Unboxing February 2015 Kloverbox + Promo!

I received my February Kloverbox ~ I felt like I just got my January one, as that one was late getting to me!  If you are interested in a fantastic eco-friendly life style subscription, I truly recommend  Kloverbox subscription.   Kloverbox delivers deluxe and full size products and I have been impressed with their packaging and curating of their boxes.  This is one subscription that I look forward to every month and am excited to open.

This month’s theme is  “More to Love” and it is mainly skincare and body care products this month ~ a total of seven products!

Informational Card

Renaissance Beauty Shampoo and Conditioner  Renaissance Beauty is this month’s featured etsy store and it is founded by Sarah Ross.   Her mission statement is as follows:

Renaissance Beauty was founded on the healing energy of nature. Our hand-crafted, artisan beauty products are formulated with the finest quality, fair trade ingredients from around the world. We strive to deliver high performance, natural products, so we only use 100% pure, therapeutic grade essential oils, botanical, and nut oils- never any synthetic fragrance, colors, or preservatives. Gluten Free.

This shampoo and conditioner set is in Orchid-Rose, which of course, I cannot use.  Rose scented products make my allergies come out and I am sad that I cannot use these.   However, I will save these to give as a Mother’s Day gift, as my mom will really like these.  These are just lovely with their ingredients of honey, argan oil (shampoo), hazelnut oil (conditioner) and essential oils which include ylang ylang and myrrh.    I am interested in her Ginger and Lemongrass volumizing shampoo and detangler spray, as that might be better suited for my hair type and also I would have no issues with allergies!  I am not sure that the shampoo is sulfate-free, as sulfosuccinate is considered a sulfate.

Sulfosuccinates are generally sodium salts of alkyl esters of sulfosuccinic acid that are a result of condensation of maleic anhydride with a fatty alcohol, followed by sulfonation with sodium bisulfite (NaHSO3). In other words, they are sulfonated like the other sulfates and sulfonates. (source)

There is also behentrimonium methosulfate, which is made from rapeseed (canola/honey) oil and is very mild.  However, there are good sulfates and bad ones and these listed are very mild and get a good rating.   I think that when Renaissance Beauty mentions no sulfates, they are referring to the bad ones.

Our products are free of:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Synthetic Fragrances
– Synthetic Dyes
– Petrochemicals
– Phthalates
– GMOs
– Triclosan
– Silicone/Dimethicone

Orchid Rose Shampoo Deluxe Size 4 oz Value $6.00

Description: Finally a sulfate free shampoo that works miracles! Can be used on all hair types, won’t weigh hair down, won’t strip color or keratin, and even has mild detangling action. First, we make a proprietary floral water from orchids and roses. This offers vital nutrients to the hair and scalp, soothing irritations, and supporting healthy hair growth. It is further enhanced with Argan oil to balance out the scalp and weightlessly nourish the hair, and ylang ylang essential oil to maintain hair thickness. And of course as always- gluten free.

Ingredients: Organic Orchid Rose water, sulfosuccinate, Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Organic Argan oil, behentrimonium methosulfate, polysorbate 20, citric acid, essential oil of ylang ylang, jasmine, orange, myrrh  cosDNA.com analysis

Orchid  Rose Conditioner  Deluxe Size 4 oz Value $8.50

Description:  The last conditioner you will ever want to buy. First, we make a proprietary floral water from orchids and roses. This offers vital nutrients to the hair and scalp, soothing irritations, and supporting healthy hair growth. The Orchid Rose conditioner is enhanced with silk protein to heal damage and minimize breakage, hazelnut oil to nourish and honey to hydrate tresses. Can be used daily, left in, or as a mask.

Ingredients: Organic Orchid Rose water, Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Organic Raw Honey, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Organic Hazelnut Oil, Silk Protein, citric acid, essential oils of jasmine, orange, ylang ylang, myrrh cosDNA.com analysis



Little Barn Apothecary The Simple Face Oil  Little Barn Apothecary is located in Stone Mountain, Georgia and use organic and wild harvested natural ingredients.  This facial oil  is made from hemp (yeah, I am a firm believer in using hemp products), avocado, jojoba, lavender and frankincense oils.  That is it.  Five ingredients.   The color is a grass green, translucent, which I would think is coming from the hemp oil and it is a very rich and moisturizing oil.   The scent is AMAZING.  I swear, it is so sensuous and opulent, which I have to attribute to the frankincense oil.  I don’t think I will use this for my face, as it is probably too heavy for my oily skin, but as a décolleté oil.  I will also use this as a scent as well, as it is such a beautiful fragrance that I can see myself just putting on my pulse points.   I put this on over an hour ago and I can still smell it!  I’ve been looking at their website and wow, there are some items there that I am very interested in getting, such as simple toning water- soothing and clearing, the simple tint and the simple body oil in sun.  I think Kloverbox did a great job finding these companies, as Little Barn Apothecary also has a fabulous charity that they give 2% of each sale to – AARF, a non-profit animal rescue organization that helps abandoned, abused and stray animals find new homes.   I love supporting companies like this.  Full Size 2 oz Value $20.00

Description: our nutrient rich simple face oil is loaded with pure, natural plant based antioxidants. we blended our face oil to be best suited for all skin types, but is most beneficial for skin that is considered as being normal (not overly dry or oily).  our simple face oil combats dullness due to environmental stress and fatigue, and enriches the skins elasticity and moisture with deep hydration. our oil blend revitalizes skin deep into the cellular level and creates a silky, smooth, and glowing, complexion. 

How to Use: after cleansing gently press a few drops all over face and décolleté. 

Ingredients: organic cold pressed hemp seed oil, cold pressed avocado oil, cold pressed jojoba oil, essential oils of lavender and frankincense cosDNA.com analysis


En Bloom by Fit Lush Lemograss & Lime Argan Oil Infused Body Scrub  OMG.  I love this scent.  Lemongrass and Lime, come to me, babeeee….  For those who read my blog, you all know how much I love citrus scents, so this is perfect for me.  This is a yellowish-green sugar scrub, with a bright lime/lemongrass scent.    This body scrub has just a few ingredients, including coconut oil, cane sugar and essential oils.   It comes with this cute wooden spoon to help mix up the contents.  My only complaint is that it is TOO SMALL!!   Deluxe Size 2 oz Value $7.99


Description: LEMONGRASS + LIME A bright blend of nourishing, exfoliating, and anti oxidizing ingredients for smooth and vibrant skin while removing dead skin cells.

Ingredients: coconut oil, cane sugar, 100% organic, cold-pressed Argan oil, essential oils- lemongrass and lime, turmeric  cosDNA.com analysis

Verità Skin Acai Rose Argan Lip Balm This is a lip balm made from pure Moroccan Argan oil, Vitamin E and has a berry (acai) and rose flavor/scent.    Since this has a rose scent, I will also be gifting this as part of the Rose Mother’s Day goodie bag for my mom.   This lip balm is made from 99% organic ingredients.   I really like Verità Skin’s mission statement:

“Verità partners with women-owned businesses and the Argan oil is produced by women’s cooperatives in Morocco. Amanda believes that global companies such as Verità can bring organic products to the market that are environmentally sustainable, support economic development in emerging markets, and create jobs for women around the world.

Supporting women businesses in developing countries is so critical to obtaining stability in those regions that are impoverished.   I truly believe that if women are empowered, that peace and stability, economic prosperity and hopefully, no war, no abuse to women and children.  Full Size 4.4 mL  Value $5.99

This company makes a cinnamon ginger mint lip balm, which is sold out right now, that I would be interested in purchasing.  Updated to add:  I had entered my email address to let me know when the cinnamon ginger mint lip balm would be back in stock, and within minutes, I received an email from the CEO of Verità Skin, Amanda, letting me know she had one left and had added it in the online shop.  I was able to order that and I cannot wait!  I have too many lip balms, but this formula is so unique and all 3 flavors are ones that I love, so I had to break my no-buy lip balm rule and get it🙂   I am impressed with Verità Skin’s quick response and customer service!

Description: Amanda’s favorite, the Acai Rose Argan Lip Balm revels in sweet berry flavor combined with the calming scent of rose. It’s the perfect prelude to romantic times. Acai flavor dovetails splendidly with the anti-aging agenda of our deeply moisturizing mix, which restores a silky feeling to your lips, hands, and cuticles. Verità Argan Lip Balms banish the mystery ingredients and give you the gold! Pure Argan oil, harvested & cold-pressed by an all-woman collective in central Morocco, packs enough Vitamin E to soften your lips for a lifetime of kisses. Sensuously smooth Shea Butter, sourced from fair trade co-ops in Ghana, Africa, doubles as a natural sun block against ultraviolet rays and strengthens your hands’ elasticity. Anti-bacterial Beeswax protectively coats the skin around your nails to a velvet fineness. 100 percent natural, Argan Lip Balms come in stylish 4.4ml lip tubes that summon the irresistible élan of the French New Wave. Stash a few balms around your atelier or transport them easily in even the smallest handbag. 

Ingredients: Organic Argan oil, organic coconut oil, organic shea butter, organic beeswax, and natural acai rose flavor oil. 

No added fragrances
No parabens
No phthalates
No sodium lauryl/laureth sulfates
No polyethylene glycols or petrochemical products


Love for Humanity Organics  Anti-aging Eye Serum   This eye serum is made from pumpkin seed, chamomile, rosehip, safflower  and rose geranium oils.  Rose geranium is not rose and rosehip is an ingredient I can use without any issues.  Love for Humanity will also donate one meal for a starving child in the USA for each purchase.  Another amazing mission statement and cause.  They have some really nice products at their site and they have a travel kit with deluxe sizes that I am purchasing.   Sample Size 1.5 mL Value $5.00

Description: Desperately need to revive the dark, puffy skin around your eyes? With our tremendously nutritious and moisturizing serum you’ll be bright eyed in a jiffy. As blue chamomile calms and heals delicate skin, helichrysum works to reduce skin discoloration and stimulate tissue regeneration. Abounding with natural nutrients, especially zinc and vitamin C, pumpkin seed helps slash signs of aging. And with pumpkin seed, there’s no need for harsh alpha hydroxy acids. It naturally exfoliates and helps encourage cell turnover for a youthful glow.

  • Ultra potent eye serum
  • Immediately revives puffy skin around the eyes
  • Brightens dark circles
  • Helichrysum reduces skin discoloration & fine lines
  • Blue Chamomile calms and heals delicate skin
  • Pumpkin Seed naturally exfoliates and encourages cell turnover for a youthful glow

Ingredients: Rosa rubiginosa (rosehip)* seed oil, Cucurbita pepo L.(pumpkin)* seed oil , Carthamus tinctorius (safflower)* seed oil, Ricinus communis(castor)*seed oil, Pelargonium graveolens(rose geranium)* oil, Matricaria recutita(blue chamomile)* oil, Helichrysum italicum (helichrysum)* oil. *certified organic  cosDNA.com analysis


image from http://www.lfhorganics.com/products/Eye_Serum


That’s It Apple and Pear Fruit Bar 
This fruit bar has 2 ingredients.  Yep, apples and pears.  It has no preservatives, 100 calories, 3 grams of fiber, non GMO, no fat, gluten free, all natural, kosher, vegan and raw.   I love the fiber content as most people do not get their daily recommended amount of fiber, myself included.   This bar has visible fruit pieces and it has the texture of those wonderful dried apricot fruit “leather” from MidEastern countries that I enjoyed as a child

That’s It has several fruit bar flavors, all of them with apple and the 2nd ingredient varies:  blueberries, bananas, cherries, mangoes, apricots, strawberries and pineapple.  I am very interested in apple + cherry, apple + mango and apple + apricot.     Full Size 1.2 oz Value $1.67

Description: The Ultimate Fiber Source! Pears are high in Vitamin C and B-complex Vitamins, which are great for immunity and energy.  Ingredient lists have never been this simple and this clean until now. We use only natural, non-GMO fruit and nothing else.  Our goal is to make it convenient for people to get their “2-a-day.” That means that you get 2 whole servings of fruit from just one That’s It. ® bar.  With taste, convenience and portion control, That’s It. ® has raised the bar on fruit

image from http://shop.thatsitfruit.com/fruit-bars/apple-pear/


It is a given that February, with Valentine’s Day, that I am bound to receive rose products in my boxes.  I do hope that is what happened here and that other months will not have so many products with rose ingredients.  The reason why I fell in love with Kloverbox is that they hadn’t been sending out products with rose ingredients and I hope that is something that they will continue to do.  I am not asking for all rose scented items to be eradicated, but just not so many in one box (3 products in this box alone!)   I am lucky that I have family and friends that love rose products, but I am also selfish ~ I purchased this subscription for myself and would like to use the items🙂   I paid $16.67  due to my Black Friday discount and received a value of over $54.00.    Do you subscribe to Kloverbox?  What was your favorite product this month?

Current Promo:  Use BFFM10 to save 10% off any length subscription.  One and three month terms automatically renew, the six month is a one time purchase.  Also, this is new – the monthly subscription has an option to skip a month!


Sneak Peeks into March Box

Don’t scroll down if you don’t want to know!!  I have the free version of wordpress, so I cannot do proper spoiler tags😦


















 One of these might be in our boxes ~ From Pelle Beauty

[ descriptions in italics are from the linked product website ]


One thought on “Unboxing February 2015 Kloverbox + Promo!

Leave a Reply

