Unboxing March 2015 Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet!

Another winner from Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet bag theme this month!    For those who are not aware of what Notoriously Morbid is, they are an indie beauty company, specializing in eyeshadows and lippies, and it is $12.90 a month.   Every month, more slots are available, so follow their facebook page and also their facebook group to learn more about deals and when new collections are available.

Due to my ever-growing pile of makeup, I have cancelled this subscription, for now.  I just have SO much makeup and eyeshadow and I really need to make a dent in what I have.  My cancellation is not a reflection of the service ~ I love it and I wish I had a room dedicated to makeup, but I don’t!  It is more that I have to use what I have, as I have so much.   And this does open up a spot in the VC for someone else to try, and hopefully they will enjoy it as much as I have over the last several months.

This month’s theme is GODS BE GOOD, which is a Game of Thrones theme ~ and I adore GoT!

Do you keep with the Old Gods or the New?
March 2015 Vanishing Cabinet

image from http://www.notoriouslymorbid.com/

oh well….May looks to be “Once Upon A Time” themed, Dearie.  And I love that show as well…What a time to cancel!  Dayam, why couldn’t the Jem collection be in May and the OUAT in January?  I will be haunting the overstocks.  I just cannot resub.  No mas makeup!   This month also had the reformulated lip balm from last month’s collection, due to a taste issue.

Top Row: With Sword & Shield, Stern & Strong, Fates Untold, Geek Chic Kingslayer “Win or Die”

Bottom Row: Gift of Life, Lover’s Sigh, Fire Bright


“With Sword & Shield”   Pray to the Warrior for strength.   Much like the ripples in Valeryian steel, this shadow can’t simply be one color. It goes back and forth from silver to gold to pewter. This is a darker color and I would say its primary shade is pewter, with flashes of silver, gold and green.  Very nice as a lid color, Stern & Strong as an outer eye contour. 

image from awoiaf.westeros.org

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide,Chromium Oxide Green, Iron Oxide, Carnauba Wax *Vegan **Lip safe.

“Stern & Strong”  Pray to the Father for justice.  A slate gray with green and purple shimmer.  This is the darker cousin to With Sword & Shield, with its primary grey color and a very strong purple shift.

image from awoiaf.westeros.org

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Tin Oxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Carnauba Wax. *Vegan **Not lip safe.

“Fates Unfold”  Pray to the Crone for guidance.  A plum wine shadow is hidden beneath this strong green shift.  This is the most prettiest color I have ever seen.  It is a dragonfly!  I cannot wait to wear this one.   As a proud member of Crones, I am glad that she got the loveliest color in the collection!  haha

image from awoiaf.westeros.org

Ingredients: Titanium dioxide, mica, magnesium stearate, iron oxide, ultramarine, Chromium Oxide Green, Carnauba Wax.  *Vegan **Not lip safe.

Geek Chic from the “Win or Die” Collection ~ Kingslayer   “A pearly white cloak of the Kingsguard which shines copper and golden in the light. The Kingslayer is iridescent, as multi-faceted and complex as the man himself. Kingslayer makes for a lovely highlight color and can even be used on the cheeks to add a coppery glow.”  This has more color than Gift of Life, and has a peachy tone to it.  Very nice shade as an all over lid color.

Hot Damn, he looks good all scruffy looking and all…


“Gift of Life”  Pray to the Mother for mercy and empathy.  This is the first highlighting powder we’ve included in the VC! A pearly white with golden shimmers, it’s the perfect highlight shade for summer.  This is a lovely highlighter shade ~ for the cheeks, brow bone, décolleté area.  A nice size too!

image from awoiaf.westeros.org

Ingredients: Sericite Carnauba Wax, Titanium Dioxide oil, Zinc Oxide, Allantoin, Mica, Tin Oxide, Iron Oxide, Aluminum Powder, Silica. *Vegan **Not lip safe.


“Lover’s Sigh”  Pray to the Maiden for love and virtue A shimmery, vivid iris purple with contrasting purple and red shimmers.  This is such a light color, it almost registers as a matte shade to me ~ it isn’t as shimmery as the other shades, but that is okay. It is more of a satin shade, imho.   It works well with Stern & Strong.

image from awoiaf.westeros.org

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide, Magnesium Stearate, Blue #1 Al Lake, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Palmitic Acid, Preservatives, Carnauba Wax. *Vegan **Lip safe.

“Fire Bright”  Pray to the Smith for strength in these trying times.  A metallic amber red with gold, purple and blue shimmers and a silver overlay.  I know this is described as a red, but to me it registers as prune color, which isn’t bad ~ a plum-red-brown shade.  This would be great with Kingslayer

image from awoiaf.westeros.org

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide,Carmine, Iron Oxide, Copper Powder, Silicon Dioxide, Carnauba Wax. *Not Vegan **Lip safe.

And in the words of Samwell Tarly, nobody sings of the Stranger…

image from awoiaf.westeros.org




I used e.l.f.’s Essential Glitter Primer this time around and you can see the shimmers better (I hope!)

  1. Gift of Life
  2. Lover’s Sigh
  3. Fire Bright
  4. With Sword & Shield
  5. Stern & Strong
  6. Fate’s Untold
  7. Kingslayer

Ahhh, how bittersweet….My last month (for now!) and it did go out on a fantastic note ~ I love Game of Thrones and these colors are just so beautiful!   I had wanted Once Upon A Time (if you read my review for last month,  I was looking for it!!), but I have so many eyeshadows right now.   But…it is Once Upon A Time…sigh…  Such is life, I suppose

Do you subscribe to Notoriously Morbid’s Vanishing Cabinet?  What did you think of this month’s collection and do you have a favorite?   Let me know in the comments!


 [ descriptions in italics from http://www.notoriouslymorbid.com/ ]

4 thoughts on “Unboxing March 2015 Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet!

  1. I feel you! Between all my subs, Memebox overload and the VC I’ve just about rub the family out of the house! I keep thinking of canceling but, I just can’t! These are GORGEOUS colors this month!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I am trying to see if I can get May’s – cause I really want OUAT…haha I love the colors this month! I am wearing 3 of them – the crone, warrior & mother – just beautiful!


  2. I know they aren’t shipping in April, but I’ll never leave Carrie and VC. I totally LOVE everything this month.🙂
    Your fave is my fave too. I have green eyes.. and found out last week that I can’t get opaque tinted contacts any longer- so I’m stuck with only my green natural color now.
    Getting these shadows was a big boost, as I think most will look very pretty with all eye colors.. ( But I really miss the violet colored eyes. The upshoot is that I can now see!!)


Leave a Reply

