Unboxing February 2015 Flicker Box!

Welcome to my new subscription box!  I love candles and have been having candle-envy when I see bloggers show their candles that they have purchased.   I also happen to hoard my candles, just like I do with my artisan crafted soaps, so I thought by having a candle subscription, I would have plenty of candles to use and break my hoarding habits!  Also, I will have candles to gift as well, because I haven’t met one person yet who doesn’t like to receive a candle🙂

I decided to subscribe to Flicker Box, a company based in Chicago.  What is Flicker Box?

Flicker Box is inspired by a love and appreciation for handmade candles. We believe that people appreciate products produced by quality artisans made in the United States. We want to connect candle lovers with people who love to make candles.

Each Flicker Box contains a variety of artisanal candles made from candle artists from around the United States. We share their story and ship subscribers a delightfully curated box right to their doorstep. Flicker box costs as low as $25/month and can be purchased as an automatically-renewing monthly subscription or 3, 6, or 12 month term subscriptions.  from http://myflickerbox.com/about

I just received my February Box, whose theme is “Pretty In Pink“.   As this is the first time I have received a box from them, I like to show how it is packed.  It came in a cardboard box and when I opened it, there was another cardboard box inside, tied with a parcel string

When I opened that box, my candles were nestled within a ton of shredded crinkles, to ensure that they didn’t break.  One of my candle tins was still dented, but that was just the lid and I am not worried about that.

Information Card

From top, going clockwise: Uncommon Scents “Love Letter”, Second Star to the Right “Love Spell”, The Tiny Collection “Passion Fruit & Guava”, Armadilla Wax Works Floating Unscented Rose Candle

An Aerial View

Uncommon Scents Love Letter” ~ This is a nice big candle in a glass jar.  Uncommon Scents are made in Decatur, GA and this is a handcrafted soy candle in a pale pink color.   Soy candles are eco-friendly, have a longer burn time and are very clean.    “Love Letter” is a floral fruity scent, I can really smell the peach in this one!   I love a nice peach scent and it has been a long time since I have had a peach candle.  Value $12.00

“Ah, the sweet smell of love…. a fusion of citrus, cherry blossom, hydrangea, apple and peach; with a hint of blondewood, infused with natural essential oils, including orange and grapefruit.”

Second Star To The Right Love Spell”  ~ This is a local Chicago artisan who also has an etsy shop!  For those who read my blog, you know I love it when subscription boxes have items from etsy shops, as I love supporting small artistic businesses.   This is a lovely rose colored candle with a wooden wick ~ I have never seen that before in a candle!   This is another candle with peach fragrance in it, but I also smell the cherry blossoms in this 100% soy candle.    I’ve checked out their shop, and they have some pretty cool scents, like beer, sweet wine, coca cola, free cut grass and fireplace.  Fireplace is one that I have to try, as I love crackling fireplace by New Yankee Candle and that is discontinued.  Value $11.00

“This irresistible Love Spell scented candle smells just like the flirty perfume we love from Victoria’s Secret. This is a vibrant blend of lush cherry blossom, hydrangea, juicy peach, apple and a touch of citrus.  This handmade candle is highly scented and makes for a great gift. The all natural soy wax is lightly colored and poured into a silver tin with a clear top fitted lid. Wooden wick burns slowly and crackles when lit. The label around the tin is easily removable, so after your candle is finished, you can reuse the tin container!  I use soy wax in my candles, which have many benefits over traditional paraffin wax:

  • It is made from a renewable source, 100% soybean oil
  • Burns longer than paraffin
  • Burns extremely clean and at low temperatures, producing little soot
  • Easy to clean up with warm water and mild soap
  • Contains no animal or petroleum by-products”

The Tiny CollectionPassion Fruit & Guava~ Another etsy shop!  I love this one, as I can really smell the sweet passion fruit and guava scents in this pale creamy colored candle.  This is another soy candle, handcrafted in Dallas, Texas, and they donate part of the purchase price to ASPCA.  Fantastic!  This is the candle that had the dented lid, but it doesn’t matter to me, as I have already lit this tiny lovely candle.   The Tiny Collection also has some interesting scents, like sweet pea, driftwood, sea mist and mistletoe.   Value $11.00

“This candle is so sweet & fruity! After burning, the soy wax will create a rustic look because it is all natural.”

Armadilla Wax Works Floating Pink Rose” ~ When I opened this box and saw the pink rose candle on top, I was “oh no, a rose candle”.  However, this is an unscented candle, which means I can enjoy the prettiness of this rose flower without sneezing!   This is a floating candle, which means you float this in a clear glass bowl, filled with water, and this candle will last 4-6 hours.  Armadilla Wax Works is a Flickerbox favorite and the company is located in Prescott, AZ.   Value $3.00

“Garden Rose Floating Candles bring you the delicate details of blooming roses ~ just like the ones from your garden. Some roses have extraordinary fragrance and some have none at all ~ just like our rose candles. We offer the choice that’s perfect for you.”

I love this subscription already!  Four lovely candles, none of them rose scented ~ haha.  I really cannot pick a favorite, as I love the scents in 3 candles and the pink rose is just so pretty.   Since this was my first month, I paid $25.00 for my box and received a value of $37.00, which is pretty darn good, considering if I ordered these candles separately, I would have to pay for shipping on each one.   Going forward, my subscription will be $34.00/monthly.  I don’t expect to get a huge difference between what I pay and what the value I receive, as these are handcrafted artisan candles and just like my Sudsy Box Soap subscription, the value to me is in the uniqueness of these products, the scents and supporting made in the USA small businesses.

Flickerbox also has a store, where you purchase candles that were featured in their past boxes.

Do you subscribe to Flickerbox?  What did you think of this month’s candles?  Let me know in the comments below!


[ descriptions in italics from the product linked website ]

One thought on “Unboxing February 2015 Flicker Box!

Leave a Reply

