Unboxing May 2015 The 3B Box!

Last month’s 3B Box was pretty fantastic and it is going to be difficult to top it. What is 3B (Beauty Beyond Borders)?  It is an Asian sample monthly subscription box and is very affordable at $12.00/monthly.  It is similar to ipsy and Birchbox, where you get 4 to 5 deluxe samples (and sometimes a full sized item!)

If you are interested in 3B, you can sign up for their waitlist ~ it took me almost 2 months to get off their waitlist, which is fine, because they are being very careful not to have their service suffer by over subscribing customers.  More about 3B’s monthly service:

Each box contains a collection of deluxe samples that are new or popular in Asia but hard to get your hands on. The products will change each month, and you’ll get to try new skincare, haircare, nailcare, and cosmetic products. Sample products range from go-to brands such as Lioele, Etude House and Skinfood to high-end premium brands like SK-II, Kanebo, and Sulwhasoo. Don’t worry about not being able to read Japanese or Korean – we’ve got you covered with English translations of descriptions in each box. (https://the3bbox.com/the-box/)

Informational Card

The items do not come in a box, but a chiffon pouch.  

Skinfood False Eyelashes in Daily #3  I don’t really have a need for false eyelashes ~ I think these are really fun looking with their crisscross design, but it is too much trouble for me to put them on and wear them.   Skinfood does make really good false eyelashes and I have given them to my nieces in the past and they really like them.  These should last several wearings.    One pair of eyelashes + eyelash glue.  Retail Value  I have found these as high as $11.90 at YesStyle.com and as low as $1.55 at Rose Rose Shop.  I will go in the middle and say they are worth $5.50

How to Use:  Remove eyelashes with pincer or fingers.  Cut to fit the length of your eyelid.  Apply the enclosed lash glue to the lash strip and let dry for 10-15 seconds.  Apply to the eyelid, starting from the inner corner of the eye.  Use mascara or eyeliner to add definition and create deeper, bigger eyes.

TonyMoly Lovely Eyebrow Pencil in #05 Black-Brown  I have several eyebrow pencils and I do not really use them.  I have been blessed with strongly shaped eyebrows that I actually have to trim because the hairs get too long!!  Not a lot of sparse hairs unless I pluck too much out in one spot.   This is, again, a really nice product, but because I have decent eyebrows, I really do not need another spare one of these.   You can see in the stock photo below, it has a spoolie on one end of the pencil, to help make the strokes look more natural ~  you would just pencil in the color and then use the spoolie over your brows to soften and blend in the color.   Full Size Retail Value $2.50

Ingredients: Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, hydrogenated coco-glycerides, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Zinc Stearate, lanolin, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, carnauba wax, beeswax, synthetic wax, stearyl alcohol, Hydrogenated Styrene/Methyl Styrene/Indene Copolymer, polyethylene, polybutene, cetearyl alcohol, Ethylcellulose, C12-19 alkyl ethylhexanoate,  caprylic/capric triglyceride, BHT, Butylparaben 

image from http://www.etonymoly.com/html/ItemDetail.asp?guid=1059&cate=159

Etude House Baking Powder BB Deep Cleansing Foam   I was very excited to try this facial foam out until I read that the pH level on this is off the charts ~ it is over 9!  I will use an 8 on my face, so long it isn’t drying or causes me to break out, but 9+ is a red alert for me.   That said, everyone is different and always do a spot test.  Just because I choose not to use it, doesn’t mean it won’t work for you.   I plan to do a bunch of pH testing on cleansers next weekend, so I will have my results up then.    However, I will use it on my feet as this foam has little micro “natural” beads in it, which help exfoliate and it smells lovely ~ like lemons, which is due to the lemon and orange peel oils in the product.    This is also marketed as a foam that is highly effective in remove BB creams, but I wasn’t aware that there was such a market ~ are BB creams that hard to remove?  Curious minds want to know🙂 Deluxe Size 30 mL  Retail Value $1.50

Ingredients: water, myristic acid, glycerin, potassium hydroxide, stearic acid, PEG-32, silica, glycol distearate, cocamidopropyl betaine, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, lauramide DEA, disodium EDTA, sodium bicarbonate, PEG-14M, sodium benzoate, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) peel oil cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://fafabeauty.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=201


TonyMoly Tangerine Whitening Hand Cream   Thuds!  I made this one of my  favorite things in March and it has been showing up now in many K-Beauty bags (Beauteque, Memebox and now The 3B!)  This is a pretty great smelling hand cream, and I guess it is really popular now.  I will repeat what I wrote in my previous reviews…  This is pale orange in color and is very creamy and soothing.   I love its little tangerine container, with the indented dotted peel look ~ it is so cute!   This little cutie sits on my dresser and I have one at work too.   This hand cream contains shea butter and arbutin, a whitening ingredient.  Full Size 30g Retail Value $12.00

Description: A Vitamin C-enriched hand cream easily sinks into skin to keep hands smooth and soft without a greasy feel. Contains citrus extracts from orange, tangerine, lemon and pomelo (citron).

Ingredients:  Purified water, Olus/Vegetable Oil, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Tribehenin PEG-20 Esters, Octyldodecanol, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Fruit Extract, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Arbutin, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, Dipropylene Glycol, Citrus Junos (citron) Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract,  Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Triethanolamine,  yellow No. 5 (CI 19140), Red No. 33 (CI 17200), fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


I knew it was going to be difficult to top April’s bag and it was.   The lashes and eyebrow pencil are fine products, it is just that I have no use for them, so I am not going to remove points from 3B on that.  They don’t tailor the bag towards any preferences, so it isn’t like Birchbox or Ipsy.   The Etude House Baking Powder cleanser will be used as a foot cleanser, but I hope that in the future, we see more oil cleansers and cream cleansers, as they have a lower pH level.  Foaming cleansers are tricky as most of them do like to hang out in the higher range of acceptable pH levels and some of them live dangerously with unacceptable pH levels ;)  The hand cream is a winner!  I own several of these already, but since I use hand cream all the time, it will get used and I love the scent.  I know that some folks are really disappointed in this month’s bag, because of the 2 eye products and I totally get that (I certainly won’t use them), but I received 3 full sized items and one deluxe sized item for $12.00, including shipping.  The retail value of this bag is $21.50.  Yes, you can find these products cheaper at Korean online shops, but unless you purchase it from beautynetkorea, you will pay a bit for shipping.  I use the retail price for the items, not the deep discounted prices you can find at Rose Rose Shop, but in the long run, you can find these items fairly inexpensively.

Did you receive The 3B box this month?  What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below!


[ descriptions in italics from linked product website ]

4 thoughts on “Unboxing May 2015 The 3B Box!

  1. I haven’t gotten mine yet, but I’m looking forward to it! I’ve gotten the false lashes and eyebrow pencil from Beauteque before, but I wouldn’t mind getting another pair of lashes! Excited to try the hand cream.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a nice bag – 3 full size items – I just don’t use falsies and my brows need trimming, not enhancements! haha. I am so excited to find out that Memebox’s Tool Box (which I ordered) has a club clio eyebrow tool kit in there, including trimmers, scissors, mini brush and tweezers! I think you will LOVE the hand cream – let me know how you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

