Unboxing March 2015 Beauteque Bag!

Beauteque is an online Asian beauty store, located in the USA, that specializes in K-beauty.  I have purchased several products from them and also their curated bags, which are very well done, in the past.   They offered a monthly bag, now and then, but it was not on a subscription service.  Just recently, they did launch it as a subscription service ~ you can read my blog here for more information.  For full disclosure, unless I state otherwise, all items that I review on my blog are paid for by me and this review is no exception ~ I am paying for the monthly subscription service and am not being compensated for this review.

This month’s theme is Our Lips Are Sealed.  My items came in a cute bag with lips all over it ~ I think my youngest niece might really like this bag a lot!

Informational Card





Tonymoly Pocket Hair Pack  minibling Meh, I don’t use hair packs.  My hair is fine and straight, pretty much doesn’t need this type of treatment and it isn’t long enough for a ponytail.   This leave on hair treatment contains olive oil, silk, soy protein, shea butter, argan oil, royal jelly extract and glycine, just to name a few of its nourishing ingredients, designed to help the ends of extremely damaged hair.  Full Size Value  $3.00

How To Use:  Hold the bottom of the hair pack with one hand and the top of the hair pack towards your hand.  Hold the ends of your hair with the opposite hand and insert the hair inside of the pocket.  Tie the pack with the rubber band included with the product to prevent the liquid from running.  Gently massage the hair to let it absorb the concentrated pack formula.  Leave it on for 15-30 minutes and remove the pack.  Remove the the excess formula from your hair with your hands.

image from http://www.etonymoly.com/html/ItemDetail.asp?guid=3500&cate=180

Ingredients:  Purified water, glycerin, mineral oil, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glycol, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, microcrystalline wax, polysorbate 60, shea butter, Carbomer, Triethanolamine,natto gum, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, olive oil, argan tree kernel oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, bergamot leaf extract, peppermint leaf extract, Freesia Refracta Extract, chamomile flower extract, rosemary leaf extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, royal jelly extract, Aminopropyl Dimethicone, glycine, Glutamic Acid, Lysine HCL, serine, Aspartic Acid, proline, leucine, arginine, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, propylparaben, sodium benzoate, Chlorphenesin, Ethylparaben, Disodium EDTA, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

A’Pieu Take My Hands Nail Sheet Pack  Oh which one to choose?  This was one of the 3 items we could “chose” the variety we wanted ~  I decided to go with the Avocado, as my nails are just in awful shape (from the winter and illnesses) and I thought that avocado sounded more moisturizing to me.  I do like A’pieu products so I am happy to get another one in my bag here.   Value $5.00

Key Ingredients:  Avocado Fruit Extract, Oils (Argan Oil, Macadamia Oil, Camellia Oil), Milk Protein Extract, Soy Protein Extract


image from http://w2beauty.com/en/a-pieu-nails/15977-a-pieu-take-my-hands-nail-sheet-pack-avocado.html

The Face Shop Rice Ceramide Toner  I am actually going to skip on this one.  I have tried this toner before in samples, and it seems well suited for dry/normal skin tones, as it is highly moisturizing and thick.  It also has a strong fragrance that disappears quickly.  I have very oily skin and this toner made me break out around my chin and nose, so if you are going to use it, please do a patch test first.  A bit disappointed here ~ I am always unsure why a toner that is supposed to be for moisturizing has alcohol as its 3rd ingredient.  I have oily skin, so I do not mind that toners for my skin type have alcohol, but if you have dry and dehydrated skin, it just seems so self defeating.   Full Size  150 mL Value $14.00

Description: Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract: softens and moisturizes skin. Ceramide 3: hydrates and repairs skin. Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil: acts as a softener.

Ingredients:  Water, Glycerin, SD Alcohol 40-B, Glycereth-26, Diproplene Glycol, PEG-75, Dimethicone, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Hydrogenated Lecithin,  Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Hydroxytheyl Ethylcellulose,  Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract(0.5%), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ceramide 3 (0.001%) , Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil (0.001%), Polyglyceryl-10 Oleate, Lecithin, Glycosphingolipids, Fragrance, Potassium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Butyphneyl Methylproprional, Linalool  cosDNA.com analysis



image from http://www.rakuten.com.my/shop/girlsstylish/product/THEFACESHOP-20-170/


image from http://www.rakuten.com.my/shop/girlsstylish/product/THEFACESHOP-20-170/


The Face Shop Herb Day Cucumber Massage Cream   Ahh, this does smell like fresh cucumbers and I love cucumber scents ~ it is so fresh, green and clean.   I choose this cream over the Mugwort as the Cucumber is a brightening cream and the Mugwort looked to be for more dry skin.  You can use this once a week and you add a small amount of the cream into hand, then massage in an outward direction, starting from the chin to the forehead, avoiding your eyes.  If you have oily skin/combo skin,  like me, massage 10 minutes;  normal/dry, 15 minutes and sensitive skin, 3-5 minutes.

Cucumber extracts help calm irritated skin and reduce redness, while Vitamin C helps to even out and brighten skin tone.  This does have mineral oil as the second ingredient, but I think people over-react to mineral oil as its molecules are too large to clog up your pores.  That said, it is a by-product from petroleum, so bear that in mind.  Cosmetic grade mineral oil is safe for you to use.

I am not sure I can massage for 10 minutes at a time, but The Face Shop has this little 1 minute massage diagram, that I found quickly while looking for more information on this product.   It seems it is a popular image and with good reason ~ it really shows you how to do a quick and easy facial massage and the benefits, of which sinus relief and migraines seem to be of major interest to me personally.  Just be careful of not overdoing (over-stimulating, harshly) a facial massage, as that can cause provoke an acne breakout or to massage over blemished (open) acne skin.   Also, cleanse your skin well after using a massage cream and richer than normal creams.  Full Size 150 mL  Value $12.00

image from https://www.facebook.com/tfssanjose/posts/310727819034749

Description: A massage cream with cucumber extracts which relieves dried skin, providing dampened skin with rich moisture.  The Face Shop Herb Day Cucumber Massage Cream can enhance nutrients to penetrate into skin layers. Blended with cucumber extracts and other natural botanical ingredients, it moisten, brighten and calm your skin, using it once a week will give you a smooth skin that you are longing for

Ingredients:   Purified water, mineral oil, cetyl ethylhexanoate, petrolatum, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Propylene glycol, glyceryl stearate, beeswax, Cetearyl Alcohol, polysorbate 60, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract (0.5%), Aspalathus Linearis (rooibos) Extract, Lilium Candidum (madonna lily) Flower Extract, Borago Officinalis (borage) Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Centaurea Cyanus (cornflower) Flower Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract/Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Butylene Glycol, dimethicone, PEG-100 Stearate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Triethanolamine, carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Benzophenone-9, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, fragrance, yellow No. 4 (CI 19140), blue No. 1 (CI 42090)  cosDNA.com analysis

Mizon Simple Modeling Cup Pack in Bright  This was a variation that we could get in our bags and I received the Bright Modeling Cup pack, which is a skin brightening rubber facial pack with Vitamin C.  It is supposed to even skin tone, hydrate and provide skin protection.  I happen to like these modeling cups ~ they do require a bit of time to prepare ~ you mix in water ~ rule of thumb is to start out with a 1/3 water to powder ~ to get a good consistency,  like a thick yogurt, and then apply on your face.   After 20-30 minutes, you peel off the pack, which has turned into a “rubber” mask.  Whenever I do use these, my face does feel more hydrated and smooth.   It is messy, however.   Full Size Value $8.00

Ingredients (translated from Mizon): Diatomaceous Earth/Solum Diatomeae, sucrose, Maltodextrin, potassium alginate, Calcium Sulfate Hydrate, Tetrapotassium Pyrophosphate, tocopheryl acetate, ascorbic acid, allantoin,  Sodium Hyaluronate, Morus Alba Bark (mulberry) Extract/Souhakuhi Ekisu,  Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract/Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Sodium Benzoate, Methylparaben , CI 77492/Hydrated Ferric Oxide/Yellow Oxide of Iron/Iron Oxides, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://www.mizon.co.kr/product/product_detail.asp?v_page=2&prod_num=5781&v_CateNum=9
image from http://www.mizon.co.kr/product/product_detail.asp?v_page=2&prod_num=5781&v_CateNum=9
image from http://www.mizon.co.kr/product/product_detail.asp?v_page=2&prod_num=5781&v_CateNum=9
image from http://www.mizon.co.kr/product/product_detail.asp?v_page=2&prod_num=5781&v_CateNum=9


Etude House Look at My Eyes Cafe Eye Shadow    I went with the middle row, as I love browns.  They all looked nice, so it was just a matter of picking one.    Based on the middle row, I am now getting one of those colors, which looks to be the top one, a matte caramel shade of brown, BR407 (Beach Coconut).    The pigmentation is very good, the shadow glides on nice and smoothly, and there is no fall out.   It is not chalky and this color will be used a lot with me ~ I love that it has warm tones to it and it is a lovely color.    Value $9.50


Beauteque Pore Brush   I have the Beauteque Cleansing Brush and I really like it a lot, so I am happy to get the mini-me version of this!   This really allows me to concentrate on tighter spaces, like the sides of my nose, with this smaller brush.   Value $15.00 

How did I like March’s Our Lips Are Sealed bag?  It is a nice bag ~ with some pretty good products in it.  I love the Cucumber massage cream, the pore brush, and the eye shadow.  Modeling cups are fun to use and I really needed a nail packs.  The only items I won’t use are the toner due to my previous reactions with it and the hair pack ~ hey, they might show up in a giveaway!!   The Face Shop products ~ not my favorite brand in the world as they tend to be heavily scented ~   You either love the scents or you don’t ~ some are fresh and herbal-y, like the cucumber massage cream and some are just heavily perfumed, like the rice toner.   I paid $24.00 for my bag + $3.95 shipping for a total of $27.95 and received a BeautequeValue** of $66.50.  The bag is an extra and there is no price on it.

Beauteque still has issues shipping overseas and I will say this in my reviews, because I do not want my international readers to think that I am hiding something from them.  Beauteque needs to get their current system in order before offering new bags and services.  Seriously, I love their bags and the collaboration bags, but I know that the shipping and stocking issues are causing a lot of bad feelings towards Beauteque right now.

** Just as with Memebox, the values of these products are the manufacturer’s retail value, but you can sometimes find them cheaper elsewhere.

Did you subscribe to Beauteque’s Monthly Bag?  If so, what did you think of this month’s bag?  Please comment below🙂


 [ descriptions in italics from linked product site.   This item was purchased with my own money ]

7 thoughts on “Unboxing March 2015 Beauteque Bag!

  1. Shipping seems to be faster this month (I’m in Canada ). I received the mask sub today but am still waiting on the monthly bag. Since it’s still mid-month, I’m holding out that it will come before April.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice review! The products look good to me, but I don’t have oily skin, so the toner would work, and my hair is a holy mess so I’d use the hair pack too. I keep getting tempted to buy from Beautique…


    Liked by 1 person

  3. just getting really annoyed that some bloggers are receiving their bags for free to review online weeks before us paying customers receive ours. i know the CEO is still is a junior in high school — maybe it is just too much for her to handle. i am getting extremely frustrated wit the double standards. thanks for reviewing the toner — i didn’t know it was thick, so I won’t be using it now, either, unless i mix a little bit at a time with a liquid one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

