Plum Deluxe April 2015 Tea of the Month Review

I signed up with Plum Deluxe’s Tea of the Month after receiving some delicious samples from Andy Hayes, the founder of Plum Deluxe Teas.  You can read my review here.

image from

Plum Deluxe has an online shop, where you can purchase teas ~ caffeinated, herbal, non-caffeinated ~ all blended by Plum Deluxe.    They also offer a Tea of the Month Club

  • $10.00/monthly ~ One 1 oz of tea each month (approx 15-20 cups)
  • $18.00/monthly ~ Two 1 oz of tea each month  (2 blends, approx 30-40 cups total)

Both subscriptions offer the following benefits

  • Tea club member benefits (free shipping on teas & tea bags, 15% savings on tea accessories, monthly special partner discounts, and more)
  • Access to private tea lover’s community
  • Monthly tea pairings, recipes & tip guides
  • Tea of the month blends are all limited-edition, hand-blended just for subscribers.

It looks like that Plum Deluxe is going to be a “surprise scoop” in each bag, which was one of the things I had been wishing they would do!  I am really excited about this subscription as the owners do listen to customer’s feedback.

Here is my April 2015 Plum Deluxe Tea of the Month

I received 2 1 oz teas which are packaged in recyclable plastic baggies, enclosed in a cute muslin bag with Plum Deluxe’s logo.  Now, I did receive a duplicate, as I had the Mindful Morning Black Tea last month.  There was some confusion around my email addresses ~ I have a blog email address and a subscription one and since my initial review was under my blog address, that is why I got a duplicate item.  Plum Deluxe does not send out duplicates, and Andy got back to me promptly and I was able to pick out another tea from their shop.    My review of the Mindful Morning Black Tea is here and it is a great tasting tea, btw.

Apricot Meadow Herbal Tea (no caffeine) ~ “A unique sweet/spicy flavor pairing. This is a very nice warm apricot tasting tea with a soothing delicate lemony taste from the lemongrass.  I don’t really find this to be spicy at all, but it isn’t sweet either.  I find it to be fantastic as a hot tea, and Plum Deluxe also mentions that it is great as an ice tea.  You can see the lemongrass, marigold and the apricot pieces in the tea.   This tea is not on sale at their shop.   Steep 1 teaspoon in boiling water for 3 ~5 minutes.

Ingredients:  All Organic:  Lemongrass Tea, Honeybush Apricot Tea, Apricot Pieces, Marigold Petals

I did find that this tea has some very fine pieces in it and I had to strain it twice to remove the floaties (for photo purposes).  I don’t mind little floaty tea bits in my tea, but you can see, even with straining it twice, that there is some residue.   Really, it isn’t a big deal, but in case anyone was wondering what those were, well…now you know!  I did drink this without any sugar as that is my preferred method with most teas.

Sunshine in a Cup Tea Blend (Calendula & Hibiscus)  (no caffeine)  ~  “Feel energized, loved and supported with this warming, healing blend of herbs”.  Since I could pick out another tea, I went with this one, so this month, I received 2 non-caffeinated teas.  Normally, I would have one of each.   This just has TWO ingredients in it!  This is such a cheerful looking tea with the bright orange-yellow calendula flowers,  reminds me of potpourri!   Steep 1 teaspoon in boiling water for 3 ~5 minutes. 


Ingredients: All Organic:  calendula flowers, hibiscus flowers

Ahh, I love hibiscus!  The rich ruby-red color of this tea, and the tangy calendula flowers combined with lemony-tartness of the hibiscus really hits the spot on a cool spring day.   Hibiscus is packed with antioxidants and also has a whiff of berry-like taste to it as well.  One of my favorite herbal teas and I love how the calendula complements it.   This would be GREAT iced with a spring of mint and a slice of lime.


Surprise Scoop Portland Rose City Chai ~”Sip a bit of Oregon in your cuppa”.  I love Chai tea, but I am not sure about rose in my tea.   I will probably give this to another tea lover, as I do have an allergic reaction to rose on my skin, so I am not too sure about digesting it.  I love all of the other ingredients in here, but the rose petals are too risky for me.

Ingredients: Black Tea, Almond Rooibos, Oregon Rose Petals, Cardamom, Ginger, Cinnamon, Lemongrass, Blackberry Essence.


I really enjoyed this month’s tea collection.  I hope that Plum Deluxe makes some spicy teas, like a ginger-pepper one, as that would be something I would love to try out.  Have you tried Plum Deluxe Teas?  Are you interested in trying them?  Click on the below links to learn more about:

If you join their Tea of the Month Club, it looks like they will include a free Tea Moments Journal, a $5.00 value, which will ship with your May 2015 order.  If you subscribe, please let them know that you found out about there service from here,🙂


[  descriptions in italics from ]


Leave a Reply

