Unboxing April 2015 Starlooks Starbox

We are down to the final months of the old Starlooks subscription service.  I mentioned in March’s blog post, that Starlooks was going to revamp their whole sub service, and I am still reserving judgement about their new service.  I will wait to see what the first few months look like and then decide if I want to stay with Starlooks.  Based on what they have said, I don’t think I will, but never say never.   I liked Starlooks because it was one of my few only makeup subs and now they are branching out to “lifestyle” stuff and giving “coupons” that will be as money with other vendors.  Sorry, but I RARELY use the coupons I get in my other subs, and I don’t like the idea that Starlooks is making this part of the box.  Anyway, you can read what they are doing  here (at the bottom of the post).

Starlook’s Starbox theme for April is Refresh (aka, clearing out the old stuff and using their subscribers as a dumping ground)

It’s officially Spring and time for Spring Cleaning! But that doesn’t have to mean spending hours on your hands and knees deep scrubbing your abode… it also means a fresh start!  This month’s Starbox features two, refreshing, mystery lip items – as well as another BRAND NEW Starlooks product that is guaranteed to become a staple in your cosmetic bag! A tool for every makeup lover and artist. This tool will help you perfect and define any lip or eye look you can image.

Informational Card

Starbox Revealed!

Lip Pencil in Tickle Me Pink, Makeup Remover Pen, Lip Gloss in Tipsy


So, this is what Starlooks said about the lip products:  “It’s Spring and there’s no better time than now to start fresh and experiment with new shades and looks!  Starlooks is currently in the process of inventing new colors and formulas that you’ll be seeing in the new, revamped Starboxes coming in May!  So we’ve been sending out a lot of lip items lately, to be sure that our beloved subscribers get these one-of-kind colors before they are gone forever!”

So, even though the photo has the model with a pretty pale mauve lip shade, that isn’t what I received.  Everyone is bound to get something different.  And that last sentence is so wrong on so many levels.  Read on.

Lip Pencil in Tickle Me Pink ~ one-of-kind color?  Refresh box?  I got this in an Ipsy bag in June 2013.  I don’t think so Starlooks.  It was an awful color on me then ~ this is a matte, cool-toned, medium toned bright pink.   With my pale warm toned skin, I look like a clown.  I’ve seen other ladies really pull this color off, but I am not one of them.  Also, this is not a one-of-kind color.  You don’t love me Starlooks by giving me a lip pencil that has been in other bags.  Value $13.00

Description: Starlooks’ long-lasting, full-coverage Lip Liner enhances the shape of your lips and gives them perfect contour and definition, with high-end quality you’ve never before experienced. This creamy, moisturizing formula glides on softly to smooth lips and ensure lipstick stays in place, while extending its wear. Can also be used as an allover, highly-pigmented lip color.

Lip Gloss in Tipsy ~  Last month ~ a clear lip gloss.  This month, a nude peach color that just makes me look like I have no lips.  Seriously, Starlooks has other lipglosses that are just beautiful.  WTF?  Oh, I know ~ this is one that they have had for AGES and cannot move the damn color.  Value $13.00

Description: A truly moisturizing, non-sticky formula available in 47 different shades. Tint ranges from sheer to opaque and finish ranges from shimmer to satin. This creamy, glassy, long-lasting gloss adds a glistening effect to any lip look. Designed to be worn alone or in combination with other Starlooks lip products for a truly customizable finish that completes any look. Each tinted Lip Gloss comes beautifully packaged in a translucent tube with a doe foot applicator.

Makeup Remover Pen ~   This is a new item to Starlooks and it helps remove unwanted fall out or make-up boo-boo’s.  This also helps define your eye and lip designs as well (not that I do eye or lip designs..)  This will be handy when I use my loose eyeshadows as I do get fall out from that.  Value $14.00

Uggh.  Two months in a row with the crappy boxes.  I hated last month’s and now this month is also a complete dud.  I will try the Makeup Remover Pen as it sounds interesting and I will use that.  As far as the theme, Refresh my ass.  Old products that were in past Starboxes, ipsy bags and even were value kits at Starlooks.  They are just clearing out their old stuff and using their Starbox customers as dumping grounds.  I guess I wouldn’t mind IF the colors worked for me and they were new to me, but they don’t work for me and they aren’t new to me.   The total value of this box was $40.00 and I paid $17.68.   What a waste of money, seriously.   BTW – I received my Target Spring box today and that is a major hit for me, and only cost me $5.00!   That unboxing is coming up next.

Did you subscribe to Starlooks Starbox?  If so, what did you think of this month’s box?

If you would like to subscribe to the Starlooks Starbox, I would love it if you used my referrer link – please click here  http://starbox.starlooks.com/subscribe?refer=58876


[ descriptions in italics from starlooks.com ]

4 thoughts on “Unboxing April 2015 Starlooks Starbox

  1. I too subscribe to this box and have to say that this month was a miss for me as well. I’m totally anxious to see what they come up with, though, on their new rollout. Fingers crossed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t received mine yet. I wonder about the contents now since I also did the “Mystery items” (which I also have yet to receive). I hope there is no overlap. I ended up cancelling because of the proposed changes and migrated over to So Susan’s Lip Love, which costs pretty much the same for me, and love it a lot more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am thinking that the Jouer Le Matchbox might be enough for me on a quarterly basis…I really think I should cancel this, but I am curious to see what the first month of their “new” sub looks like, firsthand…. oh decisions of a first world nature – lol


Leave a Reply

