Unboxing March 2015 Beauteque Mask Maven!

I love facial masks ~ whether they are sheet masks, wash-off masks, peel off ones…In fact, I just signed up for ToGoSpa (thanks again to Harlot Beauty for letting me know about this one!)  because their eye gels have saved my life these past few weeks ~ my face is so puffy and stuffed up due to my sinusitis and these worked wonders in that area to give me some immediate relief.   I also subscribed to MaskGenie, which is a monthly mask service offered by a fabulous Asian-Beauty blogger, located in Hong Kong, and her monthly bags are perfectly curated.  So, when Beauteque offered a monthly mask subscription, Mask Maven, I decided to try it out on a monthly basis.  For some reason, my new subscription has arrived before my normal monthly Beauteque bag subscription, which I have been waiting on pins and needles for days now.  It’s a mystery how these things happen!

Here is my unboxing of the newly launched Mask Maven from Beauteque ~ March’s theme looks to be “Be Yourself”

The masks came in a nice light blue chiffon pouch.  There is an informational card, but it really didn’t state what the contents were, just how to use your masks.


Holika Holika Dessert Time Blueberry Pudding Pack Why I do I think of those old Jello Pudding Pack commercials every time I see one of these? haha  Blueberry is primarily an anti-aging pack and I can use all of the anti-aging products for sure!  This is a lavender clear jelly wash off mask, and you massage it in, leave on for 15 minutes and rinse off with warm water.   Value $1.20

Description: Holika Holika Dessert Time Blueberry Pudding Pack comes in a variety of wash off masks to suit different skin types and their needs. Contains fruit extracts which make the skin healthy. Blueberry Pudding Pack contains blueberry extract which provides elastic and moisture to the skin. Also contain other fruit extracts like acerola, mango and durian extracts which provides rich amount of vitamins and minerals to the skin. It provides nutrition, smoothing, moisturizing and brightening to the skin. The individual compact containers make them convenient for travel and the perfect fillers for any gift!  Benefits: Nourishes and Firms, Moisturizes, Compact, Convenient.  Blueberry Pudding Pack (Blueberry)– actively nourishes, moisturizes, rejuvenates and improves skin elasticity.Helps to narrow pores, anti-inflammatory effect by inhibiting the growth of bacteria and strengthens the protective function of the skin. (source)

Key Ingredients:   Blueberry, guava, acerola, kiwi, raspberry, mangosteen lychee, durian extract : Contains blueberry extract with excellent moisture effect to create resilient skin.


My Beauty Diary Natto Mask  I’ve been wanting to try MBD Natto mask for a while, so I am pleased to have this in my collection this month ~ Natto is fermented soybeans and is highly moisturizing and nourishing to the skin.   Value $1.99

Description:  My Beauty Diary Natto Mask reduces signs of aging and restores skin’s firmness and resilience to give your face a soft, youthful luster. The formula is enriched with Natto extract, which contains rich botanical collagens, isoflavones (organic plant compounds), and rich anti-oxidizing proteins, all of which protect the skin from harmful environments and prevent aging effects. Bio-active ingredients like watercress, alongside red and brown algae extracts, brighten and soothe the skin. Cosphingo, a patented long-lasting moisturizer extracted from seaweed, provides hydration. This Natto mask has a light, pleasant floral scent. Free of paraben preservatives, alcohol, and fluorescent agents. 

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract,  Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Polyglutamic Acid, Nasturtium Officinale Flower/Leaf Extract, Sambucus Nigra Flower Extract, Laminara Digitata Extract, Fucus Vesculosus Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Triethanolamine, Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Dimethylsilanol Hyaluronate, Polysorbate 20, Methylparaben, Sodium Hyaluronate, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum, Fragrance, Sodium Hydroxide  cosDNA.com analysis


My Beauty Diary Arbutin Whitening Mask  I do like whitening masks ~ whitening just means to even out the skin tone, not make it “white”.   As I have sun damage on my face, I am prone to hyper-pigmentation spots, so I try just about everything out there to help even out and fade my sun spots.  Value $1.99

Description:  My Beauty Diary Arbutin Whitening Mask contains a highly effective whitening formula that restores and invigorates dull skin, giving your face an even, pearlescent glow. Arbutin, a popular whitening ingredient derived from uva ursi plant extract, resists melanin and breaks it down beneath the skin. Natural plant extracts (like Japanese cherry blossoms and licorice) and vegetable extracts (like cucumber) work to purify and soothe the skin. Fruit extracts (like pineapples and apples) provide the enzymes and antioxidants necessary to metabolize dead cells, promote cell renewal, and allow skin to better diffuse light. Cosphingo, a patented long-lasting moisturizer extracted from seaweed, provides hydration. Free of paraben preservatives, alcohol, and fluorescent agents.

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Phenoxyethanol,  Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Fruit Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Morus Alba Leaf Extract, Ananas Sativus (Pineapple) Fruit Extract, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Soluble Collagen, Lecithin, Chlorphenesin, Hydrolyzed Yeast Protein, Ruscus Aculeatus Root Extract, Triethanolamine, Arbutin, Citrus Aurantifolia (lime) Fruit Extract, Dimethylsilanol Hyaluronate, Styrene/Acrylates  Copolymer, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Pyrus Malus (apple) Fruit Extract, , Citric Acid, Prunus Yedoensis Leaf Extract, Polysorbate 20, Carbomer,   Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Xanthan Gum, Fragrance, Potassium Hydroxide, Sodium Hydroxide  cosDNA.com analysis



G&S Cosmetic/Medicos-V Pure Snail Silky Soothing Mask  I have never heard of this brand before, but who doesn’t love a snail mask?  Snail filtrate (1000mmp) helps improve your skin tone, intense hydration, reduces the appearance of wrinkles and smooths your skin to a baby soft texture!  I do love a good snail mask ~ it did take me a while to get over putting snail slime on my face, but I got over it ~ haha Value $1.00

IngredientsI am not sure that the following is a good translation, even though it came from gnscosmetics website.  Some of the ingredients look like it was translated through Google or Bing, instead of a cosmetic Korean-English translator, so I am not going to run this through cosDNA and I will leave it up to the reader to decide if these contents are correct.

image from http://gnscosmetic.com/goods_en/goods.php?idx=25&part_idx=1&part1_idx=1


image from http://gnscosmetic.com/goods_en/goods.php?idx=25&part_idx=1&part1_idx=1
image from http://gnscosmetic.com/goods_en/goods.php?idx=25&part_idx=1&part1_idx=1
image from http://gnscosmetic.com/goods_en/goods.php?idx=25&part_idx=1&part1_idx=1



A’Pieu Firming Neck Patch  I am not a fan of neck patches, as they don’t seem to work very well for me.  Maybe I just have too much neck to firm and that is why they don’t work!  haha  A’Pieu made the Tea Tree Emulsion in my Beauteque February bag, which I really like,  and I hope that I see more A’Pieu (not Pepé le Pew ~ haha) products in the future from Beauteque.  Value  $4.25

Description: A’ pieu Firming Neck Patch helps bring elasticity to the skin especially around the neck area. This mask will also help moisturize the skin. It contains key ingredients like vitamin E and olive oil which help nourish the skin.

Directions:  After washing face, apply mask and leave for 15-20 minutes and lightly pat to absorb the remains.

Ingredients: Purified water, glycerin, Polyvinyl Alcohol, gelatin, sodium polyacrylate, sorbitol, caffeine,  tocopheryl acetate (Vitamin E), betaine, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Camellia Sinensis (green tea) Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract / Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract,Verbena officinalis extract, Jasminum Officinale (Jasmine) Extract, niacinamide, Butylene glycol, propylene glycol, polysorbate 80, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Tartaric Acid, Disodium EDTA, titanium dioxide, Aluminum Glycinate, BHT, sodium sulfate, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis


image from http://apieu.beautynet.co.kr/goods.detail.do?goodsNumber=54919



3W Clinic Fresh Royal Jelly Mask  I also love a good honey mask and royal jelly is excellent for moisturizing dry and tired skin.  3W 100% cotton sheet masks are hypoallergenic and I have used them before in the Milk Head To Toe Bag   This mask contains 23 grams of essence.  Value $1.60

Ingredients:  Water, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Alcohol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Polysorbate 60, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Allantoin, Royal Jelly Extract, Disodium EDTA, Perfume  cosDNA.com analysis

ecopure Essential Kiwi Juice Mask  I love ecopure masks ~ I’ve had their apple, watermelon and orange before and they are refreshing fruit juice sheet masks🙂   These usually have a lot of essence and I like to place them in the frig before applying, for an even more cooling effect.  Value $1.99

Description: Ecopure Essential Kiwi Juice Facial Mask supplies nutrition to your skin & moisturizes your skin.  Supplies nutrition and moisturizes your skin, contains Coenzyme (Ubiquinone) Q10 & Kiwi extract.  Ecopure Mask is made of Ultra Thin Triple Layer with excellent adhesion & this triple layer increases the absorption rate of essence to the skin.

Ingredients: Kiwi Extract 2mg, Ubiquinone 0.2mg, Purified Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, PEG/PPG-17/6 Copolymer, PEG-8, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Triethanolamine, 1,2 Hexanediol, Propanediol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Betaine, Erythritol, Trehalos, Illicii Veri Fructus Extract, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis



Missha Pure Source Pearl Mask  I am not a big fan of Missha sheet masks.  I feel they do not have enough essence and dry out very quickly on my face, which is an amazing feat, as my skin is so oily to begin with.  Value $1.00

Description: 100% Pure Cotton Sheet Mask with serum derived from natural ingredients. It brightens and vitalizes with Pearl Extract. Contains Pearl extract for brightening and vitalizing benefits.  Great for dull complexion.

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Ethanol, Pearl Extract (210mg), Betaine, Lippia Citriodora Leaf Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Allantoin, Diethoxyethyl Succinate, Trideceth-9, Phenyltrimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cyclodextrin, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Chlorphenesin, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

Baroness Pomegranate Mask  This mask contains highly concentrated fermented pomegranate extracts which is supposed to refresh, heal and keep skin firm and smooth.  It regenerates skin cells and assists with reducing hyper-pigmentation and spots.  I have never heard of this brand before, however it is a brand that is sold at Beauteque and I have found it elsewhere, so it is a popular brand ~ the reviews on this is that it contains a lot of essence and the mask itself is very thin, silk-like (but not silk)  Value $1.80

Ingredients: water, glycerin, PEG/PPG-17/6 copolymer, glycereth-26, trehalose, sodium hyaluronate, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extracts, panthenol, allantoin, alcohol, methylparaban, hydroxyethlcellulose, lactobacillus/punica granatum fruit ferment extract, pueraria mirilica root extract, xanthan gum, carbomer, triethanolamine, phenoxyethanol, tocopheryl acetate, disodium EDTA, fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis



Humanpia Costech Day & Hue Cucumber Essence Mask  This brand is one that I have received before from Beauteque and they are a solid facial sheet mask.  I love Cucumber anything ~ I just bought a whole box of cucumber facial sheet masks😀 ~ but I am always happy to have another one.  I find these are very refreshing for my oily skin.  Value $1.80

Description: Contains more essence, assuage the skin: fatigue skin activity;  increasing skin of elasticity and nutrition.

Ingredients: aqua, glycerin, butylene glycol, polyglutamic acid, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, carbomer, allantoin, ammonium acryloyl dimethylaurate/VP copolymer, sodium acrylate/sodium acryloyldmethyl taurate copolymer, potassium hydroxide, cucumis sativus (cucumber) fruit extract, fragrance cosDNA.com analysis


What do I think about Beauteque’s Mask Maven?   There were some famous brands in here, like Missha, Holika Holika, MBD as well as some ones that I didn’t recognize, like Baroness.   I am not sure what the theme was for this month and the informational card wasn’t very informational.  If you do not have information on your products, then don’t include a card like this, as it is a waste of paper and not very helpful.  I wonder if other members will get different masks and that is why the card was not specific on what types of masks you were getting.    I do like that I am finally going to try the Holika Holika Pudding pack and MBD Natto mask as I have been wanting to try them for a while.   I paid $15.00 + $3.95 USA shipping (shipping varies on your country)  for a total of $18.95 and received a total value of about $18.62.   This is a solid mask bag and if I didn’t have any other subscription to compare it to, I would be satisfied.    If you don’t want to read my comparison,  don’t continue further🙂

Well, I am spoiled, I think.  I love MaskGenie so much that this just seems to pale in comparison.   The price point isn’t as good, imho, as MaskGenie, as I did have to pay for shipping here in Mask Maven.  MaskGenie is $22.00 a month for a 10 mask pouch or $12.00 for a 5 mask pouch ~ and that does include shipping, regardless of what country you live in.   I also get masks that have been hand picked and tried by Genie and she also listens to customers with their allergy issues.   Genie also does monthly youtube unboxings and explains her choices, the difference selections you might get and why she liked the mask.   She is very informative and that extra touch goes a long way to making a very loyal customer.  I think that Genie has a better selection to choose from as she is right in Hong Kong.

I was hoping to see something more than just facial sheet masks ~ more wash off, peel off masks ~ so I will give Mask Maven another month or two and see what April brings as I do not wish to unfairly compare based on one month.   Otherwise, I will just cancel and wait for it to improve, as I do feel that MaskGenie is far superior in its contents, curation and value.  If MaskGenie didn’t exist, I would have been fine with this bag, but if one person in Hong Kong can produce amazing bags monthly, Beauteque is going to have to step up here if they wish to compete with MaskGenie.


[ descriptions in italics from linked product name ]

6 thoughts on “Unboxing March 2015 Beauteque Mask Maven!

  1. I’m glad to see this since it may be awhile before I get mine. I was hoping for a big wow product, but am not seeing one. But, since it’s the first month, maybe it’s just growing pains. Great review,as always!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that this pales in comparison to Mask Genie. Not that this doesn’t include some great masks because it does. I just love how much thought and attention Genie puts into her bags. I will keep an eye on this one to see if I want to subscribe In the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m really disappointed in Mask Maven. I just subscribed because this is the first time I’ve heard of such a subscription. I expected 9-11 masks a month. The email welcoming me said that I would receive 7 masks a month. Then I received an email for this months bag saying there will be 6 masks (2 of which are delayed and will not arrived until the next month).😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahh, I am sorry that has happened to you ~ they are also having problems with their monthly beauty bag as well. Have you checked out my reviews on MaskGenie here? They are really great!


      1. Yes I did! MaskGenie does seem a LOT better honestly.
        I emailed Mask Maven about this like false information issue and I have yet to receive an email back. I bought a 6month sub but after that, I’ll probably get MaskGenie.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

