Unboxing January 2015 BirchBox

Once again, I decided to use the PYS (pick your sample) choice for January and I chose the rosemary body lotion, because rosemary is one of my favorite herbal scents.   This month’s theme is “Let’s Do This! Start the New Year right with these beauty picks that will help you look and feel your best.”


Birchbox is doing something different this year ~ They aren’t going to send their boxes in the plain brown ones, unless it is the curated box choice ~ instead they will have a different design on their boxes each month.  They want us to save the boxes ~ I have no clue why.    I will save the ones I like, however, but they usually get recycled after a few months anyway.

My Box Revealed!

Top Row:  Davines OI/Shampoo, Essential Elements Body Lotion, Harvey Prince Liquid Loofah, Mirenesse Mattfinity Cream Lip Stain

Bottom Row: Sweet Science Tint SPF 35, Davines OI/Conditioner, Davines OI/Oil


Informational Card

Davines OI/Shampoo  This is a rich and creamy shampoo, made with roucou oil, which is from the fruit of an Amazonian evergreen scrub and is known for its antioxidant properties.  I found out more about this at Birchbox.  

source https://www.birchbox.com/guide/article/secret-ingredient-roucou-oil

This is a shampoo that is good for all hair types, and it just smells beautiful.  I am pretty happy to try this out.  Deluxe Size 3.04 oz Value $8.36 

Annatto Fruit (source)

Product Description: Davines has been creating carefully refined haircare products for more than 30 years, including this ultra hydrating shampoo. The beautifying cleanser is the first step in a healthy hair routine, creating a nice sheen as it boosts volume and improves hair texture.

How it Works: Natural active ingredients like antioxidant-fueled roucou oil protect hair from harsh UV radiation and soften strands, while sunflower seed oil lends locks shine. This formula is free of potentially harmful parabens and sulphates.

Ingredients: Aqua/water/eau, sodium lauroyl methyl isethionate, disodium laureth sulfosuccinate, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate; cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium lauryl sulfoacetate, panthenol, parfum/fragrance, benzyl alcohol, sodium methyl 2-sulfolaurate, ppo-25-buteth-26, acrylatesc10-30 alkyl, acrylate crosspolymer, phenethyl, benzoate, coco-glucoside, glyceryl oleate, sodium benzoate, peg-40 hydrogenated castor oil, glycol distearate, trisodium ethylene dame disuccinate, polyouaternium-7, disodium 2-sulfolaurate, amodime thicone, helianthus annuus seed oil/helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, guar hydrokypropyltrmonium chloride, c11-15 parie ph-7, sodium chloride, glyceryl stearate, laureth-9, trideoeth-12, glycerin, citronellol, bixa orellana seed extract, geranol, bexoc acid.


Essential Elements Wake Up Rosemary Body Lotion    This was my PYS choice for the month of January.  I didn’t know it had mint in it, which makes me twice as happy!!  This has a lovely scent to it ~ not everyone likes rosemary and mint, but I do :)  I was worried about the bottle, because it is a hard plastic and I had read that others had issues getting it out of the bottle.  I did not experience any problems with it.  I tipped it over and tapped the cap against my palm, opened the lotion and it came out ~ just like ketchup!   Deluxe Size 1.5 oz Value $3.56

Product Description: A little grease can be good in your car or your kitchen, but it certainly doesn’t belong on your skin. This therapeutic lotion packs a lightweight formula that’s free of both paraben and petrol, so it won’t clog your pores and produce a greasy residue. It’s also enriched with a host of essential oils, which leave skin smooth, hydrated, and superbly scented.

How it Works: Naturally derived glycerin heals chapped and dry skin while forming a protective barrier against the elements. Mint and rosemary oil provide extra hydration and a natural scent, turning every application into instant aromatherapy.

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil, Cocos Nucifera Oil, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Dimethicone, Ceteareth-20, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butyrospermum Parkii, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis Oil, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Oenothera Biennis Oil, Allantoin, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Glyceryl Dilaurate, Rosmarinus Officinalis Leaf Oil, Mentha Piperita Oil, Panthenol, Sodium Hydroxide, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Benzyl Alcohol, Dehydroacetic Acid, Limonene d, Linalool


Harvey Prince Hello Liquid Loofah  Hello, beautiful!  I love citrus scents and I really like getting shower gels that aren’t foil samples. This has lemon, mandarin orange and plumeria, which always reminds me of Hawaii.  I am a bit disappointed in the size of this item, but not in the product itself.  I was expecting at 1 oz sample and this is only 15 mL, which is 1/2 that size.  Certainly not enough to lather up in the shower…  Sample Size 15 mL Value 94 cents

Product Description: At the first sound of our morning alarms, we’re not exactly bursting with seize-the-day optimism. But few things can turn our moods around faster than this fragrant body wash. Infused with Harvey Prince’s best-selling Hello perfume, it pairs an energizing citrus scent with botanicals that leave skin clean and refreshed. Before long, we’re belting out show tunes in the shower like it’s nobody’s business.

How it Works: This botanical cleanser is scented with Harvey Prince’s Hello perfume. A blend of Sicilian lemon, Spanish mandarin, and plumeria works to gently cleanse and rejuvenate skin. The feel-good formula is free of parabens, sulfates, phthalates, and other harsh chemicals.

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua), Sodium Laurylglucosides Hydroxypropyl Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Bis-Hydroxyethylglycinate Coco-Glucosides Crosspolymer, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Polysorbate 20, Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Phenoxyethanol, FD&C Yellow # 5, FD&C Yellow # 6, Citrus Limon Extract (lemon extract), Citrus Nobilis Extract (mandarin extract), Plumeria Acutifolia Flower Extract


Mirenesse Mattfinity Lip Rouge in New York  Whoa Mama.  This is one fire engine, red-alert, DEFCON 2, all hands on deck RED.   I can’t even begin to say how RED this is.   The applicator looks funky ~ like fuzzy slipper material that has been used to make the doe applicator or something.  I do like the packaging of the tube, with the black dripping sides on the tube and the “NEW YORK” printed on the cap in silver letters around the side.  However, the red is damn red.   Not sure this girl can pull it off, quite frankly, but I will give it a try.  I actually prefer the colors of Rome, Milan, Paris and London and one or more of those might be on my list of things to purchase! That said, this is a tint and it does have staying power.  When I removed the color with a tissue, the red stain was left behind and is still on my hand.  Deluxe Size 1.7 g Value $7.04 

Product Description: We love a classic gloss as much as the next girl, but there’s something about shine-free lips that gives our style a dash of modern chic. This lip color from Aussie brand Mirenesse lets us rock the matte lip look in an on-trend, foolproof way. The smooth, hydrating formula glides over lips for a polished look makes an oh-so-modern statement.

How it Works: This velvety color is formulated to stay in place all day—no lip liner required! The mousse-like texture fills in fine lines for fuller lips while a proprietary blend of Gel-lite technology delivers vibrant color that doesn’t fade or feather.

Ingredients: Octyldodecanol, Isohexadecane, Cera Microcristallina, Diisostearyl Malate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Cera Alba, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Oleyl Alcohol, Mica, Hydrogenated Styrene/Methyl Styrene/Indene Copolymer, Polyethylene, Tocopheryl Acetate; Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, Limonene, Parfum, [+/-: CI 15850, CI 77163, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77891].


Sweet Science Invisible Daily Tint  SPF 35  This is a sunscreen.  It is a matte sunscreen with a tint, and can be used as a concealer as well.  This is a strange product to me ~ I did swatch it and rub it in and it did blend in, so I am not sure why it is a “tint”.   I can’t say for certain on mattifying it will be on my face ~ on my hand, it didn’t look like it.   However, this is in a handy little container that I can toss in my purse and I can use it as a concealer, if nothing else.   This is one expensive sunscreen and there is no way I am paying $45.00 for 1 oz at SPF 35.  There is no marking on the weight on this sample, so I weighed it and got .2 oz, so it is probably .1 oz (I am being generous here).   Sample Size .1 oz Value $4.50

Product Description: Sure, dealing with the sticky sheen of most sunscreens beats dealing with sun damage—but it doesn’t mean we like it. Enter this mattifying formula, which smoothly blends into skin, evens tone, and cuts shine, blocking UV rays all the while.  Thanks to natural pigments, this formula has an ultrasheer medium tint that works for a wide range of skin tones—and never leaves a white residue behind. It doesn’t clog pores or cause breakouts, and protects skin from exposure to sun and environmental pollutants.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua),Carthamus Tinctorious (Safflower) Oil, Jojoba Esters, Glycerin,Glyceryl Stearate,Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Squalene, Gluconolactone, Isopropyl Jojobate, Jojoba Alcohol,Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Silica, Sodium Benzoate, Beeswax ( Cera Alba), Xanthan Gum,Sodium Bicarbonate, Hexyl Cinnamic Aldehyde, Fragrance,d-Limonene, Linalool, geraniol, Citral, Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491,CI 77492, CI 77499

  • Top: Mirenesse Mattfinity Lip Rouge in New York
  • Bottom: Sweet Science Invisible Daily Tint  SPF 35 (bet you couldn’t tell, huh?)

Davines OI/Conditioner  This is a nice size foil, as it will cover my hair for one use.  Some foils don’t even do that much!  I am interested in seeing if this gives my hair more shine without weighing it down.   This is also made with roucou oil, just like the shampoo.  Foil  .4o oz Value $1.54

Product Description: Sometimes it seems conditioner can either be your friend (adding a silky softness and shine to strands) or your foe (weighing down hair for a not-quite-so-clean feeling). This one falls in the former camp, protecting your mane from the elements while helping it dry faster and still maintain body. Break out the BFF necklaces.

How it Works: Natural active ingredients like antioxidant-fueled roucou oil guard hair from harsh UV radiation and heat styling, while apricot butter softens, conditions, and soothes.

Ingredients: Aqua/water/eau, cetearyl alcohol, glycerin, cetrimonium chloride, cyclopentasiloxane, cetyl alcohol, behentrimonium methosulfate, behentrimonium chloride, panthenol, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, phenylpropyldimethylsiloxysilicate, benzyl alcohol, parfum/fragrance, dimethicone, dimethiconol, citric acid, sodium benzoate, helianthus annuus seed oil/helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, citronellol, bixa orellana seed extract.

Davines OL/Oil Absolute Beautifying Potion  I do not use oil in my hair! I don’t have frizzy hair or damaged hair, so this is a product that will go to waste on me.  Sometimes I wish I had dry or damaged hair, because hair oils always smell so good!   This is a foil, so I do not feel like I got a major item that I won’t use.  Maybe I will use it on my cuticles or something.  Foil  .10 oz Value $1.03

Product Description: If hair oil sounds suspiciously like snake oil to you, we’ve found the product that will turn you on to the trend: OI/ OIL. It’s a hard-working potion that improves your hair for the short- and long-term. First, this lightweight serum instantly tames frizz, providing the ultimate finishing touch for any hairstyle. To strengthen your mane over time, it comes packed with nourishing antioxidants that help prevent hair aging and breakage.

How to Use: Apply two-to-three squeezes on damp hair to target frizz or on dry hair for extra shine. Adjust the amount according to texture (less for thin hair, more for thick hair). Be sure to coat your strands from root to tip.

Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Disiloxane, Dimethiconol, Cyclohexasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxcinnamate/Octinoxate, Partum/Fragrance, Bixa Orellana Seed Oil, Citronellol, Geraniol, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Limonene, Tocopherol

I actually like the skincare products the best in this box!  The lotion and the body gel are all winners for me.  I love the shampoo, a good size there, and will use the conditioner.    The lip rouge is too bright of a red for me, but I will try it just to test out the formula, as some of the other colors in this line, I am interested in.   I am not so sure about the SPF tint and the hair oil is wasted on me!   I am most disappointed in the size of the body gel, however.   I paid $10.00 for my box and received a value of $26.97

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?  What did you get this month and what was your favorite item?

If you want to subscribe to Birchbox, I would love it if you used my referral link   https://www.birchbox.com/invite/biancardi

[ descriptions in italics from birchbox.com and product websites ]

Leave a Reply

