Unboxing ABCDEat Noodle Box – Non-Spicy Edition!

I have purchased several of these boxes from ABCDEat  and have reviewed them here.   What is ABCDEats?  A fellow beauty blogger has branched out and created her own subscription box, which is an Asian Snack/Food box.  Genie and her partner call it ABCDEat and currently,  you have to order each item separately as they do not have a normal subscription automatic fee.   At this time, they are not taking new orders, so I am glad I have several more boxes coming, Spicy Edition of the Noodle Box, Chinese New Year, Taste of Taiwan and Taste of Thai.

About ABCDEat

ABCDEat stands for Asian Box Can Do Eat (It), and we are a Hong Kong-based online store where we gather snacks from all over Asia to add into our boxes, and ship them directly to your doorstep.

ABCDEat provides both a monthly service, as well as boxes that you can order at any time. We also have some special promotions during the weekends!!!

The advantage of ABCDEat being located in Hong Kong, is that Hong Kong is an international city, and we can find snacks from all over the world here! We know that everyone loves snacks, especially all the Asian goodies, so we would like to share this food experience with you too!

At ABCDEat, we’re committed to bringing you only the best – we’ll make sure it’s worth the wait!!

I admit, I do like ramen noodles.  I know, they are bad for you, blah, blah, but as someone who works full time and is very busy, lunch time can be a hassle at work.  I like to keep packages of my noodles in my desk and I will supplement them with some chopped veggies and protein  ~ if I remember to bring them in!  I am interested in trying other brands and flavors of Asian noodles so I purchased both the spicy and non-spicy editions.

 image from https://www.facebook.com/ABCDEat

Who doesn’t love instant noodles? Yes, they’re unhealthy, but it’s always good to have some sitting in your kitchen in case of those days you don’t want to cook or have anything too heavy. Here, in Hong Kong, we have a huge variety of the type of noodles as well as the flavour of the noodles!! Think of the abalone chicken noodles, the kimchi noodles, and so many more!! Don’t miss out on this box and order now!!!


Informational Card

Noodle Box – Non-Spicy Edition Revealed!

I wanted to show you how full my box was with noodle packages!  My noodles were all bubbled-wrapped, so this box was very securely packed.

Top Row:  Fuku Superior Soup, Tokyo Noodle – Shincahn Tonkotsu Ramen, Kung Tak Lum Vegetarian Mushroom Noodle
Bottom Row: Four Seas Beef and Radish Flavor Instant Noodle, Chewy Instant Rice Vermicelli, Chewy Instant Rice Vermicelli, Sau Tao Vermicelli Ho Fan Abalone & Prawn Flavor


Fuku Superior Soup Instant Noodle:   I actually got two of these!  Probably a mistake, but hey, I am not complaining.  These noodles are made in Japan and can actually be prepared as a soup in the traditional manner or eaten “raw” – you just smush up the bag and then add the seasoning, for a quick crunchy treat.  I’ve had “raw” ramen noodles before and I actually like mine in a soup🙂

Tokyo Noodle – Shincahn Tonkotsu Ramen:  Tonkotsu is a pork bone broth that is specialty in Japan.  The noodles are usually thinner and straight, as opposed to the curly, thicker ramen noodles.  I have some pickled ginger and use that as a side dish, as that is served with this type of soup.  I am pretty happy to try out a new type of ramen noodle soup!  This soup is made in Japan.

Kung Tak Lum Vegetarian Mushroom Noodle:  This noodle soup is made in China, licensed by Hong Kong Company, Four Seas, which is a reputable, award-winning food manufacturer I trust Genie to pick out products that are top quality and she does do her research on where food is made, as she lives right there in Hong Kong!    This is a vegetarian noodle dish, with a mushroom broth.

Four Seas Beef and Radish Flavor Instant Noodle: Another noodle dish made in China, licensed by Hong Kong Company, Four Seas.  I am really interested in trying this out – I had no idea that beef brisket and radishes was a dish, let alone popular in Asia.  I wonder if the radish is daikon, which is a traditional Asian radish ~ it is a white long vegetable, reminds me of a parsnip in its shape. It is much more milder than what Westerners think of a radish ~ the round, small red radishes. This is also flavored with beef tallow, which is extremely tasty (yes, and fattening, but as a seasoning, you can’t beat the taste) For those who are old enough to remember, McDonalds used to fry their french fries in beef tallow before they switched to 100% vegetable oil and Julia Child,  the famous “French Chef”,  lamented that change

The key to all things is moderation :)  For those interested, below is a comparison of the two radishes, daikon on the left and red radish on the right.

images from http://en.wikipedia.org

Chewy Instant Rice Vermicelli:  I love vermicelli noodles ~ one of my favorite dishes is a Vietnamese lemongrass chicken dish with cold vermicelli noodles (Bún gà nướng xả) so I am pretty happy to see some vermicelli noodles in here.  I didn’t know that vermicelli noodles are favored over other noodles in Hong Kong and that it was healthier because it isn’t fried.  Vermicelli are made with rice and this soup is from Thailand

Nissin Pickled Vegetable Pork Flavor Vermicelli:  This soup is manufactured in Japan and it was the random soup that I picked for my lunch the other day.  I will give a review of it below.  This one sounds lovely – pork broth with pickled vegs!  According to Genie, this is a favorite dish in Hong Kong in local cafes, such as Cha Chan Teng.

Sau Tao Vermicelli Ho Fan Abalone & Prawn Flavor:  This is a local Hong Kong brand and Ho Fan is a type of rice vermicelli noodle, but flatter and softer.  These are not fried either and I am interested in seeing how strong the prawn taste is and as well as abalone. I have never tried abalone before, but I do enjoy shellfish.  This bowl also has a fork inside, so that is very convenient.

Nissin Pickled Vegetable Pork Flavor Vermicelli Review

This blog post is just an unboxing, as I obviously cannot eat or sample all 7 noodle dishes in one day, unlike the candy boxes :)    For my noodle boxes, I will try to randomly select at least one item and do a mini review on it.  I choose Nissin Pickled Vegetable Pork Flavor Vermicelli for my lunch the other day.  This is how it looked prior to me preparing it ~ it has the vermicelli noodles and 3 pouches for broth, condiment and toppings.

Ingredients in English🙂

To prepare, I just added the items to the noodles and then added hot water, closed the lid for 3-5 minutes and then stirred.  Instant soup!  It actually tastes so much better than it looks!


This soup with its picked vegetables has so much more flavor than USA noodles of this type.  The green foil actually contained moist ingredients, with the potherb mustard (a water green, similar in taste to arugula), oil and chili ~ this is the pickled vegetable.  It had a good strong taste and I can taste the chili, garlic and mustard in it, plus the pickled vegs make a great addition to the noodle dish.  I love that they used baby bok choy as one of their ingredients, as that is one of my favorite vegetables.  I tell you, it is a totally different beast than what we have with good ol’ Ramen noodles here stateside!   I wish I had some pork to add to it, but I didn’t have any on hand.   I liked how the vegetables were chewy and “plump” and actually had texture to them once they were hydrated.   I do like this noodle soup a lot and I will have to put this on my list the next time I am in an Asian market and see if they carry it.

Normally, I would “dress up” my instant noodle soups ~ I like to add fresh vegetables like thinly sliced radishes, mung bean sprouts, chopped cilantro, chopped scallions, maybe some roughly chopped firm lettuce, like radicchio and then a protein, such as a sliced hard boiled egg or some diced chicken or pork.  I also like to add a dollop of chili paste as well ~ such as Huy Fong Sambal Oelek Chili Paste ~ you can purchase this now in just about every grocery store in the Asian food section.  It is very popular!

I hope that ABCDEat will resume doing snack boxes, even if it is just once or twice a month.  I really enjoy the curation of the boxes I have purchased and it is a nice way to try different treats from Asia.   All of the items in my box were fresh, not expired and ABCDEat’s clearly marked in the informational card where they were made.  I paid $21.99 for my box, which includes shipping and handling.

Check out ABCDEat at  https://www.facebook.com/ABCDEat.    All of the products from ABCDEat are made from companies that are reputable in Asian countries.    My next box should either be the spicy edition noodle box or Chinese New Year!


[ descriptions in italics from https://www.facebook.com/ABCDEat ]

Leave a Reply

