Unboxing January 2015 Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet!

This month’s  Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet bag theme is featuring a cartoon which I never heard of before called Jem.  This cartoon series came out in the 1980’s, which is probably why I never heard of them before, because I was a bit too old at that age for cartoons of this nature ~ now, I will always find time for Fractured Fairy Tales, Natasha & Boris and Mr Peabody ~ actually anything from the Rocky & Bullwinkle show is tops with me :)  For those who are not aware of what Notoriously Morbid is, they are an indie beauty company, specializing in eyeshadows and lippies, and it is $12.90 a month.   Every month, more slots are available, so follow their facebook page and also their facebook group to learn more about deals and when new collections are available!

This month’s theme is  Jem

Some of us wanted a secret identity when we were young, especially one this fabulous.
Jem (you know you’re singing the theme song now), was a fantastic notion in the world of rockstar personas and excited some young girls and boys into “I wanna be a rockstar” dreams during the 80’s.
It was colorful, crazy and super outrageous.
We loved Jem as girls, so naturally we wanted to make a VC for it.
These shadows are even more sparkly than the pictures indicate.
For some reason, the sparkles wanted to disappear as soon as we pointed a camera at them.

From top, going clockwise: Starlight Lipcraft, Headstrong, Rebel, Pureheart, Showtime, Show’s Over, Enticing Elba (sample)

Headstrong  Aja can and will do whatever she wants, especially if it’s for the good of the group.  A slightly greyed teal full of pink and purple sparkles.  This is the only color that I will keep and use.  It is a nice light aqua shimmer and I will use it in the center of my lid as a highlighter or as a foil.

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Tin Oxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Synthetic Fluorophylogopite, Silica, Carnauba Wax. *Vegan**Not Lip Safe

Rebel  Kimber is always looking for a way to be noticed. She lives her life to suit her and that’s all rightA rusty burnt red-orange with gold, slightly green shimmer.  I am still trying to get thru Officer Friendly and Fringe Coat for Freddie.  This is too similar to those shades for me.

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Magnesium Stearate, Ultramarine, Iron Oxide, Lauroyl Lysine, Carmine, Tin Oxide, Silica, Carnauba Wax  *Not Vegan**Not Lip Safe

Pureheart  Shana is quiet and keeps to herself most of the time, but inside is a creativity and loyalty that’s just beautiful.   A vibrant purple with light iridescence and a strong metallic sheen.   Purple, nothing that I am getting excited over.

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Carmine, Synthetic Fluorophylogopite, Silica, Carnauba Wax. *Not Vegan**Not Lip Safe

Showtime  Those infamous words changed Jerrica’s life forever   A vivid pinky/coral with massive amounts of purple and pink sparkles.  I loathe pink/coral colors on my eyes.  I own one coral blush.  ’nuff said.

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide,, Red #40 Lake,, Hidrogenated Polybutene, Palmitic Acid, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Methyl Paraben, Synthetic Fluorophylogopite, Silica, Tin Oxide, Carnauba Wax.  *Vegan**Lip Safe

Show’s Over  Just like that, Synergy ends her spectacular show.   A slightly warm purple with lots and lots of sparkle.   It’s okay.  But I have other purple colors similar to this

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Silica, Tin Oxide, Carnauba Wax.  *Vegan**Not Lip Safe

Starlight Lipcraft  The music company that was both Jerrica’s blessing and her bane as she fought to keep it.   A soft pink with strong golden sheen and shimmer.   Uggh.  Seriously, this is the type of lipstick color my mom wore in the 1960’s and early 1970’s ~ Totally unflattering shade for my coloring.  Not even going to swatch it.

Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (and) Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer (and) Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Prunus armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil. Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Carmine. *Not Vegan

Sneak Peek into next month: Enticing Elba ~ This is a darker ocean blue, with golden shimmers.  I like this one the best!


  1. Headstrong
  2. Rebel
  3. What you get when you accidentally mix Rebel with Pureheart (haha)

  1. Pureheart
  2. Showtime
  3. Show’s Over
  4. Enticing Elba

I have to say, I am not into these colors.   I don’t like neon bubble gum type of colors and pale frosty lipsticks.  I guess because I lived thru the 1980’s, the fashions, makeup and I was always a little miss trendsetter, valley girl, latest thang ~ I cringe when I see them now.   I wore makeup that was not appropriate for my coloring then and I am wiser now not to fall into that trap.   Give me the 1990’s instead!   I was more grown up then ;)    The only color I like is Headstrong, but that is because I have a soft spot for teals, and next month’s sneak peek.   The rest I will not keep. 

I am pretty disappointed in this month’s offerings, but I am sure others who love brights will enjoy it and I think this collection is more for cool skin tones, not warm skin tones, which I am.  Usually, NM does a good balancing act with brights/darks/warm/cool tones, but this month, I feel that they didn’t achieve that goal.   I wish, I wish, I wish NM would do an X-Files collection ~ dark, brooding, with an acid color thrown in for good measure.   I have the feeling they aren’t into X-Files – haha   I hope next month is better.

Do you subscribe to Notoriously Morbid’s Vanishing Cabinet?  What did you think of this month’s collection and do you have a favorite?   Let me know in the comments!


 [ descriptions in italics from http://www.notoriouslymorbid.com/ ]


Leave a Reply

