April 2015: Products I really like a lot!

These are products I really like a lot for April and there was some very late submissions, which is why they are not in the above main group photo shot ~ they got their own little grouping here🙂

Let me know if the comments if you have tried any of these products and what you thought of them.  Or if you have some favorite items that I might be interested in trying out!   If I have reviewed the product here on my blog earlier,  I will repeat the comments I made on that product here.   Where you can purchase the items ~ I usually embed the link with the name of product heading, which is above the main image or if I am doing a collection, the link will be in the actual product name.


Innisfree it’s real squeeze Bija Facial Masks

I love facial sheet masks in general and there are a lot out there to choose from.  Why did Innisfree Bija make it to this month’s favorite products?  I’ve used it before and it is one of those unassuming and not very sexy type of ingredient (like snail or bee or fermented bird poop) mask and therefore gets overlooked.  However, The 3B Box added it in the April box, and it reminded me of WHY I adore this mask ~ if I am in a shop that sells it, I always add 3 to 5 of them in my cart.  I find this mask to be one of the best ones out there for helping my oily skin.  It seems that there are two different types of packaging, but it is the same mask ~ I took photos of both versions of the packaging ~ the ingredients are the same.  Here is my original information on the Biji Facial mask

Innisfree Bija Sheet Mask ~ MY ABSOLUTE favorite Innisfree sheet mask “flavor”!  Bija is perfect for oily skin and I purchase these all the time.  Just as it is confusing in the description ~ Bija = Torreya nucifera = Japanese nutmeg-yew.  I love the silk-like material they use for the sheet mask.

Description: Innisfree products are known for their focus on natural ingredients and this sheet mask is no exception. Natural extracts provide your skin with the essential treatment for a specific skin concern. For a rejuvenating experience and to achieve smoother and healthier looking skin add this mask sheet to your skin care routine.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Ethanol, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Betaine, Xanthan Gum, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ethylhexylglycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Bija Oil(1mg), Sodium Hyaluronate, Tangerine Peel Extract, Orchid Extract,  Green Tea Extract, Camellia Leaf Extract, Prickly Pear Extract, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance cosDNA.com analysis

More Information

3-layer artificial silk mask uses Bija Oil, tangerine peel extract, green tea extract, and other botanicals to gentle soothe irritated and acne-prone skin while energizing lackluster tired skin.  3-layered mask stays moist for longer to allow for maximum pampering and time for essences in the mask to seep deep within the skin.

  • Bija oil soothes troubled and irritated skin
  • Herb complex revitalizes tired skin
  • Hydrates skin enhancing glow
    Experience bija’s excellent soothing effects!
  • The nutmeg is a rare ingredient that can only be used after it has endured 20 years of survival in the wild.
  • Its hardy properties allow for the skin to be gently smoothed and for the skin’s natural defense system to be enhanced.
  • A refreshing face mask made from the torreya oil to clear your skin!
  1. It’s real squeeze mask with torreya oil: The fruits of the torreya tree have been highly appreciated and used as a precious ingredient.
  2. Jeju green complex:  Jeju green complex that consists of green tea, tangerine, cactus, camelia leaves and orchid keep your skin healthy.
  3. Triple layered sheet: This triple layer sheet has a long-lasting moisturizing effect so that the essence can be absorbed into the skin.
image from http://www.innisfreeworld.com/product/productView.do?prdSeq=10173&eventSeq=0&catCd01=UA#


Tom Ford Black Orchid Perfume

Tom Ford Black Orchid Perfume comes in a very plain black art deco bottle, yet contains the most amazing scent.   The mixture of orchid, plum, patchouli, truffle, chocolate, vanilla ~  all make this scent a woman’s perfume.  This is no little girl flowery perfume.  This is a woman’s scent, confident, secure and independent, it is warm, earthy, and feminine without being subservient.  This has a dark, smokey and sweet balance and it all works.  A little goes a long way, and it may seem overpowering at first, but it settles down to a nice soft scent that lasts with you all day long.   A friend of mine, who has very little interest in makeup or perfume at all, smelled this on me and told her daughter at once, that this was what she wanted for her Christmas present (she hadn’t gotten a gift yet – lol)   This is one of my favorite scents.   Tom Ford also makes Velvet Orchid ~ contains citrus and vanilla notes ~ which I now will save up pennies to get that one as well.

Description: The custom grown (and über rare) TOM FORD BLACK ORCHID is the show-stopping note in this incredibly luxurious scent. Sultry woods and rich fruit accords help to bring out the skin’s natural perfume, and the jet-black, art-deco inspired bottle adds to the fragrances overall glamour.

Black Orchid was created by perfume creators of fragrance company Givaudan in 2006. It was announced as oriental chypre. The top notes are black truffle, ylang-ylang, black currant and effervescent citrus. In the floral-spicy heart, dwells the Tom Ford‘s black orchid, imaginary more than real, and the base combines woodsy notes (patchouli and sandalwood), dark chocolate, incense, amber, vetiver, vanilla and balsam.

Black Orchid is opulent, classically dark; its fragrance is in line with the best creations of the best perfume houses. Luxurious and sensual fragrance with rich dark trace of black orchid and spices, modern and timeless. ” It remains to be said that Black Orchid is long lasting and with wide spread aura.

Notes: Black Truffle, Black Orchid, Black Plum, Noir Gourmand Accord, Patchouli.

Style: Luxurious. Sensual. Timeless

It’s Skin Mangowhite Body Mist

I received this body mist in my Memebox Easter Mystery Box.  Going from the heady sublime scent of Black Orchid to the light sweet tropical body mist ~ I love the scent from the Mangowhite line from It’s Skin.  I received their makeup remover wipes in one of my Beauteque bags and the scent is a light, delicate fruity floral and it is perfect for springtime.   The initial scent is strongly scented with alcohol, but that quickly evaporates and you are left with the clean, crisp scent.   This is made from Mangosteen, not mangos, which is a completely different fruit.  This has other fruity extracts in it, such as lime, grapefruit, acerola, and papaya and I really enjoy body mists in the warmer months.

Ingredients: Purified water, alcohol, propylene glycol, gracinia mangostana (mangosteen) peel extract, citrus aurantifolia (lime) extract, malpighia emarginata (acerola) extract, citrus paradisi (grapefruit) extract, carica papaya (papaya) fruit extract, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, PPG-26-Buteth-26,  benzophenone-4, sodium citrate, disodium EDTA, citric acid, yellow No. 6 (CI 15985),  Red No. 4 (CI 14700), Red No. 33 (CI 14700), fragrance cosDNA.com analysis

Lioele Intensive Time Reversing Snail Cream

I received this free from Lioele Texas and I wish I had tried this at the end of fall first!   It made my April’s favorite products as I just finished it and just in time too ~ the months are warming up!   Why I love it:  I find that its texture and finish is perfect for the cooler months and will use in the late fall, winter and early spring.    It did not cause any breakout or rashes, and my skin felt moisturized and hydrated, without being greasy or oily.  I do think this anti-aging gel-cream is perfect for those of us who are looking for an anti-aging cream but have oily/normal-to-oily skin types.   I find that in the warmer temperatures, it is a bit too dewy for me and does not mattify my skin enough for when the temperatures warm up, and I am already an oil slick to begin with.  However, for the cooler months, this is not an issue as my skin doesn’t shine like it does during the summer.   If you like a more dewy finish, you can use this year round.   This is just a personal preference for me, and is not a negative reflection on this product.  This is going to be my HG product for the cooler months.   Here is my original review of this product, slightly edited for this blog post.

This is a gel cream, which for those of us with oily skin or oily to normal skin, is the preferred texture, as it is lightweight but still very hydrating.  I do not suffer any adverse reactions with this moisturizer, as I did not break out in acne and BONUS ~  it is also a wrinkle and whitening product.   One of the issues I always have is finding a good anti-aging cream that isn’t heavy, greasy and doesn’t cause acne.  By far, most “crone” creams (ahaha) are usually made for drier skin types and us ladies who have oily skin suffer as we age, as the oil production hasn’t stopped, nor has the acne, but we get wrinkles and hyper-pigmentation.  So, I am always pleased to find a cream that works well for my skin, while combating anti-aging and oil control at the same time!

This cream comes in the prettiest jar ~ it has a mirrored finish, multifaceted jewel-like case and the matte gold-finish lid has a slightly raised matte bronze dots in a swirl pattern.  The presentation is very nice and this is a product that you would keep out in the open to be admired!   It comes with a spatula to help scoop out the cream ~ I am a fingers person, so I rarely use spatulas. This product has a slight floral scent to it, however, it is not very strong and it fades quickly.

This is an intensive nutritional cream, full of antioxidants ~ many from the snail slime ~  collagen, allantoin, glycolic acid, Vitamin A, C and E, plus antimicrobial peptides, which help moisturize and stimulate collagen production.   Snail filtrate and polypeptides will increase skin elasticity and increase firmness, and niacinamide will brighten your skin tone and help fade sun/age damage spots.  It also contains adenosine, which is an anti-wrinkle ingredient.

My skin felt soft and smooth, very moist without being greasy or sticky, with a cooling sensation initially.   The hydration lasts all day for me, my face never “dried” out and my foundation went on smoothly and evenly over this product.  I have been using this for almost a month now, and my face has not had any major breakouts, rashes or any irritation with this cream.  I like the texture of this cream, and how it makes my skin feel and look, which is clear and clean.

Ingredients: water, butylene glycol, propylene glycol, phyto squalane, niacinamide, snail secretion filtrate (67%),  macadamia ternifolia seed oil, cetearyl alcohol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, glyceryl stearate SE, glycerin, dimethicone, cyclopentasiloxane, cyclohexasiloxane, stearic acid, arachidyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, behenyl alcohol, sorbitan stearate, arachidyl glucoside, arginine,  centella asiatica extract, epilobium angustifolum flower/leaf/stem extract, allantoin, carbomer,  tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), hydrolyzed collagen, adenosine, disodium EDTA, donkey milk, polyacrylamide,  C13-14 isoparaffin, laureth-7, palmitoyl oligopeptide, palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7, polysorbate 20, phenoxyethanol, propylparaben, methylparaben, fragrance cosDNA.com  analysis



Secret Key Lemon D-Toc Peeling Gel

I received this in a Memebox last July and I finally got around using it.  I found that I use peeling gels more in the warmer months than the cooler months, as I have more oil build-up during spring/summer.  This is a great product, very gentle yet effective in deep cleaning and clearing out the gunk in your pores and removing dead skin, by using your own oils in your face + this gel to help attract and ball up these impurities so you can easily wash it away.  My original review (again, slightly edited for this blog post)

What are peeling gels? Good question…. Peeling gels are not peels ~ they are actually non-physical exfoliators that use fruit enzymes to dissolve dead skin cells and unclog pores, which you can see as you massage it onto your skin. They revitalize and refresh the skin and only remove a small amount of superficial skin.  Peeling gels must be applied to clean, DRY skin, otherwise, they do not work as well.  Peeling gels should also have an alpha hydroxy acid (glycolic, citric, lactic) as this acid helps in removing dead skin cells ~ lemons and papayas naturally contain alpha hydroxy acids.   Another common ingredient is hyaluronic acid, as that will increase moisture and hydration and improve your skin’s texture and tone 

Secret Key Lemon D-Toc Peeling Gel ~  This gommage type gel contains 90ppm of Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Water, which is produced by using a steam distillation, extracting from the fruit of the lemon.  It also contains 10ppm of Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract.  Lemon not only has Vitamin C, which gives moisture and evens out your skin tone, helping lessen hyper-pigmentation, brightening your skin tone.  Vitamin C is also good for detoxing your skin and unclogging your pores.  This product contains Vitamin C, A, B, retinol and beta carotene and is a hydrating moisturizer as well.

The gel is a creamy white with no scent of lemon (sobs).   I did do the dish test and this does not ball up when I rub it into a ceramic dish, which means that this product is not overloaded with the cross-polymer fibers (a good thing!)   My face does feel remarkably smooth and silky after I use this product and my pores look to be clear of gunk!

This contains some other good ingredients besides the lemon extracts

  • Broccoli ~ Broccoli is a superfood it not only contains antioxidants like beta-carotene and Vitamin C, it also has Vitamin B complex, Vitamin E ~ which creates radiant skin and shiny hair as it revives skin tissue, Vitamin A and K, Omega 3 Fatty Acids, Amino Acids and Folic Acid (Vitamin B9).  All of these vitamins help care for your skin and keep it glowing and healthy.  Broccoli also contains glucoraphanin, a phytonutrient, which has been reported in reversing sun damage on your skin.
  • Papaya ~ Papaya contains an enzyme called peptin, which is a natural exfoliator, making your skin smooth, vibrant and healthy.  Peptin cures a variety of skin issues, such as acne, dry skin and premature again.   Papaya also is an antioxidant, as it has Vitamins A, C and E along with carotenoids, helping to reduce inflammation of your skin, as well as nourishing it. 
  • Witch Hazel ~ Has antibacterial and antiseptic qualities which helps clear up acne and it removes excess oil from skin.  It also helps shrinks blood vessels, which tightens our skin.  Witch Hazel can speed up healing and is a powerful anti-inflammatory, which also helps soothe skin.  Finally, Witch Hazel refreshes and rejuvenates skin, refines the pores and seal in moisture.
  • Aloe Vera ~ Aloe Vera is a powerful moisturizer that doesn’t leave your skin feeling oily or greasy.   It soothes, treats inflammation, helps speed up skin healing and also has a plethora of antioxidants ~  beta-carotene, Vitamin C and Vitamin E, which help improve your skin’s firmness and keeps your skin moist and hydrated.  It also contains over 75 different nutritious ingredients, including minerals, enzymes,  amino acids, salicylic acid and much more
  • Sodium Hyaluronate ~ SH will help attract and absorb water more effectively and will result in smoother, softer skin and will pump up your skin, so your wrinkles and fine lines will be have the appearance of reduction.

I’ve taken a photo shot of the gel on my hand

Product Description: Lemon water and lemon extracts with high level of Vitamin C provide deep hydration and smooth out uneven skin complexion by peeling away impurities. This Peeling Gel is very effective for de-toxing and brightening the skin. An extremely gentle, non-irritaing peeling gel for treating enlarged pores, uneven and dull skin tone and any unnecessary dead skin cells, the Lemon D-toc peeling gel works to soothe an detoxify your skin by peeling away all excess residue piled up.


Ingredients: Purified Water, Cetrimonium Chloride, Cellulose, Propylene Glycol, Carbomer, Polysorbate 80, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Water (90ppm), Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract (10ppm), Althaea Rosea (hollyhock) Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract,  Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Sodium Hyaluronate, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Algae Extract, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Extract, 1,2-Hexanediol, Zanthoxylum Piperitum (Sichuan pepper) Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis



Lipsticks ….or war paint

Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Walkyrie   This is described as a warm coral red creme ~ I found it to be more deep brown-rose than red, and it is an amazing shade.  I love how spicy it looks, it glides on smoothly, without being too drying.  As far as long lasting, I cannot say ~ ALL lipstick + my lips = never last long ever.   But it does have a tint as it fades, that I can tell you!  I know I rant on orange lipsticks, but that is only for orange lipsticks that are screaming bright orange or a pale orange that makes my mouth disappear.   Bold, darker orange-peach-coral shades are just fine by me.

Starlooks Ultra Matte LipSlicks  I love the formula of these lipslicks, it glides on like lipgloss, is glossy initially and then it will dry down to a lovely matte.   I picked 3 colors from their 6 color lineup ~ lust, wild and sultry.  Lust is the paler shade, a lovely rose shade.  Wild is a deeper shade of a smokey orchid and Sultry is a deep plum color.   Lust and Wild are leaning towards a neutral side of the purple-pink family and Wild is not a screaming bright plum, but a deep, dark vampy shade of plum.

  1. Nars Walkyrie
  2. Starlooks Sultry
  3. Starlooks Lust
  4. Starlooks Wild


Starlooks was nice enough to swatch all of their lipslicks for me, so if you are interested in the other shades, here is their swatch sample.  Colors in order from left to right: Allure, Smitten, Infatuated, Wild, Lust, Sultry

KeVita Mojito Lime Mint Coconut Sparkling Probiotic Drink

I rarely have food items in my favorite blog posts ~ this might be the first time, in fact!  However, I have to give two major thumbs up for this beverage.   KeVita loves your guts and you should too!  Probiotics are something I have to take daily as I have intestinal issues, between IBS and losing a foot of my lower intestine.   I am always looking for new ways to ingest probiotics and I saw this drink, in several flavors, and picked out two of them ~ one in a lemon cayenne and lime mint coconut.   I tried the lemon version first and was meh, okay.  It took me a week before trying this one AND WOW.   This is bright sparkling drink really packs the lime taste and then the coconut and mint mixes in just under the radar.  But it is the lime that I taste and I love it.  Great thing about this drink ~ for 8 oz, it contains 5 calories, 0 fat, 45 mg sodium, 1 gram carbs, 1 gram of sugar and 8% RDA of Vitamin C.  How great is that sugar and carb count?   This contains the live probiotic culture Bacillus coagulans GBI-30 6086, L.rhamnosus, L.paracasei, L.plantarum, which helps you have a healthy digestive system.  KeVita has tons of other flavors too ~ I am interested in trying out their lemon-ginger, tangerine and mango-coconut.

Description: Sassy and sweet, KeVita Mojita is a fresh new flavor with a hint of mint and a twist of lime. Experience a mojito mocktail with no added sugar and just ten calories per bottle. KeVita Mojita is a great way to enjoy this classic flavor. Every bottle is full of revitalizing flavor, probiotics and ocean minerals, minus the rum! KeVita Mojita is certified organic and non-GMO, low calorie, vegan, and dairy, lactose, and gluten free. Stevia sweetened. Contains no added sugar.

image from http://kevita.com/products/sparkling-probiotics/mojita/


Orange Crush

These three items came in late for April but I didn’t want to wait until my May favorite products blog post, as I have to RAVE about these items now.  All three of this items work beautifully together.

Pony Easy Glam Shine 3 in #03 Orange Bloom

Top Row:  (left) Glam Nude Beige, (right) Glam Gold Orange
Bottom Row: (left) Shine Brown Orange, (right) Shine Copper Brown

These colors are beautiful ~ more than I imaged they would be.  I purchased the Orange Bloom, as I do not have any colors like this in my eyeshadow collection, or at least, not as much as I do with the browns and pinks.  The quality of these shadows are also fantastic ~ I wonder if they changed the formulas, because there is not that much fall out with the glitter shades and I find these to be much more pigmented than Pony 2 and the Nylon palette.  These colors are so lovely for spring and summer.


All colors were swatched without primer and only swiped twice on the arm.  There is no fall out of pigment that I can see and these are lovely soft shades that have good pigmentation.

  1. Glam Nude Beige ~ a peachy neutral shade. Not matte, there is a little bit of shimmer in it, but not that much
  2. Glam Gold Orange ~ a lovely soft glitter peach-orange
  3. Shine Brown Orange ~ a bright (but not obnoxious) orange shimmer
  4. Shine Copper Brown ~ a dark copper brown shimmer

Here is what Memebox had for swatches on their website


Pony Blossom Lipstick in #01 Rose Garden

I just received this lipstick late in April as this is a new release on Memebox USA.  This lipstick is made with a white flower complex, honey and shea butter.  Pony Blossom Rose Garden lipstick is very creamy and glide on smoothly without tugging.  This is a semi-matte finish, which means they do have some luster to them and they are moisturizing.  I found them to be highly pigmented and just beautiful colors.  Rose Garden is a muted brick-reddish-orange shade.  I was hoping that it would be this color and not just “red”.  Only one swipe of the lipstick below.




Jouer Mineral Powder Blush in Peach Bouquet

Mineral Powder Blush in Peach Bouquet   I received this in my Spring 2015 Jouer Le Matchbox and am in love with this beautiful golden peachy shimmer blush ~ just lovely for summertime!  This has pearl powder, mica, quartz and gold to give a radiant glow and Japanese green tea powder, vitamins A, C and E for anti-aging benefits to help against free radical damage.   This mineral, oil free powder is so smooth and silky and while it is pigmented, it is a soft shade, with little fallout.  It looks so bright in the pan, but it really is a glowing soft peach shade.    It really goes well with Pony 3 Orange Bloom eyeshadow quad and the Pony Blossom Rose Garden lipstick gives these lovely shimmery colors a weight as it is darker and deeper in tone.

I actually swatched all of the colors together, along with Nars Walkyrie, as I think Walkyrie is also a great shade to wear with these colors as well.

  1. Jouer Peach Bouquet 
  2. Pony Blossom Rose Garden
  3. Nars Walkyrie
  4. Pony 3 Orange Bloom: Glam Nude Beige 
  5. Pony 3 Orange Bloom: Glam Gold Orange 
  6. Pony 3 Orange Bloom: Shine Brown Orange
  7. Pony 3 Orange Bloom: Shine Copper Brown


I hoped you enjoyed reading about my favorite products in this April 2015 edition.  This month had a lot of makeup, which is rare for me!    Let me know if you have tried any of these products, what you think about these products or comment on your own favorite recent finds!  I am currently testing out some products from CosRX ~ I purchased this amazing kit at Wishtrend: AHA/BHA Clarifying Treatment Toner,  Hyaluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence and Hyaluronic Acid Intensive Cream ~  so look for that review in the next few weeks.  I am pretty excited about these products and this is the first time I’ve used anything from CosRX.

[ descriptions in italics are from the linked product’s website ]

[ this blog post contains affiliate links ]



4 thoughts on “April 2015: Products I really like a lot!

  1. Thanks for giving such a detailed review, I love how all your reviews give so much information, it’s very helpful in determining if I want to try one of the products for myself. I am anxiously awaiting my Jouer box, which will be here Tuesday, as I love the look of that peach mineral blush! I also have the same Nars lipstick and I love it, but it doesn’t stay on long….but none of my lipsticks do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you! I have the same issue with lipsticks myself, so I never judge them if they are longwearing or not!! Let me know how you like the Jouer box – I think it is a great sub!


Leave a Reply

