Unboxing February 2015 BirchBox #RenttheRunway

One of the customizations that you can do with Birchbox is pick your own sample (PYS), which I have done since they have begun this program, not pick a sample or pick a special curated box where the items are known ahead of time.  I have not picked a curated box because they didn’t interest me as much until February’s curated box ~  Birchbox partnered with Rent the Runway, a company that rents clothing for parties and special events, and this box really did appeal to me.  This is the box that I chose and I received it today, after some delays from Birchbox.

I love this month’s box ~ it is a plain white box, with Rent the Runway and Birchbox logo, but the border is full of cabbage roses ~ very sweet and romantic looking.

My Box Revealed!

Fekkai Blowout Hair Refresher Dry Shampoo, theBalm Read My Lips in Bam!, Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner in Raina, derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic Scrub, Not Soap, Radio Body Wash in The Stuff that Cupid dips his arrows in

Informational Card

Fekkai Blowout Hair Refresher Dry Shampoo   I love dry shampoo ~ not because I don’t wash my hair everyday as I do, but because I have found that dry shampoo is a great texturizer for my fine, limp and straight hair.   I am pretty excited to try this product out. Travel Size 1.7 oz Value $10.00

Description: Much like the socks on our floors, our hair needs to ace the smell test in order to truly pass for clean. (Gross, but true.) This dry shampoo gets the job done, absorbing excess oil and perking up limp locks while misting them with a light, refreshing scent. Better yet, this spray goes on completely clear—no powdery residue to contend with here. In just a few spritzes, your days-old blowout will look as good as new.

How to Use: Use this dry shampoo to revive your blowout or make greasy, unwashed hair look and smell clean again. Shake well before using. Holding can 10–12 inches away, lightly spritz your roots, working section by section. Tousle and work through hair with your hands. Brush out and style as desired.


theBalm Read My Lips in Bam!  Bam! is described as rose pink, but I find it to be warmer toned, which I am really pleased.   When I do apply this on my lips, the color fades into my own lip color :(  but it does make my lips glossy.  Bam! does not have a lot of color payoff with my lip tone, which is strange as I do not think my lips are so pigmented.   I do think that BOOM!, which is a raisin color (wine) might be one that I purchase with my BB points at some time.  These lip glosses are make with ginseng, green tea, sunflower seed oil, aloe vera and vitamin E and are creamy, not glittery, applies smoothly, very moisturizing and has a faint berry scent and taste that disappears quickly.   Deluxe Size 2.5 mL  Value $4.00

Description: Silence may be golden, but we can’t help spreading the word about these playful glosses. They combine vivid pigment and full-on shine to help lips look fuller, with a light, nonsticky consistency to boot. Infused with energizing ginseng, these antioxidant-rich glosses have plenty of color payoff

Ingredients: Polybutene, Helianthus Annuus (sunflower) Seed Oil, Octyldodecanol, Ricinus Communis (castor) Seed Oil, Candelilla Cera ((euphorbia Cerifera (candelilla) Wax) Cire De Cadelilla, Cera Carnauba ((copernicia Cerifera (carnauba) Wax) Cire De Carnauba), Trihydroxystearin, Polyethylene, Phenoxyethanol, Flavor (aroma), Bumetrizole, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Carthamus Tinctorius (safflower) Seed Oil, Camellia Oleifera (green Tea) Leaf Extract, Aloe Barbadensis (aloe Vera) Leaf Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Retinyl Palmitate. May Contain/peut Contenir [+/- : Mica (ci 77019), Titaniumdioxide (ci 77891), Iron Oxides (ci 77492, Ci 77491, Ci 77499), Red 6 (ci 15850),red 7 Lake (ci 15850), Blue 1 Lake (ci 42090), Red 30 Lake (ci 73360), Yellow 5 Lake (ci 19140), Red 28 Lake (ci 454)

Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner in Raina  This is described as a navy blue, but I found it to be more very dark teal rather than a navy blue.  This is fine by me, as I have navy blue eyeliners, but dark blue-green ones are rare in my collection.  Sumita’s eyeliner goes on smoothly due to the jojoba oil and glides on without tugging.   This eyeliner will not smudge once it sets, after a minute or so, so you can smudge it out to get a smokey eye or to soften the edge.  Once it sets, it pretty much does not move.  I do love this color ~ I feel ready for summer with this eyeliner and the lip gloss in Bam!  Deluxe Size .024 oz Value $5.25

Description: The makeup experts at Sumita have created a versatile eyeliner that exceeds all our tough standards: sensational blending abilities, bold colors, and non-irritating formulas. The soft wax formula goes on smooth to create clean lines or can be smudged to smoky perfection. Plus, the long-lasting liner will hold up all day and night.

Ingredients: Isodecodane, Ozokerite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Ceresin Paraffin, Polybutene, Microcrystalline Wax, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Phenoxyethanol , Tocopherol, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide, Black iron Oxide

derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic Scrub  I actually have used this before in the past.  It is a nice facial scrub.  It has Vitamin A (retinol) and glycolic acid,  which helps exfoliate and remove dead skin cells.  Deluxe Size 1 oz Value $3.19

Description: Dead skin cells don’t just clog pores, they also dull your complexion and give skin an older appearance. No thanks! We’re all about aging gracefully, but that doesn’t mean we can’t work to slow it down a bit. Freshen up your face with this all-natural smoothing scrub. The gentle formula sloughs away dead cells and deep cleans pores for a younger, more radiant glow.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Cetyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Decyl Glucoside, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Seed Powder, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Glycerin, Polysorbate 60, Cetearyl Alcohol, Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Ascorbyl Palmitate (C-Ester), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Organic Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Organic Cymbopogon Schoenanthus (Lemon Grass) Extract, Equisetum Arvense (Horsetail) Extract, Macrocystis Pyrifera (Sea Kelp) Extract, Glycolic Acid, Panthenol, Gluconolactone , Sodium Benzoate, Natural and Fragrant Oils

Not Soap, Radio Body Wash in The Stuff that Cupid dips his arrows in  This is the product that I really wanted and why I got the Rent the Runway curated box.  I have enjoyed “Not Soap, Radio” products in the past and the description of a blackberry and vanilla body wash sounded so lovely.  And guess what?  It does smell lovely!  I love berry scents and this one is a blackberry explosion, that also moisturizes and does not dry out my skin.    This is another product that I will save my BB points for to purchase later on.  Deluxe Size 1.5 oz  Value $1.76

Description: In the ever-expanding world of beauty products, soap can sometimes get the short shrift—until you happen upon a collection like this one. Sure, it’ll get you clean, but these aromatherapeutic formulas also aim to address the most pressing of your first-world problems—with a snarky sense of humor and seriously delicious scents.

Ingredients:  Water, Sodium (C14-16) Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Extract (and) Gentiana Lutea (Gentian) Extract (and) Equisetum Hiemale (Horsetail) Extract (and) Hypericum Perforatum (St. John’s Wort) Extract (and) Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance, Citric Acid, Panax Ginseng Extract. FD&C Red #33, FD&C Yellow #5, FD&C Blue #1



Sumita Color Contrast Eyeliner in Raina, theBalm Read My Lips in Bam!

I am very happy with my curated Rent the Runway box.  I also got a coupon for $30.00 off at Rent the Runway, but I won’t use that.  I love the body wash, dry shampoo and the eyeliner is a plus as a dark blue-green color.  I do like the formula of the lipgloss, so I might pick up the wine shade later on.  I paid $10.00 for my box and received a value of $24.20

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?  What did you get this month and what was your favorite item?

If you want to subscribe to Birchbox, I would love it if you used my referral link   https://www.birchbox.com/invite/biancardi

[ descriptions in italics from birchbox.com and product websites ]

2 thoughts on “Unboxing February 2015 BirchBox #RenttheRunway

Leave a Reply

