try.   Shipping is extremely fast ~ within a week, I get my pouch.  You can order the 10 mask pouch for $22.00 or the 5 mask pouch for $12.00 and that includes shipping and she just doesn’t ship to the USA ~ MaskGenie ships all over the world.

One of the things I really appreciate from Genie is that she does an unboxing video once she sends out the pouches.   It is really great that she cares about her customers to provide this extra service and she explains a bit about the mask, why she choose it, where it is from and so on.   Her May Pouch Unboxing Youtube can be found here.



Shara Shara Black Source Eye SunGlass  (Korea) These are black masks for your eyes and they are in the shape of sunglasses!  They even have a little flap that you can put over your eyelids, if you wanted to close your eyes and get the full treatment.  I cannot do that ~ whenever there is something moist on my lids, I have to open my eyes!  You really do need to lie back and relax to do the full eye treatment and I rarely have that patience.  I will use these with the flaps down so I can see🙂   I do like Shara Shara skin care products, so this is a really good addition in this bag.   I have never heard of these before so I am excited to use these!   These have Lychee and Guava fruit extract, which is high in Vitamin C and along with niacinamide, it helps brighten your skin around your eyes.  Value $4.29

Ingredientswater, glycerin, butylene glycol, niacinamide, alcohol, cyclopentasiloxane, cyclohexasiloxane, dimethicone, dimethicone/PEG-10/15 crosspolymer, xanthan gum, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, panthenol, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, hydroxyethylcellulose, triethanolamine, carbomer, disodium EDTA, allantoin, glycine soya (soybean) seed extract, sesamum indicum (sesame) seed extract, oryza sativa (rice) extract, psidium guajava (guava) fruit extract, camellia sinensis (green tea) leaf extract, litchi chinensis fruit extract, chamomilla recutita (matricaria) flower extract,  hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, adenosine, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://www.sharashara.co.kr/product/product_detail.php?catCode=002000050002&productID=168
image from http://www.sharashara.co.kr/product/product_detail.php?catCode=002000050002&productID=168

Steady Foundations Natural Detox Foot Patch – Chilli (Japan) The choices were either Chinese Mugwort or Chilli.  I received Chilli and I am glad that I received that one.   According to the info I found, it is “suitable for those who stay long term in air conditioned rooms“, which is basically how I do spend my days (work and all).   Genie mentioned that it improves blood circulation, something that I need as my feet do get cold.   I know that these foot patches are reported to remove toxins (such as heavy metals)  from your body overnight and that is why they turn such a dark color, as that is supposed to be the removed toxins.  As I couldn’t find any information on it except what Genie wrote up on her MaskGenie review and a Hong Kong Groupon page, I will repeat part of what Genie wrote (source)

These are detox foot patches, and each flavour claims to have different health benefits for your body. Recently, I’ve been feeling ice cold at night, and have trouble falling asleep due to how cold I’ve been feeling. Note that the temperature in Hong Kong is around 15-16 degrees at night, so it’s not as cold as I feel it to be. I felt so cold that I had to heat up my hot water bottle and hug it to sleep! This foot patch (which can also be used on the body) is the chilli flavour, which claims to get rid of the yin inside the body, increase blood circulation, and boost the metabolism. I tried to smell the patch, and I just kept sneezing! The ingredients inside the patch was quite powdery, but it stayed put inside the patch. I stuck the patch onto the sticky pad, and stuck it onto the soles of my feet. It stuck pretty well, and my skin didn’t feel irritated. I left it on overnight, and when I woke up in the morning, I peeled it off to find the soles of my feet feeling super sticky. It was so sticky that I had to wash it off with soap and water. I was so surprised to see that the patch had become a liquidy brown colour (is that the bad stuff from my body?). 

I couldn’t find any retailer selling this easily, but a quick search on eBay found that these detox foot patches are found by other manufacturers.   Value $1.25

 image from http://www.groupon.hk/deals/shopping/natural-detox-foot-patches0/719650006

Coni Beauty Orchid Whitening & Anti-Wrinkle Mask (Taiwan)  This are “Visit Taiwan Mask” ~ each mask has a different tourist attraction on the front.  I couldn’t tell by the hut on the mask, but after searching around, this is for Puli, Taiwan, which is home to some of the great Zen temples and the  gateway to Mt. Hutou.  This is a whitening mask that alas, contains rose extract in it and therefore I cannot use it.  It does have niacinamide and licorice extracts, which also help whitening and brighten your skin tone, and sodium hyaluronate and rose extracts will help moisturize and keep your skin soft.  Retail Value  .85 cents

Description:  Orchid is a symbol of beauty and contains anthocyanin and polysaccharides which are rich in anti-oxidants and hydration.  Soothes skin from daily stress and fatigue.  Recovers youthful luminosity, clarify and silky smoothness.  Infuses skin with lasting, refreshing moisture. The pearl extract can lighten spots and make skin white and bright.  Ascorbyl glucoside features balanced and lasting effects of tenderness and whiteness.  Enriched with precious botanic extracts, effectively relieves sensitive skin.

Ingredients: water, rosa damascena flower water, citric acid, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, propylene glycol, glycerin, orchis mascula extract, phenoxyethanol, hydrolyzed pearl, sea salt, butylene glycol, morus alba leaf extract, niacinamide, xanthan gum, mannitol, ammonium glycyrrhizate, caffeine, zinc gluconate, aesculus hippocastanum (horse chestnut) seed extract, methylisothiazolinone, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, disodium EDTA, ascorbyl glucoside, sodium hyaluronate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis 

image from http://www.iqueen.my/en/mask/21-coni-beauty-orchid-whitening-anti-wrinkle-mask-1s.html
image from http://www.iqueen.my/en/mask/21-coni-beauty-orchid-whitening-anti-wrinkle-mask-1s.html


Coni Beauty Lotus Elastic & Hydrating Mask (Taiwan)  Another Coni Beauty mask from the  “Visit Taiwan Mask” series.  This mask is for is for Tainan, Taiwan, which is the oldest city in the country and is home to Confucius Temple and  the amazing Xiaonan City God Temple (Xiǎo Nán Chénghuáng Miào).  This is a hydrating and firming mask that alas, also contains rose extract in it and therefore I cannot use it.  This mask does have some good ingredients in it, from the oat and soybean extract, to horse chestnut and lotus extracts.    Retail Value  .85 cents

Description:  Lotus contains flavonoids, replenishes and restores moisture for deeply hydrated and bouncy skin.  Enriched  with patented oat extract, it contains nourishing ingredients, provides deep hydration in an effective way.  It also enhances the degree of water replenishment.  Soy protein enriched with isoflavones can increase skin’s luster.  With trehalose, fully lifts moisture and repair early lines.  Natural oat polysaccharide forms 3D membrane on the surface of skin and makes skin firm instantly

Ingredients: water, rosa damascena flower water, citric acid, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, propylene glycol, nelumbium speciosum (lotus) extract, butylene glycol, glycine soja (soybean) protein, sclerotium gum, phenoxyethanol,  glycosyl trehalose, hydrogenated starch hydolysate, avena sativa (oat) kernel extract, ethylhexylglycerin, xanthan gum, panthenol, mannitol, ammonium glycyrrhizate, caffeine, zinc gluconate, aesculus hippocastanum (horse chestnut) seed extract, methylisothiazolinone, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, disodium EDTA, sodium hyaluronate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis 

image from http://deanne.kr.cisinlive.com/en/mask/20-coni-beauty-lotus-elastic-hydrating-mask-1s.html
image from http://deanne.kr.cisinlive.com/en/mask/20-coni-beauty-lotus-elastic-hydrating-mask-1s.html



Dr Morita More Protection Moisturizing Essence Facial Mask  (Taiwan)  I was looking at the DrJou website and oh I how I wish they shipped to the states!  They had a free 150mL Loofah Water on some of their purchases, including this mask and it was $17.00 for 16 masks + the water.  Sigh…  I am now very interested in the Natural Loofah water and am on the hunt to get some.  haha  This is a deeply moisturizing and hydrating mask, with trehalose and 3 types of hyaluronic acid: sodium hyaluronate, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, hyaluronic acid.   It also contains scutellaria alpina which has anti-inflammatory and  antioxidant properties.   Value $2.60 (from eBay’s price, not Taiwan’s prices)

  • Trehalose: Supplies concentrated moisture to skin and prevents reduction of fibroblasts to keep skin healthy with exceptional moisture retention capacity to prevent skin from drying.
  • Hyaluronic acid: Hyaluronic acid exists between the collagen and elastin mesh, and it has the ability to absorb and store moisture 1,000 times its own weight. With age, the content of hyaluronic acid in skin diminishes. Hyaluronic acid combines with moisture to make skin soft and smooth.

Ingredients: water, glycosyl trehalose/hydrogenated starch hydrolysate(Trehalose),  xanthan gum, methylparaben, phenoxyethanol, D-panthenol, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, sodium hyaluronate, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, saccharide isomerate, scutellaria alpina flower/leaf/stem extract, hyaluronic acid, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis


SexyLook Huangjin Huan Yan Double Lifting Mask  (Taiwan) or Rejuvenating Duo 3D Lifting Facial Mask   This is a really interesting mask ~ it is not only made with bird’s nest extracts, but caviar as well!  This is a 3D mask and it also has the ear hooks to lift the V-line (under the neck area) as well.   I am looking forward to trying this one out soon.   Retail Value $1.70

Description:  Bird’s nest with collagen enriched, gives the skin double moisture to keep it supple, elastic and shiny with moisture factor. This 3D Lifting Mask with ear hooks fights against gravity and lift up the skin at your neck, mouth cheek and eyes areas.  Caviar contains a high concentration of caviar extract, rich in nutrition can delay aging, to repair damaged skin. Giving skin a younger and firmer look.

Ingredients:  collocalia (swiflets) nest extract, salmon caviar extract, sodium hyaluronate, matrixyl (palmitoyl pentapeptide-3),  centella asiatica extract, witch hazel extract, niancinamide (vitamin B3), panthenol (vitamin B5), glycerin, 1,2-butylene glycol, dipotassium glycyrrhetinate, xanthan gum, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, chlorphenesin, phenoxyethanol, fragrance, water cosDNA.com analysis 

image from http://www.iqueen.com.tw/product.php?pid_for_show=3899&promotion_product_sn=&sel_color=#
image from http://www.iqueen.com.tw/product.php?pid_for_show=3899&promotion_product_sn=&sel_color=#
image from http://www.iqueen.com.tw/product.php?pid_for_show=3899&promotion_product_sn=&sel_color=#



Seatree Steam Essence Mask Sheet (Korea) I just want to say that I think this design is adorable!  The pink whale and the fishies ~ love it!   Reading the description on the mask, this is a really moisturizing mask, made with shea butter.   This sounds like a mask for the winter time for me!  Shea butter facial masks are usually too rich in the warmer spring/summer months for me, but if you have very dry skin, you could use this now.  A steam cream is a very thick hydrating lotion and this mask has some of the emollients that would be found in a steam cream: triglyceride, mineral oil, shea butter and hydrogenated castor oil.   I expect, as I have used steam creams before, that this is going to be a very thick whitish essence.   Value $1.40

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Trglyceride, Butylene Glycol, Mineral Oil, Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Panthenol, Hydroxyethylcelluiose, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance cosDNA.com analysis 

image from http://www.seatree.com/product/shopview_shop.aspx?shop=1569&c_code=002006000000
image from http://www.seatree.com/product/shopview_shop.aspx?shop=1569&c_code=002006000000


Nature Republic Help Ceramide Mask Sheet (Korea)  This must be the intensive moisture pouch!  This is another very moisturizing mask from Nature Republic, made with ceramide.  Ceramide is a fat molecule that naturally occurs in the top layer of your skin.   It is extremely hydrating and it is an effective anti-aging ingredient.   I know that any ceramide facial products I use have to be used in the winter time, just like shea butter, as they are too heavy and greasy for my already oily skin type.  If you have dry skin, your skin will love it and soak it up!   I have read that this mask is very strongly scented and a bit sticky, so keep that in mind if you use it.   Value $1.84

Ingredients: water, butylene glycol, glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, cetyl ethylhexanoate, citrus paradisi (grapefruit) fruit extract, hydrogenated vegetable oil, polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose diistearate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, ammonium acryloydimethyltaurate/VP copolymer, xanthan gum, ethylhexylglycerin, octyldodecanol, anthemis nobilis flower extract, hydrogenated lectihin, ceramide 3, camellia sinensis leaf extract, sophora angustifolia root extract,  paeonia albiflora root extract, lonicera japonica (honeysuckle) flower extract, prunus persica (peach) leaf extract, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, scutellaria baicalensis root extract, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


I.Skin Focus Strawberry Yogurt Mask (Japan)   Yeah!  A mask for oily skin!  Strawberry extracts really help with oily skin and controlling it.   According to Genie, this is not a facial mask where you can just leave on the essence after you remove the mask, but that you have to wipe off the excess essence.  It is a pink essence and it is reported to smell like a strawberry milkshake ~ I am using this tomorrow night for my mask routine!    I cannot read Japanese (or Korean for that matter, but I can translate Korean better than Japanese), so I do not have a full ingredient list.  This mask does contain strawberry and yogurt essence, milk protein,  hyaluronic acid, NMF (natural moist factor), Vitamin B2, C and E.  Value $1.00

Genie’s review on this mask (source)

I.Skin Focus Strawberry Yogurt Mask (Japan) The surprising thing about this mask is that the essence is pink, hence making the entire mask pink. When I first opened up the packaging, it smelled of strawberry milkshake, but when I put the mask onto my face, the scent became more of a herbal scent. The essence was also quite sticky, as the mask is intended to be washed off afterwards. After leaving the mask onto my face for 20 minutes, I massaged the essence on my face, and it felt like a cleansing cream. I washed the essence off my face, and I felt that my face became quite firm. My face felt slightly dry though.

Description: I. SKIN focus-Strawberry Yogurt Mask is an enriched yogurt mask based on a special recipe in combination with strawberry extract, yogurt essence and milk protein. Rich in nutrients, each mask supplies your facial skin with everything it needs, rendering your skin moist and glossy. With Vitamin B2 and Vitamin E, the mask is able to soften the horny layer, deep-cleanse the skin, remove fat and dirt and enable the basal cells to absorb the moist of milk protein and yogurt in full, making your skin soft and smooth again. In combination with strawberry essence full of fruit flavour, NMF (natural moist factor) is injected into the skin to brighten the dull and water-deficient skin.

Combos Skin Mulberry Antioxidant Mask  (Korea)  I happen to love the color on this mask package ~ the simple things in life ~ it is such a pretty dark purple with the mulberry fruit.  I am easily pleased!  ahaha.  This mask is an antioxidant mask (aren’t they all?) and it is a soothing mask.  Mulberries are used for skin brightening and prevents the synthesis of melanin (hyper-pigmentation).  It helps reduce dark spots and blemishes.   Rich in antioxidants, that means it is effective in combating free radicals, helping to reverse and prevent wrinkles.  This will go into my mask rotation this week.  Value $1.05

Description:  Along with the formulation enriching with Mulberry, Licorice Root extract, Vitamin E, Wheat Amino Acids and Hyaluronic Acid, this face mask helps soothe and rejuvenate your facial skin. Your skin will then be revitalized after just a single use. For a better result, applying it on a regular basis will keep your skin healthy and looking younger. You will feel refreshed.

Ingredients:  water, glycerin, propylene glycol, butylene glycol, sodium hyaluronate, sodium PCA, hydroxyethylcellulose, carbomer,  triethanolamine, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, morus alba (mulberry) bark extract, cudrania tricuspidata bark extract, lactobacillus/punica granatum fruit ferment extract, glycyrrhiza glabra (licorice) root extract, arbutin, bacillus/glutamic acid ferment filtrate, wheat amino acids, hydrolyzed collagen, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, betaine, niacinamide, calcium pantothenate, sodium ascorbyl phosphate, tocopheryl acetate, pyridoxine HCI, maltodextrin, sodium starch octenylsuccinate, silica, allantoin, methylparaben, disodium EDTA, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis



I am really happy to have this variety in my May’s pouch ~ even though 2 of the masks I cannot use, I am so happy to have the Shara Shara eyeglass mask, the Foot detox, Strawberry mask and SexyLook masks!  Again, I receive masks from MaskGenie that I cannot get anywhere else and I love that I get some cool masks to try out.  I paid $22.00 for this pouch, which included shipping, and received a retail value of over $16.83.  This is one of my lower price pouches, but received a lot of masks by brands from Taiwan, which before MaskGenie, I only knew of My Beauty Diary and My Scheming Diary.  So, I am pretty happy with this selection of masks from Taiwan, Japan and Korea

If you are interested in MaskGenie,  she now has an actual store front!  Just go to at www.skinilove.com  and you can place your order that way, which would be month by month OR if you think you want this to be a reoccurring subscription, email Genie at her FB page at and let her know to invoice you monthly.

My next unboxing of MaskGenie will be the limited edition Oriental Beauty II pouch~ featuring the very popular LoveMore masks, which will ship on May 20th.

image from https://www.facebook.com/MaskGenie

Oriental Beauty Pouch #2: LoveMore Edition!! It’s time to explore the ancient beauty secrets of the East! Incorporating masks which contain what is known as the “five elements”: wood, fire, earth, metal, and water – our MaskGenie Limited Pouch has again, something that is not going to disappoint!

LoveMore, a popular Taiwanese brand, has a line of masks that are specifically made with Eastern herbs, and this pouch will contain them all! The amazing thing about LoveMore’s masks, is that the mask itself is made of 100% silk, and are so thin and adhere so well to the skin that it’s also known as a “second skin” to the skin. LoveMore masks also contain a lot of natural ingredients. There have been a few LoveMore masks in our previous pouches, and they received high ratings and reviews! Each Oriental Beauty Pouch #2: LoveMore Edition contains 10 LoveMore masks.  USD $26.50


Do you get this month’s pouch from MaskGenie?  What are you looking forward to trying out?


[ All items purchased with my own money ]

[ descriptions in italics from the product’s linked site ]

4 thoughts on “Unboxing May 2015 MaskGenie!

      1. Good! I won’t be using them until after you post your reviews. It is your reviews that make me feel confident that I am using and understanding the products correctly.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

