Unboxing May 2015 Flicker Box!

April Showers brings May Flowers!  The theme this month is “Flower Market”, so I knew this month was going to be tricky.  Floral scents are not my favorite scents at all ~ I am very picky and most candle floral scents are cloying.  Let’s see what Flickerbox had in store for me!

What is Flicker Box?

Flicker Box is inspired by a love and appreciation for handmade candles. We believe that people appreciate products produced by quality artisans made in the United States. We want to connect candle lovers with people who love to make candles.

Each Flicker Box contains a variety of artisanal candles made from candle artists from around the United States. We share their story and ship subscribers a delightfully curated box right to their doorstep. Flicker box costs as low as $25/month and can be purchased as an automatically-renewing monthly subscription or 3, 6, or 12 month term subscriptions.  from http://myflickerbox.com/about


Information Card

Aerial View

Starting on the left, going clockwise: Eco Candle Co “Peony”, Mosley Lane “Lilac”, Soy Delites “Jasmine”


Eco Candle Co in “Peony”   ~ This is my favorite of the 3 scents.  I really do not know what Peony smells like ~ according to Eco Candle, Peony is “big, round peony flowers enveloped in a bush of lush green foliage” ~ but this is a lovely light floral scent, not overpowering at all.  Eco Candle Co is located in Appleton, WI and this is a 100% soy candle, made from midwest-grown soybeans.   I really love the delicate glass container and the brown paper “lid” on this candle.  The logo sticker on the front of the candle is also very pretty ~ a mix between the rustic, with the brown paper and the feminine, with the earth logo and lettering in a pale pretty pink color.   Eco Candles has some nice scents at their site and I will have to check them out.   5 oz tumbler Value $11.00

From Eco-Candle:  The benefits of eco-candles (source)

  • cleaner burning – no toxins, carcinogens or pollutants which means it’s less likely to trigger allergies. no petrol carbon soot like you get from petroleum-based paraffin candles.
  • longer lasting – soy wax burns cooler which means that you can enjoy your soy wax candle for generally 30-50% longer than a paraffin candle.
  • supports our american farmers (instead of foreign oil conglomerates).
  • biodegradable and water soluable. since our candles are made out of soybeans, they are naturally biodegradable which makes accidental spills easier to clean.
  • stimulates the economy by utilizing a natural, renewable resource.
  • our soy wax is certified kosher, contains no herbicides or pesticides and is genetically unaltered.
  • we only use high quality scents and dyes.
  • no lead or zinc cored wicks – ever! all our wicks are made of either cotton, paper or hemp.

Mosley Lane “Lilac” ~   This is a HUGE candle and wow, is it scented!  It does smell like lilacs and I remember my mom’s huge lilac bushes in the springtime, with their powerful scent ~ but that was outdoors!  This candle would be best used outside, on warm spring evenings, so the scent is not so overpowering.   If you have a large room, this candle would do fine in there as well, it is just that I don’t have huge rooms, so the scent is a bit too much for me.  Again, this is not a criticism of the candle ~ this is just my own personal preference with florals.  If this was a peppermint or citrus candle, I would probably enjoy the stronger scent!  So, if you love lilacs, you will really enjoy this candle.   This is an 11 oz candle in a mason car, with a gold screw top lid.  Mosley Lane candles are 100% natural soy wax/beeswax blend with lead free and natural fiber cotton wicks.  They only use phthalte-free concentrated fragrance oils (yep, concentrated is right!) and the soy, beeswax, cotton wicks, and fragrance oils are all sourced from the USA.  This candle has a burn time of 50 hours.  They also have some very interesting scents:  Blackberry Sage, Yuzu and Sea Salt, Limoncello Cream and Cherry Tobacco, just to name a few.  11 oz Value $14.49

Soy Delites Travel Tin “Jasmine” ~  I am allergic to the scent of Jasmine, so this will be gifted away.  Once again, my tin candles come dented.  I do not know why this is happening all the time, but now that I have a candle that I wish to gift, the damn thing has a dent in it!  I need to let them know that they have to wrap the tin candles as well as the box is huge and the candles are bumping up against each other, causing the dings.  I do have a coupon to their shop included in this month’s box, so I might have to go ahead and get Cucumber Melon, Ginger Sandlewood, Ginger Lemongrass and Midnight Fig  :)  This travel soy candle has a burn time of 25 hours.   Soy Delites also included a really nice cylinder of matches.  4 oz  Value $7.99


I think I will gift the Lilac candle to my mom, as she will love it!  The Jasmine one will also be gifted too.  I did really like the Peony scent.  This month’s value was a bit low, clocking in at $33.48 and I paid $34.00 for my box.  That said, it was a very heavy box, due to the Lilac candle (HUGE!!), so I do have to take that in account.   Honestly, I love supporting artisans who make eco-friendly products, so I do not mind that the box value is about what I paid for it.

Flickerbox also has a store, where you purchase candles that were featured in their past boxes.

Do you subscribe to Flickerbox?  What did you think of this month’s candles?  Let me know in the comments below!


[ descriptions in italics from the product linked website ]

3 thoughts on “Unboxing May 2015 Flicker Box!

  1. My tin came dented as well, I was not overjoyed by the floral scents as I am more into exotic and spice scents. I did however enjoy the Peony candle however Jasmine was a bit strong for my taste.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. me too! I love exotic/spice scents as well as citrus, pine and mint scents. I guess florals are just at the bottom of my list. The Peony is nice as it is a light scent🙂 I made a suggestion on their FB page for a tropical fruits theme when they displayed the pineapple candle – haha


Leave a Reply

