Benton Honest Cleansing Foam Update

I recently purchased and received my Memebox Benton Holiday Edition, which included the Benton Honest Cleansing Foam.  I had discussed my issues around this cleanser and I repeat what I wrote in my original unboxing at the end of this update. 

Ingredients:  Water, Potassium Stearate, Glycerin, Potassium Myristate, Potassium Laurate, Butylene Glycol, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Sodium Lauroyl Glutamate, Sobitan Olivate, Polyquaternium-10, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Camellia Sinensis Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Polygonum Cuspidatum Extract, Rosemarinus Officinalis Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Extract, Althaea Rosea Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadenis Leaf Extract, Propandiol, Hydrolyzed Pea Protein, Phytosterol, Lecithin, Olea Europaea(Olive) Fruit Oil, Squalane, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Ceramide-3, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extact, Usnea Berbata (Lichen) Extract  cosDNA.com analysis

I have three new things to update on this product. 

Palm Oil

I did reach out to Benton, asking them about the usage of Palm Oil in their product and this is what they had to say

We are using RSPO-certified sustainable palm oil in Benton Honest Cleansing Foam. We would like to thank you for your opinion with good point of view. Regarding RSPO certification mark on the product, we would take it into consideration.

So, according to their response and they even responded publicly on FB when I asked them that question there as well, Benton is using RSPO-certified sustainable palm oil in this product, which is better than the alternative.

pH Level

Next issue was the pH level in this cleanser.  I finally received my pH strips by Maherey-Nagel SEOH pH-Fix 0-14 strips.   They have four color fixed blocks on each strip and you match it up to their pH level on the box.  As this foam is thick and not a liquid, I mixed a little water, same as if I would be applying this cleanser to my face, to the cleanser and dipped the strip into the liquid.  I did research this method and it is quite valid to do this, as some skincare items are too thick and you need to “liquify” them.   I have marked the strip as “1” on the photos to show you that is where the strip is.  I placed it between 6 and 7, 7 and 8 and 8 and 9 pH levels. 

Comparing strip between pH level 6 and 7: Not a 6 for sure.   The yellows look 7ish to me.

Comparing strip between pH level 7 and 8:   The green looks more like an 8 than a 7, yellows are more 7 than 8.  Orange is more 8 than 7.

Comparing strip between pH level 8 and 9:    This cleanser doesn’t look even close to a 9 to me.

Based on my findings, the Benton Honest Foam Cleanser looks to have a pH level of 7 – 8, which is high for a facial cleanser.    Some of the colors look to be lower, but since some are higher, I am going to give this that range.  I would not say it is a 9 or 10.   I am not an expert in pH level testing so that is why I have included the 3 photos so you can review this yourself and draw your own conclusions.  I also read and took the photos of the strip when it was still wet, so it will bump up the reading about .4.  Next time I take photos of a pH test, I will make sure the strip is dry.

Fragrance

It isn’t offensive or yucky.  It has the fresh clean scent of soap.  Just my opinion, of course.

Final Thoughts

I will try this on my face tomorrow and see how it feels.  If it is too drying, I will use it as a body or hand soap.

My original write up on this cleanser

Honest Cleansing Foam  I am conflicted over this product.   Benton is stating that the surfactants are made from palm oil.  Palm oil is in a lot of products and you cannot escape it completely, but they didn’t even try to hide it here, and even boast about this ingredient.    You can purchase this item at amazon.com or eBay and retails around $10.00 to $12.00

EDITED to add:  I keep reading that this cleanser is harsh based on the reviews.  I have only found two reviews out there and they both have different options.  One person did do a pH level test ~ and the pH level range was so broad  ~  but because I only found two reviews and they are very different, I will try to get a pH level test done here to compare.  I do think, palm oil aside, that it is a bit unfair, based on one negative review (that I have seen), to think the worst of this cleanser.   Some people might actually like a higher pH level (those with very oily skin) and it doesn’t bother them, but for those with really dry or sensitive skin, this cleanser would be a disaster for them if that is the case.   As far as scents go, I haven’t smelled this yet, but please keep in mind ~ what one person thinks smells lovely, others might feel differently.    What you should know about pH levels

“The pH level of most skin cleansers is slightly higher than 5.5, so the cleanser can break down dirt and oil on your skin. However, soap — especially bar soap — typically has a pH level of 9 to 12, which is too high if you’re trying to keep your skin moist. Cleansers with lower pH levels leave your skin intact instead of breaking down the fatty tissue”  (source)

“Cleansers and toners are alkaline—hand soap typically has a pH of around 9 or 10, for example—because alkaline molecules bind to dirt and accumulated oils you want to wash off”  (source)

For example, if this cleanser does have a pH level of 7, that is like cleansing your face in milk and 7 is considered neutral.   If it has a pH level of 8, that is similar to bathing your face in sea water or baking soda; ~ it could dry your skin and you would need to moisturize.  Cleansers should be around 5.5 to 6.5, but as I have oily skin, I can tolerate a somewhat higher pH level.    Please note, if you are worried about a high pH level in cleansers, you shouldn’t be using foaming cleansers, but oil cleansers.  Foam cleansers typically are higher on the pH level (there are exceptions), just like bar soap.   If your skin feels really dry and tight after cleansing, then the product you are using is not suitable for you and its pH level is too high for your skin type.   If your skin still feels greasy and oily after cleansing, then your skin cleanser’s pH level is too low for your skin type.   To learn more about the different levels, you can check out Elmhurst College’s pH Scale document.    If a cleanser’s pH level is too high for your face, you could reuse it for your hands and body, as most people do not seem to worry about their pH level of their body cleansers and if you use hand soap today, you are already using something that has a higher pH level.

Product Description:  We called it the Benton Honest Cleansing Foam because you could be reassured of using the product due to its honest ingredients used in making the product.  In order to have a healthy face wash, Benton Honest Cleansing Foam cleanses fatigued skin caused by various stress and pollution. This natural cleansing foam not only cleanses your face but further moisturizes your skin to minimize dryness of your skin.

Ingredients:  Water, Potassium Stearate, Glycerin, Potassium Myristate, Potassium Laurate, Butylene Glycol, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Sodium Lauroyl Glutamate, Sobitan Olivate, Polyquaternium-10, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Camellia Sinensis Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Extract, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract, Polygonum Cuspidatum Extract, Rosemarinus Officinalis Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Extract, Althaea Rosea Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadenis Leaf Extract, Propandiol, Hydrolyzed Pea Protein, Phytosterol, Lecithin, Olea Europaea(Olive) Fruit Oil, Squalane, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Ceramide-3, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extact, Usnea Berbata (Lichen) Extract  cosDNA.com analysis

Using all of your products, this is the order in which to apply them


Memebox Promos for January

I would love it if you use my links!

The last two codes you do not need to enter if you use my links to purchase products. They will be automatically apply to your order!

 

 [ all descriptions in italics are from the linked website.   All items were purchased by me ]

 

 

2 thoughts on “Benton Honest Cleansing Foam Update

  1. Thanks for doing the follow up. I have dry skin, but have used cleansers with a similar ph before with no issues. Perhaps this product is one that I should try a sample of before buying the full sized product.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve used cleansers as well with similar pH levels with no issues. I was just curious because I read 8ish and then 9-10 and I was thinking – whoa – that is a very broad range here. It is just my opinion, but I do not think this cleanser is 9-10 on the pH scale.

      Like

Leave a Reply

