Unboxing March 2015 Kloverbox + Promo!

I received my March Kloverbox ~  and I have to say, this is the first month that I am really, truly disappointed in this subscription ~ for myself.  The products are high quality and solid, so that isn’t where my issue lies.   More on why as you read this blog post and hopefully you will be able to judge for yourself if this box is for you or not ~ I do have my own biases on products ~ I do try to keep an open mind and try just about everything in my boxes, but I do have some allergies and I cannot ignore my skin type, which is acne prone.    Kloverbox delivers deluxe and full size products and I have been impressed with their packaging and curating of their boxes.  This is one subscription that I look forward to every month and am excited to open.

This month’s theme is  “Lucky like a Shamrock Green like a Shamrock” and once again, it is mainly skincare and body care products this month.

Informational Card

And a nice touch ~ for St Paddy’s Day, the front of the card had a lovely big GREEN shamrock sticker!  As someone who lives in Boston, you cannot escape being Irish (even if you aren’t!)

BAGGU Small 3D Zip bag in Mint Stripe   This is actually my favorite item of the box!  I love getting lifestyle products and this is a cute, zippered bag, that is expandable and in my favorite color ~ green!   They do make their nylon products in China, but state it is done ethically, so I do hope that means labor laws and worker rights.  I love that this had a loop on top so I can hang it from a hook.     Value $8.00

Description: The 3D Zip Small holds travel-sized toiletries, makeup, school utensils, a gift, glasses, jewelry, or anything else small sized that needs a bag. Loop allows for in-hand carrying or hanging. 7″ high, 3.5″ wide, 3.5″ deep when fully expanded. 100% ripstop nylon. Machine washable. 



Urban Oreganics Rosewater Toner  Everything except the Rosewater sounds fantastic!  Alcohol Free Witch Hazel, Apple Cider Vinegar, Lemon Juice.  Just that rosewater getting in the way for me to enjoy this toner from a lovely Etsy shop.  You can even order it with additional essential oils if you would like to, if you want a scent.   I will gift this item to my mom as I am now becoming a favorite daughter with her, with all of the products I’ve been sending her way ~ lol  Full Size  4 oz Value $14.00

Description:  Whether your skin is oily, dry, or combination, our skin-brightening rosewater facial toner is for you! Toners are to be used in your beauty routine after cleansing and before moisturizing. This toner removes impurities and dirt left on your skin after cleansing, leaving your pores tight and preparing your face to fully absorb a moisturizer.  Organic, vegan, 100% natural,  gluten-free and  soy-free.  

Free of: parabens, phthalates, sodium lauryl sulfate, artificial colors/fragrances, and preservatives.

  • handcrafted distilled rosewater: anti inflammatory, anti aging, soothes irritated skin
  • organic alcohol-free witch hazel: anti inflammatory, soothes irritated skin, locks in moisture, protects against sun damage
  • organic apple cider vinegar: treats acne, unclogs and minimizes pores, anti aging, anti bacterial
  • organic lemon juice: brightens and evens skin tone, treats acne, reduces the appearance of scars and sun spots, exfoliates
  • OPTIONAL grapefruit essential oil: treats skin pigmentation, protects against sun damage, anti aging
  • OPTIONAL lavender essential oil: stress relief, anti inflammatory, enhances blood circulation

Urban Oreganics handcrafts the highest quality bath & beauty products from natural, sustainable, organic, and vegan ingredients in Portland, OR. Our handmade creations are lovingly fashioned in small batches and tested on friends and family, never on animals.

Ingredients: distilled rosewater, alcohol-free witch hazel, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice  


Marley’s Monsters Reusable 3″ Facial Rounds  This is another etsy vendor (yeah!) and I love this concept of using reusable cotton facial rounds ~ very eco-friendly.   Each round is made with 2 layers of 100% cotton flannel and you just wash in warm water and dry in dryer.   These are not pre-washed, so there will be some shrinkage. These are made by Marley’s Mom in Eugene, Oregon.  This is my second favorite product in the box so far :)  I like how Kloverbox gave us facial rounds for our toner ~ very thoughtfully thought out! 4 facial rounds Value $2.40


White & Elm Pomegranate Renewing Eye Serum  This is a unique concept ~ a roll on eye serum!  Easy to tuck into your purse in case you have to stay overnight somewhere (wink, wink, nudge, nudge).   However, I did find the roll on was a bit hard to use and that was on my hand.  I cannot imagine how it would tug against my delicate skin around my eyes.   Perhaps I got a dud?  As I am very interested in using this,  I think I will have to roll this on my hand and then pat into my eye area, as I do not wish to tug and pull against my already aging skin around my eyes.   This is made with 7 ingredients only, very nourishing oils such as apricot kernel, pomegranate see, argan, and rosehip (I am not allergic to rosehip, thank goodness!)  It does have a distinctive scent to it, which I believe is the Sea Buckhorn, which has a very strong earthy scent to it.   This serum is 99.9% organic, GMO free and cruelty free and vegan.    Full Size 10mL  Value $18.00

Description: Our eye serum will work hard to brighten your beautiful eyes! Powerfully nutritive, this serum helps to reverse the signs of aging and will strengthen the delicate skin around your eyes and because it’s packaged so conveniently you’ll want to take it everywhere with you. 

  • Pomegranate Oil is deeply nourishing, naturally high in flavonoids and punicic acid. This oil is very beneficial to the skin aiding in healthy skin regeneration.
  • Apricot Kernel oil is a light moisturizing oil that easily absorbs into the skin leaving a smooth, silky finish. It is rich in gamma linoleic acid (GLA) that helps the skin maintain its moisture balance. It contains vitamin A and E, which soothes the skin and slows the signs of aging.
  • With its high vitamin E content, Argan oil deeply hydrates and softens skin. It restores elasticity, giving the skin a youthful glow.
  • High in vitamin C and lycopene, Rosehip Seed oil boasts skin-rejuvenating properties that restore skin elasticity and protects against environmental damages.
  • Avocado oil has outstanding regenerative properties as it penetrates the skin more deeply than other oils providing superior nutrients within the skin. Filled with vitamins A, B1, B2, D, and E, pantothenic acid, amino acids and other fatty acids. Avocado oil increases collagen production upping skin strength and elasticity.
  • Sea Buckhorn oil is a conditioning oil known for its ability to heal and nourish. Full of phytosterol, vitamin E, beta-carotene, antioxidant vitamins C and E, and carotenoid, it reduces skin roughness, length of facial lines, and the depth of wrinkles.

Ingredients: Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil*, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil*, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Oil*, Rosa Canina (Rosehip) Seed Oil*, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil*, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Sea Buckhorn) Oil*, Mixed Tocopherols (Vitamin E) Oil Non-GMO, *Organic Ingredient   cosDNA.com analysis

Pelle Beauty Luxe Beauty Balm  I hear a lot of good things from Pelle Beauty, but this is a product, even if it didn’t have rose and jasmine in it, would never come near my face.  It is made for dry, dehydrated skin, which I do not have.   I was excited when I heard that Pelle Beauty was to be featured and was hoping for something like their Stellar Multitasking Face Oil, which does not have rose or jasmine in it and is suitable for all skin types.  Oh well ~ this is another one going to my mom, as she does have very dry skin, and this would be perfect for her skin.  Sample Size 4 oz Value $9.00

Description: A dreamy delicate balm. Luxe Beauty Balm provides your face with intense moisture. A waterless formula that is highly concentrated for sensitive, dry & dehydrated skin types. This beauty balm can easily be used anytime your skin needs comfort. Formulated with floral waxes, precious essential oils and antioxidant-rich ingredients, this super-emollient and easily absorbed beauty balm will keep skin soft, smooth, and protected. Tuberose, Rose & Jasmine floral waxes provide a delicate & luxurious layer of protection to aid in soothing your skin & maintaining its natural moisture. A whole plant blend of Broccoli seed, Raspberry seed & Avocado oils are packed with complexion boosting components, nourishing the skin with vitamins A, B1, B2, D, E, and Beta carotene. This beauty balm is rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants. Your complexion is left feeling soft, smooth & protected. Our luxurious essential oil blend works double duty to provide both an indulgent aromatherapy experience and radiant complexion.

Ingredients: Brassica oleracea italica (Broccoli) Seed Oil, Rubus idaeus (Raspberry) seed oil, Oryza sativa (Rice) bran oil, Caprylic/capric triglyceride, Cetearyl Olivate (and) Sorbitan Olivate (from olives), Persea gratissima (Avocado) oil, Euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax,  Copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, Theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, Polianthes tuberosa (Tuberose) flower wax, Jasminum grandiflorum (Jasmine) flower wax, Rosa damascena (Rose) flower wax , Citrus aurantium amara (Neroli/Bitter orange) flower oil, Rosa damascena (Rose)flower oil  cosDNA.com analysis

Jillian Wright Skincare Double Surface Exfoliator   Well, this is more my style than the last product.  I love a good exfoliator and this is a natural microdermabrasion that contains bamboo stem powder, a natural cleanser that will clean out your pores, along with lactic acid (AHA), and anti-oxidant passionflower extract .   I am pretty excited to try this sample out and this should be enough for 2 uses.   This does have jasmine oil in it, but it is pretty far down the ingredient list and I am allergic to the scent of jasmine, which this doesn’t have.    Sample Size 3.7 mL Value $8.00

Description: This natural microdermabrasion exfoliator contains bamboo stem powder which is a natural scrub that moves away pollutants and leaves your skin feeling hydrated and smooth. It is also high in polyphenol phytochemicals, rich in flavonoids, purifying with anti-inflammatory properties. The Chiral L-Lactic acid (3%) is a hydrating AHA that is gentler than glycolic that reduce the appearance of wrinkles, and pigmentation issues. The duo is the best of both the physical and chemical exfoliating worlds! Once the pores are clear of grime, bacteria and debris, antioxidant Passionflower moisturizes, rejuvenates and soothes your skin!  Chemical-free, Chirally-correct, Cosmeceutical strength, Gluten-free, Natural botanicals, Organic ingredients, Paraben-free, Phthalate-free and Sulfate-free

IngredientsAqua (Water), Bambusa Arundinacea (Bamboo) Stem Powder, Glycerin*, 3% Lactic Acid (L), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dimethicone, Squalane, Stearic Acid, Behenyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Xanthan Gum, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Passiflora Laurifolia (Passionflower) Flower Extract, Tocopherol (D-alpha), Citric Acid, Boswellia Carterii (Frankincense) Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Santalum Austrocaledonicum (Sandalwood) Wood Oil, Jasminum Officinale (Jasmine) Oil, Phytic Acid, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Potassium Sorbate, Phenethyl Alcohol, Alcohol Denat., Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sucrose Stearate, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Dicaprylyl Ether, Carbomer  cosDNA.com analysis


I gave Kloverbox a pass last month, with its three rose products due to Valentine’s Day in February.  However, once again, two more rose items cropped up in this month’s box.  I researched Kloverbox before signing up and they didn’t have this glut of products with rose and jasmine ingredients and now they do.  I also am very disappointed that its fun lifestyle products are being taken over by skincare.    Kelly, the CEO of Kloverbox, and I have chatted about this, so hopefully, this can be worked on.  Perhaps no more than one rose product per month (except in February – haha)  ~  I know I am not the only one out there that doesn’t care for or is allergic to rose products or even scented products.     I do hope that Kloverbox can get back on track, become what it was, with its focus on a variety of products, not just skincare, and get away from having so many rose/jasmine products in their boxes.   If you like or aren’t allergic to rose ingredients, this is a great box.  It just was a disappointment for me and my own particular needs.

I paid $16.67  due to my Black Friday discount and received a value of over $54.90.    Do you subscribe to Kloverbox?  What was your favorite product this month?  I really liked the lifestyle items and the Jillian Wright product is going in my shower tomorrow!

Current Promo:  Use BFFM10 to save 10% off any length subscription.  One and three month terms automatically renew, the six month is a one time purchase.  Also, this is new – the monthly subscription has an option to skip a month!


9 thoughts on “Unboxing March 2015 Kloverbox + Promo!

  1. Wow lady- you are speedy with your reviews!! I don’t even have pictures edited yet! Haha😉 Luckily I’m not allergic to rose, I just dislike the scent, so as long as something doesn’t smell strongly of Roses I am able to use it. I really liked this month’s box, although i do agree with you that I really love the lifestyle products! Hopefully we start to see more of them in the April box!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha – I’ve been sick all day, so I had time to review. I figure the time I am saving in not cleaning, I can review – plus you take much better photos than I do!! My mail came early this am, so I had time to do it🙂 Plus, it is easier to do an unboxing if I cannot sample some of the items, that is for sure. My mom loves me for sure with all of the rose items I am giving her! I agree – I hope more lifestyle items will crop up🙂 I really love those!


  2. I was a little disappointed in this box as well but not because of the Rose products. I tried both the toner and eye serum last night. Toner I liked a lot but I think that will go to my husband, it seemed a little harsh for my dry skin, and the eye serum was extremely greasy/oily. Even though I love earthy scents I can’t say I liked the scent of that serum, it was kind of nasty. This was my first Kloverbox and although I don’t think its bad, I was really hoping for something more along the lines of past boxes that made me excited to sign up for this sub in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that is the sea buckhorn scent – I’ve had oils with sea buckhorn, and it is a very strong odor that isn’t the most pleasant of scents. Mine wasn’t that oily, but that might be due to the fact that I am having a hard time getting it out of the roller. I hope that the next month is also along the same lines as the earlier months too…


      1. I thimk there might be something wromg with your serum. My first time use was under my eyes and with a quick swipe it was literally dripping down my face. So i definitely dont like the scent of sea buckhorn but im always on the look-out for an eye product that actually works, Im now in my early 40’s and seeing some fine lines these days so I will give this one a try, stinkiness and all. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi There! It’s Marnie from Pelle Beauty. Sorry to hear the beauty balm was unsuitable for your skin type and preferences. Based on your post, it sounds like Stellar would be a great choice for you. If you have any questions about our facial oils, please feel free to reach out as we would be happy to help🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t like multiple things about the box either, Michele. I only got this one month’s box, but I cancelled as soon as the email about the contaminated toner hit my inbox. I’m sure they aren’t making the ruined product up to those who cancelled in any way.
    IF I wanted Etsy products, I would go to Etsy and buy them. There’s a reason that national cosmetic brands go through testing and don’t have gunk in their bottles and jars.
    I’m sorry this isn’t a Kloverbox fan letter, but I am very disappointed in the teeny sizes and the toner being all messed up from ?? plastic or ” other” contamination.


Leave a Reply

