January & February 2015: Products I really like a lot!

Where has this year gone??  I meant to write up my favorite things in January, and all of a sudden, it is the end of February!   I combined my two months together and will try to get back on schedule with a monthly blog post.  If I have reviewed the product here on my blog earlier, I will link to that post and also repeat some of the comments I made on that product here.   Where you can purchase the items ~ I usually embed the link with the name of product heading, which is above the main image or if I am doing a collection, the link will be in the actual product name.


I actually have two toners that I really fell in love with over the last two months.

Secret Key Milk Brightening Toner


I received this toner in my Beauteque Head to Toe Milk bag in January.  I use this toner at night, as it is a lovely whitish watery toner that is highly moisturizing and is also a brightening toner.  It is perfect for me during these cold and harsh winter months and Boston has been getting a record snowfall and arctic winds :(   I find it to be very hydrating, yet it doesn’t leave my skin greasy or oily and I have not experienced any acne breakouts with it.    Secret Key is one of my absolute favorite K-Beauty brands, which might surprise you as it is a very inexpensive, “low end” brand.  However, Korean’s low end brands are still amazing and better than most products here in the USA, so don’t let that low end price fool you.  

This not only has milk protein extracts, but has galactomyces filtrates and extracts of pomegranate, ground cherry, raspberry, pasqueflower, potato, carrots, pumpkin, rice, usnea (lichen) and broccoli.   This is chock full of good moisturizing, antioxidants, anti-inflammatory and exfoliating ingredients.   This toner has no alcohol in it and is free of parabens, mineral oil, phenoxyethanol, penzophenon and animal oil.  Secret Key has a whole line of these toners and I am very interested in getting the Tea Tree one for the summer time!  Full Size 248 mL Value $11.70

Product Description:  Colostrum contains skin growth factor natural protein and natural AHA, so it is effective for skin brightening and its abundance of vitamins, minerals and ions are helpful for enhancing the skins immunity.   The vitamins and minerals of the milk will supply your skin with nutrients and moisture making bright and elastic skin.  And the protein discomposing enzyme in the milk removes keratin and waste materials for bright skin tone as well as balancing skin oil and moisture balance for healthy skin.

Key Ingredients

image from http://hanamana59en.cafe24.com/product/Secret-Key-Milk-Brightening-Toner-248ml/KRSKEYSK0002413
image from http://hanamana59en.cafe24.com/product/Secret-Key-Milk-Brightening-Toner-248ml/KRSKEYSK0002413


Goodal Waterest Tone Up First Essence

I know this is an “Essence”, but I use it as a toner, as it is a very watery essence.   Goodal is a “new” company for me as I only started purchasing items from them in the last 2-3 months, but everything I have received has been fabulous.  Goodal is the skincare line of Club Clio.  I wrote a review on this product alone and will repeat some of it here.  This toner/essence is used in my morning skin care routine and I just pour some into my hands and then pat into my skin before applying the rest of my skin care products.  It is not oily or greasy despite the high content of nutritious and moisturizing oils, but it leaves my skin glowing and hydrated.

It is made with 86% fermented green tea extracts, which help with hydrating your skin.  Not only is this fermented green tea, it is organic and fermented for 24 days in a traditional Asian earthenware container!  Fancy.   It also contains micro-fermented oil, which contain nutrients that are beneficial to the care of your skin.  Adenosine helps with reducing UV sun damage and preventing wrinkles.  Niacinamide (Vitamin B³) is also a key ingredient, as it helps with reducing hyper-pigmentation.  This essence will help remove and dead and dull skin cells, improve cell turnover and claims to reduce the level of dead skin cells that appear on your skin.   The result of these benefits is that your skin will be able to more easily absorb the fermented goodness of this essence long term and will improve your skin tone.   

So, after I used the clear up gauze, I then pour some of this essence in my hand and then patted it into my face and neck area ~ you can also use a cotton pad, but I prefer not to waste any of these precious fermented watery oil.    Goodal Waterest is as described ~ a watery essence.  It does not leave behind any oily residue and absorbs quickly into my face.  The scent is amazing, just like all of the other Goodal skincare fermented products I have received ~ it must be the fermented products that makes it smell so lovely.   My face feels refreshed, moisturized and not oily and I have not experienced any skin “troubles” (zits) from this.   What is surprising to me is that when I read the info graphics, Goodal is marketing this towards dry skin that needs moisture.  The only thing I can conclude from this is that this is like my beloved Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence ~ it seems to work with different skin types and quite well.  I cannot say for sure, as I haven’t read a lot of reviews on this product. I do know this is lovely on my oily, but aging skin.   150 mL  Value $40.00

Description: Improve overall hydration with 86% pure, organic Fermented Green Tea Extract to provide a rich supply of moisture for the skin, reinforcing the barrier function to improve cell turnover and minimizing the level of dead skin cells.  Micro-Fermented Oil such as Red Rice Yeast Oil is broken down and micronized into smaller particles, enabling deeper penetration into the skin.  Niacinamide and Licorice Root Extract, are anti-inflammatory ingredients that increases ceramide levels and lighten hyper-pigmentation. In result, replenish the skin and nourish the skin’s overall health to create a more bright, radiant and youthful complexion.   Brighten and improve your skin’s overall texture and tone, while boosting the skin’s ability to retain moisture.  Improve skin’s hydration levels that will last for a longer period of time.  Create an even complexion with less hyper-pigmentation, radiant, hydrated, and nourished skin. 

Ingredients: Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Saccharomyces Ferment, Propanediol, Niacinamide, Water, 1,2- Hexanediol, Pentylene Glycol, Phellinus Litneus Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Piper Methysticum Leaf/Root/Steam Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Pueraria Thunberguaba Root Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Paeonia Lactiflora Root Extract, Cnidium Officinale Root Extract, Monascus Extract, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Soluable Collagen, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Pelargonium Graveloens Flower Oil, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Pogostemon Cablin Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Camellia Sinensis Seed Oil, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernal Oil, Olea Europea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Helianthus Annus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Simmondia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Polyquaternium-51, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, Glycerin, Sodium Citrate, Ethlyhexylglycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cetheth-20, Steareth-20, Triethlyhexanoin,  Citric Acid, Adenosine, Disodium EDTA, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol  cosDNA.com analysis


image from http://clubclio.net/Waterest-Tone-Up-First-Essence
image from http://clubclio-en.com/product/GOODAL-WATEREST-TONE-UP-FIRST-ESSENCE/131/?cate_no=59&display_group=1
 image from http://clubclio-en.com/product/GOODAL-WATEREST-TONE-UP-FIRST-ESSENCE/131/?cate_no=59&display_group=1
image from http://clubclio-en.com/product/GOODAL-WATEREST-TONE-UP-FIRST-ESSENCE/131/?cate_no=59&display_group=1

More Indie Perfumes

I have written about Haus of Gloi here before, and once again, they made it on my favorite things blog post, with their Valentine’s release, along with an Etsy vendor ~ Alkemia

Alkemia Moroccan Tea Perfume Oil (etsy)

A very lovely lady on makeuptalk.com had given such high praise for this perfume that I needed to try it out myself.  One of my favorite drinks is Honest Tea Moroccan Mint and I love tea-scented fragrances.   This oil is amazing ~ I can smell the tea fragrance when it dries down and the lovely tones of the different mints that are added to this perfume.  It is a very relaxing and soothing fragrance.   This will be a repeat purchase for me, as it is an all-year round scent.  Full Size 5 mL Value $12.00

Description: An elegantly understated yet intriguingly energizing blend of delicate pekoe tea leaves infused with a touch of fresh gingermint-spearmint, osmanthus flowers, and gunpowder matcha tea from a Moroccan recipe. An invigorating scent for dissipating chaos, stress and tension and creating clear minded focus.  

Haus of Gloi Who Needs Love Perfume Oil

This scent was part of their Valentine’s Collection and I knew that once I read the scent description, I was purchasing the full size.  This smells like freshly ground coffee with dark chocolate and as it dries down, I smell some berry, but the overall scent is like walking into a room full of coffee and chocolate.  I get hungry just wearing it!    Sample Size $3.00 Full Size (pictured) 5 mL $15.00

Description: A mahogany box filled with chocolaty orbs, coated in crystallized coffee – filled with a pomegranate and raspberry filling. Who needs love when you have something this decadent?

Haus of Gloi Insalata Nocturna Perfume Oil  

This scent is part of the regular rotation, and I picked up a sample because I was so intrigued by the description.  Once I received the sample, I purchased the full size!  That is how much I enjoy this scent ~  I can smell the lemon and basil ~ and yes, the “rubbed tomato leaf” scent! Not so much tomato as the scent of working outside in your garden and you pluck the leaves and rub them between your fingers.  This scent makes me wish for summer with a garden full of fresh herbs and tomatoes!  Sample Size $2.50 Full Size (pictured) 5 mL $12.00

Description: Italian lemon, rubbed tomato leaf, olive leaf, black fig syrup and basil.


Ojon Rare Blend Oil Rejuventating Therapy


Seriously, a hair oil?  I have fine, straight and oily hair and never used a hair oil before, because they were all formulated for dry, thick/curly and coarse hair.   However, I purchased a couple of items from Ojon website and one of the samples I received was this oil.  I read up on it and decided to try it out.  Oh boy ~ I was sold!   This lovely hair oil is lightweight and does not weigh down my hair, nor does it make it greasy or oily.  What it does do is add more shine, bounce and also tames fly aways, which during the winter months, I get a lot ~ with the “static cling” of wearing hat, scarves, bulky coats.  I just shake the bottle well, add a couple drops into the palm of my hand, then pat my hands together and then work that oil into my wet hair using the palms of my hands, concentrating on the ends of my hair.  This does have jasmine oil in it, but I do not smell the jasmine so this works for me🙂   Ojon does make this oil for dry/coarse hair and normal hair too, but it is rare to have a hair oil that works for fine and oily hair!   Deluxe Size 15 mL $15.00  Full Size 45 mL (pictured) $35.00

Description:  From tropical Tahiti to the Kalahari Desert in Africa, from the remote rainforests of Central America and beyond, Ojon™ gathered potent natural oils legendary for their “great healing powers” and infused them into 3 hair-reparative phases. So potent that just one precious drop of this lightweight, multi-tasking wonder revitalizes and protects hair, boosts shine and tames frizz. Hair instantly looks glossier; suddenly feels silkier and more luxurious.

Key Ingredients

  • Ojon™ oil – Known as “nature’s hair-repairing golden elixir”, this  500-year-old beauty secret from the rainforests of Central America is rich in essential lipids similar to those in unprocessed hair.
  • Rouge oleifera – The rich, red colored pulp of the Ojon nut has been shown to contain highly concentrated antioxidants. It helps reverse damage to hair follicles and restore shine, softness and strength to hair.
  • Tahitian Monoi Oil – This rare nourishing coconut oil from Tahiti infused with fresh Tiare flowers is extremely rich in essential lipids. Its non-affinity to water gives it its unique protective property.
  • Ximenia Oil – Used by women from Namibia to Zimbabwe, it’s prized for its power to soften coarse hair and smooth rough skin.
  • Polynesian Tamanu Oil – This potent oil, extracted from the Tamanu nut in French Polynesia, is rich is essential lipids. It is known for its ability to increase hair’s resistance. 
  • Jasmine Oil – Extracted from Jasmine flowers, this precious natural oil is known for it’s delicate fragrance and nourishing benefits.
  • Algae Extracts – Known to be highly conditioning and proven to soften hair.

Ingredients: dimethicone, water, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, heptyl undecylenate, methyl trimethicone, pentylene glycol, alcohol, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil),  elaeis oleifera (palm) kernel oil, aleurites moluccana (kukui) seed oil, orbignya oleifera (babassu) seed oil,  citrullus lanatus (watermelon) seed oil, calophyllum inophyllum (tamanu) seed oil, sclerocarya birrea seed oil, carapa gualianesis seed oil, ximenia americana seed oil, cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, algae extract, hammamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, gardenia taitensis (tiare) flower extract, wheat amino acids,  hydrolyzed brazil nut protein, sodium cocoyl hydroylzed amaranth protein, hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed soy protein, hyrolyzed corn protein, jasminum officinale (jasmine) flower wax, theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, citrus limon (lemon) peel oil, cirtus aurantium dulcus (orange) oil, citrus aurantium bergamia (bergamot) fruit oil, vetiveria ziznoides root oil, commiphora wildii oil, dipteryx odorata seed extract, lactic acid, polylysine, saccharide isomerate, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxythdrocinnamate, ethyltrimonium chloride methacrylate/hydrolyzed wheat protein copolymer, vanillin, maltol, benzaldehyde, sodium chloride, BHT, linalool, benzyl alcohol, citral, limonene, courmarin, sodium benzoate, phenoxyethanol, annatto, CI 75420  cosDNA.com analysis

Zymogen AC Dr Houttuynia Cordata Ferment Cream

Do not even ask me how to pronounce this product.  All I know is that it has worked wonders on my adult, hormonal acne in terms of healing and reducing redness.  The heal time has been cut down dramatically and when I see a horrid zit raising its head on my face, I just dab this on and it is under control overnight!  I have used other products for overnight treatments and they are fine, but this particular cream I can use during the day as it is very bendable and absorbs easily into my skin.   It also creates a matte finish where I apply it as well.  It is a thick creamy spot treatment ~ I would not use this all over your face, unless you have acne all over your face and need to get it under control.  This is made with fermented plant extracts (lactobacillus!) and fermented rice extract, tea tree, licorice and squalane, just to name a few of the ingredients.

I purchased this at Wishtrend as an afterthought ~ I was purchasing something else and added this to get free shipping.   That product is forgotten now, but this one ~ I always reach for it when I need to control any “troubles” and also reduce the oil in my skin.  I highly recommend trying this product.   Full Size 50mL Value $32.90

What is Houttuynia Cordata?  This is an Asian herb that has been used for centuries in traditional Japanese and Chinese medicines.  It is also known as Dokudami and is commonly called “fishy-smell herb'” because its fresh leaves, when crushed, have a smell like fish ~ don’t worry, this cream doesn’t smell at all like fish!  I found a great site that lists its proprieties and also 6 verified health benefits of this flowering herb.  I will list the ones that deal with skincare.

  • Used for abscesses, antidotal astringent, anti-inflammatory, analgesic, used for anal prolapse, anti-tussive, boils, bone growth stimulation, diuretic, hemorrhoids, injuries, mild laxative, snakebites, swellings, urinary antiseptic and detoxification.
  • Removes Free Radicals (Toxins)   A free radical is any chemical compound with free electrons. They are thus able to combine with and/or destroy other molecules. Many free radicals in our bodies are essential and for our bodies to perform their regular biological functions. However, often free radicals are produced by the effects of modern industrial society – processed food, burned food, pollution, chemically treated water, and so on. Free radicals are thought to artificially age the body and cause cancer. They are also the source of many other ills. Another recent article has shown that there are many plants native to Korea, including Dokudami, which are excellent ‘free radical scavengers’.  In other words, the biological components of Dokudami search the blood and neutralize free radicals. They don’t literally search but are instead drawn through electromagnetic and circulatory forces to free radicals. Dokudami contains polyphenols, the active free radical neutralizing chemical.
  • Fights Bacteria  Of course, many of the bacteria in your body are natural and beneficial. But other sorts of bacteria can be quite harmful. A recent article³ has shown that Dokudami fights a variety of harmful bacteria. But it is particularly effective at fighting two species of bacteria: Propionibacterium acnes, Staphylococcus epidermidis. Both of these bacteria are major causes of acne. It is for this reason that Dokudami may help calm acne breakouts by suppressing the bacteria that causes acne.  (source)

Description: Ferment Houttuynia Cordata Cream contains Houttuynia Cordata extract and Licorice extract to alleviate your irritated skin. Now its your turn to have soothing and refreshing skin.  Not only does it take care of your skin troubles but also it will prevent your face from producing too much oil. Delivers extent moisturizing effect and helps to loosen up your tight skin.  Houttuynia Cordata extract and Licorice extract are the main ingredients that alleviates your irritated skin. Also, Phytosqualane, will vitalize your skin in no time ! People who are suffering from sever skin trouble, with no doubt, with this cream, you will be free from skin troubles.

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Glucoside, Lactobacillus/Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract Ferment Filtrate, Glyceryl Stearate, Alcohol, Bacillus/Glutamic Acid Ferment Filtrate, Sophora Japonica Flower Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Bacillus Ferment, Aspergillus/Saccharomyces/Rice Ferment Filtrate, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Zinc Oxide, Glycyrrhiza Inflata Root Extract, Squalane, Dimethicone, Cyclomethicone, Diethoxyethyl Succinate, Polysorbate 60, 1,2-Hexanediol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Polysorbate 20, Sulfur, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Dimethyl Sulfone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Disodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, elaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance  cosDNA.com analysis

image from http://zymogen.co.kr/shop/shopdetail.html?branduid=439180


Innisfree #45 , Notoriously Morbid Rouge for Regan, Notoriously Morbid Nothing is Trivial, Innisfree #46, Starlooks Gisele

So forgive the crappy photo above.  I really should take better pics, but sometimes, it just doesn’t work out. Notoriously Morbid (NM for short) made another appearance in my favorite products ~ they have been featured before.   The two colors featured here are limited editions and are not part of the permanent collection at NM;  however, NM does do overstocks, so you might want to check that out and see if they appear.



Notoriously Morbid Rouge for Regan blush (LE)  ~ From December’s Vanishing Cabinet Merry Monsters Collection.  This is a lovely medium matte dusky mauve shade.  It really does brighten up my face.

Starlooks Gisele Lipstick ~ This was from my January 2015 Starlooks Starbox.  This is a beautiful red-brown shade.  It is very creamy, highly pigmented and even though Starlooks states it is matte, I view it more as a satin, as it isn’t a dull color, but has a subtle sheen.   This is so on-point for this year ~ think Pantone’s Color of the Year in Marsala!  Full Size Value $14.00

Notoriously Morbid Nothing Is Trivial eyeshadow (LE)~  This lovely sheer shade is from “A Murder of Crows” collection that was released on Black Friday, 2014.   A light wash of golden illumination in a metallic finish.  This is a very sheer,  light minty green with lots of warmth, due to the golden shimmers.   I use this shade a lot as a highlighter.  Depending on the light, it looks golden, green-gold, blue-gold. It is a beautiful color.

Innisfree Fall Collection #45 eyeshadow ~ I purchased both of my Innisfree eyeshadows from testerkorea.com and yes, they look the same in the picture, but they aren’t.  They are similar, however.  #45 is slightly lighter and is a satin plum-brown-taupe shade.  Innisfree shadows are very smooth, long lasting and highly pigmented without a lot of fall out. I really am impressed by their makeup line ~ I have featured their lipstick in another favorite blog post of mine.   Value $6.00

Innisfree Fall Collection #46 eyeshadow  ~ #46 is a deeper, more rich brown-plum with noticeable micro glitters.   Again, highly pigmented, this shade has a little fallout due to the glitters, but nothing major. It really does stay put once it is on.   Innisfree eyeshadows are made with Jeju natural mineral powder.  I am actually going back to purchase #40 and #47, as I think they are just beautiful colors.  Value $6.00

I did a better swatch of the Innisfree eyeshadows here.  It doesn’t capture the glitters, but is a more accurate color swatch

 image from http://www.testerkorea.com/Product/innisfree-mineral-single-shadow-fall-collection-23g


Clay Masks

Baviphat Toxifying Strawberry Mask

I received this in my Beauteque Seven for Skin Collection (Oily).  This is a baby light pink clay mask and the texture is like a firm pudding ~ very bouncy!  It does smell like strawberries and how cute is this container ~ a huge strawberry.

This is a smooth clay mask that dries to a powdery finish, yet doesn’t rub off, so don’t worry that you will get powder on things.  The clay mask does not make my skin feel uncomfortably tight, but it does tighten a bit.  My pores are nice and clean and they look “tighter”.  It contains contains pink clay ~ for smoothing and astringent properties, bentonite clay ~ for smoothing, exfoliating, cleaning pores and improving overall skin tone, and strawberry extract ~ for cleansing, acting as an antibacterial and astringent, to control oil and acne prevention, as well as nourishing your skin with a slew of vitamins: A, B1, B2, B6, C and E, just among some of them and an antioxidant, which helps prevent/reduce the signs of aging.    Full Size 130 g Value $20.99

Description: This deep cleansing wash-off clay mask helps to tighten pores, control sebum and give relief to troubled skin. The Baviphat Strawberry Toxifying Mask contains strawberry extract (sebum control and acne prevention) and fruit acids full of Vitamin C that can help remove dead skin cells and tighten pores. Also, antioxidants help to prevent skin problems will reveal bright and clear skin while simultaneously helping to stave off the effects of aging, such as enlarged pores as well as troubled skin problems.  Also included in the kit is a spatula for hygienic purposes.

Directions: After cleaning face, apply an  even coat of mask to face. After 15-20 minutes wash off with warm water.

Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol,Kaolin, glycerin, Titanium dioxide, Bentonite, fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, arginine, Carbomer, CI14700 (Red 504), strawberry extract cosDNA.com analysis


The Yeon Jeju Hallabong Energy Pore Ghassoul Pack

One reason why I LOVE shopping at testerkorea.com is that I can request just about ANYTHING Korean (cosmetics) and they will get it for me.  This is The Yeon Hallabong clay mask ~ I love The Yeon and they were featured in my December favorite products, with the peeling toner.  Since this is made with citrus (hallabong is an orange), this clay mask smells like oranges and it is quite lovely. It is an ugly grey-green color, but it is a smooth clay mask, made from Moroccan ghassoul, mandarin orange (also known as hallabong), kiwi, broccoli, avocado, cocoa seed and lemongrass extracts ~ full of Vitamin C and antioxidant ingredients!  This mask goes on smoothly and it does dry down to a traditional clay mask, but doesn’t dry my face out.    My face does feel wonderfully clean, moisturized and refreshed with the orange scent, and this mask also exfoliates.   It is difficult to get a full translation of ingredients, as The Yeon doesn’t print its ingredient list so I can cut and paste them into a translator.   I did translate it as best as I could, but if I made a mistake, please let me know in the comments below🙂   Full Size 100 mL Value $22.00

Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Bentonite, Kaolin, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Fruit Extract, Butylene Glycol,Titanium Dioxide,Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Extract,Citrus Unshiu Peel Extract, Actinidia Chinensis (Kiwi) Fruit Extract, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Fruit Extract, Cymbopogon Citratus (lemongrass) Extract, Moroccan Lava Clay, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Extract, Xanthan Gum, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Disodium EDTA  cosDNA.com analysis

In Korean:


image from http://www.theyeon.net/shop/goods_view.php?goods_idx=335&list_large_id=5
image from http://www.theyeon.net/shop/goods_view.php?goods_idx=335&list_large_id=5
image from http://www.theyeon.net/shop/goods_view.php?goods_idx=335&list_large_id=5


Petunia Skincare Revitalize Eye Serum


And last, but not least, Petunia Revitalize Eye Serum ~ I received this free for my honest and unbiased review and I happen to LOVE this serum.  I plan on purchasing it once this bottle is used up.   I spent a lot of time on this review, so I will repeat it here.

This serum comes in a small airless pump container to prevent the serum from oxidation.   The color reminds me of olive oil ~ however, there is no olive oil in this product, but other great ingredients, which I will describe later on.   There is no noticeable scent and it goes on smoothly, very silky, which must be due to the grape seed oil.  The texture is almost like a facial primer ~ where ever this is applied, it has a silky feel to it.  This serum is fast absorbing, non-sticky and non-greasy and I can already see that my skin under my eyes is firmer and lighter, even if temporarily.   This is a serum, so you only need to use a little bit and it will absorb quickly into your derma layer, so you should ALWAYS use a hydrating eye cream, to both lock in the serum nutrients and to create a moisture barrier.

Once again, Petunia Skincare impresses me with their few, but potent skin care ingredients.  I really like that they are focusing on “less is more” and choosing ingredients that give you the most beneficial impact of anti-aging, skin cell turnover, firming, brightening and hydrating properties.  This serum does not contain oil, alcohol or parabens. 

Some of the ingredients below were confusing or unfamiliar to me, so I am grateful that Petunia’s website explained what these all were, so I could properly add in the ingredients in cosDNA’s website to analyze this product.   I also added additional information in the list below.  You can tell that this product has a lot of antioxidants and moisturizing ingredients.

  • Sea Kelp Bioferment:  Macrocystis pyrifera (sea kelp) is a sea macro-algae which contains minerals and algin.  This product is then fermented to make these properties more readily absorbed by your skin, a highly moisturizing, firming and nutritious ingredient.
  • Sodium PCA:  natural humectant that is derived from plants, fruits and coconut oil and has the ability to attract and absorb moisture from the air
  • Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate: the most powerful and stable Vitamin C derivative (MAP)
  • Alpha Bisabolol:  a natural anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial made from the essential oil of the German Chamomile plant; reduces flaking and restores suppleness to skin.  Help deliver active ingredients into the dermal layer.
  • Coconut Endosperm:  coconut water; a hydrating ingredient full of  electrolytes and amino acids
  • Natural Active Peptides: natural marine collagen
  • Guaiazulene: A natural antioxidant derived from chamomile oil
  • Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone: antioxidants found in naturally high concentrations in the peel, pulp, and membranes of citrus fruit, such as grapefruits, lemons, and oranges
  • Caffeine: to instantly relieve tired eyes and remove puffiness; natural
  • Grape Seed Proanthocyanidins:  grape seed extract which is a powerful antioxidant and moisturizer
  • Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide: also known as  Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7; a natural peptide that consists of a chain of four amino acids. This is a key ingredient in Matrixyl 3000 and naturally increases collagen product and helps the skin heal and rejuvenate itself
  • Pomegranate Extract: an antioxidant, inhibits the growth of harmful enzymes that can cause cells to grow out of control and mutate
  • Carnosine: natural dipeptide of two amino acids(alanine and histidine); an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory agent
  • Carnitine: amino acid produced naturally in the body; has a fat burning property and is thought to reverse inflammation, swelling and the appearance of puffiness
  • Tetrahydrocurcuminoids: extracted from the root of Tumeric; a whitening, antioxidant ingredient
  • Natto Gum: derived from fermented soybeans; a potent antioxidant
  • Ferulic Acid: antioxidant and UV-blocking capabilities
  • Lycopene: antioxidant and UV-blocking capabilities
  • Glutathione: a natural tripeptide, or antioxidant, of three amino acids
  • Glutaredoxin: antioxidant protection
  • Superoxide dismutase: green plants extract (barley grass, broccoli, brussels sprouts, cabbage, wheatgrass, and most green plants); an antioxidant which overpowers superoxide, the most common free radical and protects the cells from it.

Ingredients: Sea Kelp Bioferment, Water, Sodium PCA, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Niacinamide (vitamin B3), Alpha Bisabolol, Coconut Endosperm, Natural Active Peptides, Sodium Hyaluronate (hyaluronic acid), Guaiazulene, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Caffeine, Grape Seed Proanthocyanidins, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide, Pomegranate Extract, Carnosine, Carnitine, Tetrahydrocurcuminoids, Natto Gum, Ferulic Acid, Lycopene, Glutathione, Glutaredoxin, Superoxide Dismutase  cosDNA.com analysis


I hoped you enjoyed reading about my favorite products in this January/February edition.   Let me know if you have tried them and what you think about these products or comment on your own favorite recent finds!

[ descriptions in italics are from the linked product’s website ]

[ this page has affiliate links ]



3 thoughts on “January & February 2015: Products I really like a lot!

  1. So happy to see you are liking the Milk toner! it’s the next one in my toner lineup (lol) so I was hoping to see some positive feedback from someone!🙂
    Also, I am super jealous of that yeon mask! I really need to get more products from them-I’ve loved everything I’ve tried so far!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

