Unboxing April 2015 Flicker Box!

My third Flicker Box and each box is just getting better and better!  This month’s theme is “In The Kitchen”, so you know it has some great foodie candle scents and they brought back fan favorite candle makers to feature in this box.

What is Flicker Box?

Flicker Box is inspired by a love and appreciation for handmade candles. We believe that people appreciate products produced by quality artisans made in the United States. We want to connect candle lovers with people who love to make candles.

Each Flicker Box contains a variety of artisanal candles made from candle artists from around the United States. We share their story and ship subscribers a delightfully curated box right to their doorstep. Flicker box costs as low as $25/month and can be purchased as an automatically-renewing monthly subscription or 3, 6, or 12 month term subscriptions.  from http://myflickerbox.com/about


Information Card


Aerial View

From top, going clockwise: Paddywax “Blood Orange + Citrus“, 4th Street Candle Co “Southern Apple Pie“, Copper & Kraft No.154 “Lemon Pound Cake“, Lights Out “Wild Ginger


Paddywax “Blood Orange + Citrus”   ~ I have had Paddywax candles before and I love their subtle scents.  This is a 100% soy wax candle with a cotton wick, with a lovely orange and grapefruit scent to it.   I really like this delicate scent of citrus.  Paddywax’s candles are all hand-poured and are made in Nashville, TN.  The little glass jar that this candle comes in is a lovely amber-orange shade with cushion squares.   3 oz jar Value $10.00 

4th Street Candle Co “Southern Apple Pie”  ~  This is the full sized candle, I believe, in this box and 4th Street Candle Co is an etsy shop, who makes their candles are GMO free pure soy wax, phthalate free fragrances, cotton & paper wicks and 100% dye free.   This is a lovely creamy candle with such a powerful scent ~ I can smell apples, cinnamon and other spices and it really is nice!    The owner is located in Monroe, MI (I know where that is ~ I grew up outside of Detroit!) and Southern Apple Pie is her top selling scent  ~ and I don’t doubt it :)  Really a great scent ~ makes me hungry for some homemade apple pie right about now.   8 oz jar Value $12.00

Copper & Kraft No.154 “Lemon Pound Cake” ~  Another etsy shop featured in this month’s box , and this time the company is located in Syracuse, NY.   This does smell like a buttery, sugary pound cake with lemon zest.  I read the description after I wrote my description and I was shocked how close I got to their description :)  It really does smell like lemon pound cake, I kid you not!  I try not to look up the vendor’s page and description until after I sniff and write down my thoughts on the scent, just to see how well I match up with their vision.    Copper & Kraft’s candles are made with natural soy wax, lead free cotton wicks, phthalate free fragrance oils and no dyes.  4 oz  Value $6.75

Description: “Zesty lemon baked into a buttery yellow sponge cake, topped with a powdered sugar glaze.”

Lights Out “Wild Ginger”  ~ I think this is my favorite of the four candles.  I love ginger and I can smell the spicy scent and there is a fruity undertone that reminds me of a winter holiday ~ and when I looked up the scent it is plum and vanilla!   Lights Out is out of Austin, TX and they hand pour their soy wax blended candles.   They have some really interesting scents in their shop and I hope Flickerbox features them again!  This tin got a bit banged up as it was not wrapped.  The glass jars were wrapped, but Flickerbox didn’t wrap the tin ones and they need to do that, as the tin candles do get dented.  If I wanted to gift this, I couldn’t.  I will make that suggestion to them.  2 oz Value $7.00

Description: “Spice kick of ginger balanced with hints of rich plum and vanilla. “


This month’s box is, by far, my favorite.  I love all of the scents and I was hard pressed to choose my favorite, but I did ~ which is the Wild Ginger.     I paid $34.00 for my box and received a value of $35.75.    If you are looking for unique, hand crafted, eco-friendly candles and want to support small businesses and artisans, you should try out Flickerbox!   Remember, the price includes shipping and this month’s box was pretty heavy with the 2 glass candles, so take that into account about the value.

Flickerbox also has a store, where you purchase candles that were featured in their past boxes.

Do you subscribe to Flickerbox?  What did you think of this month’s candles?  Let me know in the comments below!


[ descriptions in italics from the product linked website ]

Leave a Reply

