Unboxing ABCDEat Taste of Taiwan

I received my last two boxes from ABCDEats ~ sobs ~ I hope they will reopen soon ~ I love these snack boxes.  I have purchased several of these boxes from ABCDEat  and have reviewed them here.   What is ABCDEats?  A fellow beauty blogger has branched out and created her own subscription box, which is an Asian Snack/Food box.  Genie and her partner call it ABCDEat and currently,  you have to order each item separately as they do not have a normal subscription automatic fee.   At this time, they are not taking new orders.

About ABCDEat

ABCDEat stands for Asian Box Can Do Eat (It), and we are a Hong Kong-based online store where we gather snacks from all over Asia to add into our boxes, and ship them directly to your doorstep.

ABCDEat provides both a monthly service, as well as boxes that you can order at any time. We also have some special promotions during the weekends!!!

The advantage of ABCDEat being located in Hong Kong, is that Hong Kong is an international city, and we can find snacks from all over the world here! We know that everyone loves snacks, especially all the Asian goodies, so we would like to share this food experience with you too!

At ABCDEat, we’re committed to bringing you only the best – we’ll make sure it’s worth the wait!!

I love Asian food, and other than dandan noodles, I am not overly familiar with Taiwanese cuisine, so I ordered this box.

image from https://www.facebook.com/ABCDEat

What is Taiwan famous for? Apart from the hot springs and shopping, Taiwan is also famous for their local street snacks. From pineapple cakes, dandan noodles, sun cakes – you name it! Try out our Taste of Taiwan Box now to try out all the crazy and wacky flavours of Taiwan!! You’ll surely fall in love!!!

Informational Card


Taste of Taiwan Revealed!

Top Row:  Taiwan Pineapple Cake, Cute Ya White Chocolate Almond Cookie Rolls, I Mei Taipei Egg Crisps with dried fish floss
Bottom Row: Ambao Crisp Honey Cookies, Chiao-E Handmade Brown Sugar Pumpkin Pie, Playful Naughty Original Quail Egg, Cute Ya Strawberry Chocolate Almond Cookie Rolls

I received 2 of each item, except for the Egg Crisps as that was a full box.

Taiwan Pineapple Cake:  The cookie layer reminds me of a Fig Newton, very moist, chewy, crumbly and the pineapple paste filling does taste like pineapple ~ it isn’t overly sweet, which I like.  These are very good.

Cute Ya White Chocolate Almond Cookie Rolls:   Yummy, these are very crunchy cookies, with a coconut topping, white chocolate layer and then the crisp almond cookie.  Very tasty and are great with tea or coffee.

I Mei Taipei Egg Crisps with Dried Fish Floss (salmon & tuna):  I am not sure what “fish floss” is, so I looked it up ~ “floss” is a term for any dried meat/fish that has been finely shredded and seasoned, some with soy sauce and sugar.  Well, I love bacon bits in a jar, so this is right up my food corner!  I haven’t tried these yet, but I will this week.  These are egg rolls that have the dried salmon and tuna floss in the middle.  The egg roll is supposed to be sweet, but the filling gives it a salty taste ~ I love to try out sweet-salty pairings.  I have been known to purchase a bag of buttered popcorn with salt and a box of raisinets (chocolate covered raisins) and mix them together while I watch a movie.  Hey, don’t knock it until you tried it!

Anbao Crisp Honey Cookies ~ These are more like sesame sticks in their flavor, which I am used to the plain ones here in the states.  However, these have been made with honey and sugar, so it is a twist on the plain sesame sticks ~ I love the sweetness and the pairing of the sesames with these crispy cookies.  And I couldn’t just eat one or two.  I snarfed through that bag of cookies quickly.

Chiao-E Handmade Brown Sugar Pumpkin Pie ~ These little cakes are made with black sugar, not brown, and according to the info card, black sugar is supposed to be more healthier than brown sugar.  These are fried dough cookies, covered in black sugar syrup and with pumpkin puree.  I will be eating these tonight (yes, I can only eat so many snacks in one sitting!)

Playful Naughty Original Quail Egg ~ Okay, I did laugh at the name of the brand.  I thought Genie was slipping in some type of aphrodisiac in my snack box!  I’ve eaten preserved quail eggs before in a restaurant, but never by themselves.   I did find a review on this snack and it is supposed to be quite good ~ with a sweet/salty taste and a bit of a spiciness from the pepper, so I will be trying these out ~ probably at the same time I eat the Egg Crisps.  These eggs have been soaked in a special sauce (soy sauce, sugar, and red pepper) so they hardened and turn black, and I remember that preserved quail eggs had a bouncy texture to them.  These are best eaten by 5/8/15 and no worries there, I will eat them way before then!

Cute Ya Strawberry Chocolate Almond Cookie Rolls ~ These are cousins to the White Chocolate ones, only with the crispy almond cookie covered in a strawberry flavored chocolate, topped with coconut flakes.  I do love these almond cookies!!


What I have tried in this box, I have really enjoyed.   I cannot wait to try the savory snacks in this box later on this week.   I love the concept of the “Taste of..” boxes.  I have one more box to review, which is the Taste of Thai, and that is so radically different from this box!  A major surprise in that snack box, I can tell you!  All of the items in my box were fresh, not expired and ABCDEat’s clearly marked in the informational card where they were made.  I paid $21.99 for my box, which includes shipping and handling.

Check out ABCDEat at  https://www.facebook.com/ABCDEat.    All of the products from ABCDEat are made from companies that are reputable in Asian countries.    My Taste of Thai box will be reviewed later this week and I hope ABCDEat’s resumes service soon.


[ descriptions in italics from https://www.facebook.com/ABCDEat ]

Leave a Reply

